Grand Park City Hall

well twink, if you have the concern over the song, why not ask your helpers to instruct the soundman to play the song first and when it comes to the verse part, then the doors open and the couple march in?

of course we should avoid choosing a song where the intro music part is so long i guess

hi btbs, anybody has any idea how long is the march-in? how long will it take to walk down?

im also trying to choose a song with less intro as much as poss, or the other suggestion, is to get the soundman to play a bit of e intro 1st ...

TIA!

The march in for GPPH ballroom is very very short...think before the song goes to the chorus and the march in is done le...about 3-4 tables long...

Hi Twink...I think should be true..I also did not know it untill one of the PG I met told me about it....u may want to check it out...ke ke let us know ya

i think a way to make the march -in last longer is to get flower gals and boys to march in front of you.. the kids will walk very slow and hence can drag the thing...

my friend without flower boy and gal reached the stage before the mist do...

i have seen the normal 25+2 table set-up and the march-in aisle is 3 tables long..

well, perhaps as you march-in, just turn to the pple around you to smile and smile and hopefully, it will drag the march-in longer abit..hehehe

hahaha...
i went to check out the set up for 35 tables last weekend....it is super CRAMP!! and when i went in, some tables are without chairs yet...

their chairs are really back to back...totally no walking space...

gonna be a headache during the table to table phototaking...
and i still think the stage is sooo small...how to toast with family members on stage...like will collasp like that..

huh really that small ar??

hmm supergal think that day will be too "gan jiong" to turn and smile..ke ke

hmm cos my Solemnisation will be held an hour before the dinner start..so I was thinking should I hold it at the ballroom or at the main lobby there..(think thats the fake mini waterfall) quite nice ...not sure can ma

ohh...last week when i went, the couple also hold their Solemnisation one hour before the dinner start. they hold it at the function room beside the ballroom. there is actually a very small room there..

They say usually when there are weddings at the ballroom, the function room is a little small to hold a function there...so usually the function room is empty...i.e. the space outside can be used for reception/cocktail.

but not sure whether need any additional cost if you were to use that room for solemnisation...can check with the wedding co-ordinator...

I have also seen solemnisation at the lobby area...didnt like it cos it's like very open and bare...no privacy...

dzxz, i thought solemnisation at the "Indulge @ Park" area looks not bad..they will provide floral stands and also, table set-up for the couple but i think some costs will be required for renting that area, if i'm not mistaken!

as for the small room near the main ballroom there, i believed if you check with your co-ordinator to see whether if they can extend the usage for you because like what evergreen mentioned, usually when there is a wedding dinner, i don't think that room will be use for any other functions ba.

and well gals, we have the accept the fact that the march-in is short lah..no choice lor. as what some of you have suggested, bride and groom can each march-in at a time. groom first and when he reaches the centre of the aisle, he can stretch out his hand and welcome the bride and as they meet at the centre, they can hold hands and walk down the aisle together! can't think of more ways to lengthen the march-in liao..hahaha

Hi Evergreen, Supergal..yeah I agree with you gals...Coordinator did mention to me the function room will let me use if no one is using..ke ke think will ask the coordinator about the Indulge Park...

ya must accept the fact that the march in is short but thats not the top important...I agree with supergal idea...having the groom to reach the centre of the aisle and stretch out his hand to welcome the bride is kind of different and romantic..ke ke

so far I heard quite a number of good feedback about GPPH..my colleagues mention the food is nice...

yup! hopefully, the good raves about GPPH can keep continuing..keeps us BTBs confidence level up!

my hubby and i spent quite a considerable amount of time looking around for suitable banquet venues and we are glad to have found GPPH - a venue that both of us can finally agree on

haha...yea, i agree...
me and my HTB visited more than 10 hotels....searching high and low for the correct place...

good feedback is one thing...i have heard that the location "puts ppl off" cos when asked about the location, you will definitely say it's just beside Funan or Penisular or Capitol building...
a lot of people think it's some ulu and cheapo hotel...

