Goodwood Park Hotel

apple68

<font color="ff0000">hi LS! would love to look at ur pix. me going to hold my wedding dinner there next year. looking forward to their new stuff. I was told that they are going to bring in more n new wedding favours, more choice in tablecloth colour. and maybe paint a new coat paint for the tudor ballroom.</font>

<font color="ff0000">so far, has anyone of u thought which song to march in?</font>

<font color="ff0000">for the AV team-are they under GWP or GWp outsource the AV team? For the coordinator, my coordinator told me she wont be there on AD but the banquet captain will take charge. Does that vary between the coordinators?</font>

dazednconfused

HI apple...

I need your email addy, please...

BTW, we made our grand entrance to the song, This Is The Night by Clay Aiken. We had a friend of ours as our music coordinator. GWP has their own tech on-hand to see to all matters AV related. But, best to also have your own helpers as well to work hand-in-hand with staff of GWP.

scobido

hi L.S

Will love to peak at your photos! U have my email right?

just called Irene yesterday and twice, I left a message to inform her that I had not received the new contract. She didn't call till evening. She must be very busy. Not very happy with that as I was anxious to get this done and over with. (My hubby is too busy to meet up with HI pic keke) When she called, she told me she had mailed the new contract to us. I was like ??? cos I remembered she told me she will EMAIL me on Friday itself. THen she told me it is peak season now, so the mail will be delayed and I will receive it most likely on Wednesday. Just felt that it is just an excuse cos she had forgetten to email me on Friday. Didn't tell my hubby regarding this incident cos if I did, GWP will definitely be out of our hotel list.

So sad...they must be short handed...

eastlibra

Hi L.S.

Congratulations to you once again and GWP has given you a memorable and smooth process.

Earlier before you have shared with me your wedding photos. Can you shared with me again your wedding dinner photos taken at GWP ?
Thanks once again.

My email address is [email protected]

eastlibra

Hi Cookiecream and Sai ,

My coordinator Jeanie just advise me to get the original CDs but she did not say compiled CDs are not allowed at all.

As for me , I get some good suggestions from the forummers here for march in and 1st dish songs. I managed to get the songs in mp3 format. I find it very hard to get the original CDs because they may not be available in the stores anymore. At worst , I will try my best to get the three separate original CDs for my 1st , 2nd march-in and 1st dish songs.

eastlibra

Hi apple ,

It will be the banquet captain to take charge of the wedding dinner.
Coordinator can take the initiative to drop by to take a look and see if you need any help or so.

I will be using For the First Time by Rod Stewart.

eastlibra

Hi moo ,

I have heard from Jeanie that November and December is the hottest period for wedding dinners. She is also very occupied and hardly have a break.

dazednconfused

Hey all...
At the airport now. Heading for my honeymoon! Will do my best to send the link tomy wedding shots to those that have asked. But,if I can't get them out by today, it'll have to wait till I get back from my honeymoon, ya? Sorry...

Incidently, we used Come Fly With Me by Michael Bluble for the presentation of dinner. Yes, Nov and Dec are hot months for weddings and D&amp;Ds.

Moo... I strongly suggest that you speak to the Banquet Sales Manager. I love GWP and I had a great wedding there, but the service you are receiving from your coordinator is less than stellar.

Gotta go now... See ya soon!

scobido

Will contact the Banquet Sales Manager, L.S.

Enjoy your honeymoon!!

Hi Eastlibra

Yes, even if it is their hottest month, service shouldn't be like that right? Just felt that we are not treated properly. Anyway, will stay positive.

Wah, apple, you thought of the 1st march in song liao? Is still sometime away, my hubby will take care of that for our wedding.

cookiencream

Hi Sai &amp; eastlibra,

My coordinator did emphasized to me that compiled CD are strictly not allowed. But our meetup with the AV team gave us impression that they can accomodate to the other requirement. Haahaa, hope u get my pt, coz really not convenient to state too clearly here. However, do take note that due to some stringent music regulations recently, it's better to check out directly with AV team's requirement, if not just get the original CDs.

