Grand Hyatt Singapore

esprie

Hi Och,

We chose a champagne coloured rose with a candle for the centre piece (Seems pretty elegant). U mean you want the gold sash for each table?

och

hi esperie,

no, i was thinking of gold sashes for all chairs. tables will still be using white tablecloths

esprie

Hi Och,

I'll only be having the gold sash on the two VIP tables. If U wanna add gold sash to all the chairs, wouldn't Hyatt charge U more? And what colour sash/tablecloth will you be putting on the VIP table? When R U having ur dinner?

och

hi esprie,

one of the options in my contract is to swap invitation cards for gold sashes. but i'm afraid the whole room may look too glaring. maybe i should ask for white sashes.... my dinner will only be held next year, so i have quite a bit of time to daydream n explore the options.
i like the gold tablecloths n sashes at the vip tables. when ur dinner? ur setup sounds very nice. can i drop by to see how the setup looks like?

esprie

Hi och,

U seems to hv got quite a good bargain on ur contract. Mine wedding is on 15 dec 2001 at Stamford room. Feel free to come arnd and hv a look. When is urs? Signed up for package and photography yet?

My set-up is just the standard package offered and i didn't add anything else. I also think that if all the chairs has got gold sashes, it might look too loud. Maybe you might want to do with a more subtle gold decoration on guests chairs.

och

hi esprie,

good bargain? i think so-so lah. we wanted to personalise the wedding, that's why we r swapping the invitation n chocolates. otherwise, i think hyatt's package is very comprehensive already. as it is, we hv trouble finding things to swap for.

my wedding is in sept 02, long way off.
very ks right? but no choice, when we asked for prices in april, some hotels told us that the sept weekend dates were already booked! thankfully hyatt wasn't booked yet n that was our first choice.

i'll definitely drop by to see ur wedding setup on 15th dec. i was afraid all gold sashes will be too loud. maybe i should just drop by more weddings to see which decor looks good.

esprie

Ya...do feel free to drop by. Sometimes, when i'm arnd at Orchard, i also Kpo drop by to see the deco there. It's definitely a long way to ur wedding. I managed to booked my venue last december. It wasn't my first choice...i shld say i didn't hv much choices then. At that time, i could only chose betw holiday Inn and Hyatt. Eventually, decided to go for the latter.

Right now, seems like nothing much to plan (maybe dunno what to plan). Just waiting for my photography next week....dunno can smile naturally or not!!

mos

I've just went to take a look at Hyatt and am interested in holding my wedding there. Any comments like the pros and cons? Please help. Thanks.

och

hi esprie,

will definitely drop by ur wedding to see the deco.

hi mos,

some pros: location, ambience, reputation, a fair price, ok food (usually)
some cons: multiple weddings in 1 hotel (or 1 floor), little freebies

mos

Hi och

Thanks for the sound advise, am still considering Hyatt but like what you say, the freebies are not so attractive. I am also considering the Holiday Inn Park View, as they offer a much better package - in terms of price and freebies too! - like free flow of beer, no corkage charge for wine and champagne etc....

Any comments on Holiday Inn? Please advise!!!!!

och

hi mos,

glad to be of some help. how many guests r u hving?

i agree that holiday inn package is cheaper n gives more freebies. we took a look there too n honestly, we were quite attracted by the free flow beer.
did hyatt change its package? we had no corkage charges for wines n champagnes too.

we finally decided on hyatt for its ambience n ok reputation for food etc. plus, we met a coordinator at hyatt that we could work quite well with.

but i think it really depend on how u n ur hubby feel.
dun stress urself out over it.

mos

Hi och

Thank you so much for the quick response, I am having about 35 tables for my dinner.
BTW, who's your coordinator at Hyatt?

Furthermore, I kinda of like the mezza9, and thought of having a small reception there for about 50 persons (for my overseas guests). Any comments?

may

Hi Och,

What about having gold sashes on alternate chairs? It will not be too loud that way. My fiance and I got to swop the cards for sashes too. But I think it would be too "o-biang" to have gold sashes on every chair. I must say that their cards are pretty ugly.

Hi Mos,

Hyatt has a very romantic ambience. Very classy. If you are going for that kind of mood, then Hyatt it is. The price is ok too. Reasonable. I guess it is during the negotiation part where you tell them what you want. The coordinators aren't that inflexible.

