Grand Park City Hall

Hi renee, there are quite a few couples who had their tea ceremony before their wedding dinner...
it's done in the function room beside the ballroom...
another alternative is to have it at the lobby...that one usually is a solo ROM (i.e. without the wedding dinner)..
You may wanna check with your wedding planner on the charges...

you may negotiate with them to waive the charges for function room if no one is using on that day...

Hi Hi...I was thinking to hold my solemnisation at the Main lobby there (Indulge Park) instead of my initial plan at my ballroom...But any idea does GPHH charge for that

hi dzxz, i think GPPH does charge a rental fee for usage at the Indulge at Park area if you are going to use it for your solemnisation.

cos if you are going to use the area, the hotel may need to reserve the place for you and other pple will not be able to use the area..so in return, the hotel may need to charge a nominal rental fee for this..

check with the hotel co-ordinators better

anyone tried before their lobster salad with sushi maki, baby abalone with sea cucumer and cod fish...? i am taking the package with these 3 dishes...

anyway super happy to hear good reviews about the food...i will also have muslim tables so would like to gather feedbacks too..

o ya i also want to know which shop they order the favours from?

Hi Junie, i am taking the same menu too and will be having my tasting on this month end. will update you then

Anyone ask if they had yam paste as dessert???

hello pudding,

i would think 2 months prior to your AD will be a good time to do food tasting!

as for the final details, perhaps 2 to 3 weeks before that? cos scare too early go your co-ordinator may forget also..hehe!

hi kristle,

me also thinking whether should i have yam paste or mango sago leh..my menu is mango sago but not sure whether if these 2 dishes are of the same costs or not, if i choose to change to yam paste..

hi supergal,
so u have already done ur food tasting. When's ur wedding?
Actually i was tiking if i shd bring forward my food tasting earlier so i dun have so many things to do together nearer my AD. Later very kanchiong haha

hello cheekrene,

thanks for sharing..now i will really consider whether if i want to change le..since if there is no additional costs to that..

felt that the mango sago is more of the western type of dessert whereas the yam paste is more of the oriental type..maybe will look at my guests to see whether if there are more elderly pple or the younger generation..hehe!

hi pudding,

my AD is still quite far from now..will be in late Oct this year..so most probably will only be doing food tasting by late Aug or early Sep ba. how abt yours?

hi supergal,

i personally like mango sago because when come to last dish, i am already full and wont have appetite to take yam paste. even most of my relatives and friends said so.. luckily my mum who personally like yam paste, agreed to what we change. so i stick to it.

hi pudding,

you can have food tasting 2 or 3 months before your AD. what i had to inform you that, once the food tasting is done, you wont get to see the chef or banquet manager to confirm. most likely will take sometimes to get back.

my food tasting was 2 saturdays ago but till now no reply from them yet.

hi cheekrene,

gosh, till date no reply? something is very wrong with them lately.

For those that would like to change to yam paste, my suggestion would be taste it during the food tasting. coz not a lot of places did the yam paste well, so if the food tasting session one taste weird, we can just choose the mango sago. safer in a way. Personally, lots of my friends love yam paste.

kristle: our dessert is the white fungus with dunno wad right.. although i dont like it.. but then i wont have a chance to eat wad.. haha and it's more unique so most prob i going to keep it... the more worrying thing is the fish... cuz the cod fish is in pieces not 1 whole fish so elderly may not like it

white fungus with papaya?? hahaha..many says this dessert very "zi1 run4" and "yang3 yan2"! good for women!

hmmm..yeah about the whole fish thingy..i also heard some pple says the elderly may prefer to see the fish presented as a whole. well, as long as both sides of your parents don't mind, don't think too much ba. it's impossible to please everyone..

hi kristle,

yup, they are taking a longer time. no news from them yet. my fiance is already given up hope on them. really kinda regret getting this hotel. sigh

most of us get prompt replies from them and we are very happy...

i like cod fish cuz is nicer and more special.. my bf is more pan tang then my parents.. he say it's broken into small pieces...zzz....anyway if we downgrade to whole fish can minus $10 off per table you all know right.?

i am the one who is asking about the vendor for wedding favours...

cheekrene, don't despair..maybe your co-ordinator is really busy at the moment..cos perhaps there are alot of Jan brides out there? hehehe! try giving him or her a call to follow-up ba..this kind of things we as couple will have to be more pro-active i guess. but i'm sure all the other good comments about the hotel should still be a deciding factor on why you have chosen the venue for your banquet

junie, really? can minus off $10 if did not take cod fish arh? actually cod fish is really good you know, high in omega 3 and easily digestible..good for the elderly..hehe!

so how's your findings on the wedding favours? what is the latest collection that the hotel has? can share more??

hey, i've checked with the hotel staff, he said we cant ROM at Indulge cos they are operating biz there.

but i thought there are pple who ROMed there earlier? or they changed alrdy?

hi missybrooklynn,

normally i heard no ROM at indulge. you can either ROM at waterfall (free) or the garden behind indulge (chargeable).

the rental of the garden is estimated $300++. u got to check with them again as i am not sure if there is any changes of the charges.

i also have a friend who want to ROM at indulge but he was given a choice to ROM at waterfall. after ROM, he and his guests will be able to dine in indulge.

can minus $10 off har? they didn't tell me leh. she told me taking a lower menu got to add $$ if you wan to change to a dish inside the higher menu, for changing a lower menu dish, no change.

yalor kristle, that's what my co-ordinator tell me also..

cos on our invoice, we will sure be charge $XXX per table liao..so don't think they can minus off rite? like what you said, the most upgrade another dish to a more expensive dish ba

our coordinator told me.. apparently alot of couples downgrade from cod fish to garouper...$10 off/table..but cannot half half...

i still dunno the wedding favour vendor leh.. and the dzxy said that the website was down?

anyway anyone knows when's the next wedding show? will we be invited?

Hi Junie,

Yup till now I could not log into their website..It keep saying that the domain is not in yet..I am not IT so not sure what it means.The name card I got during the wedding show ..the vendor is The Wedding Fusion...

hi junie,

not sure whether if we will be invited..but think most prob not ba..can sign up if we wanna go but got to pay lar..hehehe! hmmm..if following their yearly norm, it should be in late march ba..

i hope to see the hotel having more "themes" though..know they don't have a particular theme and think some of the brides here share that the florist which you pick will determine the theme that you will be having..

hope to see more different decorations for the stage..

another forum de fren told me it's complimentary for us to attend...no nd pay...

she was invited to last year oct one.. which was the day i signed my package

maybe can ask the coordinator if they give complimentary to attend the wedding show. i think normally ask the hotel then will have complimentary. maybe can give it a try

yalor, since the Grand Plaza Parkroyal days..then became Grand Plaza Park Hotel and now the Grand Park City Hall..

kind of confusing leh..esp when we mentioned to others..they will definitely be asking "is that the same hotel"??

but it seems like the hotel is still under the park hotel group..so don't think there is a change of management ba...just dunno what is the real purpose of the name change..

yes it's very confusing. just like mine, i already printed my invitation cards, it will affect to my guests who will get confused when coming to my wedding

aiyo...what an inappropriate time for you then!

does your insert include a map of the hotel? if so, then less worry on your guests being confused by the name change i guess...

har! i just collected my cards last week only....
Name changing is not something that can implement within days, why can't they inform us earlier?

i agree, but if there is a map attached then shd be okie? anyway some of them up till now still know this hotel is Grand plaza parkroyal leh....

anyway change name is okie, hope they dont change chef.,..