ke ke no worry evergreen...those pple who really knows about hotel will know ...moreover so far when I tell my friends or colleague they knew it....or can tell them is near excelser (not sure the right spelling)...

ke ke I actually visit only 3 hotels and GPPH is the third hotel..when I went there I love this place and plus talking to friendly coordinator...ke ke I immedate tell my htb I want this hotel...and he too feel is comfortable.....

ohh...lucky you...GPPH was the first hotel i search actually...but then...i was already on wait list then...

so i gave up and start searching for others...after one big big round...the co-ordinator told me that the couple is no longer interested...so i made a trip down...this place happen to be the better place than other hotels i went...

after one big round...

heh...so dzxz, which is the other 2 you went?

hee actually partly is also tired liao htb lazy to see but lucky before we end our day of searching...GPPH suits us ....

WOW sort of is fate ya...heehee....what are the hotels u shortlist..

I went to Orchard Hotel and York Hotel...Wanted Orchard hotel initially but the ballroom turn me off....

hi dzxz,

my sister used york hotel for her wedding in june...the ballroom was not too bad i would say, just that the rosemarie hall has 3 big "pillars".

well, they are not exactly pillars lah, cos it's actually a partition catch for the sliding doors cos i think the ballroom can be split into 3 smaller function rooms. but they have 3 motorised projectors in the ballroom, so guess everyone can still see things clearly..

i heard the carlton hall was even better after renovation! the only pity was that the location of the hotel seems abit far off from the MRT ba..

Orchard hotel ballroom turns you off? i thought it looked quite grand in my opinion..just that i also don't like the location of the hotel. or are you referring to the club chinois ballroom?

orchard hotel i think she's refering to the one opposite orchard parade hotel? i went there...didnt manage to see the ballroom, but they have 3 ballrooms combined together...so the concept is similar to suntec where the reception and cocktail area is a common area...of course they will separate the area, but the area used is the same lo...

don really like orchard hotel..location and price wise not ideal..but the co-ordinator was nice though...

i was keen in M hotel and Amara Sanctuary...but M hotel's ballroom is too small...and they have tables with blocked view...a pity we can't take that...

As for Amara Sanctuary, the ballroom is lovely...the best thus far..but the location is not accessible and that the package price is a little steep... also heard some bad reviews...so a little skeptical in taking that...wouldn't want to take the risk..

i shortlisted NCQ previously but we don't think we could meet the min. 30 tables on a weekend...and we would prefer the Phoenix over the Cinnamon Ballroom..that's why we gave up this venue. NCQ was much cheaper as compared to GPPH though.

M hotel, as i shared earlier with some other BTBs, my company has our D&D there earlier this year and though I didn't attend, I heard not-so-good reviews on the food. but well, opinions on food is always subjective lah..so it's never really possible to please everyone

As for Amara Santuary, I agree that it's nice and hubby and I had wanted to use their Glass Pavillon for our ROM earlier in Oct but we also have our concerns on the location of the hotel. I have attended a wedding dinner at Rasa Sentosa 2 years back and I thought waiting for either the shuttle bus or taxi was horrible! i even miss the last dessert dish hoping that i could get a cab earlier but still, there were already so many pple in front of me...

Hi supergal, hee I am referring to the orchard hotel opp Forum..hmm ya not very good location... The ballrrom turn me off cos there are about 3ballroom in a row..cos I am having about 25tables so wont be taking the whole ballroom...I dont want the whole level having more than 2 couples / wedding held at the same time...ke ke will be confusing and messy...
Oh NCQ not bad actually...I wanted to went there have a look but I already set my eyes on GPPH so I forgo NCQ...moreover my best friend held her big there there...the ballroom is quite big and nice..

