Grand Park City Hall

I just got a reply from Christopher, he say that GPCH had already paid the annual licence to play music on the background, so you don't have to pay $50 to have your original CD play during your wedding.

But he say this does not apply to people who engage live band, GPCH didn't pay any licence fee for live band... dotz... Does that mean we have to pay $100 to COMPASS for live band?

w3n> I'm planning to engage live band too.
I had ask for many quotation from different Wedding Singers, and from one of them, they provide me with the link to COMPASS saying that licence fee is to be borne by myself if i engage them. I'm not sure about other wedding singers.

w3ngal

Did u check with chris whether those engaged liveband need to pay that 100? Ermmm I have not really check with them on this leh...

He didn't say need to pay that $100. This is what he reply:

Chris: You dont have to pay for the backdground music that you plan to play through our system. just bring the orginal cd and we will handle from there as hotel do pay for annual license fee to have the privllege but that does not apply for the band.

I didn't ask further as I'm thinking of just go pass w/o paying it... ... unless Chirs ask me to produce the licence receipt *finger cross. Hope no spy frm COMPASS reading this. Hahaha.

blueangel81

Ladies, you may want to check with the band first before paying $100 directly to Compass. I posed this 'copyright' concern to the band that I will be engaging & the band lead told me they will settle it for me so I assume I dun have to pay anything further to Compass.

jigglez

oppss..sorry for the late reply. i don't have the pictures with me now.

The nicer dishes were Herbal Chicken, Scallops+Brocolli, Prawns in Butter Sauce. The rest are not so nice in my opinion.

jgenesis

Hi, I've changed one of the dishes in my menu, from 'Chicken Prepared In Two Ways' to 'Roasted Crispy Chicken with Crackers' as it's supposed to be their Signature dish.

I do hope i've made the right choice.

w3n> My wedding singer call up COMPASS, they email me saying that our hotel already paid for the licence fee for hvng band. So we don't have to pay extral for now. Hehe. *An Xin* now.

w3ngal

hi ojh, ur AD is next yr, u so fast change the menu le ah?

hi memorablechocolate, thanks thanks! feel more an xin too hee.

jgenesis

yep. prefer something crispy for poultry dish cos the previous dish was a mixture of soya sauce chicken n poached style chicken. Plus we felt the name sounded alittle strange - 'Chicken Prepared in Two Ways'

I've heard the ballroom level is gg to undergo some upgrading like carpets, ballroom chandeliers, wall, and the theme may change after the reno, most likely at e end of e year..look forward to the new look!

chilliinketchup

Hi chocolatepraline,

I understand u took up the 3-piece band with A Little Dream. Is it 2 singers and a keyboardist?

Were u asked to pay any extra charges ($150) for the electronic keyboard?

They mentioned something about renting the digital piano for $150 when I asked for electronic keyboard (instead of piano). Suddenly all the hidden costs pop up after u have paid the deposit.

geniecatcher

I thought GPCH will be doing the renovations of the ballroom in the 7th month in the lunar calendar this year and completed before the 8th month?

jgenesis

yup, the reno will be completed by 8th mth..but i heard that e themes may change and can only be confirmed after the reno is done..not sure how long it will take..

Lowpyng> I email Christopher about the wine too. The Red wine is wolf blass biryara and the white wine is wolf blass chardonnay.

Ya I saw Little Dream having hidden cost of the piano, and certain singers need to pay too. That’s y I choose other band. ‘Love Me Knot’ – www.lovemeknot.sg

vilopup

Lowpyng> It seems that usually for wedding banquets, there are more requests for red rather than white wine. So for my 36 bottles, I will be asking for mayb 26 red and 10 white.

Just wondering whether i have to get sme more spares or not.

w3ngal

hi blur btb, ur wedding on weekday or weekend? i think 36 may not be enough if the guests do drink (like drinkers or wine lovers along your friends) i am considering taking another 10 bottles maybe. haven really decide and confirm.

chilliinketchup

w3ngal: I didn't request for a digital piano. Don't know why they mentioned it.

