Goodwood Park Hotel

Dear GWP brides,

I am considering GWP new Windsor Ballroom but the co-ordinator has no pictures to show. It seems that the first wedding was only held recently.

Any bride here that held their wedding in Windsor Ballrom? If so, greatly appreciate it it you could share the package details and photos of the setup/ballroom with me.

Email me at [email protected]

Hi ng

Mine is the older ballroom so I am afraid that I can't help you but maybe you like to check with the coordinator the next wedding date so that u can take a look at the real wedding setup

Btw, did your new coordinator inform you of the new wedding favours and etc? U can check w her.

Hi Ng,

I dont have the photo but the new ballroom looks really nice, high ceiling, octagon shape, there are 5 projector screens so all the guests can have good view if you plan to show video, etc and they have 3 very nice chandeliers in the middle of the ballroom.

Hi gals, I'm also considering GWP.
Looking at their wkend package which is about $1k per table. But most prob holding my AD in Jan 08, dunno whether that price will still hold.
Yup, no diff in price whether Tudor or Windsor ballrooms. Heard that there'll be a wedding fair sometime July.

Hi moo, Jen and Cookie Bunny

Thanks for your responses. Its a good idea to ask for next wedding to be held there.

Moo - I havent finalise the package. Whatever I have is what is in the standard envelope. Havent get to finalise yet.

Cookie - 5 projectors!! Alamak, they are charging for projectors leh I think...

Bee Kuan - U can check whether they allow u to book 08 at current year prices. Some hotels do allow

Hi Ng

Update us on your final decision?

Which other venues are you looking at? Maybe we can provide some opinions as well.

Hi HL, I've checked with them. They're not open for their 2008 bookings. Anyway, I'm re-choosing my AD. Sigh, so difficult to settle on a date. Hopefully it'll be end 2007 so that I can chop chop settle the venue. 2008 seems so far to me and I can't do the necessary bookings which I wanna get over and done with. Are u looking at other venues also? I can't seem to think of any other hotel with an X factor. For GWP, I guess their X factor would be their old world English charm. Was considering Sentosa earlier for their beach setting but decided against it due to its location.

Btw, I was told that the GWP wedding fair should be brought forward to May. That's good to hear.

Hi moo,

I think I should be opting for GWP, meeting the co-ordinator Jean this coming Sat to finalise the details. I wanted to book the poolside for the reception and she said they charging $800+++!!!

beeksie - there are quite a number of wedding fairs coming up..if your wedding in 2008 still got plenty of time to shop around and decide on pricing/venue.

btw is L.S still in this forum? - If so, would greatly appreciate it if you could share your AD pics with me. email: [email protected]

HI Ng..
Yes. I'm still around.

Looks like GWP is going the way other hotels are going... In other words - prices going UP! Parking is no longer free when you park on their premises. Banquet prices too aren't spared, it seems. Wow... I'm so glad my wedding is over. Had a great time last Nov at GWP! It was a truly spectacular celebration! Many lovely memories to last a lifetime. Thanks to GWP, our helpers and of course our families. Anyway, I'll go ahead and send you my wedding day pics. Beware though... BIG album.

Hi Jing Jing ,

I have gone MIA (missing in action) for a period of time and yet some people here in this forum still remember me.

I have reply to you and hope you enjoy my wedding photos.

Hi Moo ,

How's the preparation for your wedding ? How times flies ! Less than a year to your AD.

Have you started planning for your honeymoon trip as well ?

We have booked our packaged tour and will be off to Europe for our 12 days honeymoon in 2 weeks time.
Getting excited already.

Hi L.S.

Received your email...wow, u really look beautfiful as a bride, tall, slim and so pretty!= ) U carried off the gowns so well...*envious*

Can see that you really had an enjoyable time during your wedding.

I had sent an email to my coordinator enquiring on the wedding dinner menu and then found out she has left. Someone else has taken over her job. I was disappointed because I thought it would be polite of the previous coordinator to inform us if there is any change.

My confidence is shaky now and I am worried. We have never met this new coordinator and I am not sure whether we will be able to work well with her.

I really feel that GWP should inform us of the change of coordinator instead of waiting for us to find out on our own.

apple68

Agree with you that service at GWP is not good, compared to the other hotels. The service pales in comparison with Marriott hotel, which is the other hotel I was considering. Who is the co-ordinator assigned to you?

Do you know that I called the catering salesline more than 3 times before they assigned someone to contact me? The last time, I had to scold the receptionist for such poor and bad service!

But, I really like the place so no choice but to endure....maybe they know we have no choice so they dont have to care abt service at all. = (

HI all...

