Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Does anyone have GS wedding banquet price package for 2009? Pls email me [email protected]

Many thanks

what is the minimum number of tables for ROM and AD? Any high tea buffet there? Anyone can share with me the packages? thanks in advance

Hi the thread quite quiet lately ya? Anyone just had wedding there, please share experience.

I like to know the quality of the singer there. Sally says they are on contract basis renewable every 3 months and I read from hungrygowhere.com that the recent singer sings liked getai! any review?
Hi Winter, I am not sure if they do ROM but for AD the min table is 20 tables. Max 26 tables. No buffet option. Package starts from $688++, $788++ and $988++. Includes dinner, band, flowers, one wine per table, waiver of cockage for hard liquor, one night stay in Grand copthorne, 20 (or is it 30) litre of beer.. eh.. that is about it la.. I can't remember the rest. Hope this helps. Why don't you just call the restaurant and get them to email you the quote. They are very fast in responding.
But act fast cos they are really popular.. two of my dates are fully booked already and have to postpone to next year if I want to book with them.

I'm also a BTB and have signed up with Grand Shanghai on the 22nd Nov 2009. I would like to know if anyone have don their photoshoot at Grand Shanghai and if it is possible to share the pictures. I'm looking forward to the photoshoot there and now currently recceing out locations to set the theme for my wedding album. Pls email me at [email protected] if you are willing to share your pics and ideas =)

Hi Winter

I don't have the picture which you want. Perhaps you can check it out personally? Do you still intend to hold your dinner there? I was @ GS last Saturday to pay the deposit for my AD & there was a small wedding ( around 12 tables) going on. So maybe you still can consider holding yours over there. But of course you can't enjoy some of the perks as you've less than 20 tables..

mi just had my food tasting on sunday, the food is good and the singer sing very well. i saw the invitation card is very special very shanghai look
. I love the card, just have to print the inserts.

hi blackberry, yes really so sad that 12 tables have alot less perks....and i really dont think the office as my makeup room is nice...i mean my PG will be there to take some pics right? so imagine the background is "office-like"

Hi Winter

So you've checked out those perks with the manager? You may request your PG not to take photos of the makeup room if it's not nice.

Hi Siew Ling

When's your AD? Found the invitation cards unique too. Ya, the singers sang quite well. Initially, I was kinda worried they might sing like 'Ge Tai'.

hi blackberry,

yes we dont have the suite and 30L beer. she cant waive corkage for me too.

I wonder if anyone have the list for wedding lunch instead? can pls email me? thanks alot!

I don't think they have any wedding lunch and the costing goes by the meal set that you have chosen. The current Grand Shanghai package for 2009 is as follows:
Current package at $688.00++, $788.00++ and $988.00++ in cludes the following:

1) A choice of 9-course Chinese dinner menu
2) Beautifully designed invitation cards with envelopes based on confirmed attendance (70% guests)
3) Guest's Signature book for the wedding reception (very cute! the design is in red with 2 cute cartoons dressed in the traditional wedding costume)
4) Free flow of soft drinks and Chinese Tea from 6:30pm-11pm
5) Complimentary one barrel of beer (30 litres) and 1 bottle of house wine per table (in house wine cos about 25 ++ per bottle)
6) Additional Beer price at 20 litres is $450++ and 30 litres at $580++
7) Waiver of corkage charge for duty paid and sealed hard liquor brought into hotel (pls nte it is not wine!)
8) Corkage charge at $20.00 per bottle for wine brought in (so might as well buy in house wine as it will be cheaper)
9) 9 tier traditional decorated wedding cake
10) Home-made cookies in decorative box for every guest
11) Champagne fountain with a complimentary bottle of champagne for toasting
12) Wedding decorations of fresh flower centerpiece for all tables including fresh flower aisle stands
13) Special VIP parking lot for the bridal car at the front of the hotel
14) Complimentary parking of up to 25% of the guaranteed number of guest (you will be given full complimentary parking for all guests on the contract instead =) )
15) One nigt stay in Executive suite with American Breakfast
17) Entertainment with Live perfromance of 3 pc band with singer (excluding Monday)
18) Food tasting at 50% off for 10 pax

Anyway I am having my banquet there on the 22nd Nov 2009! Very exciting to be able to hold wedding there despite the limitation in terms of no of tables and the location of the tables as I want a banquet ith some strong theme. But hidden cost will be the rentalof projection screen from outside (as the restaurant doesn't have one =( ) Cost about $350/screen according to the GS's vendor.

sorry to add on, i see some tables with the sofa sitting to be for 4 to 5 paxs, is it difficult to arrange seating arrangment at such?

how many tables of 10 are there? cause relatives and elderly may prefer round normal dining tables.

the food quality is good? are they shaghainese food?

