Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi sharon,

hyatt has chocolates, pineapple tarts, fortune cookies as favours.

fortune cookie is not edible.. it is actually a paper weight! hmm that was for 2005. i dunno if they are changing for 2006?

hi circut,
do u mind pillars? i think magnolia has a few of them.. the room is quite small maybe tats why ur fren said it is suffocating?

how many tables u having? if 20 can consider SSR and hibiscus.. no pillars

hi dreamdoll,
Camelia is the one directly opposite the lift. then u step out at 3rd floor... the room opposite is the camelia room, while magnolia and hibiscus is adjecent to the lift.

hi patek , u can send email to me by clicking on my username here... let's keep in touch :D
btw , my BS coordinator is jeanie

dreamdoll , ya , camelia room is next to hibiscus room ... quite
a cosy room for 15tables or less ... and ya there are 2 pillars
but not obstructive to the stage so no worries , unlike that of
magnolia which block view of some tables

hi dreamdoll,

all the ballrooms have pillars except SSR and hibiscus.

eve

hi all.. can someone update us on the latest hyatt price per table? i understand from some frens here that the price vary quite alot for diff people , even for the same room on weekday or weekend dinner... how come...? what is the latest price? i understand the standard is 2 nite at grand suite rite? anyone got 3 nites? i also heard they are now giving 2x30litre beer free!! i oni got 1x30litre...

hi white angel,
it depends if u book during the roadshow... say u book during the bridal show, u get an extra nite stay, which means a third nite. but as for beer i m not sure.

the px shld range from 688-998, depending on the ballroom and either weekend or weekday, lunch or dinner.

atleast u got one barrel! i got no beer! haha

Hiya gers,

Anyone can advise on the weeding favours.. as in which is better ?
Is the pineapple tarts gd ?
I have signed up with hyatt as its a veri gd package.. however for the wedding favours .. i'm still considering if i should take frm them .

any advise?

Hi Tulip,

Think the booking at year end of 2007 still not yet open. What i understand they only offer the booking up to March 2007. Maybe more few months later they will offer for next year end. No worry, suggest u booking at their wedding showcase as they will give u better offer and perks.

hi stephanie,

are they still offering the fortune cookie?
i thought the fortune cookie is quite unique, cos it is a metal paper weight.

eve

think for 2006, they have pineapple tart, chocolate praline and fruit cake. that's wat i understood.

white_angel, i can forward u the package detail i got just a few weeks ago or u can just call them and ask them to send it to u, they will be quite willing to do so. Gimme ur email add if u want me to send to u. the pm here can't put attachment... Prices valid till march' 07 i think

is grand suite the standard they giving? mine is called junior executive in the package detail. is that the same or upgraded to grand suite? a bit confused...

Hi Eve,

Yup yup, as wat Su had mentioned, for 2006, they only have pineapple tart, chocolate praline and fruit cake. How i wish they still have the fortune cookies..

For me, fruit cake is definitely out but for their pinapple tart and chocolate, I have no idea how gd they are .

Hi Su,

So what do u intend to take as yr favour?

hi stephanie,

i ate the chocolate parlines before.. quite tasty. it is in the shape of a heart. but abit common. i think pineapple tart more special? hehe seldom have pineapple tart as favour.

eve

Oh no, no more fortune cookies?! We felt it was quite unique. Chocolates, cakes and pineapple tarts are quite common.

I'm a bit confused about the suites they have. Is bridal suite = junior executive suite or one is an upgrade of another?

no wonder i heard people say they now giving 2barrel beer + 3 nite stay ... so its true... but maybe apply to special dates oni is it (ie their inhouse geomancer selected not-so-auspicious dates)

yup yup... they are giving 2 barrel of beer and oso 1 more night for the bridal show but it is a grand room not a grand suite..
did anyone manage to negiotiate to another nite at the suite??

i oso felt that the wedding favours r pretty common .. so i still thinking if i should get my own wedding favours

They gave me grand suit with 1 barrel beer and 3rd nite stay plus one red wine per confirm table only. Thus, if u want to upgrade, i think they will less a barrel of beer. Do u think it's worth?

