Grand Hyatt Singapore

preci0usm0ments

In response to the comments on Hyatt ‘regular’ Bridal Showcases, I believe, the hotel has reasons for doing the Bridal Showcase.My friend who works in the hotel industry says that for the month of February, March, they would be busy with events,and April is the 'Ching Ming' Period. There is also two "7 ghost month" in 2006.

No one would want to sign up packages for Weddings. Also, from now till Dec 2006, the number of people planning their weddings would not be many, as the time frame is too short. They do the bridal showcase, more for non-auspicious dates.I believe all the auspicious dates in 2006 has already been taken up.

So for whatever perks they give, it seems to get better, becos there are not much choice for dates left. Sometimes, it is like buying a Handphone, today you see it at this price, tomorrow, the price drops again. But you can’t help it when there is promotion and when there isnt. It all depends on what your priority is: getting the date, or getting the perks. Anyway, just wanted to express my personal views. No offence to anyone.

chummy

Hi gals..

Just to let u know tt actually Hyatt having showcase almost every mths. Except for the ghost mth. The person I liase in Hyatt told me abt tis.
Also, last yr sep-Oct they have start offering 2 barrel of beers..

white_angel

sigh... why a 5star hotel can become like dat...

to tink that i m doing my photo montage now ... seriously tinking of bringing my own speakers and audio cd just in case ... plus a additional laptop... anyone has projector rental to recommend? and what brand/model is ok for grand hyatt sound system?

hoho03

dear genesisgalaxy, i am really very sorry to hear the bad experience you had at hyatt and i really appreciate your sharing with us.

may i just ask: which ballroom was it held at and did you test out the equipment prior to AD ? pardon me for making you recollect your grievances

i believe it will take a while before the whole episode can be erased but try not to brood too much over it, think more about the other happy and cheerful moments you had on that day and look forward to a blissful life with your husband. . .

stephie_

Hi Genesisgalxy, i'm oso veri sorri to hear that . But try not to brood over it anymore and let it affect u .. be happy =)

I'm oso pretty shocked that this would happen to hyatt. i choose hyattt as i thought they are able to ensure the perfect setting for us. But now seems like its otherwise.

Mayb like wat white angel suggest, we should bring our own speakers just in case of any hick up at the last minute.

miffy80

hi eve, can u send me ya AD program too to [email protected]

thanks alot.

guess hyatt could at least provide a projector and laptop to ensure that the montage be played "properly" with the sound so that any problems resulting from the incompatibility of cable etc WILL BE AVOIDED. Great efforts are put in or additional costs are paid for the montage, etc n we've paid a huge sum for the banquet too, hoping to have a memorable and wonderful experience at Hyatt. Couldn't they just provide them so as to minimize such unpleasant situations which are obviously avoidable? It's afterall a once-in-a-lifetime, and they only need to get bout 5 sets of the projector and laptop for each of their ballrooms **hyatt currently rents them from an outside source**. I understand that hyatt coordinators themselves are also reading the forum. We would greatly appreciate it if you could bring this up to higher management to ensure that this will not affect a 5* hotel's reputation to hold such a important events and this should be done as soon as possible so that the brides-to-be in the upcoming weddings will be spared from such agony.. thanks very much.

genesisgalaxy

hi hoho03, it doesn't matter which room i had utilised as apparently, repeats of such incidents have occurred in other ballrooms as well (i've read about them in the archives here). Yes, being a meticulous perfectionist, i had ensured that everything was working. My technical assistant, husband, programme coordinators (my friend & cousin) & emcees had gathered at about 6pm for the final rehearsal prior to the banquet and they witnessed that everything ran smoothly. My technical assistant even ran the full cartoon story & montage presentations just to ensure that every single second of those presentations worked perfectly. Yet, barely 2 hours later, it had to fail at the crucial moment.

