Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi delannie,

i liked hilarion's service! he delivered the morning's photos b4 the banquet started n the photos all came with white borders. the actual day photos proved to be a much bigger hit than the studio photos, especially since he managed to capture so many dynamic moments, like my hubby n his buddies rushing into the house, their hilarious attempts to boil eggs etc.

u should ask him for his latest price list. he is v. prompt, u will get the price list within a day. the price i paid is most likely outdated, since i engaged him early last year, n he had price increases since. do book ur actual day photographers early. the gd ones, like hilarion, choon huat etc get booked up really fast.

hi bluechin, oh dear, i hope u r feeling better.

hi snowbelle, sorry, i've never been to hyatt's wedding shows, so i'm not too sure of the ways to get an invitation. but i believe u can contact one of hyatt's coordinators for an application?

Och,
Feeling better now..... but doctor wants me to rest more..... say that i muz be too stress lately also. Been having nightmares otherwise usually i sleep very well with no dreams.

Thanks for yr concern.

Hi snowbelle,
i will be going for the Grand Hyatt Bridal show. Was told by my coordinator that i can actually register on the spot that day but to play safe i asked him to fax the registration form to me and i send it in the next day.

Received the confirmation letter in the mail yesterday. U may like to call GH and enquire. The number is <FONT COLOR="ff0000">67381234</FONT> and u can ask for the Catering Sales Department and look for <FONT COLOR="119911">Lynn.</FONT> Think she's in charge of the Bridal Show.

Hi Och,
Thanks for sharing your experience! Glad to hear that everything is smooth and fun

Hi bluechin,
Aiyor, must take care, girl! Don't stress yourself up. Don't worry too much. Let your hubby share the load with you

Hi Och
May I know which company are Hilarion and Choon Huat from? Hilarion was the photograher for your actual day? Do you know his contact number and his office address? Can share? Thanks.

hi kel,

hilarion owns hilariongoh.com (http://www.hilariongoh.com). he's a freelancer, no fixed office, n a regular in this forum. tel 7000 008 0088. i usually email him at [email protected]. he can take with both digital or analogue cameras for the same price. i took the digital package.

choon huat owns fast soup photography (http://www.fspphotos.com). also a freelancer, a gd friend of hilarion. u can call him at 9696 7282 or email him at [email protected].

Hi Annmelody,

I think its best if you ring Hyatt and ask them to email you their packages. The price listings depend on a number of variables inc weekday/weekend, how many tables, menu etc. I don't believe they have the prices for 2004 yet.
Good Luck

Hi Och
That's a funny phone number: 7000 008 0088. Is it a local number? By the way, do you roughly know their packages? Also Och, do you have anyone doing videography for you on your wedding day?

hi kel,

i think the number is a calling centre number, hence the funny number. it's a "local" number all right, at least my phone bills indicated so.
i think my notion of their prices r rather outdated, i asked for their pricing 1.5 yrs back
, so i will advise that u email them for a quote. hilarion's package includes 8 rolls of conventional film (film returned) or 252 digital photos cut in a cd. all photos in colour with white border. hilarion knows my nick, though i suspect quoting my nick won't gain u any discounts.

almost forgot, there's another active photographer in the forum, monica eng, who is pretty gd too.

for videography, i used eric fr mirage. i hvn't seen the express edits nor the final wedding day edit yet (hvn't had time to collect fr him), so i cannot comment much, except that the reviews of the express edits video fr guests were v. good. u can contact eric at 97615104. here's what i remember of my package:
1) day n nite videography in 3ccd
2) 30 pics photomontage b4 1st walkin, 5-10min actual day express video edits at 2nd walkin. he's not v. particular abt the number of photos or the length of the video. his only concern is that pple will get bored if things drag.
3) the montage, express edits n final editted version in 1 cd n 1 dvd.
4) the original footage in minidv.
5) live broadcast during banquet. initially, we wanted to omit this part of the package, cos it sounded rather corny. but it turned out to be quite useful, cos guests could see the thank u gifts we gave our parents. we din give flowers, n without the video, guests will be quite left pondering over what our gift was.

Neko,
mee feeling much better now.

Och,
May i know which menu did u choose for your wedding banquet? U personally liked them? How about yr guests? cos i'll have to select my menu soon.

hi bluechin,

i cannot remember the menu number, but i remembered that fr my menu, i traded
1) the sea cucumber for scallops in the other menu
2) the herbal chicken for thai chicken

i also got the glutinous rice balls as dessert.

i like the food, but i eat just abt anything.
the only reviews i've heard so far r that the dishes r well done.

Hi Och &amp; Chewie
Thanks. Btw Och, what thank you gifts to parents were you referring to? You mean we have to give gifts to our parents? Also, for your videography package, can share how much is your package? Thanks.

hi kel,

it's not necessary to give gifts to parents, though it's increasingly common. most pple give flowers. we gave them each a photoframe that held 3 photos. in 1 slot, we put the parents' wedding photo, in the next, we put ours, n in the last, we put a photo of our sibling. we both come fr 2-kids families n we r both the eldest (1st to be married), so we thot that will make a cute gift. both families r big on hanging family photos on the wall. plus we get to crack some stupid joke abt how we hope our siblings will replace their solitary photo soon with their wedding photo soon.

erm... my pricing for videography may be outdated. it was $1500, if my memory hasn't failed me. we hvn't paid the full sum yet, since we hvn't picked up the video yet.

