Grand Shanghai Restaurant

No wonder no answer.. Sally gave me her mobile while I was at work & I failed to take down the correct no.. FAINTZ... Will try again tom.

Lydia, Have u decided on GS? Now I am deciding between GS vs Furama Vs Hotel Rendezvous

i went Hotel Rendezvous, i do not like it leh...the room like old old like dat...like 3 stars to mi...

Furama i haven't seen...so can't comments

GS i've seen & research...quite nice...now, GS tops the list for mi =)

Elbarc, but i haven't sign lah, i will go down on the 16th June to try to food and ambience...if okay, will go down wif my htb's parents to sign the pkg lor...

GS top of my list too..
I have not been to all 3.
Think I would make a trip down before we decide.

I would be going down GS on 20th June to take a look...

Yr AD would be around 2010/2011 rite? Do u think if we sign togather to increase our bargaining power for perks.. PM me if u interested okies?.. hahah

Hello, good to see the thread more active now. I am having my wedding with GS in Jan 2010. Sign up for the 688++ package too. Worry abt break even but if we put the hotel name on the card liked not really truthful, no? Cos the restaurant is not really within the hotel leh.
Amanda, the wine is nice? I ask Sally about it and wanted to test drink but she says that they change their wine and the one I drink is likely to be different next year. So in the end I just have to trust that GS has good taste in wine.
My bridal package is with Dang and I highly recommend her.
Since doing dinner at GS so thinking of Chinois theme and Dang is famous for her Cheong sum. My friends all go wow when they see her work.

Hi Lin, yes, the wine that we tasted is nice. Quite worth it. yup.. we have to trust on GS's good taste. I remembered that 2yrs ago when i attended my fren's wedding at GS, the wine was good too!

Went down yesterday at the time proposed by Sally to discuss further abt the package. Guess she was busy as there's wedding yesterday & she was kinda hostile. When she greeted us she had commented " You all are only here to take a look right? " She showed us in & she continue with her own work. We were wondering around in GS & she didnt even bother to entertain us. When we wanted to leave & try to attract her attention, she cant seems to be bothered about us again... After waiting for her about 15min we just left on our own. We are extremely disappointed with the service we got from her. It was supposed to me top on our list but now think we'll never consider about it again... Its was a fruitless trip & a waste of our time.Forgot to add that we had tried to email her before but never seems to receive any reply...hiaz... Hope others have better luck with her...

Hi Elbarc, maybe she thot u guys are there to see how the wedding atmosphere is like.. For me, we went there for dinner and at the same time asked abt the wedding stuff. Things went quite smoothly and we were pretty happy with the service provided.

She is the one tat propose us to dropby. Just think its kinda rude to leave us wondering around. We were there for only 10mins & she spoke to as less than a min.On the same day, we went to other sites as well. Got to say, this is the worst that I have been to. Guess its just my luck. Perhaps we only have 20 tables & they are not interested in our business.

This maybe an isolated case. Others that are interested pls dont select a date that they have banquet. If not its quite a waste of time.

I see.. for us, though we know that we are likely to take 26 tables, the lady whom we met (i forgotten her name) advised us to book 20 tables first in case of any cancellation of tables.

actually the one who invited u down and then bo chup liddat person and the person who advise us to just book 20 tables is the same coordinator. cos i experience both when i sign up last time lol. actually to think about it, i rather the coordinator concentrate on the wedding rather then entertaining couples who come down to view the banquet. becos i be the one who engaged the restaurant that day so i would wan the best service esp from the coordinator. but i must say that the way she talk is a little cold sometimes not those very friendly ones which we often encounter=)

Hi.. i would like to check something. Grand Shanghai menu provides 1 bottle of wine per table and 30L of beer. I spoke to Sally and she said usually the beer will be enough but wine usually not.

They charge $20 corkage for wine brought in. Alternatively, you can open their house wine from them at $25/bottle (i think). If it is house wine, then no corkage charge.

So taking their house wine is more worth it right? She say they will let you know if the free wine had been consumed and check with you if you want to open extra.

i guess so too. i wonder what is the average no. of wine consumption pr table? will we exceed by a great deal? cos somehow i though usually when we go for weddings i seldom see many pple at one table ordering red wine. so i thought it should be under one bottle per table if we average it out.

Well .. she say 1 bottle can fill about 5 glasses... so if heavy drinkers at 1 table .. then maybe not enough.

Btw, do people still order hard liquor at weddings these days? Can we do without?

Btw, my wedding date is dec 2010 so still quite early lah

Hi Christine, Grand Shanghai package is very standard.. is 600+, 700+ or 900+ package. I have a fren who held her wedding at Grand Shanghai and she chose the dishes that she like and the bill came up to 1k per table.

1 bottle of red wine per table; there is a barrel of beer (i cant really remember the size.. but shd be 30litres or 25)

there is a live band with singer..

if u need to do ROM before the dinner, they can arrange..

1 nite stay at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel (think is executive suite)

got carpark coupons for ur guests

Eternity321: I dun think I will get hard liquor for my wedding in oct 2010.. think nowadays, most pple take red wine.. well.. not everyone will drink de because they need to drive.