An incident like mine may not occur at a rate frequently enough to warrant an immediate overhaul of the systems. Nevertheless, would anyone like to take the risk of playing Russian roulette - that is, to do everything to your best ability and after which, to cross your fingers and hope for the best? To pay a 5-figure sum(or even 6-figure sums occasionally) and require little else but "good luck" in the hands of Chance?

Blur Gal, we're on the same side of the fence as I cannot fathom as to why, despite its reputable branding & image, Hyatt has not purchased its own equipment in this area. It's baffling indeed. Is the overhead cost a factor? For a 5* hotel, I believe that the overhead cost of a few projectors & laptop and their subsequent maintenance are relatively negligent. I'd mentioned to someone(yes, the same person whom I will not name) that there was no point in splurging on lavish fittings & intricate details when the fundamentals were not taken care of.

The hotel sees many banquets & corporate seminars daily, and we are, as the clientele but a mere statistic lodged in their profit margins. Pompous events simply mean business as usual. To us, it's an event we have looked forward to, saved up for, a once-in-a-lifetime display of the Moment. Once lost, the Moment is gone. Forever. No amount of money nor apologies can make up for that. Extensive mere words, sincere or otherwise, mean nothing.

Aside from the technical faults, the degredation and "loss of face", which I believe is not self-limiting to the Chinese but across all cultures & races, on the Single Day of your life simply cannot be erased with time. It's an emotional scar that has clawed its indelible imprint. Picture this - a decade later, when the subject of wedding banquets pops up in casual conversations, mine will always be referred to as "the one without sound".

Thanks for the memories, eh? =(

white_angel

can someone from Grand Hyatt pls respond to our question ... what are the steps that you've taken to ensure such unhappy incidents WILL NOT happen to future wedding functions... we are all worried now...

eveuloveme

i have sent the AD programme over. do let me know if have received it cos i m not sure how to send to multiple acct! hhaha

hi cute miffy,
there is smthing wrong with my kodak gallery site. will send u the link once it is up.

hi genesis,
hmmmm all brides want their wedding to be perfect becos it can only happen once.. and so the limit for error is very small. i guess u are feeling really disappointed at the entire thing, and also sad becos u couldn't do what u have planned. it must been tough as u spent many hours preparing and planning for the day. i mean brides spent almost a year planning the big day. and it happened at the very last min!

but i m sure u have beautiful memories of the day, such as the guests u received, the joy on the faces, and meeting up with old classmates etc. just think of these beautiful memories that you have, and dun think so much about the imperfections. i am sure many years from now, u and hubby can talk abt the music at hyatt, and screw up it was! hahah

fcc

Hi eve,

thanks thanks thanks. Have gotten your files. Wow, they are really helpful and very detailed. As I was trying to just scan thru quickly first.. i start to realise there is a couple of items that I left out and did allocate any manpower for it. hee

eveuloveme

hi cute miffy,
i have sent u the link to the AD pics.

hi seafaith,
heheh paiseh forgotten to reply u. my MCs are my colleagues from school. one of them is an english teacher the other one maths teacher. haha we had lots of fun making teacher student joke during the dinner cos lots of my guests are teachers too.

hi white angle and mikie, i have sent u gals the AD pgramme.. do let me know if u have received it cos i am not used to my new email programme.

eve

seafaith

For those who not satisfied with Hyatt on not provide the projector, think we can group together to send them a letter to highlight them about this. All of us of course don't want such minor error to be happen on our BiG day and make a scare for our perfect day.

I really not understand such a 5* hotel can said don't have their own projector, can u imagine that? Their all coordinator said they have rent from outside, do u all really believe it?

kelly_pink

Hello Eve,
Please share share with me ur AD programme too!! Thank U thank U!! My email addy: [email protected]

Hello genesis,
I agree totally with Eve! I am sure there were beautiful moments during your wedding..banquet too..

seafaith, same sentiments. Quite a hassle that projector is not part of the package and so expensively priced. At the last resort, see whether can loan from company or not..haha

blueybubble

Dear genesisgalaxy,

Really sorry to hear abt ur experience. I will total freak out if such a thing were to happen. I think technological and technical stuff cannot are sometimes unpredictable. We never know when they will screw up.

