Grand Hyatt Singapore

babydoll

Hullo

FYI I was told by Hyatt they are changing their wedding stationery next year. Don't know if this is true, or if its to make their package look more attractive.

babydoll

Hullo Skye,
no sorry I dunno. I was told early 2003 by Anthony, one of the function co-ordinators.
Have you traded your cards in yet, and if so what did they exchange it for?

pippo

hello to all,

i m interested to know more about hyatt as i had a very good impression of it when i attended a wedding there last year. good food, good ambience.

may i know what is the minimum no. of tables required for weekend and weekday bookings? i m looking at around 20-25 tables. thanks!

bluechin

Hi pippo,
20-25 tables should be able to fit into Hibiscus Room. U may want to call Hyatt for more information as well your date availabilty.

U may want to call my coordinator Andy at 64167060 directly...... He's a very nice chap.

skye

Hi babydoll,

No, I've yet to trade in my cards, cos I just found out that I've to top up money to change the cards with the printer

Early 2003?? then really look like it won't make it in time for my wedding liao....

och

hi skye, glad to know u too.
it's always fun to meet new brides-to-be n share in their enthusiasm. n yep, i'm married, for a month.
thanks for the good wishes.

hey kel, i posted what i exchanged the cards for b4 in this thread. but the times change n the packages change. if there's anything u want/need, tell ur coordinator n see if something can be arranged. if the entire cost cannot be offset, u can also arrange for a partial offset.

hi babydoll, anthony was my coordinator. is he urs too?

hi pippo, i think u will be offered either hibiscus or stamford. hibiscus has a relatively strict min of 25 tables on weekend, since it's one of hyatt's more popular rooms. i think the min is reduced to 23 on weekdays.

bridegerms

pippo,
For the number opf table you have you can opt from Stamford or Habicius room, I think there is another small room too. The price for weekend is cost slightly more about extra $100 per table. I had my wedding last year around Oct. My table per price is $688 which is a weekday affair.

bridegerms

och and bluechin,

Just checking is Hyatt card still the big gold flower in the front? Mine was that design last year but I managed to change the card a bit...wanna see how I do it? I will try to download it if you gals are interested.
Just celebrated my one year anniversary at Hyatt Mezenine Resturant Good ambience nice food too....

bluechin

bridegerms,
They r still using that big gold flower card. I didn't take any of their cards cos i didn't really like them so i customised my on cards.

Yup! do show me your cards when they r uploaded.

I too spend my 1 year 4 month ROM Monniversary (that's wat hubby and me call it!)
at Mezza9. I must agree that the food's tasty and the big dessert platter was Yummy!

bluechin

bridegerms,
My package price with Hyatt's higher even though it's a weekday cos i'm upgrading my menu and also some of the dishes.

Also i have some other add ons for the setting and perhaps customising my wedding cake too!

babydoll

Hi !

Skye, do you mean you have already received your cards, so you have to exchange with the printer?

Och, yes Anthony is my co-ordinator too! Can you pls tell me what you exchanged your cards for? Sorry too many msgs in the thread

Pippo, if your wedding is on Saturday 2003, its $200 more per table compared to weekday price. Sunday is $100 more per table. Plus don't forget to add 5% GST. With 20-25 tables, I think the Hisbiscus room would be the most appropriate. The Hibiscus room is very nice and it has a max capacity of 28 tables. Note the prices have gone up for 2003.

Bridegerms the invitations I saw, were pink and another was cream. Can't remember much else, except that I wasn't impressed

pippo

thank u for all the sound advices!

my wedding is in jan 04. but i hope to hold it on a sat. now still waiting for my mum to get date for me. as my wedding is in 04, will the prices for the table be different from that of 2003?

babydoll,
u mean that is now GST component for hyatt? i thought all along the price quoted is nett. guess i m wrong.

bluechin,
i'll call andy once i get my date. hopefully it is not too late.

och

hi babydoll,

i signed my contract with another 2 coordinators, but they left, one after another, n anthony took over, so i dun think my contract is a good basis for comparison. i traded my cards for food tasting.

skye

Babydoll,

No, have not got the cards yet....but will be receiving them in early Dec. If I want to change with the printer, yes, I pick up the cards from Hyatt, then go to the printer to change it, but must top up money to change each card, and must add on cost for printing too!!