But I thought the price is higher than GPPH?? hmmmm

hi dzxz, hmmm...no leh..cos all the NCQ packages that i looked at for 2009 doesn't exceed 900nett but mine for GPPH on a weekend is $900+ per table already...so that's why to me NCQ is cheaper..

but i think weekday packages at GPPH is comparable to those that NCQ offer..but again, i rem NCQ doesn't offer both free flow of beer and 1 bottle of confirmed wine per table..so up to individual couples to determine what they want ba

i wanted free flow of beer cos mine is on a weekend and a sat..so think my frens would most prob drink more i guess..hehehe

evergreen, yup i also think NCQ is quite a popular choice for many couples..my fren also intending to use the venue as her banquet..and i rem when i tried to meet the co-ordinator that time, it seems like she has been booked almost everyday after office hours! so we can imagine how many interested couples there are on this hotel

btw for couples who are keen in Amara Santuray, do give a 2nd thoughts...my company just had a company function with them & i can outright tell u that their service SUCKS.....no one from their banquet team wants to stand out and apologize for the errors...when my manager wrote to their GM, he did not respond either...it is really a very very bad experience with them. So for wedding function, just be very careful abt how the banquet staff handle your wedding day.

i guess so far GPPH really has one of the best service, esp Henry. 100% satisfied with him. he went the extra mile to fulfil your request. i mean at the end of the day, you wouldn't want to have too much concern over the banquet stuff...we are in very safe hands under the GPPH banquet team =)

thanks cheys28 for the sharing...yea, i do hear some bad experience with their banquet team...

also heard that their senior mgt are like that...which is why their ppl are all like that...

HiHi..

I remember someone did ask before the wedding favours GPPH is getting from which vendor right...hee I got the name card and is from The Wedding Fusion..But I try going into their website and is not available lei...hmmm

hihi dzxz,

think if we want to find out more about the wedding favours and can't find them on the website, we can check with our co-ordinator whether if they have something like a shop accessible by the public? so that we can go there and gather more information.

but if they only have like factory outlet, then perhaps abit harder to go there then!

kristle,

not sure if any of the brides who had their banquet at GPPH will still come back here to share more about the vegetarain food..

if not, i think most of us here are also eager to find out what's the review on the food..

Hi kristle,

I went to a friend's wedding at GPPH and was at the same table with a Veg friend.

Food was presented french style, one dish at a time. So when the next dish is served to us, she will be served hers shortly too. And according to her, it tasted good too. We were all so 'envious' of what she was having.

Thus, I am going to cater Veg menu for her again on my wedding day at GPPH! haha..

Hello, Fellow GPPH BTBs.. I'm back!

Just had my wedding on 7th Dec, it was fantastic!
Everything was smooth and the wedding went on very well.

The guests commented that the food was very good.. (so far only compliments, no complaints
) Tasty and in reasonable portions. My guests all seated until the whole dinner was over. Maybe becuz the food was too nice. Haha.

The banquet manager (Angus) was helpful, quick and resourceful.. So BTBs, not to worry.. They have a really strong team there to take care of everything.

As for the spotlights, they do have 2 spotlights for concurrent march-ins for the 2 respective doors. They also have bubbles for the 2nd march in.

I will try to get feedbacks of the muslim food and vegetarian food from my guests.

hooray hooray!! hehehe!

congrats to you twink! tat's great to know really! by the way, what kind of bridal suite did you get on your AD?

Hi twink, congrats! Great to hear that the comments abt the food is very gd =)

Does anyone have feedback on the march-in. If the 1st march-in song is about 2 mins 45secs, is it too short or long enough (cos the march-in at gpph is so short anyw)?

We did food tasting last night and we had a great time. The dishes were served in huge portions and most of them were very well presented.

Our parents and relatives who were there to try out the dishes were all impressed with the quantity and most importantly quality. My HTB also thought it was one of the best 'wedding dinner' he had ever tried. Here are our reviews:

1. Deluxe Suckling Pig Platter (Suckling Pig, Prawn Salad, Roast Duck, Crispy Crab Meat Ball, Marinated Jellyfish)

Suckling Pig- Skin is fragrant and crispy. Good.
Prawn salad - Fruit and prawn was fresh. Huge portion.
Roast Duck- This restaurant does really well in their roast stuffs. Thumbs up! (it was sushi maki initially)
Crispy Crab Meat Ball- Crispy on the outside, sweet and juicy inside. Something different from the norm of having Spring Rolls. I liked it.
Marinated Jellyfish- We all found it too spicy/peppery and too 'Thai' style as it was also a little sour. Although it came mixed with some chicken strips, we thought the taste was unique but not suitable and compatible with other sides on the same dish. We decided to change this to octopus.

