Grand Hyatt Singapore

thanks for the good wishes.

sam, will update u on the comments we receive abt food. dun think we will get to taste the food ourselves.

woodstock,
i've never personally gone for a lunch reception @ Grand Hyatt.... but have met a friend who had her lunch reception there and she was really pleased with Grand Hyatt and had lots of good comments from her guests....

I believe Grand Hyatt still has a reputation to maintain therefore will do their best even if it's juz a lunch reception rite?

Och,
two more days to go......counting down?

Hi Och,
Congrat to you and your hubyy! Must stay pretty and fresh on your wedding hor

Hi Bluechin,
I've been busy with my work too. Your wedding is coming soon too. I just can't wait to receive your invitation card :P You can pass it to me in Oct
Thanks so much.

Och,
checked with hubby.... confirmed going down on Sat..... hope to see you....

Tomolo's the day.... so excited for you.... must sleep early tonite ok....

U will be the most beautiful woman in the Ballroom!

Neko,
okok...pass to ya in October.....

Take Care ok!

hi bluechin, sam, neko, delannie,

i'm back! for a few minutes. leaving for the airport in a few hours time.
i had a great time! never expected the wedding to be so much fun. i've got great reviews on food (lots of pple saying that the food is actually better than most places they hv been to). there were some blemishes, but not too bad. will tell u more when i come back. c ya.

Wow SLK,
Congratulations!!! i met up with him last week..... very nice chap.

Och,
Hope u enjoy yr holidays.....Glad that u r happy with Grand Hyatt and had an excellent wedding.....

Hi Och,

Have fun for your honeymoon

Must tell us more when you are back!

Hi Och

Congratulations!! enjoy your honeymoon and your newly wed life!!

and thanks for sharing with us the good news on hyatt's service & food..

Anyone managed to reduce GH package to just 1 night's stay and lowered the price?

Hi Ephris,
u could actually check with your coordinator if u could exchange the nite stay for a barrel of beer or some other items.

Was offered the above but didn't take it up.

Hi Ehpris,

I tried to get a cash rebate in exchange for 1 night's stay but can't. You can exchange it for something but not reducing the price.

elaine

what colour of rose did you use to decorate the ballroom, which ice carving did you select and did you use all white chair covers for the guest tables or alternate gold sash for the guest tables? thanks alot

Hi Jes,

I visited Hibiscus room on 2 ocassions with wedding banquet setup- one with gold sash for all chairs and the other with only white seats cover. The setup with gold sash has the WOW factor because it brings out the gold theme of the room. I am also thinking of getting alternate gold sash for my wedding- as a in-between compromise.

woodstock

do you think all chairs or alternate chairs with gold sash in hibiscus room is too goldie?? since the curtains, stage and the carpet is bronze colours. i am deciding betw having just white chair covers or alternate gold sash for the guest chairs, but afraid that it will be too gold and looks very 'shu qi'. you know what i mean? since you hv seen the set up for both, appreciate your feedback on which is nicer. thanks
when is your wedding?

Hi Jes,

I have seen all chairs with white covers and all chairs with gold sash. I personally prefer all gold sash because I think it looked more classy as opposed to 'shu qi'. It may be personal preference. But I think alternate chairs is a good choice because otherwise, cannot differentiate between VIP and non-VIP tables.
The first time I visited Hibiscus Room, it was the set-up with gold sash and I fell in love it. I thought it looks different from other banquet setups with white seat covers. Then again, I've only been to 4 weddings in recent years, so I may be biased. Would your coordinator be able to show you pics of both setup?

woodstock

i've seen the alternate gold sash set up in grand ballroom, very nice but the ballroom colour theme is different from hibiscus room, hibiscus room is more bronze. can't really tell from pics though.
its good to hear that the one with gold sash is more classy than 'shu qi', 'shu qi' is definitely what i want to avoid. thanks for your feedback.
which ballroom will your banquet be?

