Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi Chairmaine,

My ROM was held at the mainpool, the place is sheltered so no worries about the weather.
Since yours will be a dinner, should not be too hot, mine was at 2pm and the weather still tolerable since there are ceiling fans.

It's a very nice and unique place to hold a small cozy wedding.

Charmaine,
It was my wedding solemnisation that was held at the Main Pool.
We had about 30 or so guests. I'll go ahead and send you our pics anyway. I hope they help.

Are you considering Bridal Concept as well??

Charmaine,

Speak to your coordinator about wet weather plans. Surely they'll have to make other arrangements should it rain heavily. I can't imagine GWP allowing a banquet to continue at the Main Pool during a thunderstorm!

Charmaine,

My package with Bridal Concept was one with OTR gowns, not MTM. I had the wonderful opportunity of trying on their gowns even before we made a deposit. This was how I decided to go ahead with OTR as I had already found gowns I absolutely loved. Our package cost us less than 3K as we didn't need a car. We also decided against having 15R pics for our album. Instead, we chose 10R. Perfect for us as we don't fancy pics larger than 10R. As for no. of pics, well, let's just say that that is completely negotiable. It's all a matter of how well you negotiate the deal. Of course, it has to be within reason. Give and take, as they say. To give you an idea of our deal, we managed to get a few more pics than what I have in my yahoo photograph album. You've seen it, ya? Our album is also a 1-pic-on-1-pg type of album. Not a magazine layout. That suited us just fine as we do not like the magazine layout. Also managed to get all our selected negatives back. But, you have to make sure this is understood and written in black and white on your invoice before you sign it and pay your deposit. Good Luck!!

Hi L.S.

Thanks for yr lovely pics ! So sweet .. Appreciate yr helpfulness !

No problem, I am reali thankful tt u share yr photos w me.. Chris never call me again to fix an appointment.. My Fiance is very angry & upset abt the whole issue .. I'd to email Chris again and he reverted to say he's only free on next Wed.. really no initiative at his end..

My Fiance sent a serious email complaint and the Banquet Director call him and offer to meet us on Thurs as we are free on Thurs night only.. and no problem tt he can wait for us, even on weekend ! He said he will oversee our discussion w Chris and ensure that things are in place for us..

One thing v disappointing is Jeanie told us that Tudor Ballroom will be used for our back-up venuw shd there be heavy rain tt wedding at Terrace cannot be carry out.. Jeanie even show me the ballroom and go thru the time which we have to decide on the AD that we decide to move the dinner into the Tudor Ballroom.. but Chris told me that Tudor Ballroom not available at all on my AD for back-up! Then I asked him how ? Hotels shd have back-up venue in place for such outdoor event.. so far the hotels I asked have back-up venue/rooms..

Chris said no, ballroom not available, full-stop. No other suggestions from him. He dun allow replacing of items in the package at all while Jeanie mentioned tt package can be further discussed to customise our needs.. at least not straight NO. Our confidence w GWP is kinda shaken..

Hi Cookie Bunny,

DO u have photos on yr ROM to share w me ?

Charmaine,
My goodness! I'm so sorry this is happening to you and your fiance. Perhaps this new guy, Chris, is overwhelmed with work and is still learning the ropes at GWP. In any case, you should still be able to have the wedding of your dreams. It's a good thing your fiance sent an email to the Banquet Director. Now, you get a chance to iron out all details. You should insist on a back-up venue. It was very insensitive of Chris to simply discard what was promised you by the previous coordinator, Jeanie. Have you and your fiance already secured the date with a deposit? If yes, then you should have no problem with getting everything you and Jeanie agreed upon in your contract. If no, then there's still room for negotiation. Ultimately though, the hotel has the upper hand here. But, it seems to me that they're willing to work with you as the Banquet Director himself has agreed to sit in on a meeting with you and Chris. There's hope!!!
Please don't be disheartened. Yes, it's a mess now without Jeanie. But, I'm sure now that you've got the attention of Mr. Banquet Director himself, you and your fiance will have no trouble getting down to business. Remember to stay calm and in control of your emotions during this meeting. If you think you may 'lose it', then you may wish to not attend the meeting and that your fiance goes alone. Or vice versa. But, it's always better to stand united as a couple and remain non-confrontational. Good Luck!
Let us know how it went, ya??