Hi! Kel,

My number 7000 008 0088 is a Singtel OneSolution number and it is a routing number. My message beeper is 9500 0088. Do feel free to call me for next year's booking. Please DO NOT add a 6 in front of the telephone number though! My company is also named Hilarion Goh and besides weddings, I do many other commercial projects, including the many for magazines.

hi och

that's a very meaningful &amp; sincere gift! we were thinking of giving bouquet of flowers, now i think that's a bad choice. thanks for sharing yr idea!

Och,
i thought your gift to your parents was well-thought of.

Did u serve beer that evening? i dun really like the idea of serving beer but will be more keen to serve only wine.

Guess wat? My grandpa wanna have 5 tables for his peers, thus my total of no of tables now is 65 tables..... scary.....! Was hoping to keep to 50 tables so we have time to mingle with our guests.....

Do u forsee that i'll have time for that?

hi ram, bluechin,

thanks, u r welcome to use the idea if u wish.

bluechin: i din serve beer, only wines. no complains abt no beer, but there were complains that 48 bottles of red wine wasn't enuf.

wow! 5 table for ur grandpa! i think u hv to remind ur photographer to be really, really fast in taking photos. n do complete the photo-taking b4 u n ur family start mingling with guests, i know there r pple who will take offense if they hv to stay back to take photos with couples. maybe u can be at the reception earlier to mingle with guests? oh yes, n remind ur friends to visit u in ur bridal suite b4 n after the wedding.

Och,
will probably not be using your idea.....
Thanks for offering anyway.

Oh....regarding the wine, u mean 48 bottles wasn't enough? looks like i should order more for my case. Have not decided regarding the beer though.... will check with hubby again.

Thanks for your advises. Will definitely remind my friends to visit me at the bridal suite before the banquet. Btw, did u go downstairs to meet up with the banquet manager @ 5pm with your hubby? U also went down earlier for reception?

hi bluechin,

48 bottles of red wine wasn't enuf for my guest, but those who still wish to drink went for white wine instead (we had another 12 bottles of those). in the end, we were left with 2 bottles of white wine. if u r ordering on consignment, then order more.
u can always return the excess.

i din meet with anthony n the captain at 5pm. just left it to hubby n my friend who was acting as our coordinator for the evening. i only finished my makeup at 7.40pm, so i din manage to mingle at the reception.
we had half hour to mingle b4 our 2nd walkin (we popped our head into the ballrm n gestured to our friends to meet us outside.
) n after the wedding.

we brought our own song for our 1st dish presentation. the presentation wasn't v. well done at my wedding. the music played, but no waiters appeared until 2-3 minutes later. n they were weaving in n out of the tables, which looked kind of weird, when there were many waiters lingering around, bringing drinks n clearing table numbers.

Hi Och,
Another Monday.....
How was your weekend?

mee counting down and it's another 37 days to my wedding.

I'm choosing between Star Cellars and Fine Wines Retail Store now. Does Fine Wine Retail Store have a maximum amount of wines that can be returned for consignment? Cos i heard Star Cellars allows only only one fifth of total wine ordered to be returned only. This is wat i heard though.

u mean the 1st dish presentation wasn't well-done? Think i heard that this has happened for some other brides using other hotels as well.... How can we actually prevent this from not happening at my wedding?

hi bluechin,

my weekend was really hectic, cleaning up the house n buying all the necessities.
we had loads n loads of clothes to wash after the honeymoon.

when we booked, fine wines dun hv a max or min to be returned. that was the reason why we picked them over the rest.

i really dun know how to improve the 1st dish presentation. maybe u can ask the captain to clear "excess" waiters fr the ballrm b4 playing the music? n make sure that the waiters r lined up at the kitchen b4 playing the music?

och,
Why dun u send them to the laundry? This way u save time and u dun have to wash the clothes yourself.

Thanks for you suggestion as how to prevent the first presentation problem.

Will check Fine Wines again.

Does anyone know if Hyatt offers any free perks for this Sunday bridal fair??

hey bluechin,

thanks for asking. i'm fine. we cleared those, but we r accumulating other laundry - our working clothes.
how r ur preps? it is 32 days to ur wedding rite? excited?

i picked up my video 2 days ago. it is v. fun to relive to day. eric did a very good job. i especially like the parts when he showed my mum giggling when my hubby called her "mummy".

hi freebies,

hyatt used to be rather secretive abt the perks they give out. things may hv changed, maybe u can call up a coordinator to check it out?

Hi och

I have called twice and both coordinators told me that they have no idea about the perks yet..still very secretive.

Can anyone tell how long in advance can we check on the available dates? Some hotels open bookings only 3-6 months in advance, while others are already booked even one year before.

