Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi tsukushi,

the printing takes 3 days only but since can go jb on weekend thats why i say 1 week! hahaha

the printer is T&T printing. it is at jb citi sq. either on 4th or 5th storey.. it is a counter.. thre is another printing shop there.. but it is a more expensive.. T&T is cheaper...

eve

Hi Eve!

Thanks for sharing! Like yr bouquet too! Very different from the usual ones

hmmm thinking of using the black theme ... but zona says may not have enuf gold sash and table top (i request for 4 more sets instead of the usual 2) ... where can i source for gold table top and chair sash? also looking at the rose ball centre piece ... anyone has contact for cheaper ones? the hotel quote about $80 per set ... and the projector is not cheap , $350...

hi white angel,

maybe u check with zona where they get their table top and sash from? cos if u get it elsewhere u may not get the exact same colour or tone...

for the centre piece... u tot of having rose petals instead of rose ball? can spread some rose petals with tea light candles on the tables. shld be quite romantic. hehe

eve

Hey Eve,

Thankies so much! Will get the contacts from you when the date is nearer ya? Need to ask my fren for her polaroid model also. Thankies!!!

Think I be engaging the quartet. Anyway, thankies for your info and your suggestion.

Hi white angel,

Think not worth to rent a projector from Hyatt as it's too expensive. If your banquet on weekend, u can try to request your co-ordinator to throw in as complimentary for u cause weekend banquet is more expensive, then they should have room to move. Btw, when is your wedding day?

U know my co-ordinator qoute me at $380, there is more expensive then what did u got. Anyway, i think to find from outside.

rgds.

Hello Ladies!
I just attended the my friend's wedding at Hyatt yesterday evening. Overall experience..quite good. Not WOW but quite good. Just to share share a bit of my tauts.

I will feel that for couples who are very particular abt pillars..then the Magnolia/Vanda is definitely a no no for you! My table was just behind the pillar and the majority of us at the table couldn't see the stage. The hotel tried to overcome that by putting TV sets for these tables but sad to say..not very effective. My friends also complained that they feel very "isolated" due to the blockage by the pillar. I realised that the ballroom is a bit plain..and yes..ceiling also low..But it was nicely compensated by the beautiful flower decos (one of the reason why I chose Hyatt!!
). I actually find the layout of the ballroom very interesting! Dunno how to describe but I personally like it (no ballroom doors). It also has quite a exclusive foyer for corktail..so if not for the pillars..I will say it's a good pick!

AS for the service (guess most couples are most worried abt this..ME TOO!! Heehee)..it was satisfactory. There were like 3-4 weddings at the hotel yesterday and there were guests all over the place!! As I got on the wrong way (should use the escalator to get to Magnolia/Vanda..I used the lift), and the staff stationed ard was fast notice that I seemed "lost" and approached me to offer helo and direct me to the right ballrooms. The staff who helped me was friendly and even led me all the way to the right ballroom. GOOD JOB! As for the waiters and waitresses, most of them were okie, the lady that served our table was fantastic! We did noted quite a few "black sheep" though..haizzz.. But but still acceptable.

As for food, guess different pple have different taste bulbs..hahaha! Some like it..while some don't..For me, thumbs up for most of the dishes! Heehee! Dishes were served at a comfortable pace. No rush my the staff even when the dinner dragged after 1030pm!! I personally find the serving too slow!! hahaha! Dunno if my friend requested this speed...for me I'll "rush" them a bit!
Hope this is helpful to all!

Hi Eve,

Can share your album with me too? After hearing the comments on this thread, I've regain confidence again for Hyatt. LOL Wanted to strike it out totally when i read other negative comments saying Hyatt is a NO NO...