My 2 cents worth: If you feel you are being served in a less than satisfactory manner, make it known. GWP is going through a major face-lift and I guess it does come with a price. One that is passed on to the consumer. The people at GWP are a busy lot. But, it doesn't excuse them from shoddy service. No need to be rude and sling mud. However, realise that you'll be spending thousands and thousands of $$ there for your wedding. As such, you deserve decent service.

GWP takes their customer service issue seriously. Say something. They will make sure you are attended to.

thks eastlibra for ur wedding pix, sorry for the late reply:p ur pix are really wonderful!

hi L.S., can u share ur pix with me pls? would like to take alook at GWP ballroom too. hee..

happygirl,

I'd love to share my pics with you. However, my wedding banquet was held in the Tudor Ballroom and not their brand new Windsor Ballroom. So, if you're interested in the Windsor Ballroom, I'm afraid my pics will not be any help to you! But, do let me know either way.

Hi Eastlibra,

Thks for your pix, I've got it. You look wonderful! May I know which BS & photographer you engaged?

Hi L.S.
I would like to see your pix too... my email is [email protected]

Hi apple68 & Ng H L,
I encountered similar problem as you gals too... I emailed GWP many times to request for a meeting to discuss the wedding package and they never reply me despite me receiving a read receipt of all my emails to them. Which means they read the emails but didn't bother to reply me. After that I called GWP and left message several times before Jeanie finally called back to arrange for a mtg. Sigh... But the place is nice lor... even though I did find the holding area (cocktail area) for Tudor Ballroom a bit old and dirty... hope they will do something to change that...

From what I gathered through my email reply, my previous coordinator, Irene, had left and Jeanie is taking over her duties during this interim period until Irene's replacement is on board.

I am glad that I got a reply from Jeanie quite readily. I admit it is not easy to get her through phone. I am depending on email correspondance. So far so good.

*cross my fingers*

Hi JingJing, apple68

Looks like GWP catering sales department is under-staffed and Jeanie is fronting it now.

Yeah, Jeanie's phone is uncontactable..always out of reach. She will only respond to emails and call you if necessary.

btw, what are the packages offered to you? Are u gals able to get items like free projectors or anything extra?

Also, she said the themes for the Windsor ballroom will be ready in Mar, but I hv yet to see the photos yet. Have u gals seen it?

Hi Jing Jing ,

Thanks for your compliment. My BS is Golden Horse Awards and there are many photographers there. Mine is Steven Aw.

hi eastlibra

yes, is abt 10months away from my wedding! wow, time really flies.

guess apple is experiencing what i used to experience when my ex coordinator left and Irene took over. Now, Irene left too. Wonder whether the turnover for this industry is indeed v high or gwp should do something for this high turnover problem that cause problems to potential and current customers.

have been surfing websites for those countries that we are interested to visit for our honeymoon. we are also going to europe for our hm.

did u take up local package or ? we are exploring the possibility of joining the respective country's local tour. still contemplating whether we should go for 14 days or 21 days. or even shorter.

which country will you and your hubby be going?

hi l.s

long time no hear! hope u r enjoying life after your big day

great to know that this thread is getting lively!

welcome happygirl to our gwp club!

hi ng

nope, haven't seen the new br pics yet, guess u hv to bug jeanie nearer to the date. as long as u didn't sign the contract, u can still bargain

i won't be using the projector in my wedding. see what is important to both of you and decide what to bargain. my 2 cents worth. heee

hi apple

how's your preparation for the wedding? think your wedding is one week before mine, saw it in the dec's thread.

Hi Ng HL

we didnt manage to get any extra perks, it's pretty standard for our package. One thing about GWP is that they are quite rigid in giving out extra perks or freebies.

Hi moo

left only 9 months, getting excited yet headache too. A few details to settle and hopefully by June, more or less, those nitty gritty stuff will be settled.

hi apple

kind of sian now haha

we may consider getting animation thingy instead of the videography, c how 1st. when's your ps? hv u chosen your location for your outdoor ps?

btw, where do u intend to go for your honeymoon?

Hi moo

PS fixed on 19th July. location, no idea yet. We are not showing any video hightlight or any montage. video shooting is done by church fren.

hmm.. havent really thought about honeymoon.. but we both quite like maldives, mauritius...
haa

Hi LS,

Can you send me your wedding photos? Even though mine will be at Windsor but quite interested to see the deco etc. Thanks :P

So far I have no problem with Jeanie, yes it's difficult to get her on the phone but she normally answers her emails promptly and will call you if you need any clarifications.
Actually so far I'm very happy with her, always call us to remind about the meeting etc.