May

och

hi mos,

why dun u tell teh coordinators that u r thinking of holding a small reception in mezza9. they may be willing to package the entire thing for u. my coordinator was louis, now it is elaine.

hi may,

agree with u! i liked their ambience but didn't liked their cards too. thanx 4 the suggestion. i'm also thinking of just using white sashes.

clover

Hi all hyatt brides, need some advise. Was wondering if the 4 pillars in the grand ballroom really obstruct views. Is the standard package (sans the expensive themes) presentable enough cos we have to work within a budget. How is the food and the multimedia system like? thanks

och

hi clover,

i've seen a few wedding setups at the grand ballroom, never attended any wedding there b4. i think the basic wedding setup is honestly quite good already. their expensive themes r very elaborate n most of the money is spent on the huge flower display on each table. if u r hving chinese dinner, the flowers r removed at the 1st course, which is quite a waste.

food wise, the reviews i had was ok to good.

clover

Thanks och, appreciate ur feedback
. Spoke to a friend yesterday and she said that the 2 weddings she attended at Hyatt had good ambience, mainly due to a combi of the place being "dark dark" having jazz nusic in background. I thought it was really farnie and we had a good laugh!

och

hi clover,

glad to be of help. i think a lot of couples like to make the ballrooms dark dark, since it really fits their decor.

min

Hi, I've just booked for Magnolia/Vanda function room at the 3rd floor for abt 30 tables. But I kinda of worry abt the 4 pillars. Has anyone attended any function at this function room before?? Pls reassure me, thanks!

och

hi min,

think u dun really need to worry abt the pillars, hyatt will provide tv sets to guests behind the pillars. how many tables r u hving?

clover

hi min and yvonne and r.o.w, I've also booked hyatt over the weekend during the show. SOOO EXCITING. I think i dreamt abt gold theme last night hhahahahahaha.

Och, u going to pay for the food tasting/have you already had it? let me know ok? Also, do you remember how much they charge for extra themes? this was a freebie if pple signed up yesterday. They put the tag at S$5k but of course it is inflated la. When's your wedding? can I go see?

HAHAHAHAHAHA. spreading the rare monday cheer

och

hi clover,

yeah, another hyatt bride.
when is ur wedding? which ballroom did u book?? ur deal sounds very good leh, hving a free theme! what else was did u get? i'm reworking my contract with hyatt cos i just switched ballrooms, must check if i can get more freebies.

i still dun know if i should request for food tasting yet. my wedding is next yr, so even if i do go for food tasting, it wun be anytime soon.

clover

Och, free flow beer if place deposit yesterday. Apart from stuff at show that my co-ord was pretty inflexible though she did say she will try to accomodate other requests on "availability" basis. I think it's their policy though still think that Hyatt staff are professional. what's your experience so far? what about the LCDs? u got a good deal on that? I had no deal on that

Didn't know that changing ballrooms requires re-working of contract. I haven't sign the contract. would they send it to us automatically or do I have to follow up?

yvonne

Clover

wow..they give free flow beer! so good!
tat time one of the points tat we dun like is tat they dun have free flow beer..not even a barrel free..
u r lucky to get such a promo..somemore free theme!
happy for u oso..

och

hi clover,

such a good deal. i wished i can hv free flow beer too, then i dun hv to worry abt my colleagues' mad drinking.
but u may want to ask them how many barrels of beer they r catering for u. i just went for my company's d&d. supposed to be free flow beer, but beer still ran out in the middle of dinner. a colleague booked at suntec, also free flow beer, but actually only 2 barrels r catered.

who's ur coordinator? what's lcd? i agree hyatt's staff dun give a lot of freebies. but u got a good deal already lah, dun worry too much. even if they give more freebies, it may not necessarily suit ur needs. my experience is that hyatt charge a lot for frills, but they r quite willing to accomodate urgent requests. like both my hubby n my grandparents cannot walk very well. after i told my coordinator, she volunteered wheelchair access by concierge. i thot that was a very sweet touch. most others will just tell u to come early n park at the nearest parking lot or something.

when i signed last time, my coordinator sent a draft of the contract to me via email n we coordinated from there. maybe they will do this for u too? else u can call ur coordinator. but i think they r very busy these few days bcos of the wedding show.

btw, when's ur wedding? which ballroom?

hey yvonne,

din manage to ask u. so did u book at hyatt as well? if u did, which ballroom n when?

clover

Och, good point on barrels *head nodding furiously*.