My email: [email protected]

hi blurblur and gelaine,

i have sent the link over!

hi gelaine,
what are some of the negative comment u have heard abt hyatt? care to share? hehe

eve

Hi eve,

Thanks! Hmm negative comments mainly about the service... many of my friends had complained... and some didn't like the food too. Having such high pricing but offering lousy food and service is a big NO NO i guess. But after seeing the comments here, i feel better. Just wondering how much i would need before having my AD. I estimated about 30 tables but seems like it's expanding... to about 40 tables now. Sigh. Any guidelines to how much i would need to save before booking my dinner banquet? Very bad at my sums...

hi gelaine,

so far i haven't heard of any negative comments abt hyatt. my guests told me the food is fresh and serving good, and the aunties even commented that the menu is unique! hhahahah

as for how much u need, i guess u need the 2k downpayment... the rest will be after the AD..

are u paying the dinner urself? or ur parents or PIL chipping in? will ur parents be needing tables? meaning the ang pow collected from their frens will be returned to them... all this will affect the "taking" hahha...

if u can break even, then u don't really need come out with much money.. perhaps only for extra beer wine?? look at ur guests list.. do u have more relatives or frens? i guess frens and colleagues do give the market rate.. relatives tend to give a few hundred but they usually take up half the table...

i guess u shld have the $ to pay for the entire dinner to be on the safe side? i am not very sure abt it. hahaha hmmm so far... i heard my frens and colleagues losing ard 3k...

sorry can't really help much..

Hey eve,

Thanks for the advice. Going crazy with the expenses man. Just got my flat and also have to do a little furnishing. Haiz. And yeah.. we're paying for the dinner ourselves. Not very comfortable with askin parents to chip in. Tough life! LOL

Hi Eve,

Heard you said your friends and colleague was losing around $3k, that is very scary leh... When is their banquet? On weekday or weekend? What is the main reason they loose so much $$?

Pls share with me.

Hi Eve, how are you ? good news, i managed to meet up with Zona last weekend, everything's lovely ... except three items: i. the ballroom ceiling which my FH might find it too low (he wasnt there with me) ii. the foyer a little too dim iii. backing of dining chairs also low. apologies if i appear too picky ! but other than these, package and menus are indeed more appealing as compared to four seasons, love the great variety of centrepieces and florals that we can choose from ! Which menu did you take ? seems that lunch menus are different. And saw from another thread about choc buffet or something, did you have that ?

i've also checked out the garden wedding but too costly, just rental alone is 5k (normal is 2k during "hot" weather season)....

Hey girls,

I think I'm gonna make a huge loss. Just realised that my FIL is inviting 5 tables of friends. What has our wedding gotta do with his frens? And I think his friends are not the very generous kind. How I wish I can just kick them out from the guest list! I told my FH straight that to ask his dad to pay for the loss for the 5 tables, if any.

Hi Eve, care to share the link with me, too? Email add is [email protected]

Just signed the package yesterday. So far we are very satisfied with the place and service. Very appraoachable.

We chose Magnolia Vanda room. Try popping by weekend to look at the setup. (Do this with confidence tho cos their staff are quite alert. haha...) It is impressive... Esp the fresh floral deco. Wow... the whole vase goes onto the table and the stage. Understand that they have a good range of flowers to choose from, unlike most places that offer only 2 types...

Our coordinator advise us to keep it to about 35 table and they should be able to stagger the tables for minimum blockage by pillars. Think the plasma screens are pretty good idea. Seen some places that have big pillars but nothing to compensate. I think they are pretty considerate in this sense cos they know it will be a concern.

Love the private and spacious reception area. Not every hotel can offer that.

Glad to hear that the food is quite good cos that's abt the only negative comment i've heard so far.

We scouted about 20 over hotels and narrowed down to Pan Pac and Hyatt. Chose Hyatt cos of the wow factor we caught on Sat.

Wondering if anyone got photos of the black theme in Magnolia Vanda. It is exciting when we spotted one of these setup in a small function room with western setup. But we still considering cos not sure if 30 odd black tables would look good. Great if anyone would share.

Hello Susan,
I totally agree with you!!! I simply LOVE the flower deco/setup! Classy Zen setup! Very very cool!! My friend just had her banquet at the Magnolia Vanda room and I must say the setup was beautiful...very serene!! Sorrie..none of my friends and myself took any pictures that day, all taken by AD photographer..so can't show you.. My friends choose the red table cover for the VIP tables, with cream napkins for all tables..Dunno what you call those flowers but they looked like pale white orchids (PRETTY!!)

Hi Hi hoho03,
I understand how you feel abt the ceiling.. Frankly speaking..I dun like the low ceiling too!! But there are other "WOW" factors..hence me and my FH ultimately chose Hyatt!
As for the low chair backings that you mentioned, I never notice leh..heehee..maybe coz I never got a chance to lean on them as I was busy chatting throughout the night!!! Heehee! My friend's wedding was very successful! No (major)hipcups noted during the wedding..heehee!

