Grand Park City Hall

vilopup

Folks, I think we dont worry too much lah. Ours is not that extremely expensive per table. I agree with ipc that if its less than 1k per table, we should be safe.

Jas: aiyo, the previous manager told me they give away the chairs le and thus cannot use back the smaller chairs.... so i was restricted to my 28+2. Christopher also say the same about the layout. I look at my 30 table floor plan and it looks super tight. Not sure how 30+2 pens out.

w3ngal

30 = super tight ah. then i need to reconsider on the guest list liao. too tight very uncomfy right.

do you all know how is the portion of the dishes? mine most likely 8 course. i wonder if the food is enough for all. considering some tables i need to cater to 11 pax.

ermmmm hv u all try the canapes n mocktail? hee

jaslynhy

hmmm..not too sure..thats what janice told me.
cos she told me if i have 35 must let her know in advance..i guess she will know wat to do.

jaslynhy

haha...different standards siah..its okie lah.i wont have so many ppl also..haha..
but mostly will be 30+2..i seen before the plans for 32+2 one actually....think it was last year..

weixiang_06

joanne, if you signed up before the wedding show... yes, there is no increase of price.. after the wedding show, prices increased by about $40/table...

jaslynhy

u can ask janice again..cos both my husband and I heard her saying that 30+2 is not a problem. We saw the floorplan of 30+2. is still okie actually.

jaslynhy

as for increase in price. i think there seems to be increase. i verified too..my coordinator said that there is an increase and those who took the package last year are more worth it.haha

vilopup

I have verified with Chris and it seems that they have some of the old smaller chairs left for the banquet usage. Thus 30+2 is possible but will be very tight.

Given that its already a 2 side march in for my 30 tables, we wont go up t 32 le or I might not be able to squeeze through the table for march in...

Whos gg for the wedding show??

I not gg le cos got to do photo selection at bridal that day.... For those who are gg, enjoy and take pictures!!!

weixiang_06

i will be going... for me, i am looking at 25+2....

will be taking the bigger chairs where the guests can then seat in comfort... no point squeezing so many tables in a small ballroom...

w3ngal

i am looking at 28 tables liao so i think is the max for us. later too cramp very uncomfy. trying to cut cut the guest list haha.

the VIP table can sit 12 pax comfortably? the food portion is for 10 pax or 12 pax?

i would be going for the wedding fair so i will take some pics and share after that.

the two barrel of beer is about how many glasses can u all remember?

jo_chua

If I am not wrong, 1 barrel is about 30L. 1 glass should be about 300 - 500ml.. It should serve around 60 to 100 glasses. I may be wrong. but isn't the beer free flow?

weixiang_06

sleepy911, i haven't met up with chris yet.. only corresponded through emails, just like i always had with william who had already left GPCH..

christopher has been prompt with his replies through emails and etc... just like william...

christopher is the senior banquet sales manager, where he has apparently taken over william who was previously the banquet sales manager.. no worries one.. you can approach william.. ^^

i had a great ROM and lunch within GPCH... thanks to william!! now christopher is handling my case where my AD will be in Jan 2011...

hope it helps..

sleepy911

weixiang, thks for yr adv..i was always under the impression female coordinators more patient..i'm afraid of asking a male coordinator so many qns hehe..

my AD is also in Jan 2011! I'm meeting up with christopher soon so hope everything will be ok..

vilopup

weixiang: Mine is 10 July 2010. Lazy to change date to after reno le... and we love the calligraphy walls which will be taken down thereafter.

w3n: I think food portion is likely to be max of 11. And we should indicate on table plan later which are the 11 pax tables. I will put my halal and vege friends in 2 11 pax tables so that the qty of food remains the same for the others.

Dont think can take 12. might be too cramped. Sheraton has 12 pax tables though.

sleepy911: yup, no worries, he replies promptly to emails and i have met him as well. young and presentable.. and as i mentioned earlier , he was fr Meritius Mandarin previously, so hes quite professional and organised.

weixiang_06

sleepy911: no worries.. actually for me, i would prefer male coordinators... likewise for my JP, it's also a male, Mr Chia Ti Yu... Mr Chia's solemnization for my ROM was excellent and memorable.

