Grand Park City Hall

weixiang_06

glad to note that so many BTBs and GTBs being so affirmative about the services / food rendered in GPCH.

Previously, i was quite worried for my ROM. Ended up it turned out good... Likewise for the AD, having positive feedbacks from chocolatepraline and others really reassured my decision to select GPCH as my hotel venue in 2011...

Heehee. I know there would definitely be some who beg to differ. Such people definitely exists, else it would be such a dull world. Heehee! Well everyone is entitled to their beliefs... Like the same for my solemniser, I find him great! So did many couples who had engaged him. :D

mistyice07

Im an official GPCH BTB today!!
cya all at the show this sat

smilem

congrat autumn tat u found hotel..

i still lookg / hunting for venue.. i will be there on sat too.. but they still ve not send me the confirmation receipt ...

geniecatcher

just checking with those with those who will be having their solemnisation and their wedding banquet together at GPCH...Where would you hold the solemnisation ceremony? will u all do it on the stage after the first march-in, or do it at the adjacent room before the dinner?

im still contemplating which option should i go for leh..since mine is on a weekday..haiz..

any suggestions?

vilopup

Enjoy the wedding show folks! I be gg to JB for photos and then printing of inserts!

Gene: I have gone to a few friend's weddings where solemnisation and dinner together on one evening.

Would suggest you do solemnisation at adjacent room. After the ceremony, the guests and yourselves and mingle at the cocktail area and at 7pm or so then open the door to the banquet hall.

If timing is an issue, then can do after first March in? I have been to such an event before for a weekend lunch.

sleepy47

I heard that we need to pay copyright for the march-in songs as well... Really?

Mayi i know who is familiar with all these copyright stuff? Can share?

I am confused by all these copyright stuff liao...

w3ngal

i will also be doing at the smaller ballroom beside the grand ballroom. i dont really like the idea of soleminsing on stage cause i attended one before wherby the guests (elderly) were chatting loudly among themselves despite the emcee asking everyone to be quiet first during ceremony so i prefer a session before the banquet.

blur btb, the inserts u going JB where to print? cause if i were to take a JB bridal shop, i hope to save my visit and visit them at one go.

lowpyng

Just signed with GPCH yesterday!
v happy! muahaha :p Yep, recieved the invitation for the wedding show liaoz..

Hi sleepy47, if i'm not mistaken, if we are using the list of songs the hotel has then we will not be violating the copyright as the hotel pays for copyright for songs played in hotel premises..

However, if we are playing a self-made montage (with songs) from our own laptop, then we'll need to pay for copyright.

For montages by photographers or bridal studios, will need to check if they have paid for the license.

Yep, hope this helps

vilopup

w3n: my BS is in JB mah... its Printemps at City Square. Did 2 photoshoots with them cos i love the results and wanted more! The printing shop is just beside Printemps. Called T&T. The one opposite T&T is very expensive, i have checked the rates.

Yup, I do a lot of shopping in JB also. I getting some Guo Da Li stuff there as well.

mistyice07

smilem: thanks..so far I've been to Furama Riverfront, M Hotel, Novotel, Parkroyal@Beach Road & Peony Jade. I like GPCH the most cos of the pillar-less ballroom + not too low ceiling. I hope after the makeover, the place will look more Grand

Blur btb: would you mind sharing the rates of the printing service in JB? Thanks.

vilopup

Hi Autumn smilem,

Just went there to print yesterday. For T&T, the printing is 100 pieces RM80 and 150 pieces RM95. Think quite cheap.

What you need to do is to bring a sample of your invite card there and then they have a lot of templates for you to choose. A lot of big hotels in spore ones they have also. I saw Carlton, GPCH, Mandarin, Hyatt amongst the long list.

They will let you choose 3 icons to put in your card for free. If you want to use your own pic, also can.

Provide a black and white pic for them to scan at RM5. OR provide a soft copy to email them and then they add in for you.

They do in an hour the layout for you to see, so you shop around and then come back view it. If all okie, they print in about one week time for collection.

The shop that sells wedding stuff is in Inner City. Cant rem the name, but super prominent de. A lot of red red stuff. Just enter via Action City side.