Right! Hyatt flower is the most simple and nice and bring the whole environment very cosy and grand. I like that too...

Hi Blueybubble,

What i feel the banquet is just want every one happy and not because of get profit or lost like business. Sorry to saying that but not offen your last.

For chinese family, we always want to respect for the elderly especially our parent and PIL. You know, beside we are happy on our wedding, think our parent also happy and they have one more new member in family, of course they want to invite their friends to share the joy and happiness. Marriage is not you and your husband, it's related to 2 whole family. Sometimes we have to consider others on this to make every one happy. Then we will be happy.

Don't think abt the lost on banquet, just take it as invite others for dinner will do. Then u will not be so tough on this.

hoho03, something we found out also. Hyatt uses 5.5 feet table for all. most hotels uses 6 feet for VIP but 5 feet for normal. 5 is really quite squeezy. We tried sitting at the table, the seats were actually quite comfy and the leg of the table is quite far in. So, pple wun kick the table so easily.

I agree with seafaith about making everyone happy. btw, according to experiences of friends, seems like friends tend to give bigger AB than relatives. Haha... so, blueybubble, it might not be such a bad thing to have tables for ur FIL friends. Just that if u already have problem squeezing in ur guests, then gotta compromise i guess.

I think Hyatt is quite reasonable in terms of price. They also understand that different couples have diff needs. So no harm just telling them what u want. they will then consider if they can give it to u. fair exchanges i must say. We had great time thinking of what we want until we kinda run out of ideas. Haha... Have a great time talking to them, not sure if all the coordinators are as nice tho.

I am planning to have my wedding dinner at Hyatt. Mine wedding will be on 1st quarter of 07, was wondering whether their price for 2007 is out already. Anyone got good coordinator to recommend?

wow this thread is moving so fast..

hi seafaith,
my colleague had a big loss cos she under invite. she had 32 tables but less than 320 pple..

hi bubble,
understand ur "fears" ahhaa cos i also had the same fear... my FIL invited 2 tables of frens..
it is understandable cos u have to juggle a lot of things, like house, AD, tabling, Gowns etc... and coping with demands of the parents and in laws..

dun worry so much! cos i am sure ur IL won't want u to loose too much $ also.. they know what to do! u know smthing... my FIL frens really pow very little.. they gave $20!! ahahhahaha but at the end of day... we didn't lose any money and manage to have a "profit" of 1k! so dun worry so much... things will be fine!!

hi hoho..
sorry been really busy! cos sch started lioa... i haven't reply ur mail yet. will send u the AD programme shortly..

we kind of like the low ceiling.. cos it created a cosy feel... as i had only 22 tables.. hehe

i took the menu A (weekday) but i exchange the dessert with menu B!

hi susan,
i have sent u the link!

eve

Hi eve, didn't manage to catch you at the other thread on printers... Did you use hot-stamping to print your insert for that price at T&T? Do I need to bring any template down for the printer?

Su, I think your friends probably referred to their own friends, instead of friends of parents?

hi tsukushi,

paiseh i didn't check out the other threads..

i use normal printing.. i got Hyatt to give me the template. yes u will have to bring the template and the WEDDING CARD so that they will know the size...

and also.. names of ur parents, PIL, urself and hubby in Chinese... and the Chinese Dates....

i have the template from hyatt, do u want it?
if u need it, u can download from my multiply site

http://eveuloveme.multiply.com

go to the photos on wedding card..

eve

Hi SH,

Hyatt had offered their 1st quarter of 2007 banquet with 2006 price. I had booked mine on March 2007 on last Dec Bridal Showcase together with the attractive perks.

Think sign up on the bridal showcase will be the best.

Dear Kelly and Eve, thanks for sharing your opinions on the ceiling…yes agree the ballroom feels very cosy and being a flower person, I’m most ready to go for beautiful floral arrangements. . .i even asked if I could bring them home after the wedding ! hehehe

And I noticed the chairs because I was visiting another hotel right before Hyatt and was pretty impressed by high-backing velvet chairs specially arranged for the wedding couple !

Does either of you know whether the Camelia has pillars ? I’m afraid I might not meet the min requirement for 20 tables for Hibiscus .

