Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi och,

Sorry to interrupt... but was supposed to get back to you abt the wedding favours thingy, remember?? I'll send you an email to update you!

Hey julia andrew,

If you require any help in sourcing for wedding favours, let me know.

hi sweetie,

u r not interrupting. looking forward to seeing ur email.

hi julia andrew,

sweetie is a real pro at favours and other creative stuff. she's the right person to ask on such issues.

Hi sweetie

nice 2 meet u here. yes I'm interested. Looking at chopstick but most of them quoted me above $4!! Any suggestion, u could email me @ [email protected]

Och,

My co-ord is Georgette Ong, what about yours? Now busy sourcing for shoes, flower girls dresses, shopping for mom& dad etc etc. So much shopping to do! Have you got your car? I've not! It is so expensive to rent, well....I must clarify, I wanted a Jaguar & it cost around $2k with driver. My budget is only S$600. So probably settle for london cab or something else. My bridal package doesn't provide one. I've signed up with Dang, luv her design. I fell in luv with all the gown I tried, fits me almost perfectly but can't have all leh.....not enough time to change haha! photographer with Andrew Choi, was impressed with his simplicity. My hubby don't really like the Taiwanese kind. so.......any recommendation where to get "cheap" car, I mean a cheap jaguar for rental?

i may be able to get you the jag for $600. but it's from my bridal shop. i wanted to rent too, but a friend lent me a car. will email you to get you the contact.

hi julia,

my coordinator is eileen wong. now, i'm looking for bridal shoes, honeymoon, n bridal car. u r rite, there's so much shopping to do! for the bridal car, my 1st choices is a new volkswagen beetle, but i hvn't found any company that rents it yet. london cab is also my 2nd choice.
what colour r u considering? i wanted silver.

my bridal package is with margaret brides. i wanted to sign up with dang too, but finally decided on margaret cos i just loved her designs.
margaret has tie-ups with rental companies n jaguars r on the list. i'm meeting her tomorrow, will ask her more abt model n rates.

hm... how come chopsticks r so expensive? i thought u can get them for at most $1. if u hv friends going to bangkok soon, u can get chopsticks there. heard they r really cheap.

Just wanted to share, had my wedding at Hyatt (Sir Stamford Room) last Saturday...we had a great nite there! Our banquet captain, Nathan did a great job for us... and kudos also to Elleen Wong, our co-ordinator who was realy obliging with our request. All in all, we received pretty good comments about the food...

Our friends helped us to decorate the cocktail area and the ballroom with balloons, and it was realy nice. Kept the kids entertained too.

I got my jaguar through my bridal boutique for $650. Is that the market rate? If so, maybe can drop me a mail, and I'll pass on the contact.

Princessz

hey julia andrew,

margaret rents white or maroon jaguars, xj6, for $550!
according to margaret, rental prices for cars recently dropped, jaguar prices went fr $700 to $550. she said it's alright if my friends go to her for the same deal. if u r interested, can drop me an email ([email protected]) with ur contact information. i'll pass them along to margaret. she'll contact u.

Och

Thanks..........will b shopping furiously. If u need anything from chatuchak..wil be there end Feb/ early March. Going 2 get some chopstick.....hubby very supportive. Since he is going there 4 business, I can tac along as well.

hi keith and leng, seems that och can get you a better deal, maybe you can get from MB instead. the quote i got was $600. not sure what models though, cuz the newest models in champagne gold are at $900.

Hi sweetie

hear that u are the best person to ask for wedding favours and gifts for helpers. What will u recommend if I would to buy something for my church and dinner helper? Pls advise my email is [email protected] Thanks

Hi Julie

When is ur BIG day? I will confirmed my booking with hyatt this week. My wedding will be next year March 2003 err I know is a bit too early.. heheh Hey I like Andrew Choi too? Dang is also a very nice lady to work with so probably I will get her pkg too.