Hi CookieBunny,

Thanks for sharing.. =) We loved the long tables.. Was cracking my head as to where to place the solemnisation table and chairs cos for me will be quite cramp.. have asked for the Mayfair Pool for solemn but as usual, Chris did not revert to me on this query.. what's new...

Hi L.S.

Thanks so much for yr concern ! =)

Oh, I have not paid any deposit ye... lucky, else, really at their mercy..

Well, Im someone who cannot control my anger emotions than my Fiance.. haha.. but I need to be ard to show them my pissed face .. keke..

Yes, the hotel is at a upper hand cos we are the ones who need the venue for our wedding.. anyway, we have a backup plan shd the negotiation turn out bad.. we have another tentatitive booking elsewehere too .. so suay hor.. we have to be the couple tt face w such situation.. understd tt Chris is swamped w workload but he's taking things for granted here.. not very sincere to secure our deal.. as if we are just a small fry.. maybe our no of pax is small.. sigh.. somemore, Jeanie is supposed to do up a vegetarian buffet menu as I need to know what kind of dishes the chef is able to come up with but Chris is ?? when being asked.. that's the problem where someone resigned and infor jus got lost..

However, this is very impt to me cos my grandma and parents are vegetarian.. oh no, the more I thought of it, the more I feel pissed.. ok, will update u guys on my "negotiation" =)

Hi Venessa,

How r things getting on for you ? Hope it's fine..

Hi L.S

You're a darling
! Thanks a bunch for the sound advice, helpful tips & for sharing your beautiful pics!

Hello Charmaine,

I'm sorry about your messy situation. I understand it's very unsettling. It's a good thing u managed to speak with the banquet director. I hope your meeting with him will set things right & help allay all your concerns.
Pls take care & not
worry yourself sick.
Do keep us posted =]

Hi Charmaine,

No problem, I've replied your mail

Btw, for vegetarian you can arrange for them serving vegetarian food for some people instead of having vegetarian buffet for all.
I had 1 guest who is a vegetarian so we arranged for separate dishes for her while the rest can enjoy normal buffet. She can still take fruits etc from the main buffet, I think this is the best solution if the majority of your guests are not vegetarian.

Hi Venessa,

Thanks for yr concern.. though things may not turn well for me, hope everything is good for all GWP brides to be ! =)

Hi CookieBunny,

I'd abt 10 vegetarian pax, including my dear parents... =) mine is quite strict that they are concern on even using the same fork and spoon to take the fruits where it's shared by others eating meat lor.. though it's minority but it's my top priority cos my parents are affected..

Hi HL,

What happened ? Why u decided to give up ? So where have u book instead ?

Hi Charmaine,

Its just that we decided to have wedding lunch instead of dinner and there is available date at Marriott! Its a nice place, price is very atractive, my PIL love the place and most importantly, service has been reliable, prompt and good so far. I can put my mind to ease if I choose Marriott. (I dont like having to chase and remind ppl...v tiring..I am supposed to be serviced if I am paying so much!)

Charmaine,

I do hope your plans to have your banquet at GWP will not be spoilt. But I do understand how you feel. Service is so very important! I'm glad we were serviced well by the staff of GWP. Do continue to update us on your plans, ya? And the best of luck on Thursday!! I think it's important that you let Chris and his supervisor know how you feel about the service you and your fiance have received thus far.

Hi HL,

When's yr wedding ? I'd previously checked w Marriott before on their lunch package by the poolside terrace.. so u havin it at the function room ?

Hi L.S.

My mood is dampened by GWP service as at now.. confidence shaken.. see how the discussion goes tomorrow and sincere they are..