Hmm.. office as the make up room? Shirley says that I will be using the private room (left of the restaurant) for the changing room. Thought that is pretty okay.
w3n, only 6 tables of 5pax (sofa seats). The rest are all 10 pax tables.
I ate there when I went down to sign the contract and the food is good! Had the 2pax promo which is 6 courses and man.. it is great. Not exactly shanghainese food. Chinese food loh.. nothing too strong or spicy.. had abalone soup (yummy!) the cold dish is nice too.. cod fish (very tender) xiao long bao.. hmm.. I am getting hungry thinking about it.

hi lin, i suppose you have booked at least 20 tables right? if so, i think u can use their private room as makeup room.

but as i only have around 10-12 tables, she told me i can only use her office..

the march in for this rest. is what shape? ermmmmm is a unique restaurant. looks cosy too. anyone can share the menu with me?

Hmm guys I have a quick question,

I am thinking of booking Grand Copthorne Waterfront as a banquet venue, was never told that they had a chinese restaurant.. until i found out from my friend who got married at GS

Do the GWC and GS work independently of each other? kindly advise. Thanks

If I'm not wrong GWC and GS work independently because if they are working together, thy would most likely be provindg bridal suites ninstead of the executive suites. Sory I might have prob sharing the menu as I don't hve soft copies and I'm a ittle lazy to type in all the menus=P However, I do agree with lin that the food is pretty yummy for my likings. The meet the parent session was held there and there was 1-1 promotion so we got to tried out their food. Anyway I love the fact that everyone will be served individually and there is no such thing as part time waiters/waitresses during banquets to ensure great service. The only bad thing will be there is nothing much for us to bargain on with regards to the package as I do agree to certain xtent that it is pretty comprehensive. I don't hve any pics at the moment but I did went down to GS one evening and saw a wedding there. I must say I love the decos, pretty well done and the atmosphere was great! Hopefully it will be the same during my wedding day!

Oh yah forgot to add in about one set back, thee are some tables which will not be able to see the rented projection screen, so if you have a video to screen, you might need 2 screens. If not you might need to consider getting my lcd or notebook to be place near those guests tables so that they won't be missing out the nice videos! For me, it happens that my tea ceremony is on separate dates and it's on weekdays so it is a simple tea and I won't be hiring videographers. Thus I won't be screening any videos at all. I suggest not to rent from the hotel as it is xpensive and I saw other forum threads with much cheaper rental price.

hi guys can I ask if so far anyone of you have taken your pre wedding shoot at grand shanghai. would like to know how the pics turn out. if you don't mind pls share the pics with me either on the forum here or email me at [email protected] many thanks!

Sigh looks like the thread has died down again only with my only and questions and replies. I wish more GS brides can contirbute to share their exp here

Does any one know if GS cover-wrapped their chairs? The last time I asked (and personally visited GS on a WB day) they did not cover-wrapped their chairs and I tot they looked plain.

I wish more married brides can share too, Christine. I can't answer most of your questions cos my wedding is pending too!
Prob will take wedding photos at the restaurant too..

Hi Siewling

woah, your wedding is just around the corner! I'm so happy and excited for u! Am sure you'll be one of the most beautiful bride =)

Would you mind sharing with us your AD pics and also how was your overall experience?

Lemme know if you manage to break even ma?

Btw, my email is [email protected]

Cheerios
Lydia

am deciding between club chinois & grand shanghai. GS appeals to me more as the food seems more " presentable ". Christine, I have the same concern as u too.adding the taxes its around 800 bucks per table..doubt we can breakend.

EX-GW brides,need advise if 30l of beer & 1 wine per table is enough?Most of my guest will be relatives...thk they will consume more beer..any peeps manage to not take 1 wine per table n change for more beer?

Hope this thread become lively again

Hi Elbarc

club chinois is definitely more affordable, but i'm a service oriented person, i need good service and i have trouble contacting the sales rep from Club chinois, kinda sian to keep trying and sometimes he's not available...so despite the very affordable price, i decided to let go.