For me, some BTBs would know me as someone who can be critical at times when there is a need to be... I pity William when i was negotiating the contract with him... there were quite a number of changes and correspondences through email... of course, the most obvious would be asking for additional night in the bridal suite which was flatly turned down... but other than that, it was a nice and pleasant experience...

i am this kind of person, if you are nice to me, i will be nicer to you.. good begets good.. simple philosophy of mine, though i know some BTBs would beg to differ...

no worries, just Christopher taking his initiative to sign me and my wife up for the wedding fair upon knowing our interest.. anyway, the wedding fair at GPCH is free... likewise, William also did quite a number of things for me using his own initiative... therefore i would say i have a wonderful experience with GPCH... they are quite attentive to details...

so no worries, can deal with confidence...

weixiang_06

blur btb: congrats... heehee.. mine would be like another 6 months after yours.... hence this coming june would be super busy for us... from getting our bridal shot, going overseas and etc...

sleepy911: no worries lah... i asked even more questions man... sometimes, i wonder whether i am actually the BTB... haha... coz i am the one dealing with my JP, Bridal Studio, PG, VG, Feng Shui Master and Wedding Banquet... my wife is taking a back seat, only when it comes to the signing and final stuff, she would be in the picture... heehee.... maybe i too enthu liaoz

sleepy911

wow weixiang..yr wife is a lucky woman..
how i wish we can switch roles..
after we settle the dinner..i still have to stress over the bridal studio..yah JP also i find one..tiring...

weixiang_06

sleepy911: haha.. thanks, my wife does read this forum at times.. just that she is quite passive.. heehee..

for bridal studio, you can look at Bridal Concept for a start, you might want to look for Sharon? she is my coordinator... ^^ tell her weixiang recommends one.. look at the style and etc... the gowns we had selected are very nice.... if you can avoid another BS.. i am active in another BS, that's becoz my sister in law had some unpleasant experience with them.. ended up i going down to mediate and ensure fairness is extended to them...

for JP, Mr Chia is highly sought after.. you can read his reviews at his thread...

for me, i am planning the trip to Europe... =) also i am the one doing the planning and iternary...

sleepy911

weixiang..oh my rom is over alrd..hehee..
had it in jan this yr..so now just planning the dinner..will update u all after i meet christopher!

w3ngal

Your wife is lucky! Hee n u r hardworking! I don't mind to do planning n research though so after research then discuss with bf...

w3ngal

weixiang, you invite Mr Chia how many mths in advance?

you are the 2nd person i saw online whom recommend envisagephotography hee. i will go take a look at their work.

w3ngal

thanks jas. janice told me max is 30 (including the two reserve) with the new chairs. will reconfirm with her again cause my guest list is getting more and more too.

weixiang_06

w3n, actually from the looks of jas layout.. its super squeezy... mmz... possible for you to reduce the guest list?

i doubt it will be good if the guest felt squeezy and uncomfortable especially during the serving of dishes, and making their way to the washroom and etc...

for me, table 1, 5, 8, 27, 28, 31 is like wow trying to squeeze as many people as possible.. macchiam like some budget economy class aircraft carrier.. reminds me of jetstar....

not to pour cold water on you.. if you are the invited guest, you realise there is not much legroom, coz of limited space where you can push back your chair (due to super close proximty to the other table), would you have a nice experience?

frankly, i would say 25 + 2 would be a good number to play with.

for me, i will drop table 1,5,8,27,28,31 as they are far too cramped and out of the way...

just my 2 cents... btw, my buddy booked Mr Chia for his Sep's wedding in 2010.. coz highly recommended by me and partly he had a good experience with Mr Chia where my buddy was a MC to one of his friend's ROM...

jaslynhy

hmm...i think as long as per table is 10 ppl should be fine.. ;) review from several ppl in forum concluded that 30 tables will make ur guest feel comfortable.
got couples with 30+2..they said that it is okie too.. my sister will be having hers soon. Maybe can post her arrangement up soon. haha..
but i think for me..should be within 32 tables or less.

vilopup

Hey folks

I personally went to look at the set up for 30 tables before and it looks just nice already.

BUT, there is still a little space on the left side of the ballroom that if really want can put in one or two more tables... thats max out le...

And I am not having table to table photos and likely to be wearing a kwa to go around n mingle, so there is no issue that i might get stuck somewhere.

But for you folks who are having table pic or ball gowns, just take note bah.

Try to ask coordinator if there is anyone upcoming with that number you are looking at and then go and take a look at the setup yourself. Imagine yourself as a guest and i think you will be able to decide.

I have started with 33 tables in mind and managed to cut my list down to 30. Got only the people whom I really want to be with to come.

w3ngal

jas, your sis n urself both having banquet in same venue? hee

thanks for the intro of JP, wei xiang.

have u all heard about the charges for the songs use during banquet? like childhood video montage need extra charge for the songs? do u all do your own montage?

jaslynhy

haha..i looked at some forums and the music compass site. it was mentioned that they wont do raids for wedding dinners and their targets are more of those who use the songs to make profits.
I also heard that they only care about local singers. if you use ang mo songs or other singers they bo chap one..and singapore so many hotels...everyday got ppl hold wedding..if they go raid they going to be super busy! they not so stupid!
if u got ppl to do montage for you..the responsibility lies with them..so u dun need to worry.

and ya..we both having banquet at same venue.