Grand Park City Hall

jgenesis

Hi Shanna, thanks for the pics =)

True..the shape of the ballroom renders the aisle shorter, esp if u r intending to have sword-bearers. Perhaps, it's the stage size area that is alittle smaller.

I think the size of the ballroom is big enough to hold 30 tables but it really depends on how many guests u r inviting.

As for a live band, it's possible to have one at the foot of the stage, but if u have 30-32 tables, it may be too cramp for the band.

Anyway, how did u find the ambience when u stepped into the ballroom?

shannat

ojh, actually i find it quite plain... LOL~
doesnt really feel like a wedding.. or maybe the lights still on, so very bright, the feeling i had wasnt a WOW, I SO WANNA HOLD MY WEDDING HERE! feeling...
anyway, looks like i might need to drop GPCH. my AD date in 2012 alr taken up! boooo!! also, janice told me, best to hv arnd 26-28 tables. so that would not be too cramp cos though they state 32 tables, 30 tables would alr be v cramp alr.

the aisle is really too short for me. the first pic, i took is near the entrance, and the second pic is at the wall end of the aisle liao. and hv to enter by either side of the door, centre part hv no door, is only a partition. sigh~

jingyijingyi

so fast ur date for 2012 taken? tat is fast!!! now only 2010 sept lehz.

do u think they allow 2nd viewing of the ballroom if u been there before? hehe cos i cant really rem how the ballroom looks like cos been to quite a few hotels the other time

shannat

jingyi: i think shld be can ba. haha just tell your coorinator? shldnt be a problem de.

so fast right??? sian lo!

jgenesis

I think the lighting will play an important part, as well as the colours of the table. If they are all with white table cloth, may be abit plain =) Maybe golden colour and red for VIP tables (cos I realised that there is no red for VIP table (if there was any) from the pic.

I went to view the lighting when there was no wedding and one of the staff was kind enough to show us the lighting effects from the chandalier. It's actually v nice and the ambience and soft and warm.

The stage can be better decorated with a nice piece of coloured cloth. Otherwise, I think it's a cosy place =)

jingyijingyi

i feel that the ballroom is nice but dun have the "wow" factor. but den again,the package & perks is quite gd to cover up with "not wow" factor.

i went to view the ballroom with like 20tables but it looks pretty cramp. i feel tat ballroom looks quite small for 25 & above. the aisle area where u walk towards the stage seems abit small as well. but i have to say the red walls & chandelier is nice. foyer area *thumbs up*

jgenesis

went to view the ballroom with a wedding just now..it looks good! The ambience is nice too w the soft chandelier lightings. In fact, it's better than e function rooms/smaller ballrooms that i attended in more prestigious hotels.

The aisle is Y shaped and shorter, but it's not v narrow if no. of tables dun exceed 25. So gotta be creative w entrance (which is pretty interesting now that we may get a flower gal n page boy each to accompany at each door)

As for the cake, the wedding cake we saw was not the cascading one. It's the upright one which is nicer looking.

The stage is alittle small so may use a different design (using a piece of nice cloth to make a bow like design that extends outwards) to make it look broader. But one concern is whether all my relatives can go on stage for toasting..anyway, that's a small issue.

As for the 2 speakers. Hmm..i think nobody at e banquet will look at them..the ambience with the lighting n rose petals on the aisle n doorway are very nice liao..Warm lights and i overheard from one guest in e toilet that they r v full, cos e serving quite large

weixiang_06

Shanna: you can hold your wedding in Marina Bay Sands... sure have the WOW factor... if your pockets are deep enough.... that would amount to 1600 - 2200 per table for weekend dinner...

you can check out the pricing here for Marina Bay Sands...

http://www.marinabaysands.com/uploa...AndSocialOccasions/chinese_dinner_package.pdf

if the short aisle is of a concern to you, you shouldn't have enough considered GPCH. The fact that your AD date in 2012 has already been booked goes to show that GPCH is popular.. Prices are reasonable and with good quality food...

you can try looking at intercontential.. its about $1300++ on weekends... the ballroom is super wow...

for me, i rather compromise on the venue alittle rather than on the food and exceed my budget.... i dun want to end up with a big debt. Have seen friends who ended up 10+k poorer after a wedding dinner, just on the hosting the dinner itself (excluding AD PG and etc)...

weixiang_06

Ojh: That's precisely the reason why i chose GPCH. The quality of the food is good and comes in big portions.. I been there for two weddings before...

Frankly speaking, GPCH is meant more for small weddings.. For my AD, its 25 + 2 tables.. but i am trying to do away with the reserve, would want more space between the tables...

