Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Maybe we should all have a list of couple who will be having their AD in Grand Shanghai...it will be fun....saw it at some other thread...hehehe

just confirm my booking today. my girlfriend like this place very much. if i dont book GS for our wedding, i think she will nag at me for the rest of my life. sobsob!!!

I just had my food tasting yest afternoon and I saw a grp of ppl looking around the place. And conincidenly, there was a wedding dinner yest, so I managed to see some of the VIP set up and the VIP plate was gorgeous, there is a huge "Xi" word in the middle of the plate with a gold plated ring around the plate.

Hi dear hani, wonder if your AD is on 21/11/09?

I waited 1 week before the first couple give up on the booking.

yes, dont tell me your name is leona???
shirley told us got 2 couples aiming this date. once i dont take, the next couple will come down to pay deposit in 24hrs.....
that why we are in no position to bargain much for perks but i am still thankful that shirley holding on the date for me and give us wat we want. Most important my girlfriend is really very happy.

hehehe...i think it such an coincidence....pink diamond and i are the couple behind u..( the one who willing to pay within 24hrs)...hehehe...

Pink diamond and i love the place at 1st sight...we choose the date as we find a master to find auspicious date for us....

Then we in fact wanted to pay the deposit on the spot if you arent confirm...i must say Shirely is very professional and we agree to wait for u to make yr decision..

In the end, we book the date of 22/11, on sunday as we have our customary on 21/11 and dinner next day.
Such a coincidence ...really...think we all can plan our AD together since it same day( weddind dinner a day apart and same place somemore)...hehehehehe

Btw, we going to book the place tonight...any additional perks you think it worth for a try?

My girlfriend also has the same feeling, love at first sight. Yap they not willing to release the booking to us due to the previous couple who are still considering. From the booking book, the guy is Derrick, if he is active in this thread, wo yao shou yi shen xie xie ni.

It really depend on what u want for the perks.
I give up all the table complimentary wines in exchange of waiver of all wine corkage. Most of my friend are very good drinkers. Just attended one of my buddy¡¦s wedding, his guests drank 84 bottles of wines for only 22 table. Most of his friends are also my friends, so I expect the flow of the wine to be high as well since I have more guests.

It not easy to get extra perks without sacrifice.

calling all ex GS couple,

Wonder what song are u all using for the march in?

Can the guest dedicate any songs? Just wish that we have something speical rather then some funny chinese song...heheheh

Dean har...

wow...guess your guest really can drink alot...i doubt my guest really drink that much as most of them are all female rather than male.

so have u start to plan on the walk in?heard that they will be getting the screen for montach...not sure if they told u that?

Glad to have meet u here...
seem like we can have discussion on how to make it unqiue for our own wedding...

Yap, shirley told me liao but not yet approved. Hope to get the screen too.

I will leave the planning for AD next year bah, now next task is bridal studio.

Our date is quite hot, so must engage your AD photographer, JP early if can.
Hope dont clash with you again, haha!!!

Hi Dean har

How come you have the table complimentary wines ar? So you will be bringing in your own wine instead of their wine? How come they never offer me this? But seeing your price again, they seem to increase the price per table. If there isn't any extra perks or dishes, it means that the wine per table is $60 per bottle??

hello! I also having my wedding dinner at Grand Shanghai in Jun next year!
I already paid deposit.
So is it true there will be space for a screen for montage?

I think the complimentary wines is included for all packages. It is 1 bottle per table right?

Shirley never told us we have a complimentary wine for each table leh. She oni mentioned that if bring in hard liquior, they will waive it off. And each wine they charge $25 per bottle. And also Shirley nv mentioned ab the screen they going to install... maybe I should ask her ab it. But my wedding is next mth, I think will be too late cos have to wait for them to approve.

As for song, I intend to use "Beautiful" by Jim Brickman. It a song from a Disney movie. They also have a live band who sing for ur march in. But it those chinese song like, "Tian mi mi".

dean har:hehehe...dont worrry about that.We have already settled with our BS long ago.As for JP, we are aldy married,just doing our customary this time rd....let me know is you need infor...will be more than glad to help if i can....