Hi all, i am interested in wedding at grand shanghai, can i know is there a coordinator whom i can email for the package?
cos frm the website there is only tel.

hi amanda,

actually i invited my best fren(yihong) to co author my blog as she is getting married @ the same period as me. so you find that particular post is by her not me. that shop is call Chop Kwong Mee blk 4 #01-127 Sago lane S050004. Hope it helps.

Dear genuine couples,

I've a wedding dinner package at Grand Shanghai Restaurant to let go due to abrupt financial difficulty in coping with unexpected huge amount of outstanding elderly medical bills.

Some details of the package are as followed;

1) Date: 26th Dec 2009 (Sat), but can be rescheduled not later than Dec 2010

2) Price: S$688++ per table of 10 pax

3) Min Table: 20, but can accommodate max up to 26 tables
Note: If less than min table, the restaurant will be opened to the public at the same time.

4) Perk: For 18 tables - entitle to free flow of beer & housepour wine + inclusive of food tasting + securing the entire restaurant from public.
Note: The above perk is equivalent to the price of 20 tables. This will particularly advantageous if you have guests with extraordinary crave for alcohol.

5) Initial Deposit: S$2000

6) Discount: 10% of initial deposit (negotiable)

As a result of the earlier mentioned complication, we are compelled to re-plan and re-schedule our wedding. We sincerely hope to secure genuine buyers at short notice. Please email me at [email protected] for more package details. Also try to email me instead of replying to this thread.

You may want to refer to the following link for more information about the restaurant; http://www.millenniumhotels.com.sg/grandcopthornewaterfront/restaurant/grandShanghai.html.

Appreciate your time and word of mouth to spread this forum sale. Thanks a million.

Can i just check with you, will u be planning to put up the a slideshow? If so, where will u be renting all the stuff from?
GS does not have projector and screen right?

hi candice.. i heard from GSH earlier that they will be doing renovation in this lunar 7th month which is now... so they may have screen after the reno. Good to check back with them after it completes

hi, i just check out the reno. they have only change the lightings. there is still no screen. but the new lighting is very grand and nice. crystal chandliers!

oic! I am planning to go take a look soon too. Heard that they got Tvs for the not so good spots now?
WIll you be planning to do a montage then? I am still considering... but nothing is done yet....

hi candice, i wont be doing a video montage at as i felt that after spending the costin for the projection screen some of my guests are still being blocked from seeing it so less value for money to me. So i save up the $$$ for a better PG instead and wanted to just let the guests concentrate on the singing by the singer.

Hello christine, i am new and came across this forum coz i am looking out at grand shanghai.
anyway, you should go for design1.. haha..

could you share your grand shanghai package and the bliss bridal one.. coz i think ur photos are quite nicely shot. you can email me at [email protected]

hey guys thanks for the suggestions =)

Hi zler, the package of grand shanghai was posted earlied on this thread by me so you might wan to go back a few thread pages to see the package. as for the bliss bridal one, i m too lazy to type out but i must say the package offered by bliss is pretty comphrehensive as i gotten mtm rom gown (the pink gown on my blog), mtm WG(which in the end i took OTR as i found one that i luv) and mtm EG plus micellanoues etc for $3288

it's ok to bargain for more asin the event when you dont need the,, you can change them for other perks. eg. i change my mtm WG to 2 free pics instead.

Hi Starling, I happen to have similar prob but mine is that i be inviting a malay colleague. so the restaurant will askedthe hotel to arrange his meal for him but it will be additional top up of dunno 50 plus or something and despite there is one less chinese serving for that table it will still be chargeable. so if you asked me it is not costing saving when it comes to special meal arrangement.

ohhh, it's a top up.. yeah, not cost saving at all..
despite that, i think the place has alrd woo us over even wo the wedding decor. it's in my top list now!
christine, when's ur AD?

hi starling,
my banquet is on the 22nd nov and tea ceremony on the 12th nov

hi juzagalz,

I dun have free flow of beer. But it's ok i dun really fear much as it is a sunday night so the guests will be more wary of their drink intake.

just to share with you gals, i visited GS last sunday and oh my i was so happy that they have renovated the place so much. not just the chandliers, they installed more lcd tv (sadly i din caterfor video but never mind it shall serve as ref for others), their vip room also got change from the ugly drawn shanghai citylandscape to a gorgeous photo of shanghai night le!!!! I also realise they updated many of their framed photos on the wall. now it is not just falling in luv, it is more like falling head over heels!!!

glad that this thread is growing more alive now.

oh yes when are your ad?

Hi Christine

I always read your blog cause is informative and nice. hee

I also get to know about grand shanghai from your blog. is the march in long or very short walk?

I love the idea of shanghai feel and with band. hee. thanks for sharing and congrats!

hi w3ngal,

the march in is not a very long walk but neither too short. the walk in is not a straight line that is for sure.

to contact person in charge, i always call in to grand shanghai default number on their webby. she din give her her hp number.

but she is always around so u can go down directly to talk to her.

Christine, ur banquet is 1 day b4 my bday!! heeee

i've also booked my AD with GS! 02.01.2011 guess mine is the latest date so far..

simply love the place!

juzagalz, will u b doing ur ROM there too?