Hi Seafaith,

So u manage to get a 3rd nite of the suite too including of the grand room ??

Btw do u mean upgrade of the suite or the grand room to suite??

Hi, may i ask is there any difference?

My coordinator has given me a bridal suite? So is it ht e grand suit or junior suit?

So is the grand room = grand suite? I'm getting abit confused already...

Hi Stephenie,

I didn't upgrade or negotiate anything. This just what they throw in the package.

Hi Agape,

If not wrong grand suit and grand room is totally different, grand room it's just a normal hotel room, maybe slightly better than standard room.

Think the different only at Grand suit and junior suit.

Anyway, u can check with your co-ordinator.

hi coco

i guess all the coordinators at hyatt are nice! ahha

my coordinator for my AD last yr was Zona.. she is nice, very obliging and is helpful. she is not pushy as well. i enjoy working with her! and she does have good advice. u can ask for her Zona Au.

Hey Seafaith, Sue, Eve and Hoho,

Thankies so much for your encouragement. Seafaith, no worries, I'm not offended. Just felt like complaining...whahaha! I guess we will just have to compromise. Anyway, I would want to happy on my big day!

Hey whiteangel,

You really got a great deal!

Hey Sue, I'm with Golden Horse Awards. The service is good. My coordinator is Jesline. Although it's not the classy kind of bridal studio, the designers are professional. The MTM packages are definitely more affordable. Hope that helps!

Hey girls,

You all are really efficient! I have not even seen the wedding favours after signing the contract. Not too sure what to choose yet also. But most prob the usual chocolates, guess it's the safest bet. Anyway, din know that we can "bargain" for a 3rd night stay! Tot 2 nights for a hotel is considered a bonus! Don't even know which room I'm offered! Wahah! Blur!

Bridal Showcase
Date: Saturday, 21 January 2006
Venue: Sir Stamford Room, Mezzanine Level
Time: 12.00pm to 5.00pm
RSVP with Iris Hong at Tel: (65) 6416 7069 or Fax: (65) 6734 5877
Or E-mail: [email protected] by 16 January 2006

Confirm your wedding banquet* during our bridal showcase and enjoy the following:
For Wedding Dinner
-Complimentary 2 x 30-litre barrels of beer
-complimentary bottle of house wine per confirmed table
-complimentary one- night stay in a Grand Room

For Wedding Lunch
-complimentary 30-litre barrel of beer
-complimentary food tasting of your selected menu for a table of maximum 10 persons

For Wedding High Tea
-complimentary 30-litre barrel of beer

From what i posted above, i feel disappointed with Hyatt cause i just sign on with them at their Bridal Showcase on 17th December 2005. But, after just one month they offered showcase on 21st January 2006 again. Can u imagine such a short period they have 2 showcase? Some more they told me that only will held once in the few months time. I feel like cheated.

Meantime, they offered wedding dinner asf for the showcase on last 17th december.
- complimentary 1 x 30 litre barrel of beer
-complimentary bottle of house wine per confirmed table
-complimentary one- night stay in a Grand Room
-dinning voucher for couple at Mezza9 worth $100

I not complaint on what the add in the additional perks. Just feel like they cheated us that they not always having bridal showcase.

Hence, suggest all the Hyatt BTB which had signed on 17th December 2005 Bridal Showcase write in to complaint.

What do u all think??

Last time we tried to negotiate for additional barrel of beer on top of their offered. they said they never free for the beer, this is their first time offered and hard for them to answer manager if they offer 2nd barrel, now they offered 2 barrel... GOSH.... all is what they say only.

But. i can say their co-ordinator still very patient and good service also.