Hope the screen can really be approve or else the montach will be wasted.Well, i choose the same option as you to give up the complimentary wine for the waiver of the corckage charge...expect lots of tekan for me...heheh

Hi V,

We went to pay the deposit ytd too...Shirely did mention that they will be getting a screen on the stage for the montach...but subjected to approval...hopefully will be around your time for wedding

To Bitchy Wife:i think you maybe taking the 2008 package which may differ from the 2009.So u intend to play yr wedding song on the system rather than using the live band? I am thinking if they will know some better or more romantic song rather than the chi na song .......

does anyone have their 2009 package? can please send to me elmove at gmail.com?

has anyone tried the food recently? is it about the same standard as peony jade?

Congrats to all!!

Regards the screen for the montage rite..u can ask shirley for the portable screen..think they will borrow from the hotel..as i will also be having montages too at my wedding in coming dec...

wow i din noe abt changing the complimentary wine can be change for the corkage charges..hmmm might ask her again..hee

dear nar: u have lobang for wine? How much it cost u per bottle..cos thinking whether i should bring my own wine as well..can pm mi the link?thanks

hi elmove, you can refer to dean har (harni)
post for their damages...heehee....

their menu start from 688++, 788++ and 988++

9 course dinner
30l of beer
1 bottle of red wine per table
1 night stay in executive suite
3pc band with singer

signature book,invitation card included (printing not included),25% parking for guests, wedding favor is their home made cookie
free champagne for toasting.
corkages charge is $20 per bottle of wine.

or you refer to http://www.millenniumhotels.com.sg/grandcopthornewaterfront/restaurant/grandShanghai.html.

hi simplejer,

hopefully can have the stage on the stage by then.. heehee... i din noe can change also until i heard from dean har.. you can try to ask her again...

dean har, can you pm me the link for the wine as well.. thanks.

Luckily, Shirley is willing to waive the wine corkage in exchange of complimentary wine. Normally, for any banquet packages, there is always room for negotiation.
From the forum, everyone knew Shirley is quite firm on perks, some more the date is hot, left me with limited bargaining power.
I spend a whole night cracking my brain to devise this plan. Haha stupid hor, need a whole to think of a simple strategy.

First I ask for waiver of wine, she said no. (Expected: 0% success rate)
Then I try my luck to use the complimentary champagne to change for corkage waiver, she said no again. (Expected: 20% success rate)
Then no choice lor must use the complimentary wine to lure her liao. Yeah! Succeed!!!
(Expected: 70% success rate)
If the above mentioned failed, then I will ask for a fixed corkage charges instead of going by bottles.
I think if anything is possible if the request is reasonable. Shirley is really good in mental calculation, definitely wont make the restaurant lost $$$.

Don¡¦t have lobang for wine also. I know cheap wine is not equal to lousy wine. Sure got cheap and good. I think for this forum, you can find some wine dealer who let the customers taste their wine and willing to do it for consignment. Can¡¦t finish the wine for your banquet, can refund.

I am new here. Will like to know more about GSH package. Especially the bridal executive suite. Does anyone here have photo to show?

Hmm...seem like tha thread is getting quiet nowsday...wonder if there anyone who had just book or had their weeding there to share on the feedback?

HTB and I are thinking of going to pay deposit for GS this weekend. Quite excited cos future in-laws were negotiating for a venue with a bigger capacity and they were also concerned about the 4 and 5 seating arrangement. But they finally agreed! Anyone had similar experiences booking GS?

I am also facing the same problem as you before I make my booking. But in the end I decide to cut down on my guest list because my girlfriend likes the place very much. Maximum I will stick to 260 guests. I think it not very nice to arrange some of the guests in the 4 seat setting, some more it on the side of the restaurant. I don¡¦t wish anyone to feel neglected in the event. The 5 seating setting is ok and it giving me more flexibility for seating arrangement for my guests.

Most parents will like Grand Shanghai because it really gives a different dining experience to your guests compare to other ballroom style wedding. The negative point is the pricing of the restaurant is a bit expensive compared to others. Positive point is your guests will leave the place happily if everything runs smoothly. Hope the restaurant will keep up with the service standard. Cheers!