Hi souri,

i booked with hyatt 1.5 yrs in advance! I dun think there are hotels that push away business, dun make any sense wat? Even if next yr prices are not out yet, they can always estimate a price for u first, can't they? Enquire further with the hotels ok?

Och,
Oh no.... hope u get to clear your working clothes this weekend....

Yah... very excited about my big day.... Preparations' pretty good so far.... Juz given out the cards to my colleagues yesterday....A few of them even told me my wedding will be very fun and they have even prepared surprises.
but i think it's sabo!

Glad u like your video..... Do share your pics with me if u deem convenient ok.

Hi souri,
u may want to give Hyatt a call and check with one of the coordinators. Let them know your estimated attendance and your preferred wedding date. They should be able to let u know the availability of that date. U may call my coordinator Andy at 64167060. He will return from training on Monday.

hey freebies,

how was the wedding show yesterday?

hi souri,

hyatt comes up with their price list pretty early. like bluechin, i booked with them 1.5 yrs in advance. most hotels will update their prices 1 yr n 3 mths in advance.

hi bluechin,

sure, will send u the link when i finally upload all my photos.
i finished all the laundry over the weekend!!
finally! i can move on to loading the pictures.

Hi hi!

would like to check if all of you gals used hyatt's cards? didn't really like both cards and was wondering if anyone had successfully exchanged the cards for something else with the hotel?

Hi skye,
mee too didn't like Hyatt's card at all..... I custom-made my own invites instead. As for the exchange, i think it will be more appropriate for you to discuss with your coordinator as we all have different needs. But i believe it can be arranged.

Hi bluechin!

actually, I've traded quite a bit of stuff back to them....how much did it cost you to make your own invites?

Hey skye,
I spend about a thousand plus on my invites. It comes in 3 pages.... Also did customised ang baos to be given out on my actual day as well as friends who requested for them.

When is your wedding and which room will you be using?

Nice knowing a new friend here.

hi skye,

i also traded away hyatt's invites. made my own for abt $1.50 per card. it's a horizontal, tri-fold invite with english n chinese words n tied with a big ribbon.

Hi bluechin!

I've sent you a PM.

Hi och!

Made your own as in you design and made all the cards, or got a printer to do your customised cards? Did you get a good deal from trading your cards?

So sad hor....for such posh hotel, the cards are really horrendous!!! seen cards from not so posh hotels, very nice!!!

hi skye,

we got an ok deal when trading away the cards, not fantastic.

we got a professional printer to print the words in the layout we wanted, but we did everything else, e.g. creating a sample, sourcing for materials, designing the card, laying out the words, n tying the ribbons. tying the ribbons was the most time-consuming activity.
printing the cards ourselves may be cheaper, but we could not reproduce the colour of the words we wanted in our not-so-professional home printer, so....
the card was v. simple. it's not graphics designer class, but it doesn't hv the home-made look.

i agree with u, i found their cards really bland. seems like we r not the only ones too. when i visited the professional printer, there were so many wedding invites for hyatt weddings. i dun understand why hyatt isn't changing their cards yet.

Hi och!

That's what I have in mind to do for my cards if I get something out of Hyatt for trading my cards!! How much did it cost you to print the card? Got picture to share share??

Which printer did you use? I think Hyatt will probably have to try to get rid of existing cards before they change the cards....and like what you've said, the printer is doing so many hyatt's couples cards and not using hyatt's own, then I think we must wait till our necks very long, the cards will still be the same!!! hahahaha....

skye,
u so funni..... wait until neck long long..... but i think i muz agree with ya that Hyatt's probably trying to clear their old cards.

hi skye,

sorry, i dun hv pictures yet.... u will need to be patient if u want to see.
bluechin, v. curious abt ur cards too. can share share??

we printed at the wedding gift shop in marina. cost-wise, it was more ex, something like $140 for matt gold printing (up to 300 cards) n $30 to score the lines (so that we can do the tri-folds easily). it's included in the $1.50 per card cost. it's $50 cheaper (abt 10-15 cents cheaper per card) if u do it at hi-tech. but being the lazy yet fussy pple we r, hi-tech was just too far away n inconvenient.

u r probably rite in saying that hyatt is trying to clear their cards, but the amt they earn per wedding should be enuf to cover the loss fr dumping their cards by now? some of the 4 star hotels change their card designs every 1-2 yrs, hyatt's cards hv been around for donkey yrs.

hi bluechin &amp; och,

bluechin, me really waited till neck like giraffe liao

och, ok, I'll wait for your cards! but don't take too long ok?? Oops, didn't realised you already posted the cost of cards....
*blur blur* Also, just realised that you're happily married, so CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Thanks to both of you gals!!! great knowing you from this forum.....me will go see how best to do my cards without much cost.

Och &amp; Skye,
i will try to take pictures of my cards &amp; ang bao asap..... actually i will post my website in this forum before my wedding. In it i will include the picture of my card.

Will let u girls know when i get the link up.

Great knowing u skye too!

kel,
i think it will not be too nice to share it here cos each of us have different packages from Hyatt. And furthermore our no of tables also vary. And it would be put our coodinators in a difficult position.

Hope u understand.