Hi seafaith, i encountered the same thing too! They also told me that they do not have bridal showcases very often, but now seems like their perks given during showcases are getting better and better!!
Gosh.....

Hi eve, can you send me your link as well?

My email addy: [email protected]

kao_babydust.gif

Hi seafaith, i encountered the same thing too! They also told me that they do not have bridal showcases very often, but now seems like their perks given during showcases are getting better and better!!
Gosh.....

Hi eve, can you send me your link as well?

My email addy: [email protected]

kao_babydust.gif

Hey dear all BTB of hyatt... Not sure if i'm getting this rite.

Went to their website and checked the rooms they have. If I din interpret wrongly, they prob changed the name "Junior executive suite" aka bridal suite and call it the "Grand executive suite". there is no JES on the website and the description for GES seems to fit what i saw. The next tier is prob the Grand duplex suite which is two floors one.

I was actually about to email my coordinator to check on the possibility of an upgrade but decided to check out the website 1st. anyone still toking to their coordinator? mebbe can check this out.

My coordinator is Merlissa Lim. Like her cos she is able to make the decisions and very accomodating as well. B4 starting the bargaining, she went like "So what do u want?". Haha... had a great time. I feel that the perks described so far seems to be more or less there, only whether u had asked or not. Fair exchanges i would say.

What i meant is, whether u sign at the bridal showcase or not prob will not make a lot of diff. Cos we should still negotiate till satisfaction b4 signing. rem we are paying them an obsence amt of money. so i dun see any ill intention in them saying that they dun have bridal showcase very often. prob it really wasn't common to have them so close together.

I think those of u who are not satisfied, should talk to them. i believe they will try to accomodate... Those who are still negotiating, dun undermine ur bargaining power yah. ultimately, it is what is suitable for u.

Hope all goes well for all BTB, whether signing hyatt or not!

Hi Su,

Yeah! U are right, i also have same feeling like u. They shouldn't have the bridal showcase so close to each other. Normally is 3-6-9 month once...

Are they too desperate for business??

hi all, i would like to share the disappointing experience on my wedding banquet last month.

I had worked very hard to make sure that everything was perfect. My husband was caught up with work so many details were settled by myself in addition to my intensive workload. I was sleeping 3-4 hrs a day as post-work hours meant planning, organising, selecting, scrutinizing, etc.

Initially, when we had signed with Hyatt, we were told that the laptop, projector and technical crew would not be provided. It caught me by surprise, honestly, as I had thought a reputable hotel would have the basic infrastructure. My friend had her banquet at a 4* hotel and they provided all the technical aspects. Nevertheless, i was keen on hyatt and i hired my own projector & technical assistant (mind you, that was an additional $800+ for a basic function)and brought my own laptop.

The big day finally arrived. Excitedly, I went down to the reception area earlier than specified as I had wanted to mingle with my friends. To my utter shock & horror, my cousin delivered the bad news that although they had performed sound checks earlier and found nothing amiss, the soundfeed from the laptop had suddenly went awry. There was no sound from the laptop.

Having spent many precious nights on the cartoon story & my montage presentation, I was not about to give up and proceed without them. imagine this, as the bride, I walked to the front of the room and plopped myself at the laptop, attempting to troubleshoot. Meanwhile, as the guests arrived, my level of panic increased beyond sustainable proportions. My quick-thinking friends who were working in the computer industry flurried to the laptop and tried their best to solve the problem. I would say about 7 people were surrounding the cursed laptop.

Erstwhile, there were 3 technical assistants (i'm not quite sure why they were there as I was told there wouldn't be any), two of which did absolutely nothing but talk beween themselves. Picture this - the bride is at the laptop, the groom is trying to radio for alternatives, 7 friends had used their initiative and came forward to help without being asked to. The 2 technical assistants, at this moment, were standing behind me, muttering in another language (probably assuming that i was unable to understand, but unfortunately, I did) that something was wrong with the laptop. They had taken note of that failure and beyond that? absolutely nothing. Here were my friends , the guests who should be seated, frantically trying to solve the problem together with my own technical assistant that I had employed. Ironically, there were the two hotel technical assistants that stood there and did little else but pass comments. Where was the initiative?

