Grand Hyatt Singapore

clover

Hi PrincessP, so you are living out the marital bliss as we speak!!
Am keen to know abt real cake too cos wanted real cake as well. I booked with Hyatt already but am obsessed with the pillars
. BTW, which bridal house were you with?

Och, am now in reviewing contract phase..
..and which bridal house are u with? As you can see I am doing mini survey *hee hee*

Garfield, my wedding's in Dec02 as well. you signed the contract already? the tealights for reception decor is provided by Hyatt? I went to see Kai last night (2nd bridal house we have seen). Gowns were really pretty and thought he was nice to spend time we us cos we walked in w/o appt. Find this bridal house thing a bit daunting .. wonder if i'm the only one...
. How was Ted Wu experience and price range?

garfield

clover,

Yap, i have signed the contract aldy and they assured me that tealights will b provided at the reception area...

i have a wonderful experience at ted wu... the staff was helpful and friendly...the gowns that i tried were very nice and fitting too...px about $4k without photography... includes MTM wedding gown, MTM evening gown (to keep), man's suit, make up for trial and actual day, car deco and flower for actual day...

i found the dresses for kai more suitable for small and skiny ladies... and the embrodiery is not to my liking.. and the price is quite expensive too...heard that they may increase their price in Jan too...

princessp.

Hi all brides-to-be-eager-for-real-cake,

We preferred something very simple and non-frou-frou, so we went for a design that was just that. Our cake was a 4-tiered cake (stacked on top of one another without any 'pillars' or whatever; I personally think stacked cakes with pillars very obiang). I dislike fruit cake and what's nots, so we opted for a chocolate fudge cake (my favorite) which was covered totally in white icing. It had tiny icing beads on the bottom rim of each layer and randomly-scattered rose petals.

The design came from Martha Stewart wedding magazine, and below is a link to a picture of the cake. It is the 'petal shower' cake. The only difference between this cake and my cake is that my cake is 'thinner' and 'taller', whilst the one in the photo is 'fatter' and 'shorter'.
http://www.marthastewart.com/page.jhtml?type=content&id=channel172134&catid=cat472

I don't quite remember how many kgs the cake was, but my cake fed 250 people comfortably. I also don't quite remember the cost, but think it was somewhere in the $900 area.

Och,
I have a lot of photos from my wedding, but haven't gotten around to scanning any of it in yet.
When is your wedding? If it is not anytime soon, I can send you some pics of the Hyatt wedding and cake when I get around to scanning it. My wedding was wonderful. We had a great time. We were so thankful that it did not rain, as we had our ceremony outdoors in the garden (also at the Hyatt) in the late afternoon.

Clover, which room did you take at the Hyatt such that you are obsessed about pillars? My bridal house was Ted Wu. As for living in marital bliss, we lived together for 2 years before we got married, so already blissful for a long time! hahahaha But lately not so blissful because we currently live in New York City and we all know the recent tragedy here.

Anyways, happy real wedding cake hunting ladies! It may be expensive. but from L'oreal advert: Because I'm worth it! ;)

och

hi clover,

take ur time to look for bridal studios. dun be like me....
my hubby n i signed up at the first bridal studio we looked at, which happens to be serangoon broadway, thinking it was quite good value for money. then we discovered this forum...
i got my rom dress there, as part of the package, n i was quite disgusted by the attitude of the boss there. i'll really like to switch my bridal studio, but i'll hv to lose the $1k deposit.

hi princessp,

my wedding is in sept 02, so no worries, i'm not in a rush to see the photos yet. pls send the pictures to me when it's convenient for u.
thanx so much!

i'm quite curious abt the ceremony at hyatt too. i'm also thinking of holding my ceremony n lunch reception there, since it's so much more convenient for our families. did u hv to pay rental for the garden in the afternoon? n did u cater lunch for ur guests?

clover

PrincessP, totally agree with your take on pillared cakes. your cake looked absolutely yummy with a punch of WOW factor as well *salivate*
. So is NYC in a state of uneasy calm at the moment? How r u guys and how are things generally in NYC now? BTW, I got the pillared grand ballroom - reason for the fretting.