Hows the wedding show?

weixiang_06

bbtea, my previous coordinator is William Chan, he threw in quite a number of perks for my ROM... in the end, i got my ROM done for a steal... ^^

as for the perks, i am sorry i couldn't reveal it as it was offered by William. He had since left for AS in sentosa... On that day itself, he specially came down to ensure things were flowing smoothly...

my current coordinator is Christopher Lee, senior banquet sales manager.. met him for the first time during the inhouse wedding fair.. ^^ so far so good, i like what i am seeing...

Gene: to clear your doubts on copyright issues.. if your wedding montage has no music, you can liaise with the hotel to do a manual synchronize with your photo montage, it will not be chargeable by compass then. from what i understand, just get your list of songs ready and pass the music cd to them where they will play in from their system. In this case, the hotel will be charged for the copyright fees, where they buy annual license..

its a no-no if you choose to embed music directly in the montage itself.. nope the hotel will not charge you for the copyright but the relevant authorities will be charging you for that.. of course, you can choose not to.. but happens if you are caught in the act, that's a different story all together.. hope it helps..

Blur btb: thanks for your lobang.. heehee.. its time for me to go city square to do some shopping as well.

for potential BTBs/GTBs, my new coordinator is Christopher Lee, Senior Banquet Sales Manager who took over from William Chan.

You may contact him at [email protected]
if you are looking at GPCH ^^

w3ngal

i took afew pics of the table setting and bridal room oriental. should anyone need just email me at [email protected] (not putting the pics in FB yet)

yesterday they only shown two themes. is this the only two themes currently?

chilliinketchup

Hi chocolatepraline,

I have just confirmed with A Little Dream. Our singers are Hsin Yeow & Bevlyn.

Are u Huiling? I saw photos of u and your husband in their blog. Looks like u had Hsin Yeow and Bevlyn too.

Did u have to pay additional $200 for Bevlyn? Any extra charge to get Hsin Yeow as emcee?

Chilli-In-Ketchup: Yah, I am Huiling. It was a pleasant surprise seeing Bevlyn, as I wasn't expecting her. Anyway, the comments on the singers are generally positive, so I was ok to have anyone. I paid an additional of $150 for the emcee service, & I wasn't expecting Hsin Yeow also. It was only 3 weeks before the wedding that I got to know Hsin Yeow's going to be part of the band cum emcee. Bevlyn can be considered as a bonus!

w3ngal

I aso keen to engage A little dream but cant find their previous work samples to show my hubby. you all know where i can find it online?

Chilli in Ketchup ur wedding is this year?

Chilli-In-Ketchup: Yap, Hsin Yeow was the singer cum emcee. The wedding band was really good & I have no regrets having them!

Gene: My package was confirmed in 2008, thus might not be applicable. Anyway, I realized that the perks given for new couples are so much better than before. One example is that my package didn't come with free canapes & mocktail.

weixiang_06

bbtea, actually it all boils down to your comfort level.. like i told w3n... i believe all coordinators in GPCH are good... would u feel awkward in the future? its all your personal preference...

when i emailed GPCH to check on some matters, it was christopher who replied to me.. anyway, he is also handling my wedding as well.. William handed on my wedding to Christopher...

chocolatepraline, actually if you look at the latest 2011 menu... the foodwise is not as well as in the past.. i have seen one in the sunday package... scallop with cuttlefish? errr... what on earth would have that combination...

i am thankful i signed in 2009... i got free canapes, mocktail (which i nego with william that time) and etc... the earlier package is better in term of foodwise..

geniecatcher

chocolatepraline: haha I'm referring to you your package with A Little Dream..not sure how this kinda of live performance package include and the rates..hope u can share abit? can pm also ;)

w3ngal

scallop and cuttlefish, should you dont like cuttlefish, can change without additional cost (of the same value de). they are pretty flexible in this area (for those taking sunday package)

rongsher

Hi all I can't say what happened exactly but just a word of advice to choose your wedding coordinator properly. The previous one I had was bad, basically her attitude changed after money switched hands.. Luckily for my new coordinator Chris Lee, I have decided to stay with the hotel and have my banquet here.

weixiang_06

Sheryl, its good to know that...