You only need to pass yr CDs to the banquet manager-in charged (not coordinator) on the day itself. U shld ask yr wedding IC to hand the CD to the manager &amp; take it back after dinner. A lot of pple tend to forget &amp; leave their CDs behind.

bleu

I am interested in having my soleminazation ceremony at GWP for about 30 to 50 people. Anyone has any experience to share??

scobido

Hi bleu

Maybe you like to contact GWP directly for their package?

No experience in that, can't help much but I know GWP has a beautiful poolside that is suitable for soleminazation

cute_miffy

Hi ladies, can anyone share with me what kind of perks you gals managed to get from GWP?
Seems like they are quite rigid on giving additional perks leh.....
Please advise.

kao_babydust.gif

scobido

Hi cute miffy

Yes, I agree that they are quite rigid in giving additional perks.

It all depends on what you want eg extra helper's room, late checkout, extra night stay, waiver of wine corkage charge and etc.

Which ballroom are you looking at and when?

shymz

hi moo,
so how's the situation with GWP now? have u heard from them? previously Jeannie was very prompt about the mails and stuff, and i think maybe it's better that u request for a change....

i went to Greece for my HM

hi LS,
would love to look at ur dinner pics
enjoy ur HM!

scobido

Hi Shymz

Yes, we received the contract at last. Very excited. Hubby is too busy to contact hotel intercon, yeah!

We hope to settle everything by end of next week.

Wow, greece must be a beautiful place! How long did you go? Thinking of going Greence too! Any recommendations eg place to go, period and where to stay etc?

Hi cute

No problem.

We will be taking Tudor Ballroom. Our date is also December06

Have you settled your bridal studio and etc?

buba

hi L.S
congratulations to u, may i take a look at your pictures? thank u.
my AD is next june, in GWP too. bt, since i'd paid m deposit few months back, there is no news from my coordinator. m i suppose to call? i called up coordinator two weeks back, hoping to change my ballroom, but, couldnt get to her. haiz. looks like i must stick to 23 tables. anyone had manage to add more tables to the max. 23? pls advice. thanks

dazednconfused

HI jen...

GWP will not call you till its time for them to fuss over you!
And they do a very good job at it too!
I found them to be most efficient and they operated and coordinated my wedding banquet like a well-oiled machine. A few gliches running up to the banquet, but nothing, absolutely NOTHING went wrong during the banquet! Everything was as it should have been. Perfect! So, if you're on a tight schedule right before June (about 4-6 weeks to your wedding), you may want to see your coordinator before things start getting busy. And believe me... it does get BUSY! Set a date for the food tasting first of all, of course. Then work from there. Enjoy this process! We had 20 tables and a dance floor. The ballroom was filled. No tables spilling over beyond the pillars. If you're not having a dance floor, another 4 more tables can be set up making it a total of 24 tables, but it is a REAL TIGHT SQUEEZE as the ENTIRE ballroom will be packed. You've got 6 more months to your wedding. They may be changes to the no. of guests attending. Up till the last minute! We had 1 table beyond the pillar as stand-by. But, we didn't make use of it. Thankfully! Another good idea is to start thinking of the colours of flowers you'd like to have. We had cream roses and purple eustoma. Debated over the flower issue for a while, but went with the original plan. It was beautiful indeed.
So... I'll go ahead and send you the link to my wedding day pics at the GWP! But first, I need your email addy!

apple68

<font color="ff0000">Hi LS... i am interested in ur pix too! Sorry to take so long .. my email add : [email protected].. hey.. btw, are the same LS from BC thread?..</font>

<font color="ff0000">I have another yr to my wedding.. feeling a bit excited now.. keke.. but still long way to go.. have u gals thought about the red wine? How many to order/ buy if I am sticking to 18 tables? Approx, 2-3 tables more heavy drinker, the rest light drinker, like 1-2 glasses. Is 36 bottles too much or too little?</font>

<font color="ff0000">Any advice?</font>

dazednconfused

apple68,
Yes, i'm indeed the L.S. from Bridal Concept!