Alice

Hi Alice

BTW, wrong spelling, is JULIA. Sorry, a bit particular about that. Well.....mine is on 14 Sept. nope, I don't think u r early coz I started planning about 1 year ago. Dang is very nice, I agree but u hv 2 check with her on the package coz my package came without the car so if u need a car, she hv some contact but only for Merc. Andrew... very chin chai man. I went 2 his studio to look at his portfolio, u should visit him, his wife will probably attend to you. Her name is Christine, very friendly lady as well. Well, since most of our wedding r ahead of you, I guess, we would be able to help u if u need any advise. Well..........welcome 2 the club, enjoy the moment. I guess the fun of the wedding came from the whole process.

Hi Alice,
how much is yr package? i hv signed up mine too at $868nett per table for 30 tables. mine is in early 2003 too. and only standard pkg is given cos' the co-ordinator is very sticky. hmm..

princessz

i will be having my banquet on 26 OCT at Hibiscus ballroom, hv the following qns:

- do the hotel provide deco for the reception area if its a standard weekend package? if yes, what?

- do we provide the march in songs, first dish songs for the banquet?

- when you check in to the hotel, is there any co-ordinator from the hotel to 'receive' you and help you with the check in? is there anyone (wedding co-ordinator) to help you to run errands from the moment you check in?

- will the banquet captain guide us of when to go on stage pour champage, change 2nd outfit etc?

Hi Julia,

Sorry about getting ur name wrong. I had confirmed my booking with Hyatt, it will be on the 15 of March 2003 Magnolia room 35 tables. Well, I have not signed up with Dang yet cos still taking my own sweet time.. heheh *). So is ur wedding gown ready? How was it? U like it? I will take up her basic pkg 2888 and andrew choi photography 2000. What is ur pkg like? I have yet to meet Andrew, so still dont know how he looks like? Really hope I can click with him for the photoshoot. U also took Andrew Choi pkg? Have u taken ur Wedding photos? Will like to admire. ;) Now where and what should I start planning? Wow really need many advise from u and all the 2002 Brides to be.

Hi rachel

My pkg is at $788 nett per table on Sat. What did u took for ur pkg?

Hi Princessz

I think the hotel will deco the reception area and its pretty standard for all of their deco theme. U can give ur march in songs but as for the starts of the first dish I doubt. There will be a floor manager or co-ordinator assist u for the wedding banquet. U still need a main co-ordinator for the whole event. I hope it answer some of ur qns.

alice

you mean you are paying $788 nett/table for your wedding in Hyatt on 15/3/03 (Sat)? why is that so?
i thought the price for year 2002 is $808 nett for weekend package and $868 nett for 2003?

pls enlightened me

hi jes,

std decor is included in the price. u can select ur own songs for the march-in n first dish, but if u dun hv any ideas, i think hyatt can suggest some. on the wedding day itself, u check in by urself. the banquet manager is around to settle all last minute requests regarding the banquet. if there r a lot of lugguage, the porters will help. n yes, the banquet manager n captain will be around to prompt. but either the bride or groom or one of the chief helpers should liase with them b4 dinner, so that the captains n managers will know who to contact when there r problems/issues.

och

Is your banquet at Hyatt over? i remembered Cynthia (sales mgr) told me that someone will do the check in for us. would it be weird if both of us (bride & groom) queue up to check in with other guest?

so you mean the banquet mgr will hv some songs available for us and if we want other songs we will hv to provide ourselves, right?

Hi Jes,
Apparently, my wedding had been postponed to year 2003 due to work adjustment. The 2002 price $808 includes the Shash ($2 for each chair). Hence for 10 chairs its $20 + Basic Pkg $788 = $808. I did not ask for the sash so it remain as $788. Actually, I am interested to know the pkg details on the Wedding Banquet for year 2003 at $868.

alice

oh..i didn't know we can deduct the sash price. and i thought the sash is only for the 2 VIP tables & not for EVERY chairs....am i wrong to say that? if there is sash for every chairs that will be Great. pls clarify. thanks

hi jes,

my wedding is coming up in sept this yr. i dun think it's v. weird lor. think hyatt will be expecting u anyway, n the q isn't likely to be v. long.