Likewise, i like to put in good words for Christopher Lee, who is now the Senior Banquet Sales Manager... I previously signed with GPCH with William Chan, then Banquet Sales Manager.. Even though the money had switched hands, William was quick to address my concerns and issues.. He personally ensured my ROM was done smoothly, and threw in additional perks as gestures of goodwill... On that day, he came down specially to extend his wishes to me and told me he would be leaving GPCH where my new coordinator will be Christopher Lee...

I first met Christopher Lee in the recent GPCH wedding show... Prior that, I had kept in touch with him through email. Though i did not signed directly with him, he was equally quick to address my concerns... ^^ For fellow BTBs, you know i can be very critical at times... However, i will also give duly praise to people who deserve it..

Thanks, Christopher... Heehee, I am so happy that William actually handed over my wedding to you... Sheryl, I know who you are referring to.. Personally, i know a GTB who had her as his coordinator... Nevermind lah, at least its over... Look forward to your wedding..

Now I know why William was then the Banquet Sales Manager, and now Christopher Lee actually took over as Senior Banquet Sales Manager... =) I bet there would be people who beg to differ, however we can't please everyone.. If there are people who are skeptical, let them be... I know someone is paying special attention to my posts, exploiting every opportunity to target, however I cannot be bothered. =P

The truth speaks everything.

weixiang_06

w3n, do not worry so much.. from what i know from the other GTB, she is okay to him... in fact, i do know that GPCH is also monitoring this thread... so it would be good for GTB/BTB to voice out their concern, so that measures and actions can be taken.. ^^

smilem

HI BLur

Txs for sharing these useful info.. woa sound it cheaper than i do it myself.. kekek..

WEdding show = i'm late due to my work.. immediately rush to co-ordinator = ms veralyn. But sad to say = i don't ve the date i wanted (fully booked).. but the perks is quite attractive.

I just got the alternative date from the master.. wonder will they still able to extend the perks to me now.......

w3ngal

Smilem mayb u could drop a mail to check with them! Most importantly the date u wan is still available....

Yup I aso think their service is up to my expectation...shd b taken gd care by them ba...

vilopup

Two more months to mine.... food tasting also booked le.. quite excited...

weixang: I think William also Senior Manager leh... i got his email signature before... never mind lah, the title is not the most important thing... william has been great too!

smilem: They will probably still extend to you since the show is just over.. no problem de lah...

weixiang_06

hi blur btb, i checked William's last email to me dated 10th March.. his email signature is Banquet Sales Manager, same for his card... but doesn't matter one lah...

both william and christopher are great! :D

smilem: about extending the packages offered during the wedding show... some of the stuff might not be applicable... it was explained to me by william.. but i am sure all is not lost, there are ways to work around... :p it might not be in full though..

vilopup

weixiang: Izzit? I got Chris' card too but i duno put where liao.... i just bug him on email when i need to ask questions...

The designation does not really denote the capabilities anyway.

In fact, on the day of the wedding itself, there is probably likely another operations person who will be doing more of the legwork than the coordinator.

Have spoken to Chris and will meet him up about 3 weeks before the big day to finalise on the stuff like decor and favors.

Were there any new themes on display at the show?

Chocolatepraline: Sorry, got a silly question to ask you. For the table number centerpiece right, did they keep it away when the dinner is about to start, like the normal numbers in other places? Reason is, i m trying to find a place to hang my anti sharkfin postcards and i tot i can loop it around the number piece.

Thx much!

jiening

Blur btb, wow, ur's really coming soon!! hehe.. mine's 1st aug :D havent book the food tasting yet, still struggling with the table counting (it's really a chore!!!). lol~

jigglez

hihi...i went for food tasting..sad to say it wasnt as fantastic as what i expected, based on the comments from this forum. perhaps only 3 out of the 8 dishes i took were above average.

lowpyng

I'm not sure how to upload the photos.. giving it a shot.. Hope it works!

yep, just some pictures i took from the wedding show
They have the previous themes, here is just the pictures of the new theme with pink flowers

1420766.jpg
1420767.jpg

Solemnization at the waterfall

1420768.jpg
1420769.jpg

1420770.jpg

New theme with pink flowers

1420772.jpg
1420771.jpg

One of the centerpiece for VIP table setup