Been to Concorde Hotel in Sept for wedding dinner.. The price is cheap, way cheaper than GPCH. Ballroom is big and comes with high ceilings.. However, the food was a big let down.. On paper, it looks very nice.. However, the dishes were either very normal tasting or the hotel simply scrimp on the quality.. For the shark's fins soup, I could hard taste any fins and they were cold... Even those $5 can rabbit's brand sharks fin can soup tastes much better with more ingredients. Not to mention other stuff. Anyway, that's for Concorde.

Shanna: if you are looking for a BIG BALLROOM, you might want to look at Concorde. The prices are even more reasonable than GPCH. Weekend pricings are less than 1k for 2012... whereas for GPCH prices are already hitting 1.1k already...

If you do not have any budget, do go for intercontential, the ballroom is really nice.. Pricing should be 1.5k for weekends...

I'm sure most GPCH couples are aware of the short aisles.. That's not a problem for us.

jgenesis

weixiang: yup, agree that the ballroom is meant for smaller wedding banquets. I'm also trying to do away w my 2 reserves to make it 25. Cos really want it intimate.

Shanna: Yup, i agree w Weixiang that for bigger weddings, intercontinental is good, as well as Concorde. I was considering these 2 choices too but concorde needs more than 30 tables n intercon's price is way off budget. But it has a beautiful ballroom.

Another option is Orchard Hotel or Holiday Inn Orchard City Centre. HIOCC's Crystal Ballroom is nice and has a long aisle
but the food not sure.

Grand Corpthone has a nice ballroom which is smaller ( Riverfront ballroom i think ) but it's less accessible.

Quite a number of options..but it boils down to what u n ur htb are looking for, ur budget and how many guests u have.

shannat

wah weixiang chill la. why so defensive n is tt sarcarsm i felt? hope im just being too senstitive.

like i mention, when i was there, it was v rush and also, the lights were not dim and very bright, so i didnt felt the WEDDING atmosphere ma. (mostly when we go weddings the lights r dimmer n more cosy right?)
actually i like GPCH alot if not wont be considering it alr.
but i nvr been to GPCH b4, so i didnt know the aisle was so short (or rather, to me) if not, i would not hv shortlisted it and spend time finding out more abt this place.
im not looking for a BIG BALLROOM cos mine also abt 25-27 tables, considered a small wedding too, just that i was expecting the ballroom to be bigger (or maybe i expected too much?
). cos if need to put in 30 tables (including reserves) will be a tad too cramp. and i was also considering to get a live band, which also not very possible (as told by my coordinator).

Ojh: thanks! i was also shortlisting OH and intercon
but bcos my htb is not in sg now, so im the only one looking arnd and gg down to do the site visits. and then hv to inform him abt this n that.. n of cos, the pics wont help much cos he is not there to see n "feel" too. sigh! n like weixiang mention, ppl r alr starting to book the hotels and i believe that my AD date shld be quite popular (alr found 3 other ppl same as me) so very worried i cant book a place we would both like and able to. =/

shannat

and honestly weixiang,i think GPCH is a really ideal choice. if the aisle can be "changed" to a long one, i would hv gladly booked it and hv a load of my mind!

w3ngal

Ermmm yah I think the stage is abit small if I could recall but shd be ok lah...I can't rem the deco though...yah I aso feel best around 25 tables if not is really cramp...

Have u all been to Amara? I think their ballroom us even worse. The tables is laid in a L shape de which means those sitting at the L can't even see the couple marching in till they reach the stage. At least gpch, all guest can see clearly lo, just personal opinion cause I went Amara recently so even mrw confirmed that I made a right choice within my budget.

N when choosing a banquet location, unless u r loaded if not sure hv to find one within budget n consider which is a more impt factor to u... is it the food. The service, the march in etc coz unable to have everything de. When I booked I aso pause awhile cause I find the march in short but decided to go ahead cause food, service is more impt to me

weixiang_06

Shanna: neh.. i was just in a lousy mood last night.. btw, have you considered Concorde Hotel (aka Le Meridian)

The price is slightly less than 1k for weekends in 2012... In fact, it comes with 9 course dinner... If you are interested in big ballroom with long aisle, that would be ideal. The aisle for Concorde is easily 3 times of that for GPCH..