Hi Jes,

I'm using the Hibiscus Room, because mine is a wedding lunch, they are not so strict on the minimum required number of tables. Also, since it's day time, we get ambient light through the windows and Hibiscus room is the only ballroom with windows. Pity it doesn't have the waterfall view otherwise it'll be perfect.

hi jes, i chose the gold theme ie gold sash wif white seat covers for all chairs. i received lotsa comments dat the setup's very beautiful & cosy. so i feel it's okie to ve them all wif gold sash. i had the swans ice craving

elaine

glad to hear that you rec'd good comments, ease my mind. what colour of the rose did you use on your wedding day?

hi woodstock,

i am having my reception at Hyatt too. i wanted gold theme but my fiance had concerns that he wanted VIP tables to be set apart. when u attended the weddings with the gold theme, how did the VIP tables differ from the normal tables?

Hi babydoll,

I didn't attend a wedding with the gold theme. I just saw the set-up and for only a short while. I can't remember how they differentiate the VIP from normal tables. Sorry about it. I think you should ask your wedding coordinator at Hyatt, they'll be able to give you an answer or suggest something at least.

hi jes, i tik it's champange roses. a little peachy but very subtle. blends veri well wif the overall

when's your wedding?

Hi babydoll,

How abt getting a different floral arrangement for the VIP tables?

I've also booked hyatt for my wedding banquet, like u, i would love to have gold sashes for all tables, but then coordinator's opinion is that alternate chairs would look good too... dunno leh, i thought it's a bit funny, the chairs without the sash would look rather bare...

Alternatively, we're looking at full sashes for VIP chairs, while alternate sashes for the guests, won't need to have separate floral pieces then.

What do u think?

Hi Woodstock and Nat,

Woodstock, thanks for info.

Nat, i think alternate chairs will look funnee
. The best thing to do is follow your instinct. The coordinator may be a little biased. Different floral arrangements can set the VIP tables apart, but the arrangements would have to be quite stunning and different to notice the difference when you walk in the room. You are getting the table floral stands for the VIP tables too rite? So everyone will be able to see the VIP tables when you enter.

Do you know if they have other colour sashes? eg white? Then we could have for eg all white for the guests and gold for VIP tables. Hope this helps

elaine

oh good...cos i'll be using champagne rose for hibiscus room as well. my wedding is next mth.

babydoll

i've seen wedding set up with alt gold sash for guest chairs, not weird looking, in fact i think its nice. but maybe diff opinion ;p

Hi babydoll,

They have gold, silver and cream colour for their sashes. For Hibsicus room, Lynn (my coordinator) suggest to use either gold or cream as it fit the colour of the carpet and curtains better. I think silver will look good in Sir Stamford room.

My personal opinion is that cream sashes will not be much of a contrast from the white seat covers- and hence will not have much of a visual impact. But I have not seen it done before, just trying to imagine.

Hi Jes and Woodstock,

I must confess I haven't seen the alternative sash arrangement, so sorry Jes, no offence
. Its very difficult for me to picture. I will ask the co-ordinator if he has any pics to show me.

I have seen white sashes used before(elsewhere) and it looks very bridal and fairytale like, but having seen the gold sashes it looks much grander and definetely more visual impact.

I've seen the sash arrangement on alternate chairs in Hibiscus Room the other day when i went down with my fiance to take a look at the ballrooms. It doesn't look weird. In fact it looks quite nice. Too many sash may look overwhelming - my opinion. Also, if i'm not mistaken, sashes on non-VIP tables need additional charge, right? Maybe 5 sashes is cheaper than 10 sashes?

Hi Kel,

thanks for sharing. The sashes are an additional charge. I can't remember how much, but its a few dollars per sash.

HI,

I am also considering GH for my wedding next year. Given my table number, guess i am kind of limited to Sir Stamford Room.I went to view it recently & find that it's a bit "bare" as compare to the other rooms (guess bcoz it's wall & set-up are all white as compare o Grand Ballroom or hibiscus). Anyone seen Sir Stamford room fully set-up in any theme? Any comment? I like the reception area (Forum) of the Sir Stamford Room too.

Hi Aigee

i am also scouting ard for a hotel/ballroom for my wedding dinner. I been to @@ Sir Stamford Room twice.