Kelly, is yours lunch or dinner ? solemnization on same day ?

Hi Su, thanks for the info on the tables. Ummmm, when you say 5.5 feet etc, are your referring to the diameter or the height of the table ? (apologies cuz I dun hv a sense with measurements) . . . and do you mean that the legs are kinda like not stuck at the edge of the tables but inner ?

Hello blueybubble, I agree with seafaith, try not to quibble over profit/loss, we’re really not operating business, guess we should be glad that we have the opportunity to share such an important occasion with everyone else…and your FIL must be proud of you to want his friends to know that he’s going to have a lovely DIL in the family !!

Hi white angel,

Can u let me know what ballroom you choose for your banquet? It's a lunch or dinner? and is weekday or weekend?

For me, i choose Sir Stamford Room on weekday dinner banquet at $788 nett per table and they throw in the perks at free 30 litre barrel of beer, i bottle of house wine per confirmed table, Food and Beverage voucher for 2 person at mezza9 and complimentary a night stay for helper on wedding day. All this was throw in on bridal showcase that day.

If I am not wrong, the price whiteangle got is for Mag / Vanda Ballroom. Which is the reason why her price is abt 100 less as compare to the other ballroom.

Is part of the standard of Hyatt style of marketing their ballroom in 2005/06. As I understand that Mag / Vanda ballroom taken rate is lower as compared to others due to the pillars and mainly the no door concept. Which is why the price is lower.

Btw, on the flowers... if not mistaken I have mention it before, in Hyatt, they have their own in house florist which attend to their flowers, and plants of the hotel everyday, and those flowers which is on display etc or in the ballroom setup is always fresh. As their florist is actually part of Hyatt, is in the hotel itself and only meant for their own use.

Hi Eve,

Can I have your link too? Thanks. :-) I'm likely to book Grand Hyatt too.

Yes it's 688nett for Mag Vanda. What are the themes available for Grand Hyatt? Any advice on which is nice? Thanks.

Hello hoho03!
Mine is dinner. Me and FH hoping to get solemnisation on the same day. But still pending that..heheehee! The Camelia room has 2 pillars too! Understand from my coordinator that they use to put 20 tables in Camelia but bcoz of some negative feedback that it is a bit squeezy, they are limiting the max no. of tables at 18 for Camelia. So, the blockage by the pillars will be slight (i was told..heehee)..

Hi White Angle,

I understand that you are a BC Bride, saw you over at the thread too... Me too, also a BC bride, and my AD is also in Nov. Jus a few days ahead of your oni. hehe...

hoho... i'm referring to the diameter of the table. and yes, the leg seem to be more away from the edge than others that i've tried and no beams across from leg to leg.

eve, got the link. will look at them at home... haha... thanks!

Hi all .., i choose Camelia Room on weekday dinner banquet at $688 nett per table .. they throw in a free 30 litre barrel of beer, 1 bottle of house wine per confirmed table, $60 room service Food and Beverage voucher, 25% carpark , 70% invitation card , wedding favour , 2nite stay at Grand Suite , food tasting for 10pax , etc etc ...

hi patek :D glad we can share both same BS and banquet ... keep in touch !

hi kelly... we booked the same Camelia room ... how much is urs?

hi dreamdoll,

i have sent u the link.. hmmm as for perks.. i didn't get any cos my AD fell on those "auspicious" dates which the hotel block out. so perks.. i managed to get discount for beer cos my package doesn't even have beer! hahaa

hi circut,
can i have ur email add? :P

hi tsukushi,
add u to the multiply! when u going to jb to do the insert? hehe

Hi white angel,

wow... it means u got urself a really good deal, cos when I sign up with them, they oni had Mag/Vanda at S$688 nett for weekday.

Sure will keep in touch. Btw, ur co0ordinator is who in BC, mine is big sally.

Maybe can share with me you email, or msn add. can chat from there. Can share more info together ... hehe...

Hi Eve,

Ooops..my email add is [email protected].
:-p Thanks.

Hi all, most ppl complain about the low ceiling and big pillars in Magnolia Room. A friend said that it can be quite suffocating if guests talk too loud. They also may not hear the couple's speech. Any comments? I'm likely to book soon. Thanks.