At first, we had thought that the loss of sound was the fault of my own laptop. However, the 2nd laptop (provided by my wedding coordinator, who was about to knock off and rushed to my ballroom on her own initiative) was unable to function. I must say that she tried her best to get a laptop for me at the last moment and although it didn't work, I am very impressed with her quick-thinking and initiative as compared to someone else (i won't name him) who had told me that there was no available laptop in the hotel. Furiously, I had retorted that a five-star hotel like Hyatt could afford lavish fittings and decor but had no spare laptop for any bride who would spend at least a 5-figure sum there? It was ridiculous.

That said, nearly an hour had passed and most guests had arrived by now. My brother-in-law suddenly recalled that he had a laptop in his car and rushed to get it. My other brother-in-law went to get his iPod lest the laptop didn't work, so I would at least have a library of music to choose from for my march-in songs. We were about to give up when the 3rd laptop played the presentations without sound AGAIN. Just as I was about to break down in tears, my brother-in-law's laptop finally worked (God bless!) and thank goodness I had backed up the presentations & songs in my thumbdrive. Everything worked out eventually though sound was lost midway for a few seconds (by then, that was considered a teeny weeny minor glitch!) during the cartoon presentation.

My face was as black as thunder and I did not have a single morsel during the dinner as I had lost my appetite. Even though the food was eventually sent up to my suite, I did not touch it as I was greatly disappointed.

After the banquet, I blasted the people in charge and I could not understand why my wedding coordinator, who need not be there at all, was ironically the one who panicked on my behalf and tried her utter best to get everything to run smoothly as possible when she could have knocked off. Those that were in charge - what were they doing? Even the backup CD was fished out by my wedding coordinator ( i have no idea where she managed to get that!) and the people who were looking busy - where was the concrete assistance provided?

Now, to have not one, two but three laptops to run without sound, certainly points to a key failure in the infrastructure itself, don't you think? Although the 3rd laptop ran with sound eventually, can you imagine the rollercoaster emotions I had to endure with the change of each laptop? All these accompanied with the helpless frenzy of my friends and to have no help rendered when I needed it the most?

To compound my anger was an offer to waive off the beer charges. I snorted that a mere three-digit sum was all it took to compensate the day of my life. Would you have taken it lying down? After spending a five-figure sum for what you had expected to be the Perfect Day of your life and to be sorely disappointed while being offered a mere waiver of a 3-digit sum, thus adding insult to injury? If not for the fact that my wedding coordinator had stepped in, I would have brought this matter up to the higher levels. It was on the account of the hotel wedding coordinator that I decided not to pursue the matter. I must mention that my Hyatt wedding coordinator & my bridal coordinator from Ritz Couture placated my fears and had performed beyond that which was expected of them. (thank you, ladies!)

I am not here to stir up trouble or to fan its flames. I'm giving a true account of what had taken place during MY OWN banquet. Although a month has passed, till this day, it feels like i did not have a wedding banquet as I subconciously deny the utter disaster that had taken place.

Would any amount of money have compensated for that?

Hi Genesisgalaxy, So sorry to hear about your misfortune. I really din expect a 5 star hotel has this kind of service. It make me have 2nd thought of having mine wedding there....

But just some info for all...I just call to RSVP for the bridal showcase and was told it for couples who can confirm booking for this year.
And as I was looking at next yr package, the person told me that the booking for next yr will only be open from Jan-March 07. But is that true? I very kiasu le...I wan to book for next yr Xmas so anyone know whereelse is open for booking for next yr?

Hi genesisgalaxy,

Shocked to hear that the staff actually stand aside and "amused" by what was happening. That is actually very mean of them, standing aside and make no effort to help.