Hi SugarBlossom (sugarblossom),

The below mentioned are from previous post by elis,

Pros of GS:
unique ambiance
better and consistent standard of food
experienced service staff (not temps)
"free" entertainment (singer and band)
nice photo shoot venue

Cons of GS:
small (only 270 max)
odd table seating arrangements (sm 4, sm 5)
pillars definitely block quite a few tables
hv to arrange own logistics for slideshow
march-in short or roundabt (no long aisle)

If you are making your booking this week, can help to check whether the set up of projection is approved?

hi dean har

yup, agree that the pros are as listed--the first time I had dinner at GS I fell in love with the place immediately

re the number of guests my HTB's dad has opted for the max of 322 guests, which I guess is a big cut for him since he originally wanted 45 tables :P I'm just glad he was willing to do it!

When I went down to sign the contract on Saturday night the word on the projector was that it's still "pending"--they don't know if it will be available by my AD, which is in Nov '09.

Kk, Thanks! Hope they can get the approval soon and set up the projector. Mine and Pink_ Diamond hubby is also Nov ¡¦09. hehe!

hi sugar,

I just change my nick from pink diamond hubby...

My AD is on the actual day as Dean, however, he beat us to it, so we have to have our AD on 21/11/09 and banquet on 22/11/09.

We are keeping our finger cross for the projector as well. If not i should be exploring ideas of renting a projector screen or setting up a laptop to play the montach.( hope i spell it correctly)

I must say that the place is really nice...we are thinking of getting a shanghai theme party for all our guest.( to make them wear according to the shanghai theme).

Hi Dean,

How you been?So u manage to get your love nest yet?

hi blue diamond,

My AD is the week after yours, on 29/11/09

I'm splitting the wedding into two parts--church and solemnization on Saturday (haven't decided on venue yet) and dinner on the day after. Think I'll be exhausted otherwise ;p

ya, shanghai theme sounds like fun! i thought of that too but I can't see my HTB's side (with all the older guests) coming in shanghai-style get-ups hee ;p

Hi Sugar,

i guess GS will be busy with our 3 couples wedding as it like back to back...hehehe. I was telling Shirely that they may not even need to take out the setting as after dean's wedding, the next day will be mine!hehehe.

Actually we have the same worry for the theme as well...however, we realise even in your company D&D,not everyone will follow as well. So we decided that we will just put that in, so it up to the guest to decide if they want to have some fun. In fact i believe the older folks should be easier as the ladies will usally wear cheongsam for chinese wedding...

Hi blue diamond,

I am so sad; have not settled on my love nest¡K.. No luck in balloting exercise. Everyone predicting the prices is going down soon.
Recently I just chosen my bridal studio and 4 dian jin.

hi dean,

sorry for the late reply....wonder where have u book yr bridal studio?

Dun worry, u are not the only one. I have been looking for flats as well...wait until neck v v v long liao also....which area are u looking at?

Hi blue diamond,

I booked my Printemps for bridal studio¡£I wasted $10 again in the latest balloting. sobsob! I know you choose dawn, right? I saw it from other thread. hehe!!!

Hi enivi,

Customary and AD any differences? Maybe the customary is the morning you go to pick up your wife, then serve tea to your elders, etc....

AD is actual dinner.AD is part of customary bah.
correct me if wrong too. i also sotong.

hi dean,

Yup...me too..contribute to the HDB funds again with a q number of 4xxx...think it a good revenue for them...just to collect the $10 for dunno how many times...hehehe

Yup, we went during a wedding fair...my wife love dawn's...so that y we took the package. When u gg for your photoshoot?Let's pray hard all will went well...

hi there...

this thread seem so quiet...wonder if there anyone who had some feedback or latest wedding photo to show?

I must say shirely service was great as due to some reason we need to change our wedding date. She readily agreed to it...very nice of her..

I managed to get on the booking list for 21/11/09 LUNCH. I want to thank the couple before me for releasing the booking. I dunno why you release the place but I hope its becos you have found a better one. =)

now its grand shanghai vs sheraton for me!

I am thinking of holding my banquet at GSH too. Can anyone please send me the floorplan and the price package if you have it? Thanks so much!

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each