Och, thanks for reassurance and advise
We did almost sign up with the first bridal house we visited; they threw in so much freebies, our knees became weak and we couldn't think straight. Sorry to hear about the horrible attitude of the Boss
If you are really serious abt switching, y dun u convert S$1k deposit into your FH's suit or actual day photography or car rental and decor or anything decent serangoon can offer to cut loss? The shop-at-which-we-almost-signed-up said that we have this option if we really really wanted to opt out after placing a deposit.

I asked abt the gargen at Hyatt before, my co-ord said that you have to book both the garden and a backup ballroom in case it rains. So there will be 2 setups - can't remember how much though. Don't think you have to rent the garden per se cos they assume you will cater the reception from them.

Garfield, Kai said that they may increase price.. but he also said will keep state of economy in mind. Yup, Ted Wu package sounds comprehensive - I got a similar priced quote from one of the bridal houses along tanjong pagar and I think that yours seems more value-for-$. Will go see them as well
. You signed up alreaady?

och

hi clover,

thanx for ur advice. we r not sure yet what we want to exchange the $1k deposit for, that's why we hv not broach the topic with serangoon yet. i asked my coordinator abt hving my dinner at the garden too. it's $3k for rental of the garden, n 1 function rm as reserve, in case it rains. but i'm curious if hyatt will allow for cheaper rental of their garden for lunch

hi princessp,

just took a look at the link u gave. hey the cake u had is on my shortlisted list!
i'm getting more n more tempted to get a real cake.

princessp.

Hi Och/Clover,

About the garden: we had to pay to rent the garden for the late afternoon (3-6pm). Again, my memory fails me as to the price we paid, but it wasn't too much, think about $500 or so. That covered rental of the garden for 3 hrs, and seats with white chair covers arranged in theater seating style. We also brought in a florist to decorate the garden setup further; and hired a string quartet to play at the ceremony (and for the cocktail hour) We did not cater lunch, only drinks, because it took place in the late afternoon. Our schedule for the day ran something like this: 5.30pm: ceremony 5.45pm: throw bouquet to single women (hahah) and take photos around garden with guests, 6.15pm: tea ceremony and more photo taking 7.15pm: dinner starts (hibiscus room). We only invited very close friends and family and relatives for the ceremony, so most people headed off for the tea ceremony right after the garden ceremony. The rest of our close friends headed to the cocktail area where we had informed the staff to start doshing out the alcohol early.
What I found about having a ceremony right before the dinner is that it really helps your dinner to start punctually. No more stupid late guests coming at 8.30pm. All of our guests were ontime, given that most had attended the ceremony moments earlier, so our dinner started super earlybird early at 7.15pm or so. Think it's a Singapore record for ontime early wedding dinner. hahaha I am so sick of wedding dinners starting late. The rental of the garden includes rental of a backup room (in case it rains, the room was one of the camellia rooms). They had set it up exactly as they had set up the chairs in the garden and all, so that was very nice. We also used the backup room for our tea ceremony, so it was all very organised and convenient.

I was so afraid it would rain, because the day had started off being real cloudy and overcast, and the weather forecast was rainy. And while getting my makeup done in the hotel suite above, I could look out the window and see that the clouds were evil looking and threatening to pour. But somehow, when the time came, the evil clouds parted to reveal bright brilliant sunshine. We couldn't have been happier.

Och, yes the cake is very chic looking isn't it? I thought it was simple chic and classic. Not mindlessly overtly frou frou and crazy,and most importantly, no obiang pillars! I'm glad the same cake is on your shortlist. Great minds think alike! hahaha. I'm sure I can get around to scanning in some pictures before Sep 02. :p

Clover, I think you've put it succintly, it is sort of a state of uneasy calm. I've had to evacuate/run out of subways etc on a few occasions since due to bomb/anthrax/whatever threat. We're getting so used to it now, it doesn't even faze us anymore. Need to evacuate subway station ah? Ok lor, just walk out and take the bus. No biggie. The Grand Ballroom is real pretty when it's all decorated. Don't think you should be worried about the pillars at all.