I am tinkin considering hving my banquet at GWP. Can anyone share with me ur feedback on their food and photos, if any?

just like to share w u that chris actually replied to my email within a week, i think. quite impressed by that as i understand that they are shorthanded now.

hi charmaine

like to share w us how yr discussion ends?

hi nebear

maybe u like to go thru the past thread 2 find out more

Hi L.S & H.L

We are so disappointed w the service.. the Revenue Manager was very polite and friendly. He sat in during our discussion w Chris.. Chris sounds friendly.. but when I questioned why there isn't any back-up venue for my poolside dinner, he doesn't seemed to believe me when I told him tt Jeanie told me tt Tudor will be my back-up venue should it rains on my AD which I'd given her the date.. she even bring me to view the ballroom..

Then he went up his office to check and revert tt the ballroom is confirmed booked by another couple in October 2005 ! Then he asked "Do u wan to change your wedding date to the following day cos the ballroom is available?"

Wow, we have to change our date due to the lack of coordination and service by the hotel ? Then we asked him how are they gonna solve the problem on the back-up venue.. Chris asked "Do u think u can reduce the no. of yr guests so tt tables can be arranged in a way that it won't be afffected by the rain so much.." how can we reduce our guests on the AD when invitations are already sent out ? cos we will only decide by 3pm whether to move if it rains heavily... sigh...

Lastly, he promised to revert last Fridy and latest by Sat and I'd already told him "I hope so"...

But never hear from him till this morning... so sent him an email this morning.. he replied he's on MC and will revert shortly.. left office at 6.45pm but never hear from him yet..

My FH and myself is very pissed & upset.. they dun value us at all though our guests no. is small.. ard 100-120 pax.. EVERY SINGLE time, we have to send email, call him, call the hotline then we get a RESPONSE.. else, can wait for long long.... Paying customers to get this kind of service...

Hi H.L,

Which ballroom ? How many guests u have ? SO nice to have a lunch then can rest at night liao... Yours on a weekday ? How much per pax ?

Charmaine,

Oh dear! I too am sorry about what's happened.
It's a terrible mix-up. Can understand your fury & dispair.
Given the current situatiom with GWP, it may be a good idea to have an alternative dinner venue (aside fr GWP).

I hope the mess will be ironed out quickly.

wow... i'm a B2B planning to hold my wedding in march/may 07. I'm actually pretty interested in GWP. But after the negative comments, I'm definitely reconsidering.

My experience with GWP.

Emailed them. No reply after one week. Forwarded the sent mail asking for response. Jeanie responsed with menu.

Replied asking for more details. Auto email was sent to contact Chris instead. Have been another week since email was sent. No response.

Just checking, I read that there's this Mayfair place whereby you can actually hold your solemnisation at GWP. I'm actually planning to hold my solemnisation prior to my wedding dinner. I've related that to GWP, but they didn't give me that option.

Are there additional costs should we want to use the Mayfair place?

Hi Cookie Bunny,
My wedding is in mid-June this year, so met up once with Chris to talk about the invitation cards and some mini details.
Hi LS,
Nice to see that you are still an active participant here giving lots of good advise.

Hi Moo,
I'be previously checked with Jeanie on the projector, yes, you can bring your own to use (Tudor Ballroom). * LCD projector can be arranged at a special rate of $250.00++ per unit per day* - this's the price they quote me. They just need to do the connection. As for the Windsor Ballroom, there's an in-built projector in there, so try your best negotiation skills to get it for free...hee...
Hi Ng HL,
The new ballroom (aka Windsor) is on level 2, not 3. It is located right on the other side of the main lobby (opposite direction to Tudor Ballroom).

Wondering has anyone held their wedding at Windsor Ballroom, if yes, can give some feedback? Also, can anyone give me the chinese name of Windsor Ballroom? My email-> [email protected]

Hi Charmaine,
Hmmm...totally can understand your situation. Given the speed of Chris' work, both myself and my hubby are also starting to loose our cool too. My hubby sternly told Chris off once...But no choice, we had paid the deposit, so have to use the best method to negotiate/make noise/fight for our rights! Do you have the name of the revenue mgr/banquet director? Perhaps we can also complain to him/her too...should the need arise...