GS is costly to me...but i like the venue...breakeven wise, must do a lot of careful planning on guests invite...like families of 4 (parents +2kids) might actually give a standard amt of $200-$400...so maybe, i might just invite adults and closer relatives and friends. This is challenging, but manage well, then can break even =)

Hey Lydia, thanks for your prompt reply. I am actually looking at the 688++ package from GS & the 708+ comes up to around 800 per table... food wise...i thk GS food is more " presentable " & have 9 dishes...

Futhermore GS have 30l beer + wine/table... CC is either free flow beer or wine/table..which u thk is more value for money?We are having a tight budget & wana make out money worth.. its ok if we dont break even...kinda prepared for that..haaha

Yr AD over?

Hi Elbarc,

I have juz signed up with GS for my wedding in oct 2010. We took the 688++ package. Yes, our worry is also on the breakeven part. However, after much consideration, we felt that the live entertainment will be nice for our relatives. The wine that GS provide is quite good. My bf tried and he quite like the taste.

To me, GS is presentable as the serving is individual. Plus, easier for us to plan seatings for our frens too.

Elbarc

my AD is not over, it's end 2010 or 2011, the developer of my hdb don't wanna commit to a finish date of my flat...on paper it's june 2011...so to play safe, i sld take dec 2011 right? my original plan is dec 2010 for my wedding...i haven't sign up with Grand Shanghai. You think we can both sign up together so that can negotiate on the perks? I think we cannot do anything to the price.

actually the break even thinggy, i think we gotta be mentally prepared...otherwise, it would come as a shocker wor!

Amanda, i think with careful planning you should be able to break even, can put the hotel's name below the restaurant's name so that ppl will not give lesser thinking that it's lesser bec it's a restaurant!

Wow...u book early...am looking at late nov or early dec..wonder if its too early to book.. furthermore my bf have not propose yet..haha

btw did u manage to get additional perks besides the normal package? email me if its not convinent to reveal here

Thanks !!

Lydia, I agree..am kinda prepared not to breakeven...good idea to put the hotel name below the resturant name..haaha..if you wana marry only after yr house is ready, better wait till 2011

Yea...We shall book togather if you dont mind booking early..hooho...btw Lydia & amanda, have u all found your BS? Seems that we are planning for AD almost the same time..Can share tips..hehe

Hi guys, yay i am so hapy the thread is finally alive after much time. i am planning to get the cards from grand shanghai soon even thought my weding is like end of the year. but i want to prep the cards early in terms of printing etc first. i think the idea of having the name of the hotel below the restaurant so that even if we don't break even, we will not end up with a great loss. anyway i had my rom last yr at nov 08 and my bridal shop is bliss bridal creation at marina. not bad i must say in terms of service. So for those who needs reference for rom i did document the planning, hope it does help.
http://christineandvitor.blogspot.com/2008/11/overview-of-flow-of-events.html

Oh yah anyone has a pic of the wedding card from grand shanghai i cant rem how it looks like at all since i last saw it months ago =(

haha.. actually is very difficult to negotiate because the wine provided is really good ones. We are just looking at changing the dishes for some.

btw, i noted that there are quite a number of bookings made. So be fast if you want GS.

yes, i have booked my BS too. Booked with Cang Ai. Is a taiwan BS that recently opened a shop in SG. I will be going to Tainan to take wedding pics. It is more expensive than the normal BS because of the gowns and photography. My bf loves the photography. haha..

Yes, I fully agree with you Lydia. Muz put the hotel name there.. hahaha..

thanks for sharing amanda.. btw the package will include a day stay in executive suite rite? I cant find executive suite in Grand Copthorne's wedsite..is there any changes?

yeah..point noted...will decide asap..hehe..

oh..i signed up with a taiwan BS too..signed up with Julia Wedding News..will be going Taipei to take PS...when u intending to go Tainan?

mind to share how much is yr package? I feel like I am " cai tou " after we signed the package..lol

btw for those that had booked..is there any complimentary food tasting? read from the archives that it will be 50% off..any changes to that?

yes, it includes 1 nite stay at Grand Copthorne (executive suite).

hehe.. my package is quite expensive.. cos' i added more pics than the normal package.

what i don't realli like abt Julia Wedding News is the marketing tactic. I saw quite a number of forum members trying hard to sell Julia Wedding News to other BTBs so that they can get 2 extra pics per recommendation.. juz my 2 cents worth of thot.

btw, the food tasting is at 50% off. It is in the contract.