hi jes & och, i had my wedding oredi. on the actual day, someone will call u (most probably the groom. my husband received the call) to check wat time u will reach the hotel & they will arrange to pick u up & do the check-in & stuff. however, we were late cos of the delay during the tea ceremony, no one was at the lobby to pick us up & we had to do the check-in ourselves & we waited quite a while for the coordinator to meet us to bring us to the suite. so my advice would be try to keep to the time frame dat u told them u would arrive, so no time would be wasted & u can have a good rest b4 the dinner starts!
hope this helps!

happyhyattbride

can't we call them before we setoff to the hotel?
cos we can't be very accurate on the estimate time of arrival due to the delay here and there.

hi alice

guess i shall see u on our wedding(same day). mine at sir stamford rm for 28 tables at $868. standard package - no sash, no beer etc i really can't believe the $80 difference for each table though. it seems dat they hv $20 difference for >35 tables, >25 tables, >15 tables etc. however, they hv increased another $60 for saturday banquet(ganna robbed...)

when did u book yr package?

hi jes(jes)
how abt u? do u hv sash for yr $808 package?

hi jes, u may call the hyatt mainline to inform them your arrival time. nearer to your wedding date, your coordinator will advise u on the how about...

ram

if i remember correctly $808 only included sash for 2 VIP tables. is teh price of $868 for wedding in year 2003? i thought i remember there is only one price $808 for sat/weekend/PH in year 2002.

Hi all... just received the Hyatt's wedding package materials. The markup for yr 2003 is really high!!! 80 bucks more, if you want to hold your weddings on sat! The economy is really bad now... dun think pple are really generous with their angbaos, so its $800nett per table max for me.

But I would like to say that Hyatt's food is quite good, ahhh... the dessert buffet is really cool & yummy! My fren jus had her wedding (at the main ballroom) Do the other function rooms have the dessert buffet thrown in as well?

Does anyone know about their outdoor weddings, esp the one at Orchid Garden, sounds cool to me & the pics in the bridal mags look really nice!

Thanks for all the comments!!!

Hi Louie

i tot of the garden wedding myself. however, since it is outdoor, there is no air-con (i hd checked with the hotel). i believe my hubby n my make-up will melt, under those suits and gowns..

n i believe not all guests will like 'no air-con' venue for dinner.. imagine the insects flying around; or what if it rains etc?

this is from grand hyatt proposal .
let me know if you want contact info.
note: at the bottom of pricelist, it says rates are *inclusive* of 10%+1%+3% ... so S$888 is really S$775 before all the taxes... right? Not sure about other hotels -- do they quote pre-tax or post-tax prices??

---

WEDDING PACKAGE

- Choice of Chinese Set Menus
- Free flow of soft drinks and mixes throughout the function (4 hours)
- Specially decorated wedding cake with genuine top tier for bridal couple
- A choice of chocolate pralines or flavoured wedding cake in mini boxes for all guests
- Two-night stay for bridal couple in our luxurious bridal suite
- A bottle of Champagne and fruit platter in the suite
- A sumptuous American breakfast for the bridal couple in the suite for both days
- Wedding invitation cards (maximum 65% of confirmed attendance)
- Car passes for guests (maximum 20% of confirmed attendance)
- Floral candlestands along the aisle with fresh floral arrangements
- Floral centrepieces on all tables
- Complimentary white chair covers
- Ice carvings decoration on stage
- Wedding fanfare with dry ice effect
- No corkage charge for hard liquor and wines brought in for the function (strictly no duty free liquor)
- Special discounted price for beer ordered by the barrel
- S$480 nett per 20-litre barrel (approximately 60 glasses)
- S$700 nett per 30-litre barrel (approximately 90 glasses)
- A complimentary guest book

IMPERIAL GRAND GRAND
BANQUET BANQUET BANQUET
(weekdays) (weekends) (Saturdays in Year 2003)

Minimum 35 tables & above S$648 nett S$788 nett S$848 nett

Minimum 25 tables & above S$668 nett S$808 nett S$868 nett

Minimum 15 tables & above S$688 nett S$828 nett S$888 nett

(Rates are inclusive of 10% service charge, 1% cess, and thereafter 3% Goods and Services Tax)
@Weekdays: Mondays - Thursday, excluding the eve of Public Holidays and Public Holidays

Updated 25 January, 2002

dammchobu, your info is very comprehensive

Some hotels quote their prices NETT while others put +++ behind there "nice" price tags! Actually, all the +++ added up together can really be quite substantial!!!