Yes, only got the pink and cream card(which is also the one with the big gold flower....ermm..if you can make out what it is!! I didn't!!). Hahahaha....looks like the cards left us all UN-impressed!

Hello pippo!!
If i'm not wrong, every year the prices will go up a little. but it's best to check with the hotel.

bridegerms

hyatt invitaton card is uploaded....please go to the following web, click on wedding, actual day....I have made the insider myself by scanning the big flower on it so when one open the card, the left side one can see the picture with some wording.....it was done by using laser printing by myself....http://photos.yahoo.com/bridegerms

bluechin,

I am not staying at Bedok...why?

bridegerms

hi again,

the picture is a bit small, the corner of the card was also punch with some corner decoration...hope this explain all

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">pippo,</FONT>
okok.... but i think it will be good to know your date soon in case rooms get taken up.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Och,</FONT>
I had my food tasting yesterday..... Nice Nice!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">bridegerms,</FONT>
i've already explained myself yesterday in the chatroom....

Nice seeing ya there yesterday.

Thanks for sharing your invitation cards......

I think ZenZen looks so adorable.

babydoll

Hi Hi !

Och, thanks I'll check with my co-ordinator to see what I can swap, I already have food tasting.

Skye, let us know how your visit to the printer goes! Do you know how much you'll need to top up? Its such a shame that the invites are terrible, from such a good hotel.

Pippo, only the prices for 2003 have been released. You will need to check with Hyatt about 2004.

Bridegerms, thanks for sharing!

bluechin

babydoll,
u can ask your coordinators for more details on this..... cos i saw some new and unique designs for cakes at the bridal show and it cost $180 to upgrade to these cakes.

U may also ask for a real cake instead of a real top tier only.

Or ask to exchange the cards for a coordinator's room..... These r just some suggestions.

mio

I have juz booked with Grand Hyatt...my wedding will be on 28th Dec 2003...tentatively my coordinator is Cynthia...Anyone's coordinator is Cynthia too??? Lucky me manage to get Hibiscus room...Actually I booked my banquet with them during the bridal show last Sunday...And they were offering nett price for bookings made before 1st Nov...However this is only for weddings in 2003...so for weddings in 2004..they will adjust the pricing a little bit...

Hi pippo...
Herez the pricing for weddings in 2003 on Sat...
35 tables and above ---864nett
25 tables and above --- 885nett
15tables and above --- 905nett
so this is a rough guide for u to have a look..u can gauge roughly how's the pricing like in 2004...Hope it helps..

Hi bridegerms..
Thank you for putting up the card..but it's rather small..can't see very clearly...
So most of u not using Hyatt's invitation card???

Hi bluechin...
Juz curious..how come u have foodtasting??? How much do u top up for the foodtasting???

Would like to seek everyone's advice...Is there anyone holding her solemnization in Grand Hyatt??? Coz I will be having mine there on the same day...which is a good place for the ceremony??? And roughly how much do i need to top up?? Thankz..

bluechin

Hi mio,
Welcome!

My food tasting was an arrangement made by my coordinator. U may want to check with Cynthia.

Och asked for food tasting in exchange for her invites.

I didn't use GH's cards either. I think by your wedding they should have came up with the new designs so not a worry.

I will not be having solemnization in GH as i had my ROM last year.

neko

Hi mio,
Welcome!
Nice to meet you here

We have the same co-ordinator. I have asked Cynthia for food tasting but she refused to give me.

mio

Hi neko...
Ha ha..see ya again...
I told u.. Cynthia is quite inflexible..
But see how things go lah...

babydoll

Hi Mio

I enquired with Hyatt about having our ceremony in the garden and was quoted only $5.5 K !
This did not include food or beverages. I dunno about having the ceremony elsewhere in the hotel.

bluechin

babydoll and mio,
How about doing <FONT COLOR="ff0000">solemnisation</FONT> during the banquet. I've seen ppl doing that.

pikin

5.5K! not including food or beverages?? I hope that includes the flower decorations!

I had my solemnisation in the garden in 2001 and it cost me about 5K less than the quote you got!

I am shocked!

mio

Hi Babydoll,

5.5K??? So expensive!!!! Did u ask them what is included??? Is 5.5K only for the rental of the place????? If it is less than 3K..I will still consider..but 5.5K...hmmm...I need to think abt it...