And girls, I second/third/fourth what everyone else has said: take your time checking out the different bridal houses. Don't let their "free this discount that" hook you into something that you haven't clearly thought about. Try on as many gowns as possible at all the bridal shops you visit to get a sense of their styles. I found that each bridal store has their 'signature' style, and that can really help narrow down your choices. And lastly, have an open mind. Try on gowns that you wouldn't usually be caught dead in, gowns that you think are too frou-frou/prissy/plain, gowns that make you look too fat/too thin/too whatever, you'd be surprised at how wrong you can be. For eg, I ended up with a gown that was totally NOT what I initially envisioned and wanted when I first started the gown hunting process and couldn't be more pleased with it when all was said and done.

That's all my two-cents worth opinions for now.

och

hi princessp,

i think ur wedding did set a singapore record for being ontime.
n thanks for agreeing to let me see ur photos.

r u in ny for work or study? i always thot ny was one of the most vibrant cities i've been too, i hope the city's spirit isn't dampened severely by the recent scares.

garfield

hi clover...

have not booked the bridal package with ted wu yet... note that the price does not include photography as we have already taken ours... but i guess i will book within the year so that i have nothing to worry abt and just wait for the big day to come... before deciding on ted wu, i have browsed the magazines and sort of know which bridal shops to go for and shortlisted only 4 to visit...most of the time i go alone to "test" their services and shortlist for the next visit with my "sisters" and the last time with my hbby. ..anyway he will always say i look good in any piece...doesn't really help right???

hi princessP,

your wedding ready looks "good and yummy"...like a dream wedding... how was the ballroom and the reception are decorated??? i will be using the same ballroom and quite interested to know how it will look like...

does any one of you has any experience with any actual day photographer??? need some personal recommendation...

princessp.

Och,

Yes, indeed the dinner probably set the Singapore record for earlybird dinner. I remembered the banquet captain even said that if only all weddings are so "chope chope", their lives would be a lot easier. I will let you know when I get around to scanning the pictures. I am in NY because my then-fiance and now-husband is working here. Marry chicken follow chicken, marry dog follow dog you know.
No, I don't think the NY spirit is being dampened or anything. It is true that if you can make it in NY, you can make it anywhere, because the people here don't take any crap and are very resilient. The annual NYC marathon was on Sunday, and we (along with millions other NYers) turned up along the route to cheer on the runners and make lots of noise. It was very fun and everyone was in great spirits such that you wouldn't even know that something so terrible had happened just a few weeks ago.

Garfield,

I don't quite remember the details of what everything looked like, because the whole day was such a dream and I felt like a princess floating around. hahaha What I do remember (and from the photos I have) is that we did not opt for the 'extras' or any 'themes' because we wanted something simple and thought the standard deco was beautiful already. I also remembered we had (free) candles lighting up the cocktail area, which for Hibiscus Room, is that nice private area just infront of the doors leading to the room. We chose the ice vase instead of kissing swans or whatever, because we thought the ice vase is prettier. There is a red runner running down the 'aisle' of the ballroom, with floral stands lining it. I can send some photos of the decor and ballroom when I scan some if you want.

Happy Tuesday!

snoopy

Hi Hyatt Brides,

For those of you that want a wedding cake, how about getting an outside vendor to do it and then inform the hotel that you will bring your own cake?

I had a cake done for my church wedding. A 3-tier Lemon cake (which wasn't too heavy on the tummy) for 150 people which cost me abt $500 plus. The lady that did my cake is a free-lancer and does this as her hobby. She will deliver the cake for you too, so you don't have to worry about transporting it. I will try to upload a picture of the cake once I have scanned it in. But just a brief description now. It is a 3 tier lemon cake with white icing. She decorated the top tier and the sides of the 2nd tier with fresh flowers and the last tier with tulle to go with my wedding theme.

Do let me know if you want her contact. You can visit her to discuss what kind of cake you are looking at to go with your wedding theme.

och

hi princessp,

ur wedding sounds really romantic! u sound like u r quite enjoying ny. r u working there as well? i agree with u abt the resilience of new yorkers. u can always feel the heartbeat in the city no matter what happens, that's what i liked so much abt it.

hi snoopy,

hey, i will like the contact. my email address is attached. does she hv any photo samples that we can see? that will be rather helpful. can she bake n deliver a large cake (for 450 pple)?

do u still hv the decor ideas for ballroom with u? can u send me a copy as well? thanx so much in advance!

clover

Hi hi, it has been such a lazy morning. Yawn.