Actually if you have the time, just call the catering services (for all hotels), give them your email... and the will email you the wedding proposals

Hi Ram...

I agree with your comments... especially my parents won't like an outdoor dinner!

So, which hotels are you considering or have you booked yours yet?

Hi Louie

hmm just in case u miss out the earlier conversation, i hv mentioned dat i will be seeing Alice on her wedding day, cos' is mine as well, at hyatt. (for the same dinner, mine is $80 more..

we decided to go with the traditional dinner, instead of outdoor dinner.

anybody knows whether hyatt allows outside beer? i read it in the archived mails of this thread that they allows. (archived thr' dec 12 2001)

Hi Ram,

Have chked with Cynthia the banquet manager... Hyatt strictly dont allow outside beer...

You looking at hyatt dinner too? Are you liasing with her as well?

Cookie

Hi Gals...

Hope those with the Hyatt dinner experience can help me on this... My dad had bgt several bottles of DFS hard liqour. I know hyatt is Vert strict on NO DFS... but they did mention that we can use a decanter instead...

Has anyone had such experience?? Is it really inconvinent??

Hi Cookie,

nope i dun liase with Cynthia. is she gd? well my co-ord is michele, who is cheerful n helpful. hmm very inflexible. guess dat's the hyatt's cultural rite?

n wat is decanter? any costs incurred? i know hyatt definitely dun allows DFS hard liquor.

Hi Ram,

Well... Cynthia is nice and very soft spoken... and yes inflexible too... perhaps it's just their Hyatt culture...

Decanter is this nice glass bottles for ppl who cant finish their wine... so normally they pour into smaller bottles with a cap...

prob with decanter is the addn cost and hassle involved... cost of decanter, some can be quite ex so we have to search for a big and no so costly ones... most of them are quite small so to pour out one bottle may require a few decanters.

So just wanna chk ard see if got ppl with experience with decanter. still haven decided if we shd go thru these hassle yet...

can anyone adv whether Hyatt's stage backdrop deco includes the 'wordings of our names'? or do we hv to get it done elsewhere? is there anything that we hv to worry or do ourselves for the stage deco or will everything be taken care of by the hotel (included in the package)?

hi jes, we had gold backdrop (we chose the gold theme), no wordings of names (dun think they provide that) & there's ice carvings. your coordinator will show u fotos of different backdrops & ice carvings for u to choose. u can let them take care of everything actually.

thanks happy hyatt bride

so is it necessary to include our names on the backdrop? did you?
i am happy that i can let them take care of everything to save the hassle

hi jes, nope...we din. i feel dat the stage looks okie wif the gold drape & ice cravings, moreover there's the champagne glasses & wedding cake on each side. b'cos the stage wasn't dat big (i had my wedding @ the hibiscus room), i thot too much items wld 've make it looked too cramped, so i am fine wif the simple deco.

i remembered i had quite a troublesome march-in, ie. we wld only march in when the 1st part of the song is being played but must be together with the "turn-g" dramatic music & the captain (gary) actually coordinated wif the staff inside & count down for us to march-in. he came to us every now & then to check whether we find the music vol okie etc. everything goes on very well thru'out the dinner.
i am very happy indeed b'cos i had a bad xperience wif my bridal shop, so i am grateful dat my dinner goes on smoothly. so u dun ve to worry...

thanks happy hyatt bride

i booked the hisbiscus room as well...on dear is the stage really that small? enough for my relatives to go on stage for the cheers? is it a low plateform stage or a high one? throughout the dinner will the captian remind the bride when to go for changing of gown, champage pouring etc?
pls adv thanks

hi jes, the stage is a low platform one,i had abt 20 of us on stage. the captain will let u noe after which dish u've to go up to change into ur EG. he will give u a time frame to be down for the second march-in. not to worry, he will guide u thru the cake caking & champagne pouring

happy hyatt bride

thanks for the info. does Hyatt provide easel for us to put the wedding portrait? what abt additional easels? will they provide extra?