I requested for 2 singers and a keyboardist. I didn't know I must provide them with a keyboard.
kao_dizzy.gif

If I ask for a guitarist, do I need to provide them with a guitar? They ought to have their own equipment. Everything they must rent and I must pay. All these hidden costs not mentioned earlier on.

I am paying $1200 for 2 singers and a keyboardist (who does not have a keyboard) and $300 for an external sound system.

Now they replied that they can source for a musician who can bring along his personal keyboard for us at a token $50 transportation charge, if we do not want the digital piano @ $150.

I wonder if Love Me Knot and Wedding Harmony have such hiddent costs too. I shortlisted these three bands earlier on.

chocolatepraline: Did u pay any extra for the keyboard?

lowpyng

ya.. also considering taking another 10-12 bottles on top of the 36..

Hmm, might just be offering one kind of wine ba.. likely to be red wine.. havent really decided

vilopup

w3n and lowpyng: Hmm, dont seem to be a lot of wine drinkers in the midst and i think a lot of pple are driving. So i probably just leave it as 36 bottles and then get some hard liquour for the older uncles.

I personally prefer white wine.. hahaha.. so probably will leave 6 bottles of white and then the rest red and then ask the banquet coordinator to play by ear.

w3ngal

dear chilli, i think must ask them carefully. till now they only quote me what is needed layz din tell me need to pay this and that. maybe u can ask if there is any other cost, all at one go.

yah i think now ppl drink lesser le but i think my boy de buddies drink alot. every week we go drink de so i think it depends on the guests ba. yah and most ppl drives. so maybe lesser also. hee

Chilli-in-ketchup: Nope, I only paid a flat rate of $1350, including the Emcee service. I was told about the rental charge for the digital keyboard & external sound system. As I was not really sure of the difference between a normal keyboard & a digital one, I did not state that I need a digital one & I wasn't charged for the transport of keyboard. I didn't opt for rental of external sound system as the sound system in GPCH should be able to support the band. Anyway, having performed many times at GPCH, they should know the quality of sound system in GPCH, yet other couples including myself, have not been asked to rent an external one. I would say that I am quite satisfied with the sound quality of the band on my wedding.

chilliinketchup

Blur btb: Yeah, I have signed up with them few weeks ago. Paid $500 deposit. Deal sealed, hidden costs come popping up.

w3n: They quoted us $1200 for a 3-piece band, which includes 2 singers and a keyboardist. Most, if not all, of us would have expected the keyboard to be inclusive.

I was told of the rental of external sound system @ $300 earlier on, so I have no issue with this. I rented sound system before, $300 is considered reasonable.

Maybe because I asked for digital keyboard which may mean something different in their musical fraternity, so they started quoting us different prices. Maybe I should have said normal keyboard (hope they won't bring the one for PC that day).

Now I won't be surprised if I need to rent mics for them too.
kao_dizzy.gif

vilopup

Chilli-In-Ketchup: Aiyo, why like that one... i think you ask them again lah. exactly what is needed so that you can have a good idea of the prices. No point silly shocks in the form of hidden costs keep coming up.

Who you getting for your singer? Is it Bevlyn? I heard that she has an extra charge also being the lead singer in the band.

I think keyboard not too impt, as long as got sound lah.... since the singer should be the key item.

Chilli-In-Ketchup> I just engage Love Me Knot, they don't have such hidden cost n is $1000 NETT for 3-prices. I like their Trio package w/ 3 female singers but hubby n i think 1 female n 1 male singers fit our choice of songs better. =)

chilliinketchup

They quoted me this at the start:
3-piece band: Crazy For You
(2 singers + pianist** OR guitarist
OR singer + suitable combination of pianist/guitarist/saxophonist/violinist/bassist)
- 2 sets ($1200)

They mentioned that they will use the in-house piano. Though piano is more classy, we preferred keyboard. Hence I requested to change to keyboard.

I did not expect the pianist and keyboardist to make a difference to the price. chocolatepraline also had keyboard, but was not charged any extra. $50 or $150 is not a big sum to pay, but I wonder why I have to.