Hi ex-GWP brides,
When the hotel pass you the invitation cards, does it come together with a recommended printer address and sample? Chris only gave me the cards and that's it...ai yoh...so I rang him up to ask for a printer contact...Does any one got problems with the new western designed card? The red one's has that awful "xi" on it...but no choice, my dear mom preferred something traditional...so end up taking 50% 50% of each.

Hi Cs,

Chris speed is reli very slow slow.. someone doing his job must be more efficient & fast! Can't GWP have the ability to recruit another co-ordinator ? Terrible..

Ha... I have not paid any deposit so considered I am already a potential customer but still rec'd slow slow service... till now he has not revert to me since Mon..

Anyway, we decided to GIVE UP GWP. We do not want our AD to go wrong or hiccups & also cannot afford to wait for 1 week for clarifications of some simple questions like : backup venue how? Only after more probing, he told me frankly tt no other backup venue avail for me if heavy rain.. OMG! How can a 5 star hotel tell its clients tt? For outdoor wedding in hotels, that shd always be a backup venue available or at least made some efforts to think and resolve this problem they created.. not for me as a client to WORRY on my AD.. this shd be part of the service..

Chris actually told me on Monday tt his chef actually asked him why is he still selling the poolside package using the old menu?! wow, so I asked him so wat, is my menu still valid or dun tell me 1 or 2 mths before my AD, u tell me menu is gonna change? He jus laughed and said he will asked the chef again... is he being frank or just blur? How can a sales person tell his client that? *shake head*

Sorry for complaining so much cos we are jus plain unlucky after all these..

We spoke to the Revenue Manager, Manon on Monday and he also promised he will take over Chris to handle our wedding package BUT ... sigh... no more follow up calls from him... sigh... though he left a good impression during our last meeting.. what's happening to GWP service????

However, I still wish all BTBs of GWP to have a smooth & memorable wedding ! =D

Hi LS & Cookie Bunny,

Thanks for yr consistent concern... Really appreciated..
Cheers.....

Hi L.S.

would you mind sharing your solemnization pics? Am planning to hold my solemnization at gwp
my email address is [email protected]

and one question is there any difference between main pool, mayfair pool and the terrace?

Thanks alot!!

hi CS

Do u happen to chris's hp number? i had been trying to contact him thru office and email but.. haiz..

i m now left with oni 6 weeks to my AD, but, he has not shown me the invitation cards. he promised to post thru post, but.. haiz.. nothing in my mail box.

i had asked him for printer's contact.. its with FH. will email u once i get it. apparently, when i check with a friend who had gone thru AD, their coordinator from Hotal M did the coordinating work with the printer for them. all they need to do is collect teh printed cards from them coordinator. haiz..

i really wonder.. is it too late to change venues.

Hi Charmaine,
could u please mail mi the revenue's manager's number? or how do i contact this person. i dun think i shd keep on waitng for chris's reply. its just too close to my AD.. and, so many things not confirmed. thanks..

Hiya all

In my email correspondences with GWP, there's this girl called Ashley Tan. She was the one who replied to me rgding the wedding packages.

However, when i probed for more details, she did not reply.Perhaps you could try asking for her.

HI Jen,

I dun have his contact number.. he's the one who called my FH.. anyway, poor Chris la.. he's the only one handling the whole show.. though I can understd his situation and overwhelming response as a 1 man show and a newbie.. but GWP shd enagage another person to help him out.. wedding is an expensive & impt event so every couple is sure to be anxious abt their wedding..

Wonder where has Jeanie gone to ? I heard GWP has engaged another coordinator... maybe things will improve for u guys when the new one has arrived lo...

Ashley ? Never heard of her..

Hi Charmaine

Sorry, just saw ur msg to me. Marriott ballroom is on the 3rd floor.

Pricing for lunch is v reasonable...abt $60 per guest (inclusive of wine, beer, decorations, favours etc) U should check them out.

Service is v reliable. All replies to my queries are answered within 1-2 days.

Hi CS,

just printed my cards (western design) last month and no worries, no problem at all. it turn out beautiful. jeanie was the one who arranged the cards for me and she did attach copy of printer's name card as well as a sample too.