The first time i went was b4 the full set up and like you, i thought it was quite plain and bare. Me and my FH love the reception area though..tot it looks very grand...so was worried that the guests after viewing the recept area would be disappointed when they @@ the ballroom itself.

The next time round i pop by was ard 6 in the evening and tt time the full set up was almost done and i can say i am very impressived with the deco...its looks very elegant...totally different from what i had saw the first time.

So i guess to have a better view of how the ballroom would look like after the full setup..try poppping by ard 6 during weekends...usu nowadays there would be weddings going on so should be able to see the set up.

Happy viewing!

Hi Marie

Thanks for the info.. glad that you also share my view.. i also think that the reception area is the best for Stamford room. Which theme was the set-up which u saw? Gold? is it a full theme set-up with all the chairs with sash/flora, etc?

Hi Aigee!

I cant really recall the exact theme..but i think it should be gold...i saw quite a number of chairs with gold sashes being put onto them
What attracted me was the centrepiece though..its different from what was shown to me actually (coz the ones michele, the coordinator assigned to me, are mini pots of flowers)..somehow i just took an extra look at them...its actually a very simple centrepiece but it stand out in the stamford ballroom ...
Its a squarish glass container..with tea candles and rose petals floating on top..i think the red petals did wonders to the room..

hi bluechin, delannie, slk n ram,

i'm back fr honeymoon. i was debating whether to gush abt my wedding day experiences here again, but i've already done that in the september 2002 brides thread.

we had many friends who sms'ed or caught us after the wedding to tell us that the food was some of the better they had at weddings. yippee!

we were so glad that many, many friends told us how cosy our wedding was. not standoffish or aloof. that comment came as a very pleasant surprise. we thought that our dream of hving a cosy wedding was muted after our guest list swelled to 430, but surprisingly, that was not the case! we even managed to stop for chats with everyone n get sabo'ed.

this feat must be credited to all our helpers. the emcee, one of my jiemeis, was fantastic. our parents were full of praise for her conciseness n politeness. in other words, all the rite words.
anthony managed to get us a large table to accomodate some large groups, e.g. we had one of 12 + 2 kids. so there was no need to make friends sit with virtual strangers due to table size.
our photographer n videographer: hilarion n eric fr mirage were v. speedy, thus we manage to complete the photos just when the noodles were served. n our i/c was quite sharp, so she caught some of the points that hyatt's captains missed. e.g. the captains brough out dry ice even though we specifically said no dry ice.

those whose weddings r coming soon, do run thru the details with ur coordinators a few days b4 the wedding. we noticed some things that were not rite, e.g. we requested for the white plate for 1st dish, but the silver one was used instead.

the biggest disappointment came during 1st dish presentation. the music came on, but no waiters appeared until 2-3 minutes later. the waiters loitering around the ballrm were all bringing drinks to guests or clearing table numbers.
when the waiters appeared with the 1st dish, they were executing some complex manuveres which were quite lost on me, since there were all these "excess", out of formation waiters still clearing dishes.

hmmm, i recalled someone asking abt wines b4? we ordered 4 crates of red wines n 1 crate of white. at the end of the banquet, only 2 bottles of white wines were left!

there was another question abt sabos? we had 4 sabos during dinner. the first was the traditional egg into one leg n out the other trick. it was really embarrassing, cos hubby was sitting on a chair on top of the table n i had to drop the egg v. high up is thigh. everyone had a good laugh. next, the egg was cracked into half a glass of red wine. we had to finish the glass between us. i finished the red wine n hubby drank the raw egg. yucks!

the third was a choice of drinks. we had to pick one each fr 3 glasses. i took the one that looked like a tequila. it turned out to be water.
hubby took one that resembled some red longan tea, n that turned out to be really bad: some kind of chilly/vinegar n yucky stuff mix that he could barely finish.

the last was a chocolate in red wine sabo. one of us had to use his/her mouth to pick up the chocolate fr a bowl of red wine n feed to the other. this one was relatively easy.

hubby was also made to drink a few glasses of red wines, one of those bottom up things. but the guests quickly spared him when his allergic reactions (swollen lips n eyes) sets in.