In fact when i checked with the groom who held the wedding in Concorde (aka Le Meridien), it gave them the following

- 2 bottles of wine per table
- free flow of beer
- helper room with night stay and breakfast
- 2N stay in Bridal Suite with breakfast (can utilise 2nd night as anniversay stay)
- discount of $60 per table

For him, the price per pax is just over 800 for Saturday in 2010... Imho, its super reasonable.. For GPCH in 2010 on Sat, its closer in the region of ~1k. Then in 2012, Fri/Sat/Sun will all be in the region of 1.1k.

For me unfortunately, I have a certain budget which GPCH can fulfil. I have friends who have to top up ~$400 per table themselves as ang baos not sufficient to cover. The final amount easily amounting to 10+k....

btw, Holiday Inn Orchard has too many pillars which are undesirable as some guests won't be able to see you at all.

w3n: likewise i am not loaded... To me the food and service are more important than the short aisle... And the location of GPCH is great for people who are not driving. Walking distance from both City Hall and Clarke Quay MRT.

w3ngal

yup agree that city hall grand park got good location, easy for those whom are not driving!

ermmm top up of 400 per table is alot wor! nowadays things are getting more expensive lo, hopefully all of us dont need to fork out too much for banquet ba!

weixiang_06

and about topping up $400 per table.. i happen to know that couple.. they held theirs at Intercontential on a weekend.. Its about 1.5k....

but most people doesn't know that its that expensive and gave standard rate....

vilopup

Hey folks, was reading through the thread.... i think everyone pls keep calm when preparing for wedding bah...

FOr every ballroom out there, there is always one that is bigger and grander... so there is no end to this lah...

If there is no budget to get the ideal big and nice ballroom wanted, perhaps, it might be cheaper to consider a good PG or VG who is able to make a smaller place worth a million...Technology is so advanced afterall, with good lenses and angles, can look very good too.

To put it bluntly, after the wedding, people will hardly remember the wedding except the couple themselves... If there is anything, remember that they will talk about the food and service throughout the entire duration of the dinner when the courses are being served.

So please consider the level of service etc provided. Just been to a 5 star hotel for a wedding dinner... it was for two dear friends of mine... the wedding was enjoyable but the service was not very good. Much as we as friends do not complain about it, there were other guests who feedback.

In the end the groom was pretty upset that their smaller ballroom was "seen no up" as the staff were mostly deployed to the grand ballroom.

So in GPCH, we are lucky. Despite the small grand ballroom and the short aisle march in, we have the entire place for the event, including the attention of the staff deployed...

They made me feel like a million actually. The girl opening the ballroom door was chatting with me and teaching me how to walk without tripping, calming my nervous nerves.

For the 2nd march in, she opened the door to give me a peek to the express highlights...

There was 100% accuracy in the music and videos played and last but not least, after the dinner, by the time we went up to the suite, all our food and wines were delivered back...

The staff was very thoughtful and packed a set of favors as well as a menu card to keep as souvenir.

It is a small and homely place where people work like a team to ensure everything goes well and undivided attention since there are no other couples.

Much as I would love a bigger and grander place, I am also glad that we chose GPCH.

For the folks who did not know, we were initially booked for a restaurant because the husband's concept of a wedding is just a noisy gathering for all our friends and relatives to be happy with us.

I wanted so much to have a hotel wedding... and so when we finally painfully forfeit our 1k deposit, the first thought that came to mind for a hotel was GPCH because I attended a friend's one at Grand Plaza Park Royal some years back and the good experience and food was well etched in my head (despite been to a lot of other 5 star hotels for weddings).

So to all BTBs and GTBs out there, lets all try to work around what you want and have and enjoy your happy wedding!

Weixiang: Ask your PG to try avoid the walls you dont like? I am sure he can work something out...

vilopup

weixiang: your bs is bridal concept rite? is that you and wife photo in this issue of style weddings about bridal studio pickings?

weixiang_06

blur btb: yup.. that's us...

very happy with Bridal Concept's services. My coordinator is Sharon, MUA is Lynn and PG is Kit.. Those who are considering can select this combination. Even though we have paid close to 90%, they are still very patient and professional. now in the midst of amending the layout and getting ready for the big day. fyi, i did not even select that photo in style weddings, most likely they used that to showcase their gown. Hope that helps.

weixiang_06

w3n: nothing one lah... in fact, dun waste your money to buy... it was the bridal shop who approached us for permission to be published in the magazine.. that's all.. it just a very small photo and corner of the magazine...

weixiang_06

Ojh: i selected the suckling pig combination..

suckling pig portion is big, crispy and just the right texture.

wasabi fried prawns: this is a must! i am not sure how big the baked prawns are (serving portion is only 1 each).. but for the wasabi prawns, not only they are deshelled.. They are very big too.. It took me 2-3 mouthful to devour the entire prawn.. its very very nice.. Each person could have 2 prawns each.. It looked like the size of a king prawn..