PrincessP, like all girls here, i think your wedding sounds absolutely dreamy; hope that all our weddings will be as memorable
....hmmm could alcohol have contributed to the floating feeling you experienced throughout the nite? heh heh
. BTW, glad things are fine for the both of you in NY. Just read that Taleban expects decade long warfare - hope that this is just empty war cries.

Hi Snoopy, would be grateful for cake contact details as well. My email: [email protected] Thanks a million.

snoopy

Hi och & clover,

I will try to scan in a picture of my cake and email the picture and contact details together to you.

caira

Hi Snoopy,

Your cake sounds yummy and unusual.. did you decorate it with sunflowers? If so I can just imagine it. Would love the contact of your cake lady as well.. my email's clickable on my name..

princessp.

I've finally gotten around to scanning some of the Hyatt cake and deco pictures. (although they are very badly scanned). What are your email addresses again?

jasmania

This is Jasmania... I am a Hyatt Bride on the 30th this month. One thing bothers me is that no free beer leh, and i quite worried hor... relatives will drink like mad... and then there will be a big hole in pockets. I practically got no freebies except the wedding cards & carparking!

Aiya! Find very sian... a bit of crazy madness here and there, mine quite last min decision, but my package booked way before already...

och

hi jasmania,

dun despair. i got very little freebies too cos i booked b4 911.
why dun u order beer direct fr apb? there's another track in this forum giving the contacts n the prices r very reasonable. last time i asked my coordinator, she said there's no corkage charges, as long as someone with the beer license delivers the beer.

princessp.

Hi Och and Garfield,

I sent the link to your emails already.

och

hi princessp,

thanx.
u looked really good in the pictures n the wedding cake looked delicious.

princessp.

hi och,

thanks for the compliments!!! with all the money shelled out for the makeup and hair and dress, I'd better look good. hahaha. so have you made up your mind about getting a real cake?

hi garfield,

I've resent the link to your email. sorry for the delayed response. I'm back in Singapore for Christmas holidays and haven't had much time to read the postings.

och

hi princessp,

i want to, ur cake looks so good. but i'm worried abt busting our budget, so will make the final decision closer to our wedding, when we hv a better idea of our cost breakdown.

ethel

I am fuming mad with the wedding co-ordinators at Hyatt. They promise to get back to you, but never! You always have to call them back. In such economic times, I don't believe they are not efficient toward their clients.

Anyone with similar grouses towards Hyatt?

och

hi ethel,

i think it depends on ur coordinator. mine needed prodding, until one day, i told her rather bluntly that she should make it clear who should be the one calling the other, else we will forever be waiting for each other's call. my friend's, on the other hand, calls her v. promptly. so....

ultragerms

Hi Jasmania,

Which ballroom will you be taking on the 30th
Dec 2001? I wonder are you my cousin? I am also a Hyatt bride but my wedding is over on the 18th Oct 2001.
Anyway about the beer don't worry, not a lot of people drink beer nowsaday, but red wine on my wedding night I had a total of 21 bottle of red wine and it finished all. For hard liquir only half a bottle consume for 28 tables.

jazz

Hi Hyatt Brides and Brides-to-be,

I'm interested in Hyatt but I do notice that Hyatt does not throw in a lot of freebies... Do you know when they host any promotions or exhibitions that we can negotiate for freebies such as a free barrel of beer?

I had gone and take a look at the Hibiscus and Sir Stamford ballroom. Can anybody help to give any comments on these ballrooms?

Thanks very much for the comments and help!

Cheers, Jazz

och

hi jazz,

hyatt's bridal shows r traditionally in oct, that's when they will throw in more freebies.

whether ur freebies r good or not also depend on ur coordinator.
since the economy turned bad, all my friends who booked said that their coordinators will give them at least 1 freebie if they appear interested to sign up. so u try for beer, food tasting or additional decor (eg sashes) etc. alternatively, u can offer to trade, say cards, for something else.

hibiscus is very pretty n has a higher ceiling.
i like the fact that it's on a lift floor, so u can take the lift back to the hotel rooms. the bad pts r that it's smaller n there may be another couple using the vanda ballrm that nite. but the sir stamford ballrm is on a floor by itself, n it's the first ballrm guests see when they come up fr the escalator, which makes it convenient for guests.

jazz

Hi och,

Thanks for the comment! *sigh* I guess I've just missed the Oct bridal show. I'm not sure I'll be able to wait for the next bridal show...