I just had my ROM at GWP and everything went smoothly.

hi cookie bunny

any idea what is the new wedding favour for this year? tnx

think gwp should really send all current customers that there is a change of staff...if I didn't log into this forum, i would nvr know...

hi moo,
the last time when I reviewed the package, it's still jar of honey or jar of floral tea(it's very nice though, very classic and 'English)

But Jeanie mentioned there might be more choices later on. I'm sure they will pick something unique and different for the souvenirs so dont worry.
When's your big day?

hi cookie bunny

15 dec 2006

yes, i like the original favours too, just wonder whether there are any "wow" factor for the new favours or they are those normal favours that other hotels provide too. ;)

hi moo,

mine is 2 weeks after yours

Shld be quite different from other hotels(Jeanie said no bears, no chopsticks, no keychains

Have you chosen your BS, photographers,etc? I have to start looking...haizz so many things to do

Hi apple, moo

I just met Jeanie today to discuss the package...yah..its quite rigid..they dont allow any bargaining and they dont offer any perks loh
= (

btw, Jeanie said that there is a wedding to be held on 19 mar at windsor ballroom...me and hubby going to drop by and see = )

hi cookie bunny

yes, but it is v interesting and fun to source for all these. yes, i have my bs and going for my ps in june. looking forward to may also, as we have to go and choose our gowns.

i hv a bridal pckg to let go, if u r interested, u may like to pm me

does anyone of u hv the email for me*wstudi*? my hubby likes the animation idea keke but think they are too busy right now to get new biz haha anyone knows how much they are charging?

wonder what the new favours will be...hmmm...curious

* = 0

hi ng, so will u take gwp eventually?

Hi Moo,

sigh..i would like to, but it seems that there are soo many parties involved in planning a wedding, each with different ideas and suggestions. The worst is, my hubby likes to take in suggestions and still want to explore more options everytime he talk to someone....

Some ppl think that we shouldnt spend soo much because dinner is sunk cost and we might as well spend the money on honeymoon...so get a cheaper hotel will do....

I am so tired, really hope to secure a venue soon but hubby is undecided.

hi ng

yes, a wedding involves many parties but do not despair and give up sourcing for a suitable venue for both of u

when's yr wedding? if there are time, no harm giving yourself more time to source for more. my hubby and myself sourced for quite sometime before we finally decided on gwp haha even though our eyes are set on it long time ago but i am pretty fickle, so we decide to look ar for more choices.

i will take a restaurant rather than a cheaper hotel though. of cos, it depends on what both of u r looking out for. ambience or food? i like chef chan's restaurant, oriental chic heeee... he has a website also.

both of us r saving every penny for the wedding and the honeymoon, still unsure whether we will lose a lot for the dinner but it is a once a life time event and we like to enjoy this special moment in a special place that both of us love. that's y we choose gwp eventually even though my hubby is pretty upset with their service and high turnover

enjoy every minute from now till your wedding day!

btw, hv u source for your bridal studio etc?

wondering if anyone knows what's going change since now GWP has parking that require $? when I signed up the package earlier this yr, jeannie told me that no parking charges, 1st come 1st served basis...
also, anyone knows if we can change the ballrm? cos I maybe a bit over my limit so am thinking of changing to Winsor instead...
thx.

Hi Moo

I have not finalised anything yet..no venue, no bs etc...me targetting wedding in Dec or Jan 07...already have tentative booking with 2 hotels (one of which is GWP)..

but hubby now says want to consider restaurants...

anyone know the Sichuan Dou Hua restaurant on top of UOB Plaza? Me now have to check that one out..

hi cs

think it will be best that u can check that out w yr coordinator. think i will call jeanie soon also as irene, my previous coordinator also mentioned that parking will be first come first serve basis.

maybe if the other br is still available on yr wedding date, maybe there is a higher possibility that gwp will allow u 2 change.

hi ng

tink e ambience is not too bad

which is the other hotel that u hv tentatively booked? can share?

i saw in bridal mag that grand plaza hotel , or was it plaza hotel allows couples to use the br and the poolside...wonder if that is true...hmmm

Hi moo

The other hotel is Pan Pac. The ballroom on the 2nd floor (becos I only have abt 30 tables). Dont really like it as the ceiling is very low and the ballroom is v "long". Dunno whether ppl at the back can see the stage clearly leh.

Hi Moo ,

Sorry for the late reply.
We are taking the Singapore tour group to Switzerland and Italy.

Remember to take into consideration to include 2 days for departing and arriving to Singapore.

regards

hi eastlibra

u meant 2days b4 and 2days after?

when r u departing and how many days did u choose?

hi ng

sorry, can't help u cos i had not gone for a dinner in panpac br. hmmm then maybe decide on gwp and sichuan dou hua? i feel that if u choose a hotel, u must definitely like the ambience, cos most of the time, we r paying for the hotel ambience that's my opinion

where do u intend to go 4 yr honeyoon?