Grand Hyatt Singapore

pippo

hi bluechin,

location not much of a problem.
is the food there nice?

aigee

HI all,

I have also finally booked Hyatt during the weddg show. My coordinator is Andy, however till now he has not contacted me to discuss on more details... can i check has anyone successfuly bargain for more deco other than the std one w/o any top up? i like the squarish glass container with pebbles & floating patels as center piece for all my tables.. buy Andy say need to top up for it....

Anyone saw the std flower pot as centre piece set-up? Is it nice?

emmie

Hi hi

I had my solemnization before my dinner. That was on 5 Oct this year. It was held at the small function room beside my ballroom (Magnolia/Vanda). Only some of my relatives and close friends attended. The setup was very intimate and cosy with the candles. Very nice.

Cynthia was my co-ordinator too. I agree shes not too flexible but she's quite helpful. Been very nice.

mio

Hi aigee,

Nobody has contacted me too...Did u call Andy and check with him??? My coordinator is Cynthia...I've seen the flower pot during the bridal show in the hibiscus rm..It's prefectly alright for me...But of course the glass container is nicer lah..How much do we to top up for that centrepiece??? Do u think we can make our own centrepiece...and will Grand Hyatt allow that??? I wonder!!!
When is ur wedding??? Also in Dec???

babydoll

Hullo Everybody

Pikin, thanks for sharing your photos which are very nice. You and hubby make a lovely couple. The garden set up looked so pretteee. Thanks for your suggestion for other venues, we've already booked our venue for the ceremony. If we were quoted 1000% less to a similar quote to yours Pikin, would have loved a garden wedding and have been able to afford it too!

Pippo, is it an option for you to have a weekday wedding at Hyatt? would it be less than $800 per table in 2004?

bluechin

Hi aigee,
My coordinator's Andy too! He's very busie lately as there are too many weddings/ events going on. My wedding's in 21 days time.

When is your wedding? Perhaps u wanna give him some time as Nov/Dec's a really busie period for coordinators.

I have seen the std flower pot set up at och's wedding if i'm not wrong. <FONT COLOR="0000ff">(can't recall)</FONT> Quite nice!
Actually the flower pot will only be displayed for a only a while and it will be removed when the 1st dish's served.

I think it would be more appropriate to discuss the details with Andy. He's a very nice chap.

bluechin

Pikin,
Thanks for sharing your pics..... I agree that u and hubby make a lovely couple..... and the setup was so sweet.
Should have done that for my solemnisation.

aigee

Hi mio,

I had sent an email to Andy.. i know he must be very busy...a lot of customers look for him during the Bridal Fair... Anyhow my dinner is in Sept 03.. so no hurry lah...:p

Andy told be roughly is abt additional $10-$20 for the glass flower center piece depending n which type we want...

I would think that there sghldn't be a problem if uwant to make ur own center piece..unless u are saying u want to deduct some amt from the package since u are not using theirs.. if so i think will need to check with them...

Actually i like the flower petals that scattered on the table below the rotational glass.. not sure wt is it inclded in the package.. if not i will just do my own..

Hi bluechin,

Yah.. Andy is quite nice... is the flower pot big? do u think it can be left on the table during the whole course of dinner? coz that's what i prefer....

snowbelle

Hi Pikin,
May I know how much does GH charge for using the garden for solemisation? Does it include drinks and deco? And it's for how many guests? I'll be having the dinner in GH but still dunno where should we held the solemisation. Is it possible to see your solemisation photo? Thank you.

och

hi angie,

the flower pot is small, abt the size of a small garden pot. the pot is usually removed bcos in a chinese dinner, the food is put in the centre of the lazy susan. hotels remove the flower pot bcos some guests may think it's unhygenic n it's in the way when guests get their food. if the meal is a western meal, the centrepiece remains throughout the dinner. but if u wish, i'm sure the hotel will accomodate.

aigee

.. hmm.. thanks och... you have a point too.. maybe i will get the hotel to remove it only upon the guests' request...