Steamed Red Garoupa: fresh, tender and big portion

Fried Udon with deluxe seafood: totally refreshing with generous portion of seafood included...

If you ask me, what is a must.. The wasabi prawns is a MUST!

jgenesis

okies =) but is the wasabi very strong or too blend? cos i know that there may be some people who may not like wasabi (like me..haha), as well as the older folks?

The prawn that is in our menu is "Deep Fried Crispy Rice Prawn with Tomato-Mayo & Kiwi Fruits". Not sure what is Rice Prawn but i guess it's comparable with the wasabi prawns?

shannat

weixiang: thanks for your suggestions, i will consider and do some research
. our budget is arnd 1-1.2k per table. the thought of confirming GPCH is still gg thru my mind. i agree with u all tt cant find the perfect place (with good food, service n perfect ballroom) but cos htb n i r very looking forward for our military wedding, thats why i keep hestitating. and the way u describe the food makes me more tempted!

julia85

i'm so looking fwd to this sunday's wedding show!!

gotta be there to see it for myself...

the price is very worth and the food is said to be so yummy..
maybe i jus have to forgo having long aisle ba..
shall see how this sun! =)

weixiang_06

Shanna: in fact, i been to 2 weddings in GPCH before. One of which is my cousin, whose husband is also an army officer. Likewise, they also had the miltary sword bearing officers to greet the newly wed along the aisle. However, they cut down the number of sword bearing officers to 4 or 6. can't really remember the exact number. It was still possible... Just walk slower on the main short aisle...

w3n: yeah, i was pretty skeptical about the wasabi prawns.. thought it would be small BUT it was BIG considering its already deshelled..

weixiang_06

my heartfelt thanks for Christopher for making my last minute food tasting possible..

btw, for those who are going for the wedding show.. Its on this Saturday, 2nd Oct from 12 - 5pm..

jgenesis

shanna: I think military march-in doesnt need to be long. For GPCH, it can still be quite nice depending on how u plan it, for e.g. the officers can march in from both doors simultaneously, meet at the middle and two-by-two attain their positions. I agree with Weixiang that about 6 should be sufficient. 2 for the 1st row of tables, 2 for the 2nd, and 3rd (since the aisle in e middle is abt 3 tables length long). For ur htb n u, it's ok to walk slower.

jingyijingyi

initally i was thinking either signing up with GPCH or crowne plaza. but when i met up with janice her attitude wasnt very gd as in not friendly. even my bro who tag along feels tat she like bo chup attitude. nvm den i ask her get back to me regarding my date availabilty,until now almost 5th day le still not yet receive email from her.

i feel tat its a waste that such a nice hotel have such lousy co-ordinator. maybe i shuld have meet up with the other co-ordinator chris instead..

shannat

jingyi, really ma? actually i thought she was quite OK. she actually check my date availability on the spot (thinking it was in 2011) but in the end i told her it was 2012 instead. she called but the person was busy so she told me will email me. next morning i rcv her email le.

also, i was carrying a big bulky bag and b4 she bring me for viewing, she offered to place it at the baggage area for me too. not to mention i was late for almost 1/2 hr (due to heavy rain tt day =P) she still greeted me warmly.

shannat

ojh: cos htb hv more than 6 buddies who will be our sword bearers. he doesnt think it would be very nice to include some n exclude some..thats one of the reasons why we "need" more than 6.

jingyijingyi

shanna: i told her my date is in 2012 den she say she will check for me den email me. so i wait lor so long aso nv email me. customer svc not very gd leh. or maybe tat day i wear shorts n spag top she think i dun have money to sign with them? haha..

weixiang_06

jingyi: perhaps you might want to check with janice again by emailing or contacting her directly... for me, i also tend to be proactive in such matters... sometimes they might get caught up with other matters that it slipped their mind.

likewise, i am waiting for Chris to get back to me on some matters which i emailed to him 2 days ago.. just to be on the safe side, i just emailed him again as he had not gotten back to me..

twinklest

Did anyone receive any invitation to view the newly renovated ballroom on 02Oct? (those who havce signed up before they renovate the ballroom)

weixiang_06

if nevery receive the invites, as long as you have registered, still can go one.. they will have a list of registered couples.. happened for the previous wedding show for me...

but the previous previous wedding show, i did receive them.

antzc

Does any one of you know will it be cramp if i were to squeeze a babychair in a table of 10 adults?

Weixiang,
Which dessert did you try in ur food tasting? Nice?