Hey babes!

my friend signed with JWN and she paid a total of S$8k in total...but she goes taiwan and i think her pics are nice but it's way over my budget...think for JWN, the basic pkg cost at least $4k

For myself, i went to SG Bridal in JB, I never ever thought I will go JB to sign up until i rekky around tanjong pagar and visited 3 bridal shops there, including JWN, ZWed, Venus...oso i did visited French Bridal at Suntec...but i cldn't get much perks..

When i initially went around looking for a bridal studio, I was quite fearful as I heard many bad comments from forum about Bridal Studio not fulfilling their promises or that their attitude changes once you signed up with them lor...until i chanced upon Serene's website...her pics are so beautiful! I wrote to her to ask her about SG Bridal and she said that SG will not treat you as "cai tao" and their packages are really comprehensive wor! In Singapore, you can only get the bare basic if you pay like SGD $3k...maybe around 10 pgs and 25 poses at max!

http://www.mywedding.com/bryanserene121208/galleries.html

Actually, i oso got consider Venus in Malaysia...they've really beautiful backdrops but when i send Venus' link and Serene's photo to my htb and close friends for comparison...they feel that Venus has nice backdrops but SG Bridal win in good photography + nice backdrops! Anw, i think SG Bridal backdrop oso quite nice...so i chose SG, bec Kevin is a very good photographer and he can take a pictures that tells a thousand words!

Btw, i took the RM 6088 pkg as it comes with Kevin as the photographer, for the lesser pkg, u gotta top up RM500 leh...oso, they quote me S$700 for Jenny as the MUA, but i'm not going to take her as i feel that it's too costly

btw, they provide free transport from city square too! So quite nice!

My pkg for approx S$2500 consist of:

AD:
a) 1 bridal gown + 2 evening gowns + 1 Kua for AD
b) 2 suits for groom
c) 2 gowns for mother + 1 gown for bridesmaid + 1 coat for bestman + 2 coats for father
d) fresh flowers hand posies
e) free accessories which includes veil, headgear, necklaces and earrings
f) free bridal car decor + 20 ribbons set to tie the entourage
g) 2 corsages (+2) that we negotiated, so total 4 corsages

PhotoShoot:
2 outdoor, 1 indoor (outdoor can choose from Desaru, Sultan Garden, Singapore or Kota Tinggi) - split into different days, so not so rushed.
8 gowns for indoor + 2 gowns for outdoor shoot (so total is 10 gowns) **Originally total is 8, i nego for 2 more, so 10
8 different makeup and hair do
accompanying groom's wear for every different bridal gown
free hand posies for photoshoot
free accessories for photoshoot

1 very chuan tou zhao (forget the size liao)
5 table tops (1 in my ofc, 1 in dear's ofc, 2 in our parents' houses and 1 in our own home) **Originally only 3, they gave 2 extras
1 big album of 15 pages, digital, all cross page, all silver print
1 mommies' album of smaller size
1 uniquely designed guestbook that contains your wedding album picture **Originally don't have, but they gave
1 dvd montage with 2 songs (40 photos)
FOC bear/cows/ tiger (next year)

MUA : Jenny, Photographer: Kevin Then

** i didn't take the free bkmarks as prolly, ppl will throw away if i take them and give away, as such, still negotiating with SG Bridal for 1 free page in my big album...so will be 16 free pages if they relent

wow... ur package is definitely good... hahaha..
reason why i din choose JB because I dun realli fancy the part of going in and out of JB.

my TW package is currently at SGD4000++... excluding accomodation & airtix.

10 gowns...Lydia...its a great deal..even gowns for mum n sis...

any idea if we can have solemnisation in GS? had emailed Sally but she have not reply..

any ex-gs brides manage to get free flow beer from gs? if u all top up, usually require how many more barrel. Need this information for budgeting purposes.thanks !!

Hi Elbarc

Yes, you can have solemnisation in GS. In fact, my friend's solemnisation cum wedding was held there in March. The food was pretty good....

Still deciding whether to hold your wedding @ GS? Have you gone down to take a look?

yea..still deciding.. had emailed Sally..she is suppose to call me back but she have not..had tired to call her but she is not around