.. so u had ur dinner at Hyatt?Is there any photo that you can share? Esp on the deco of your ballroom... hee.. hee.. i am more concern with the deco than anything else...

ram

Hi Julia

thanks for sharing your photos! is very nice and I will be taking the same ballroom as yours.
can check with u on the photoaccess? how does it work? is it easy to download pics from digital camera into that website? any costs incurred - even though the website states it provides free storage.

aigee

HI Julia....

Really thank you so much for sharing your photos... they are really very nice... i like the candlelight effect of the ballroom.. mine will also be in the Stamford room.. your photo really give me much more assurence..;P

but how come u dun need to top up for the glass centrepiece hur?yours is weekend or weekday? who's your coordinator?

julia andrew

Hi Ram

My actual day pics are taken by Nick Goh. He uses photo access to post all the photos of his couple. Not sure how much does it cost.

Hi aigee

My wed is on a Sat (same day as och). dunno why but it was not req to top up when I sign up the package. I personally would prefer the glass centre piece. However the flower at the aisle, I've opt for trumpet lilies + orchid.

I didn't use the theme provided by hyatt. I've ask for a garden theme. Basically my colour is white &amp; green. (since Stamford room is kind of green). I've also requested hyatt to bring down the big picture at the back of the ballroom. so the whole place look more spacious.

Glad that you like the deco. I've exchange my wedding favour for food tasting.

pikin

Hi bluechin, babydoll,

Thanks for the compliments. I would like to think that after spending all the money on the dress and makeup, we'd all better look good right?
I told my hubby you girls think we make a lovely couple. He did not fall out of his seat this time round.
Babydoll, so where will you be holding the ceremony?

Och,

I read in another forum you went to Tunisia for your honeymoon. It's one of my dream destinations to visit one of these days. Do you have any pictures uploaded? I would love to see them and hear (read) all your stories.

Julia Andrew,

Your pics are lovely. I really like that glass container centerpiece!

och

hi aigee,

unfortunately, i only hv like 2 photos of the decor, n none of the centrepiece.
v. lame rite? but hor.... my advice is to visit the ballrms when there is a wedding, cos my experience is that photos seldom justify hyatt's ambience.
now till dec r all popular wedding months, u can probably catch a wedding every weekend. just ask ur coordinator when is a good time to drop by. what's ur email address?

hi pikin,

really??!! u want to go to tunisia? that's great! we were there for 2 weeks, spent 5 days in london (part of the transit). i hv uploaded some photos, not all, since i wasn't sure if people will want to look at so many shots. what's ur email address? we can chat abt tunisia through email.
i'm at [email protected].

pikin

Hi Och,

Yes! I would love to see ALL your pictures! And hear all your travel tales. I've been wanting to go to Tunisia and Morroco for the longest time, but obviously never did get around to doing it. Maybe your photos and stories would inspire me to get on with it ASAP. Ok, not to detract from the topic of this thread, I'll send you an email where we can indulge in Tunisia talk to our hearts content.

Hi Snowbelle, I sent the link to your email.

aigee

hi julia,

so u also didn't pay extra for the garden theme? yah... i also like the flower stand that you have.. very nice..

yah.. any what's your edding favour hur.. can't really see from the photo.. and they are v nice too...

Hi Och...

my email is [email protected].

pippo

would like to check with u all, is hyatt flexible for negotiation? do u think it's possible for me to request for a weekday menu to be served on a friday night? thanks!!!

bluechin

pippo,
i'm not sure whether u could make the switch but i know that weekday dinner's 8 course while weekend's 9 course.

Perhaps u wanna check with your coordinator.

pippo

hi bluechin,

thanks for the info.
i m aware of the no. of courses that's y i m thinking whether i can do the switch. will check it with the coordinator when i meet with her this weekend. keeping my fingers cross that they allow this switch.

mio

Hi pippo,

Have u decided on Hyatt??? Who is ur coordinator??? Why do u want to swap menu??? U prefer some of the dishes for weekday wedding???
I like some of the dishes too..but dun think I'm changing it..

pippo

hi mio,

not yet. if i can get the switch then 90% i'll be signing up with them due to my budget constraint.
the cooridnator i m liasing with is michele. what abt urs? overall, hyatt food is pretty good, at least when i attended the wedding there, the food leaves an excellent impression on me hehe so i guess even if u don't change, it will be fine.

leo29

Any good coordinator to recommend me?