Thank you very sharing your experience with all of us. You must be really upset, especially when you spent your heart and soul to choose the music and the cartoon montage.

So all BTBs, we really have to do lots of back up and prepare lots of equipments in case there are any glitches. *touchwood*

Dear Eve,

Can you send me your programme as well? Please? Thankies so much!

red088

went to the bridal showcase yesterday.. offers not really that good -- 2 barrels of 30l beer, $100 Mezza 9 voucher, 2 nite stay in grand suite, 1 grand room for helper, 1 house wine per confirmed table . the wedding coordinator didn't seem to be very interested in our deal

seafaith

Hi Red088,

Their offered really quite good already. At least better than mine that just signed on last month...
u got another barrel of beer and we just got the only 1 barrel for free... so bad, just a a month different only.

mist28

Eve: I have receive yr AD programme. thanks!

I have paid deposit yesterday and booked my date with Grand Hyatt for wkday in their grand ballroom. I think the offers are considered quite good.

Red088: which coordinator did you meet?

red088

mine was zona ,,do u tink they will extend d same offer now i.e adter d showcase?
did anyone manage 2 get them 2 add in d projector etc??

mist28

mine was audrey. not sure whether they will extend the offer but you can check with your coordinator and express that you are very sincere in signing the package now after some consideration. no luck so far in getting free projector..

fcc

Had read the earlier post in this thread. Did notice that some brides actually manage to negotiate to rent the projector for free...

Hmm... they are getting more strict nowadays?

genesisgalaxy

now i'm really peeved.

Aside from the technical fault as mentioned in my earlier posts, my package was anything but desirable.

- No free beer
- No free wine (wine purchased from Hyatt. It was not by choice actually, thanks to the corkage imposed on external bottles of wine.)
- No room for helpers
- No projector
- ordinary suite for bride & groom (it was upgraded later as I'd insisted on it since I was already marginalised without the room for helpers)
- food tasting (which I'd forgone in exchange for a barrel of beer)

I had accepted these terms although my friend had the same coordinator just a year earlier and had a better deal than I did. It doesn't take a mathematical genius to figure that I had to shell out a few extra thousand dollars for nothing, all to have that fragile bubble burst at the final moment.

red088

genesisgalaxy, who is ur wedding coordinator? just wondering, are wedding coordinators assessed based on the number of freebies given??

eveuloveme

hi genesisgalaxy,

hmmm u must be really upset! wow... i guess u didn't book during the bridal fair then.. which explained the lack of freebies. me in the same situation as u.. i got NOTHING from them... no beer no wine... nothing.. i really envy those whose package comes with wine beer etc...when did u book ur package? i book mine in feb 05, and it comes with food tasting. just that no wine no beer nothing. haha

hi red,
i dun think the coordinator are assessed base on the amt of freebies they can offer. basically u have higher bargain power if u are having say 45 tables compare to someone with only 20 tables. the profit margin higher. my coordinator told me straight up front.

u can request for the projector if u are willing to exchange for it. say u don't want the cards, or the favours, or the rooms. i guess they are willing to swap. basically u get better deals if u sign during their showcase.

hi bubble,
i have sent u the AD programme

eve

genesisgalaxy

hi eveyouloveme,

While I understand that bridal fairs come with their perks & freebies, I am peeved about the fact that my friend who had the same coordinator earlier, had more perks than I did. She certainly had not signed up at any bridal fair. In this manner, my friend and I started off on the same ground. She was given a room for her helpers and the upgrading of the suite came about without request on her part. Initially, upon signing up in July 04 (yes, i was really keen on hyatt that I booked it 1 1/2 years in advance!) my coordinator was someone else but had resigned in early 05. Thus, my final coorindator took over her reins. it was only when my final coordinator had replaced the former one was I offered a free food tasting session. I recall clearly that the former coordinator had specified that food tasting was available at a cost of approximately $400 or $500. I have no idea why this was changed later on to a free session which I'd forgone in exchange for an anniversary stay.