Co-ord is Georgette Ong. Sorry, I meant projector when I said LCD. Ya very sweet of them to suggest wheelchair access. mine Dec 02 at the grand ball rm. Think you are having it same time (saw earlier post)

okie bye bye

min

Hi Clover/Och,
I book 30 tables for Magnolia/Vanda function room at the 3rd floor during the wedding fair & was given free flow of beer...so happy, but still worry abt their services & the low ceiling.
The food tasting cost $380+++, is it a norm to pay at other hotel cos i thought is free. And i think the projector is not provided at Hyatt & the rental for that cost abt $450, and if u bring in yr own..no extra charge & the technician will fix up for u.

yvonne

och

i didnt sign up with Hyatt..i'm quite bothered abt the pillars (mine will be in grand ballrm) n my FIL say better not to have pillars..n also..there is no free flow beer (or at least a barrel free) like i say in my previous posting..
but on the whole..i think tat Hyatt not bad..
Clover is very lucky to get such a good deal!!
i signed up with Marina Mandarin in the end coz I'm comfortable with the co-ordinator n the package is within my budget!

Clover - i think och made a good point..didnt think abt it either...hehehe..hope tat other brides will c this n take note.

och

hi min,

actually i din even ask abt the projector. i just assumed i can bring my own in.

if u look carefully at packages fr different hotels, u will realise some give food tasting but no seat covers, some give extra beer but lacks others. at the end of the day, it's really what u need that matters. that said, i think the free flow beer thing is a very good deal. as for the low ceiling, think positive: low ceilings can make the event look more cosy n less standoffish.

hi yvonne,

yah lor, min n clover got a good deal rite. saw the reviews in the forum, seems like marina mandarin offers a good deal. when's ur wedding? started preparing?

yvonne

hi och

mine is on 24/9/2002..no prep yet..
still taking my own sweet time for the bridal..heheh
dunno whether to go to Paris (where i have placed $500) deposit or source for others..
booked during a fair..its our 1st bridal leh..now kinda regretted leh..still dunno to take or not..
i'll take some time to c other boutiques 1st then compare..
i'll be meeting Sweetiee tonite to go to Julia Wedding News..but hor..the package is very Ex leh..tonite c the gowns then compare..

how abt the rest of u? clover, min..decided on any bridal?

och

hi yvonne,

same same. we booked our package at the 1st bridal shop we saw, but now, we r kind of regreting too.

clover

och, then when's yours - too lazy to go through thread. can i go gawk at your set-up if your wedding earlier than mine?

Yvonne, we spent a lot of time deciding whether or not to take up the package. Quite scary cos gotta decide in an hour whether or not to put deposit of S$2k which is not refundable. Feel relieved than more anything now so I guess it should be the right decision. whew! Min, did you have a hard time deciding? who is your co-ord?

Have not started bridal stuff shopping yet. Heard alot abt the hard sell tactics though. A friend used Flamingo and I must say her gown and photos are very nice. I don't know the prices but I think BV, Divine, Kai have nice dresses.

och

hi clover,

mine is on 14-09-02 in the grand ballrm. u r welcome to visit, but dun think there will be a lot of gawk at.
so sianz. i wanted real cake for all my guests, but it's so expensive.

clover

och, you think it is feasible to substitute the bottom dummy layer with real cake that you bring in yourself? think KPO ever said that if you order from normal cake shop w/o telling them that it's for wedding, it'll be cheaper.

och

hi clover,

but if we just bring in our own cake, can it support the weight of the 3-4 layers above? i know, monica also suggested ordering fr a normal cake shop outside, but they r not as nice as hyatt's cake leh. i'm very vain rite?
but logistics wise, it will be a nightmare bringing 40+ kg of cake to hyatt on the actual day.

clover

Och, there was this cake design at Hyatt that was split layered.. I mean the tiers weren't stacked one of top of another. It was a spine with 4 serving platters branching out and 1 cake placed on 1 platter. Erm I think the description is terrible but use your imagination :p Perhaps, can get the cake shop to replicate design and send the cake to Hyatt c/o your co-ord. But not sure if the hassle is worth the savings ...

och

hi clover,

yah, that's the one i'm eyeing.
but like u said, i'm not too sure if the hassle is worth it.

garfield

Hi just visit this site and fall in love with it. i have booked hyatt during their bridal fair - the hibiscus room. i'm wondering any one has booked the same room and got a free decoration for the reception area. Heard that we need to pay if we want to decorate the reception areas with candles.

clover

Garfield, also booked during bridal fair and was told that need to pay for the candles. but my co-ord said that you can bring in tealights/scented candles and they will place it around recep for you. U know someone who got free decor of recep thrown in? BTW what did you think of the wedding butler?

clover

Och and all hyatt brides-to-be, a friend attended wedding at grand ballroom last sunday and said that food was not bad, decor looks classy and service is ok tho sometimes abit slow. quite reassuring to know this.