Hi Pippo,
Did you meet up with Michele? I talk to her on the phone but she don't sound helpful. Thinking of looking for other coordinator.

pippo

hi leo29,

i m meeting her this sat. i did not really talk to her over the phone so m not too sure whether she is helpful or not. will update u after i see her?

och

hi pippo,

i believe u can drop a dish fr ur menu without problems. but this info may be outdated, since i last enquired abt this 1.5 yrs ago.

hi leo,

there r a few gd coordinators. mine is anthony, highly recommended for his friendliness n initiative. bluechin n some other gals hv andy n r full of praises for him too. anyone else? i cannot remember them all.

pippo

hehe all of u r real friendly and helpful people
thank u all for responding!

och, i shall attempt to drop a dish or just ask to change to a weekday menu and see what they say. *cross fingers*

anyone work with michele before?

ram

hi pippo

my coordinator is michele. well i find her friendly and cheerful, but not really flexible.. but she can be helpful. eg she offered to provide us a 'working'/'changing' room, or glass/bowls to put tealights etc even though not stated in the contract.

pippo

hi ram,

thanks for sharing.
i was hoping that she is flexible. nonetheless, i will go ahead and attempt to reduce the price. hee

leo29

Thanks for the feedback on the coordinator.

I have change to Anthony already. Will arrange to meet up with him on Wed.

But I'm still hesitating should I meet up with him because Hyatt is not really the one I'm looking at. The dinner menu and no compliment beer is the 2 main things that hold me back.

Anyone attend Hyatt dinner before? How is the food? I heard had improve, last time quite bad.

bluechin

Neko,
How have u been? Heard from Delannie u went to Thailand for a short trip.

Look forward to seeing ya at my wedding.

bluechin

Hi leo29,
I have heard a lot of good feedbacks on Hyatt food and i personally find them quite good too!

U can actually customised some of the dishes yourself if u dun like their menu. (that's wat i did but at higher cost)

u may like to exchange some of the items in their package for beer but it will also depends the flexibility of your coordinator.

leo29

Bluechin and Och,

Thanks for the feedback. Your compliment have make me wanted to meet their coordinator. Hahaha.... Should ask Hyatt to give both of you some commission.

Pippo,

I just ask the operator to put me to any of their coordinator and Anthony is the one who pick up my call. Actually their system already update Michele is the one that lias wif me. Anthony ask want to go back to Michele, I said no. So he take over me lor. But some of the lazy coordinator will insist you go back to the coordinator that talk to you.

och

wah leo, u r v. lucky. anthony is usually busy with commercial, non-wedding functions, so he isn't often at his desk.
he's a v. friendly n approachable guy, hope u hv a good negotiation session with him.

leo29

Pippo,

U can call Anthony direct at 64167042. Good luck to you. I think he is on leave today.

Not yet sign up wif them, ve appt with him this Wed.

pippo

hi leo29,

thanks for the no. and the luck! hee
btw, what other hotels r u considering?
i m quite sure u will like hyatt a lot, at least i did. :p

coo

Just had my wedding dinner at Grand Hyatt recently and wanted to feedback that it was great! The food was very good - I had lots of guests commenting on that and the fact that service was good too. The food was fresh and hot (unlike some other hotel banquets where it's cold by the time it hits your plate) and there were nice touches like fresh drunken prawns. I did not have a food tasting and had been hoping for the best and am glad that Hyatt did not disappt and was even better than expected. A pity the bride does not get to eat much of the food!

The set up was also beautiful and the staff were good at running the show like clockwork.

So to those in doubt, pls be reassured that Hyatt is a good choice. I managed to get an upgraded room too which was great for the post-dinner party with my friends.