Grand Shanghai Restaurant

simplejer,
u dun have to worry about the time-line. GS experienced at it, they will go thru timing with you and will prompt you when to go change for 2nd march-in..

hi stefanie

thanks for the info..yup they are experience at it..haha but we will need to know at least when n where to change for the march in..haha i don wan to be a blur blur bride on tt day..cos will kan chong if u r not prepared n not know wat to do.tt in my opinion.hee

Hi hi... I just had my wedding last Sun at GS. It was a very good and fun experience! You gers will enjoy it...hmmm...as for the AP, all my guests were generous... I think its a matter of who you invite and how close you are to them. My March in songs were Shanghai Bund and Cha Cha Lum Bo....Very fun

Finally, my wedding has over... whew..
Yesterday was my most tiring day.

Hope to upload my wedding photo soon

to those who had held AD at GS? can i check with u all whether u opt for individual serving where the waitress served or 1 big plate on the table than u take yrself type de? cos i heard shirley say tt they hav different type of serving?thanks

i m confuse le..thanks for enlighten mi..

Hi Simplejer, Shirley didnt let me choose, i had the individual serving, which all my guests also preferred. Hope this helps

simplejer,
of coz must know the timing n schedule lah.. shirley will go thru with you.. but they will prompt u during the night incase u forget the timing.. dats why i say dun be too stress..and just enjoy your night

i chose individual serving for my dinner. I thk it's nicer.. but sum guest will feedback food reach them not so hot liao coz cannot serve 250 pple all at same time mah..

Hi Cherryapple,
I did not use projector.
Overall, the food was not bad.

Just something to highlight that . It would be good not to ask GSH to distribute the food for the guest. cos not guests like all the dishes.

My guests were commenting that there are food that they don't take and prefer to leave it other guest
whom might eat it.

It would be good that GSH just used one brand of wine. Some guests were mentioning that the wines were great while some were mentioning it doesn't taste good. so do try out the wine while u ladies doing the food testing.. this is one of the thing that i have forgotten about it.

We ended pretty normal timing.

By the way, I also used live music for the match in.

1. 月亮代表我的新 – 1st March-in

2. 甜蜜蜜 – 2nd March-in

hi mewowo and stefanie

thanks for the info..but i'm still considering whether go for individual serving..there are pros n cons to that lo..n also cant satifty everyone..

so are we able to choose the flower arrangement??
thanks in advance

Hi simplejer, i had the traditional red roses for my wedding. As for flowers, GS will ask you to consult their florist, i am not sure if they will charge you extra for change in flowers.

Hi Simplejer,

I did not pay any extra charge for Mokara Bangkok Gold Orchid. As for other flowers, u need to consult Yuki Florist.

711945.jpg

they offered roses for my wedding, 3 mixed colors - purple, red & pink (see on foto in middle)

then i did a table number card (see right in foto)

and I also did a photo booklet of my ROM pic coz i ROM sumtime ago (see left in foto)

Hi Stefanie,

Yes, the flowers all are provided by GS.
Done by GS florist - Yuki Florist.
I did not top-up any amount.

I personally went down to Yuki Florist to discuss about the flower arrangement. I asked them what are the choice of flowers and Foliages(Leaves) that i can choose. I also tell them about how i want my flowers to be arranged.

My Choice of flower : Orchid - Mokara Bangkok Gold.
712277.jpg

My Choice of Foliages : Monstera . (Recommended by May, the Florist.) - for Guest table only.
712276.jpg

as for the centrepiece & VIP table , they used different types of Foliages.

Actually, the Florist do not recommend Orchid cos they think it might not stand out.
But i think otherwise bcos i Love Orchid.
There are a lot of different species like below

Dendrobium -> Dendrobium Yellow
712271.jpg

Aranda -> Aranda Nora Yellow
712272.jpg

Aranthera -> Aranthera Jame Storei Yellow
712273.jpg

Oncidium -> Oncidium Golden Wish
712274.jpg

Here is the link that You can see the types of Foliages that you may use or like.
http://www.premiumorchids.com.sg/product.php?cType=Y&prodID=100871

Oh Ya,
I forgotten to inform u ladies.
I did not do any angbao box.
I used GS antique cookie glass bottle.
Sad to say that my photographer didn't take any picture of it.

Hi Karen, the orchid that you used looked outstanding

what other types of flowers can we use without extra charge?
Is rose the default flower used by Grand Shanghai for wedding?

Hi Valerie,

They are outstanding bcos they were imported Orchid. Not all Orchids are from Singapore.

I am not sure whether rose is GS default flower.

I did ask before what are the other types of flowers that we can use... beside Orchid.
they did mention rose, Gerbera....

You can call Yuki Florist about what are the choice of flowers that they can provide cum to do some research on the flower arrangement.

Hi Cherryapple,
Yes you are right too the glass bottle that are for birdnest

Dear Brides,

I dont recommend u all to grand shanghai, During dec i attend my fren wedding lunch, they use by per serving(mean e food put in a small plate serve to each of yr guest) and it so ugly u didnt see the whole big deco dish at all it like beggar asking for food. The food there was horribe. Their trade mark Peking duck also eeeeee... The only thing nice is the shark fine soup. The rest really cannot make it.

Hi Tatana8182

I had heard quite alot of gd reviews for the restaurant itself for the food wise.I believe theres a resaon y the food was served individually. May b to some ppl,it seems that its more hygiene compare to a whole big deco..Pardon me asking u this que,is it cos the food wasnt to yr liking or is it the dish cold le when reaching upon the table?

HIhi Nici

Mine was a purple purple intivation card. was wondering shld i go ahead n use them cos its very traditional type de...hee...as the card stand vertically with its width is 18.5cm..donno gt enough space to print the wording le..

I just their inviation card also. And I like their bright pik envelopes. so eye catching. And the card itself really goes well with the shanghai theme. Mine is in dark maroon color with a lady at the side.

Hi cheeyapple

Can i ask when is yr AD?is yr AD passed long ago? Cos the one i get is not realli nice at all..the design has a lady in front..but the thing is the invitation card is purple..the envople itself is white with red border le..i wonder how many types of intivation cards they do have..my AD will be in dec..tt y..Thanks thanks

Hi Simplejer,
I had the same invitation card and envelope as Bitchy Wife. You can check with GHS how many design they have. Maybe what u are having are new.

My AD is in Nov 08. not sure how many design they have, but I rem Shirley say that they oni have one design. Maybe once the design is all given out they come another new batch of new design of cards.

Hi Cherryapple

Oic...i took the invitation card in late aug..anyway i be asking whether they have new designs or not..

Thanks for yr info..

their menu start from 688++, 788++ and 988++

9 course dinner
30l of beer
1 bottle of red wine per table
1 night stay in executive suite
3pc band with singer

signature book,invitation card included,25% parking for guests, wedding favor is their home made cookie
free champagne for toasting.
corkages charge is $20 per bottle of wine.

the wedding set up is really very nice and cosy.but the price can also allow us to take most of the 4 star hotel packages. Now in a dilemma to take this restaurant or hotel

I agreed with you,dean har.

I’m thinking to have my AD dinner here but I’m looking for more perks. Anyone can share with me wat additional perks can this place offer?