Och, how is your contract re-negotiations going? I just got mine in the mail. BTW am on leave today

och

hi clover,

my contract re-negotiations r done. i got the contract last fri. we din change very much in the contract, since most of the stuff we wanted r provided already. but i was quite disappointed that the cost of cakes remained despite all our offers to trade.

according to my coordinator, there's a wedding in the grand ballroom every weekend this month. so if u want to see how other couples decorate the ballrm, u can drop by at abt 6pm.
i popped by on sun, n the couple used the vase ice carving. very nice.

garfield

hi clover

just talk to my coord and was informed that tealights will be used to deco the recep area. But no scented candles.... me going to sign the contract this friday.. guess nothing much to ask for, they don't seem to give any complimentaries and the package looks quite complete... any comments on the cokerage charge on wine and liquor (no duty free)....some friends say some hotels don't really check and will close one eye...is that true??? any one asks hyatt???

don't really like the idea of a wedding planner...thot will miss out the joy and excitement of the preparation stage... and of course can save $$$$...

have you gals booked your bridal package??? any comments on ted wu???

och

hi garfield,

i asked hyatt abt the duty free liquor part. the coordinator i spoke to (not my current one) said that hyatt is very strict abt it. the reason being that they can hv many weddings n functions in the hotel on the same day. if they r raided n duty free liquor is found, all the weddings n functions must stop. hyatt will also get fined, which is very costly for them cos they hv many well-visited restaurants.

clover

Och, sorry to hear that you can't get cost of cakes down.
Can't they give u a discount? Saw the vase at the bridal show and liked it alot too. Thanks for info on weddings this mth- by the way, there is a theme wedding on 18 Dec 01 similar to the one at the bridal show - I think I will go take a look.

Garfield, Och is right, I checked with my Co-ord b4 and she said that Hyatt is pretty strict abt DF liquor. No haven't booked the bridal package. U signing up with Ted Wu? Have u seen others & what do you think? Heard that BV has a promo if you sign up with them b4 end of mth.

garfield

hi clover and och

i have been to divine and kai... but don't really like the design, i guess they are more for pettie woman. ..but i really like ted wu's design and the bead work probably becos the wedding gowns that i tried on fit very well...thinking of booking this year...my wedding date is in dec 02. How abt yours??

princessp.

Hi Och,

Just chanced upon your posting about having a real cake at the Hyatt.

I had my wedding at the Hyatt in June this year and had a real 4-tiered wedding cake baked by the pastry chef from Hyatt. I chose a design from Martha Stewart wedding magazine and the chef did an excellent job recreating it. It was also very tasty to boot, and we received a lot of compliments from friends and relatives about the cake.

So I would encourage you to go for it if you really want to

och

hi princessp,

ur encouragement is really reassuring.
how was the rest of ur wedding? guess u must be enjoying married life now.

all i know abt hyatts cakes r fr magazines. i haven't had the chance to try their cakes myself, but i must say, they look fantastic. how much did u pay for ur cake n how much cake was served to each guest? i'm trying to work out a budget for the wedding. the pastry chef advised 100-120g. but i hv no idea what's 100g like. at my friend's wedding in four seasons, what was supposed to be 100g turned out to be a really big slice that nobody could finish.
did hyatt reserve a small cake for u n ur hubby after the wedding, the way they do with dummy cakes?

btw what's ur cake made of? is it a fondant cake or cream cake? what's ur design like? sorry, if i'm bombarding u with questions, but i'm really excited to find someone who also had real cake at her wedding.

do u hv pictures of ur wedding in hyatt? if u dun mind, can share with me? my email address is attached. it's ok too if u dun feel comfortable.

jul

PrincessP, I would really like to know about your cake too... what flavour, how much, any webpage we could see?