Actually I prefer Love Me Knot too.

w3ngal

Chilli u liase with who can say? Cause I think the person I email with told me the costs clearly or is it I misunderstand. Blur le...best to check n ask wat other cost is needed. U paid the deposit le ah..I haven...

Chilli-in-ketchup & w3n: I confirmed with 'A Little Dream' nearly a year before my wedding & probably, have quite forgotten the actual details of the quotation. Probably, they have already made some adjustments to their packages.

I just looked through the email quotation & I realized that indeed, I was also quoted $50 for the transportation charge. In that case, I guess they only charged me $100 for the emcee service ($100 for inexperienced/$150 for experienced) & the other $50 was for the transport charge. As I didn't request for a breakdown of the total cost, I guess they should have already included the $50 with the total bill without me knowing. Well, they could have charged me $150 for the emcee service & I would still go ahead with them.

From my experience with them, the band seems to be really open about additional costs, & I honestly don't think they would impose hidden costs once you have confirmed their service. I also feel that they value their hard-earned reputation & wouldn't want to risk losing their potential customers.

As I have mentioned earlier, Bevlyn was part of the band & I totally didn't expect her at all. I learned that she had decided to be part of the band as she happened to be available on that day & I wasn't charged extra for having her. It was really out of goodwill, & I truly appreciate it.

chilliinketchup

I have asked them directly why I was being charged additional for the keyboard, they finally admitted that they have increased the price. I expected this reply actually, to cover up the fact that they are charging me more as compared to other couples.

Their website stated that 3-piece band may consist of 2 singers and a keyboardist, and additional instruments can be added at extra cost. Doesn't that mean keyboard is inclusive in the 3-piece band?

Hence when they quoted me the 3-piece band with a pianist, I thought that it would be the same if I changed to keyboardist. But I am wrong! It's an oversight on my part, not their fault even if it was their intention to 'chop' me.

I signed up with them in Apr. They better not let me run into another couple who paid $1200 nett for the keyboard, and who signed up in Apr or later.

An extract from them:
"As for the couple who said they paid $1200 for 3-piece band including a keyboardist, there could be many reasons for this. One possible reason is that they enquired with us when our base rate was lower, at $1150 for a 3-piece band. Hence, we charged them $1200 ($1150 + $50 for keyboardist's transport)."

I wonder what the other reasons are.

w3ngal: I liased with a person called Nicky initially. But when I started questioning the hidden costs, Nicky disappeared and Hsin Yeow took over. I have already paid the deposit, otherwise, I would have chosen Love Me Knot. I saw their videos in Youtube and I quite like them. But my wife prefers A Little Dream, coz like what chocolatepraline said, their reviews are good on the net. How much did they quote u for the 3-piece band? Rem to ask clearly first before u transfer the money! It's no return.

U may also want to consider Love Me Knot and Wedding Harmony. I shortlisted them too.

chocolatepraline: I believe in the good reviews that I have read about them. Furthermore, u have also commented positively about them. I am actually not worked up over the $50 or $150. But by the fact that I have to pay extra for even a keyboard. I can actually loan them FOC if need to.

w3ngal

ermmm true. i also liase with Nicky just that i have not pay the deposit (my wedding is about 1 yr later) thus things are not confirm yet. clear the misunderstanding jiu hao, i also understand you are not work up over that some of money, just that as customers we really dislike hidden cost, be it misunderstanding or purposely dont let us know. we rather know before hand and pay it willingly.

back to grand park, any updates recently? anyone tried food tasting or held wedding recently?

jigglez

Hihi...my wedding just ended last week..i chose the new theme with pink flowers..really nice!
oh ya..please try to limit your number of tables as little as possible...really quite squeezy when doing photo taking with the can can gown..

jigglez

I had 28 tables. hmmm i m not sure if my PG took clear photos of the theme..but its like the photos posted earlier in this thread.

food was better than food tasting but prawn is not as food on AD.

jiening

thanks jigglez!
oh dear.. im gonna have 30.

how about for the guests? can they sit comfortably or was it too squeezy for them too?