Hi ex GWP brides,

was wondering when will the hotel contact us again to discuss on AD arrangements? 1 more month to go and have yet to hear from them...

hi shan-snail
could u pls share the printer's contact with mi? and also, how much does it cost. my wedding is in early june. till today, i have NOT proceeded with my printing due to delays and failing to contact chris.
with ur wedding one month from now, i wonder if u had done ur foodtasting? i have not done all these.
also, do u have any idea about the carpark arrangements now that they have put up the gantry. haiz. please advice. thank u

I also printed cards using 50% red 50% new western design. That time, Jeanie gave us the contacts for the printer. Hi-tech in AMK industrial park. can call jenny koh 91871632. they have been with GWP, thus have the sample design of the cards. they will email or fax you the artwork, then once confirm, can arrange that they collect the cards from GWP, aand you just need to collect all the cards and the inserts from hi tech. whole thing take abt 2weeks.

now, my AD is two weeks away. yet to confirm the flower and colour theme. can anyone advise if you get to meet up with the florist to decide on the colour and flowers? met with Chris last week, seems like colour for table cloth is only red, white or peach. for flower, red or peach.

U can contact Hi Tech and they are very familar with GWP printing. They can get it done for you pretty fast if u provide them with all details. As western card is rather thick, we have to use hot stamping and bill came up to 100 plus...

I had already done my food tasting 2 months back and was all arranged by jeanie. Just select your dishes and request for a date 4 food tasting. Its simple.

As for carpark arrangements, understand they will provide us with parking tickets but not sure of exact no.

Hi Pooh,

How did u managed to meet up with Chris? Can't seem to get hold of him and nobody calls me to arrange any meeting too. BTW, is he helpful?

pooh,
When I had my banquet at GWP in Nov last year, we were able to meet with the florist (Florabell) to decide the floral arrangements. Will they still allow their couples to do that?

reinn,
I've sent some photos of the ROM set-up, hope it'll give you some ideas

Pooh,
I think they have more colours than red & peach. At least for my ROM, we can choose any colour...I chose pink and even for that, there are so many different tones of pink. Maybe you can check with the co-ordinator again?

For parking tickets, I think the standard they will give you about 20% of attendance(if I remember correctly).

thanks cookie bunny
receive ur email.
check wif you is it v hot n humid during noon time? wad time is ur rom?
i am afraid is v hot during noon time.

RM,
HI! Speak to your coordinator...We had our solemnisation and banquet at GWP on the very same day. Had a great time discussing floral nmatters with their florist, Florabell. We ended up choosing purple and cream as our main colours. I wish you all the best!!

Thanks ladies
talked to chris already. and contected hi-tech. things have started to move again. phew. slow, but moving... =)

First of all, I must clarify that it is the experience dealing with the hotel's ONLY catering sales manager (MR CHRIS SEOW) is lousy, the hotel remain reputable & providing good food!

my cousin recently had his wedding at the hotel...the entire experience dealing with CHRIS SEOW was very 'unforgetable' the service provided by him is very unmatched with the hotel's reputation! as described by him

let me start with the most remarkable comment chris seow had made,
when he met my cousin with a wrong proposal, no apologies, but started to blame that his coordinator never do a good job, never amend as what he has instructed. and even said that the management is going to terminate the staff very soon as the staff always knock off on time and will not work overtime work. can you imagine a hotel manager saying this to the hotel customer??

other than that, he was also always late for appointment, never reply email, never follow-up for appointment, never take things seriously...and all this, He claimed that it is because he was the ONLY catering manager who takes care of everything in the hotel.

our opinion is that Goodwood Park as a reputable hotel certainly deserve a well-manner employee to enhance the hotel’s reputation but not to have ill-manner employee to destroy the high trust level from customer towards the hotel.

what do u think?

Hi Cheeky,

It is that's all make you feel that he is lousy? or he did do something horrible on your cousin wedding nite?

What happended to your cousin wedding nite? i am a BTB and start to worry now