Apologies for the earlier posting as there were some errors. The correct details of my package were:
- No free beer
- No free wine (wine purchased from Hyatt. It was not by choice actually, thanks to the corkage imposed on external bottles of wine.)
- No room for helpers
- No projector
- ordinary suite for bride & groom (it was upgraded later as I'd insisted on it since I was already marginalised without the room for helpers)
- no food tasting initially (which I'd forgone in exchange for an anniversary stay)
- no free anniversary stay (until i exchanged my food tasting session for this)

What was free:
- lots of anger
Fantastic deal, eh? =(

dede

I am new here.

I heard that from now on, couple has to produce ROM cert before they can book the banquet. Is it true?

I am quite keen to book my wedding banquet at Hyatt. I am planning to do it in May 07. How long in advance do I have to sign the contract?

any comment please?

eveuloveme

hi SumYee,

i dun think u need to produce the rom Cert. is this a new practice? i didn't do that when i made my booking.

as for the booking, u can given them a call to check if the pricing list is out for may 2007. at the moment i dun think it is.

dede

Hi eveuloveme

Thanks. I just start planning my wedding. dun much. Just a friend told me about this. I was shocked and if this is true, I can't have my ROM and AD on the same day.

so the ppl at the hotel didn't ask you right? I feel better now. So I don't need to worry leh...

anyway, when is yr AD?
Hope you can share your experience with me.

eveuloveme

hi sumYee,

Yes u can rom and AD on the same day.. many brides are doing it.

my AD over lioa. it was on the 8/12/2005..
hmm overall i had a great time planning and i love the dinner at hyatt. ahahah

circuit

Hi Genesisgalaxy, I'm sorry to hear that so much happened to you. But hope you can try to forget the unhappy experiences. Thanks for sharing. Now we know we've to prepare extra speakers and laptops. :p Perhaps we should stop comparing our packages and complain about them. Some are on hot dates, some on inauspicious dates, some signed during bridal shows, some are not. But the point is let's all look forward to be happy brides and bridegrooms. From Eve's pictures, she had such a wonderful wedding. Hehe her "block door" episode in the morning was very interesting. Thanks Eve for all the sharing. :) I'm sure we'll all going to be enjoying our wedding dinner at Grand Hyatt. Cheers! :)

eveuloveme

hi genesisgalaxy,

have u collected ur AD pics? did u enjoy looking at those pictures? i am sure the pics managed to capture the happiness and joy of the day. dun let it get u.. since it is over already.. what is more important is the marriage and not the wedding...

hi circuit,
totally agree with u! i almost wanted to shoot myself when i know they give good perks during bridal show! too bad i booked in a rush and didn't make full of use of these perks. hahha

as for the wedding... every gal will have a wonderful one..but the hardwork has to go to the jie mei who did everything hahaa

u will have a blast at hyatt! do remember to share ur pics! haha

blueybubble

Dear Eve,

Oh my gosh! I can't thank you enuff for the AD programme and deligation list. If not for you, I will not even have tot of that! Kudos to you! You must be a really organised teacher! Unlike me, all in a mess!

eveuloveme

hi bubble,

hahahaha i am a control freak thats why have so many pages of AD programme.

i also organised my sch graduation prom.. so i use the same programme and same deligation list hahahahahhahaha

hi cindy,
i left my CD in school. i can only send u the programme on Wednesday when i go back to sch.

surprise surprise! i received a new year card and pack of ang pow from Hyatt. haha so totful of them, knowing that i need to pow ang pow this year. hehee

eveuloveme

hi cindy,
i have sent u the programe, sorry for the delay.

hi bubble,

hahahha no leadership qualities! need to boa shua boa hai here... very sad

eve