Hmm... trading cards sounds like a good idea. Maybe, can ask for chair covers or something like that.

Actually, I had a talk with a lady called Lynn but I do not know how to bargain for freebies. Maybe, you can help to give some tips? Thanks!

Cheers, Jazz

wildiris

i'm having a wedding at sir stamford rm in feb. can anyone advise me on whether it would look better with matte gold sashes on alternate seats or without. too plain too overpowering???

i have to top up $200 for the sashes for 30 tables.

U

ugly duckling

hi wildiris, i had my wedding @ the hibiscus ballroom last mth, my decor's gold theme ie. wif the gold sash for the seats. it makes the room very cosy & my guests love it.
so maybe u can consider it?

och

hi jazz,

sorry, missed ur posting. hope i'm not too late.

i think several brides hv discussed bargaining tips b4 in this track.
chair covers r already included in ur package, so is waiver of corkage charges. usually sashes n day use rms r easier to bargain for, cos they cost less to the hotel. if u want upgrade of dishes, it's usually more difficult. why dun u ask ur coordinator if there is corkage charges for beer that u bring in? if u get beer direct fr apb, it may be quite cheap. n u can consider trading cards for something like food tasting? a barrel of beer? better decor? try ur luck lor.

wildiris

hi och,

i think hyatt doesn't allow us to bring our own beer from apb. I did try asking. that was what i was told by the coordinator. dunno if they have changed their policy.

och

hi wildiris,

last time i asked, i was told that they will allow, as long as the pple tpting the beer r apb certified, or something like that. but i'm not serving beer, so din follow up on that.

jazz

Hi Och,

Dun worry, you're not too late. I just heard from my friend yesterday that Hyatt does not have food tasting now... so I'm not able to trade that for the beer or decor.

*sigh* Maybe, I'll see if try to catch any promotions or shows that Hyatt will have this year to try and catch some freebies...

och

hi jazz,

u mean ur coordinator dun offer any freebies for decor, e.g. free sashes or sashes at a discounted price? i know of pple who trade 2nd nite's stay for barrel of beer n or cards for food tasting/sashes. so try bargain with ur coordinator again?

when's ur wedding?

jazz

Hi och,

No... I've a fren also having it at hyatt but she had to bargain very hard for some freebies. Anyway, I told the coordinator that I've postphoned my date and I'll contact her after I get my date. I'll look for anything shows that comes along and see if I can get any interesting freebies.

doris

Just out of curiousity, how much do you book for a weekend table at Hyatt ? I am thinking to book in Hyatt or Fullerton for my wed in early 2003. Thks in advance !

och

hi doris,

i booked my packages last yr, so the prices may hv changed since then. when i booked, hyatt's weekend prices r $828 for 15-25 tables, $808 for 25-35 tables n $788 for > 35 tables. the price includes the usual food, free flow soft drinks, seat covers n 2 nite's stay in hotel suite. no beer.

julia andrew

Och

my wedding will be on the same day as u!!! I've booked Sir Stamford Room....Looking forward 2 c u. Currently looking out for wedding favors that cost not more than$2. Any ideas.......potpurri & candles are out. Got very old fashion in laws. They say no dead flowers & candle is for prayers only. I myself would like to have keepsake favours as such, anything eadible is also out. Really run out of idea! HELP!

och

hi julia andrew,

hey nice to meet u here!
i'm quite short of ideas for wedding favours too. if u dun want edibles, what abt chopsticks? soap? a cute pair of salt n pepper shakers? a pear-shaped candle with "a perfect pair" tag?

another idea u can consider is to have these little bottles with customised sticker on them. the bottles can be filled with whatever u wish, soap, m&m or honey. but this option is quite expensive. 4 little bottles fr ikea costs $3.99.

or u can try the election campaign tricks, like design a pocket calendar? but if the design isn't slick, the gift will look really tacky.