Other than the garden..is there any place that we can have our solemnization???

Hi bluechin,

Oh yes..I've heard that a lot of ppl are holding their solemnization right before the dinner...but i prefer a smaller do..that means I only want my relatives to witness the whole ceremony..that's why I need to look for a venue..
thankz for ur suggestion

babydoll

Hi Bluechin, Pikin and Mio

I just checked with my FH to make sure I heard correctly, and yes we were quoted 5.5K for set up of afternoon ceremony prior to dinner. We did not ask what it included as we felt it was too expensive. We were told it was expensive due to the busy time of the year ie Saturday in December.

Bluechin, we are having a church ceremony, so opted out of having the ceremony at dinner.

Pikin, wow! 5K less. When did you have your ceremony there? What did they include?

Mio, perhaps its best if you check with your co-ordinator, as we did not enquire about having the ceremony elsewhere in the hotel.

pippo

hello everyone!

bluechin, babydoll, skye, mio, thank you for your advices!

i have too checked with hyatt about the prices in 2004. *sob* too ex for my budget so now i have to let go of the dream of holding my wedding in hyatt.

any other recommendations?

pikin

Hi babydoll,

My ceremony was in 2001. I can't believe the price has gone up by 1000% since then. Quite shocking! I mean, that's like hyperinflation! I basically had a simple ceremony for close friends and family in the afternoon prior to dinner. I think we had about 80 guests for the ceremony. The rate included the chairs (with white seat covers), a backup room with similar setup as contingency if it rains, and free flow of non alcoholic drinks. We brought in our own florist for the floral decorations. I have a few pics if you want to see them. I just told my hubby that you were quoted 5.5K and he fell out of his seat.

babydoll

Hullo!

Pikin, is your hubby ok ? I hope he didn't injure himself
hehehe. Something very odd has happened....Maybe my FH and I have heard incorrectly, but how can 2 people hear an incorrect figure? hmmm... unless our co-ordinator made a mistake. Also, can I please see your pics too ? Thanks!
my email addie is [email protected]

Pippo, I agree with you Hyatt is getting exp! We nearly didn't sign up. I don't have any good suggestions for you, as when we were looking we looked at hotels which could accomodate less than 20 tables, so our choices were limited and we only saw the smaller rooms. It was only Hyatt that we liked, and we upgraded rooms(at an extra surcharge per table) to the Hibiscus room. So sorry lah, me not much help.

mio

Hello pippo,

May I know how many tables are u looking at??? May be I can give u some info... I have looked at a few hotels before I signed with Grand Hyatt...Are u interested in Raffles the Plaza?? What range of pricing are u looking at??? In additional to RTP, I have also visited Regent, Pan Pac, Oriental and Shangri-la, If u have 35 tables and above.. I would recommend RTP or cos their Raffles and Stamford ballrms are really beautiful...
Their prices start from 818nett and there is no price difference for weekend or weekdays... But of course they will give more perks for weekday weddings lah..

pippo

Hi Mio,

thanks for the advice!

i am looking at between 18-25 tables only. it's going to be a small dinner so i hope to have cosy n memorable one.

my budget is max $800 after addition of all the taxes. that's y couldn't go for hyatt.

what is your opinion of oriental and pan pac? i am considering these 2 as well.

funny how come weekday more perks? i thought pay more will get more perks? hee hee

mio

Hi pippo,

For 18 to 25 tables, I think oriental and pan pac are the best choices...oriental is slightly less than $800 and the function rm is quite nice and spacious..for pan pac i think u'll need at least 25 tables for the ocean ballrm...If u are interested in Oriental..U should wait until their bridal show cos they will give more perks then...

pikin

Hi babydoll,

Thanks for asking. My hubby is OK. After all, I spend so much money constantly that he falls out of his chair all the time.
Think he's perfected the skill of not bruising himself when it happens.
5.5K does sound like quite a nice chunk of change though. I think you can probably rent out other venues (eg. art museum) for much cheaper than that. I sent you the link to your email.

pippo

hi mio!

thank you! i think the oriental is nice too.
but am a bit worried that they might raise the price further for 2004. *headache*

may i know when is the oriental show? thanks!