Hi Och

That's wonderful!! i'm looking fwd to my big day eagerly now...

so GH is accomodating to let 12 in a big table? do we hv to let them know beforehand the add'l 2 kids for that table then? btw, i suppose u mean 10A + 2C; not 12A + 2C rite?

hi ram,

i had 12a + 2c, thus the need for larger table. i topped up 2 adult's portions for that table.
for 10a + 2c, i din request for larger table n we told them abt the kids, so that baby chairs can be prepared.

Och,
Glad that u had lotta fun. How was yr honeymoon?

Was really nice to see u so your wedding day.

Btw, did u get yr wine from Grand Hyatt?

hi bluechin,

the honeymoon was fantastic. we did a lot of different things: went camel riding amongst sand dunes n ruins, clamoring over ruins, both roman n carthagian, walked along sheltered beaches with clear blue sea. tunisia is really a land of v. different feel n activities. hv u decided where u r going for ur honeymoon?

we got our wines on consignment fr fine wines retail shop.

Och,
Glad u enjoyed yr honeymoon.....

My boss expects me back in the office by end November early December cos he needs to clear his leave otherwise they will be forfeited. So i can't have a long honeymoon in December. Plan to go Europe in either Jan/Feb/Mar though.

Wat r yr recommendations? Did u book from an agency? How much did u spend in all and how's yr iternary like? Cos it sounds like u really had lotta fun...so nice hor.
I've so much leave but can't take them..... a little disappointed.

How r the charges for red wine and white wine at this Fine Wines Retail store? mee sourcing for wine now.

Thanks for answering all my questions in advance.

hey bluechin,

fine wines hv a wide variety of wines available for selection, since they r importers. the wines start fr $17 onwards. u can return any number of bottles for a cheque, so long as the labels r not damaged. the contact is 64632338 n the address is 41 sunset way, #01-06. the shop willingly waived gst for us, so that's 5% off the bill.

europe in winter! northern lights in norway! stay in the ice hotel n drink alcohol fr ice mugs.
we met some norwegians on our honeymoon n heard so much abt the northern lights. the norwegians swore that is the best thing to do in scandinavia in winter.
or u can plan a ski trip. that's provided that u r a die-hard ski fan.
if u want something more exotic, turkey n greece will be less expensive. u can combine that with rome.

our honeymoon itinery consisted of 5 days in london n 13 days in tunisia. it was all diy, we took a 3-day local tour during our stay in tunisia, which i dun recommended doing at all. we booked a f&e to london. spent 3 days in london first, 13 days in tunisia, then returned for another 2 days in london. the london stay was segmented cos we were initially afraid that there may be flight delays to n fr tunisia. the worry proved unfounded, but the arrangement turned out to be a blessing nonetheless, cos we could not get our visas fr indonesia embassy in time. we had to visit the london embassy to get our visas.

we booked the london-tunisia flight on gb airways thru ba. it was off peak, so we din make hotel bookings.
navigation was done using 2 books: lonelyplanet n rough guide. the guidebooks turned out to be far more accurate than the local guide attached to us during our local tour (now u know why i dun recommend the local tour).

tunisia is cheap compared to europe. other than the capital tunis, a 5-star hotel with half board costs us only S$140 per rm or thereabouts. we ate at local restaurants mostly, since we were eager to try their specialities. a good meal (without wine) cost abt S$15 per pax. but that rises astronomically in tunis. it was difficult to find a good meal for < $20 on weekends. all in all, we spent less than $4000 per pax, all inclusive.

tunisia is a v. fun place, but it's a place that requires an open mind. it's still a developing country so u wun find the ready comforts of 1st world countries. getting the visa was more stress than it's worth. but going diy will bring u lots of warmth n a wide range of beautiful scenery.

Hi Och,

Wow...you seems to have so much fun

Your husband actually drank that yucky drink? Yee.... he so brave!

BTW, chk with you something, how do you find Hilarion? How much did you pay for his svs?

Och,
Thanks for sharing yr itinerary with me....
will consider tunisia but will check with hubby first.

i shortlisted Fine Wines Retail Store too!

me had diarrhoea thrice tis morning so i'm home now.