Any reviews on the octopus side dish, ladies?

2. Braised Shark's Fin Soup with crab meat and Bamboo Pith

- We enjoyed it as it has no fishy taste. There were plentiful of fish maw, shark's fin, crab meat and bamboo pith. Very mild to the taste buds.

3. Stir fried Fresh scallops with Broccoli and Macadamia Nuts

- Absolutely love this dish. Scallops and Broccoli were served fresh and well cooked. There were plentiful of scallops for everyone. A twist in recipe to use Macadamia Nuts instead of Cashew nuts in this dish is brilliant and it actually adds a buttery flavour to this dish. Very unique indeed. However, it would be perfect if they could use Oyster sized macadamia nuts (i.e bigger, premium) to enhance the flavour further. Also, they could do magic if they could add more macadamia nuts to this dish. There wasn't really enough to give one the 'kick' to attain the buttery taste. Overall, excellent effort.

4. Baked Large Prawns in Butter Sauce

- Very well presented dish. Prawns served were fresh and huge. Some prawns even had 'eggs' in it.
Loved the buttery sauce that wasn't too heavy for the light eaters. Not oily too.

5. Braised Baby Abalone with Mushrooms and Seasonal Greens

- Beautifully presented too. There was enough baby abalone for each person at the table. Very little fishy taste. Mushrooms were also done just right, were big and juicy. My mummy loved it. Cabbage, which were the 'Seasonal Greens' were still crispy although this dish had gravy that soaks the cabbage right in.

6. Steamed Red Garoupa in Hong Kong Style

Fish was meaty but a little overcooked as the meat was already hard when served. Otherwise, we have no comments about the style it was cooked as it is a common dish served.

7. Roast Crispy Whole Chicken Topped with Crispy Straw mushrooms

Enjoyed this dish and thought that the fried straw mushrooms doused on top of the chicken was unique. Very nice twist to a dish that was supposed to be served with Fried minced garlic. Chicken was only partially crispy but overall we liked it.

8. Fried Rice with Pine Nuts and Conpoy in Lotus Leaf

Not oily at all. Rice was well fried with plenty of pine nuts (rice grains were not sticking to one another) There were also plentiful mushrooms, prawns and dried shrimps. Lotus leaf adds fragrant to the rice.

9. Chilled Cream of Mango with Sago and Pomelo

- We were disappointed with this dish as mango pieces served have all darken (not fresh). Pomelo sacs were bitter and somehow dried. Perhaps it's just not the season esp. for Pomelo. We requested them to look into it and they changed a fresh bowl for us, now with fresh cut mango pieces. Still I find that they could do better for the pomelo sacs once the fruit is in season perhaps during chinese new year.

hi sam,

thanks for your feedbacks on their food. my food tasting is next sat so i am very anxious to try since there were many positive feedbacks about it.

when is your AD?

hi sam,

we've got the same menu! cos i think both of us took the ruby package!

by the way, can i ask if the fish that you have in your menu is a "Red" Garoupa or just those normal garoupa?3

it's great to hear nice feedback about the food again!

hi sam,

your wedding is earlier than me by 1 month 1 week. how's preparation now? have you chosen your ballroom decor, wedding favors, etc?

Hi cheekrene!

We only did food tasting and had the invites printed and prepared. Nothing decided for the ballroom deco, wedding favors yet. How about you?

Hi Sam,

I will be having food tasting this sat. I also already done with the printed invites. Now waiting for hotel to contact me about the hotel decor.

hi ppl, jus wanna ask.. did anyone hold their tea ceremony in this hotel before their wedding dinner? thinking of doing so but don know their charges.. anyone know and can share? thanks