I must highlight this to my wedding coordinator. The "he" that u didn't want to mention the name, is he the banquet manager there? Or was the banquet manager there to assist? May I ask how is the whole procedure going to goes? I thought the wedding coordinator suppose to be there to see to everything till probably the wedding dinner end?

I've attend my fren wedding dinner at Marriott Hotel. The wedding coordinator was there to see to everything. Working very closely with the helpers/us. She was super nice and detail. She practically see to every need of my fren's wedding. Even seems like her PA, preparing water for her to drink (with straw), knowing that going round form table to table for photo taking is very tiring. She was always like a call away, always there.

How does Hyatt wedding works???

Hi genisisgalaxy,

hey i had the same problem too! no sound from my laptop. i think the cable i brought was not competitible. hmm mine was hibiscus room. urs? i had to play my music using their system instead.

understand how u feel.. cos the music is very special, and it has some meaning... accompanying the pictures u have chosen. they shld provide projector right? dun see wat is so difficult.

hi agape,
the coordinator might or might not be there.. mine was there at the begining, so see that everything was set up. and she left after that. i dun think they stay till after the dinner.

the person whom will liaise with u and ur hubby is the banquet manager. he will call u for ur march in, and cue ur MC, music, lights etc....
and he will bill u too, and explain the no. of bottles of wine consumed. and he will be there for the entire dinner.

u need to do ur part by coming up with the programme, for instance, when u want to dim the light, what music to play at what event, and when to cue ur MC etc. and at ard 5pm there is a rehersal, all ur helpers and hubby need to be there.

i have my AD programme, can mail u if u want. it is rather long though. ahha if u don't mind.

eve

Thanks Eve. I know that no doubts, there will definately be some hip-hups here & there. I really hope the hotel staff will really take pride in our wedding, working together to make it a step closer to perfect one.

Seems like so many things we need to finalise for the banquet. All these things, our wedding coordinate will tell us beforehand? My wedding is like just slightly more than 2 months away only. But up till now nothing is done yet.

Eve, if you dun mind, can email me? [email protected]. THanks in advance

hi eve, yes i was terribly disappointed and the cable was provided by hyatt. I still recall that I even arranged the songs to be played in certain order and I'd even grouped them according to theme. I had spent the eve of my AD staying up to finalize my song list, which had more than 40+ songs. (extras for backup. that was how stringent i was!) this is not the first time I've heard about the sound failing at the banquet. Someone told me that "hyatt had never experienced such a problem before", to which I had retorted that he obviously didn't read forums because I do recall reading in the archives that some girls also experienced this. I questioned them that if it had happened not once, not twice, but repeatedly, then what is the management doing about it? Are they simply going to brush aside one by one, with mere words and apologies?

I'm sorely disappointed with Hyatt. I had such high expectations and my confidence in its name has been shattered. Even when Conrad had a promotion that could rival Hyatt's pricing, I chose to stick to my guns. I'm even thinking of not going for the anniversary stay but my husband said that to forfeit that would be our own loss as we'd already paid for the banquet.

On hindsight, I thought that the 5* hotel branding would ensure the best wedding that I could ever have. Apparently that's wrong in my case. I really regret it. That's all I have to say.

Note to gals who want to use their laptop or own songs: please ensure u have enough funds for your own sound system coz apparently, having your own laptop, projector and technical assistant isn't an amulet against disaster. if you're a perfectionist like i am, and have planned everything right down to the minute details, and everything goes wrong through no fault of yours, I guess you'd better pray hard that nothing goes wrong.

As mentioned, I had already "closed an eye" so to speak and provided my own projector/assistant/laptop and bore the costs willingly. My wedding banquet was planned precisely (About 7 pages in length). I'm very bitter that despite this, the final dip was through not because of the lack of planning nor the failure of my own hardware. I'm very bitter indeed. I cannot find a better word than that to express my disdain.