How much wine you will need will depend on your guests. We had 20 tables and we used up about 18 bottles. Of course, we also had vodka, whiskey, white wine and beer. We brought in almost 30 bottles of wine. Brought home unopened bottles, of course.

HI all...
I'll be sending the link to my wedding day pics to those who have requested! Check your mailboxes! Feel free to make comments...

apple68

<font color="ff0000">Hi LS, got ur pix. thanks. You look wonderful

<font color="ff0000">Like to know that what's the top tier cake? Do u have a choice? and Also for the wedding cake, the blue ribbon is used cos blue is ur theme? Or u have a choice again?</font>

<font color="ff0000">I am hoping GWp will come up with more colours scheme for next yr as mentioned by my coordinator.</font>

dazednconfused

HI apple,
Hahah! The entire cake is fake lah! GWP will send a beautifully decorated cake to your suite that's REAL - English fruit cake. Small one. Not huge like the one we cut on stage. As far as cake decorations, all we did was request for blue. I wasn't too thrilled with how our fake cake was decorated, but it didn't bother me that much lah. Small matter.

dazednconfused

HI apple...

hahaha! The entire cake that we cut was fake lah! GWP will send a beautifully decorated cake that's REAL to your suite. Our's was English Fruit Cake. Not sure whether we could've requested for another kind of cake, but it was indeed delicious! Small cake, of course. Not huge like the one on stage. As far as the cake decorations goes, we only requested that some elements of blue be in it. I wasn't too thrilled with how the cake on stage was decorated, but it was a small matter. No big deal to us.

apple68

<font color="ff0000">ah... I dun like fruit cake.. hope we can exchange for some other cake and perhaps get the wedding cake top tier exchange for real cake too..can forsee have to spend more $$$..</font>

scobido

Saw your photos, L.s.

U look great! I especially like your wedding gown. Think you show off your sexy shoulders well with your wedding dress

Will be signing the contract soon! Geee...finally! Very excited too!

Btw, which bridal suite did you get? The one in the old tower or ? We do not have the opportunity to see the bridal suite yet...

Your diamond ring looks big heeee...

hi apple68

u want the whole cake to be real or just the top layer? my friends told me that it isn't very realistic to have a real cake cos your guests would be very full after eating 7course + the dessert unless u distribute the cake before the dinner commences...one thing u can think about? just my thoughts...
(i also used to be like you, want a real cake)

dazednconfused

HI moo!
Thanks! Yes, you must feel very excited! I'm excited for you too! Our suite was very far from the ballroom. But, we loved it! We were actually assigned a suite closer to the ballroom, but we didn't particularly like it very much. Quite old. So, we requested for a change and Presto! GWP agreed! Great service!! Hint: You might want to have your coordinator show you a few bridal suites before you and your fiance sign on the dotted line!
hahaha...

Apple,
Perhaps you could ask your coordinator for a change in cake type?

apple68

<font color="ff0000">I am sweet toothed person. And I dont fancy cutting fake cake. I know it cost a lot to have a real wedding cake (all 3 tiers), my inital plan was to have the top tier real, so i can cut and share with family n relatives, but i know most of them (elderly ones) dun eat cake.. I dont know. if I cannot cut a real cake, at least I can have something else and not a fruit cake. Will speak to my coordinator on the cake issue..Oh man! I make the cake thingy like such a BIG issue...</font>

pooh9pooh

Hi L.S,

Thks for sharing your photos! You look great!

You had solomnisation at the pool side...can I check if GWP charge you extra for that?
What your schedule like? what time you solomnise, then after that dinner?

P.S David is a fun guy right....he also my JP for my ROM

jazzcy

One more question that I have got... where does the the food tasting take place? I thought it is Ming Jiang but i have just been told it is at the Coffee Lounge. Kinda funny eating Chinese food in a Western setting :-(

dazednconfused

HI pooh,

Our solemnisation was supposed to be held by the Mayfair Pool. More exclusive and private. But because of the rain, it had to be moved to the Main Pool. Nonetheless, we had a good time! We paid $450 for the use of the pool area. Think its the standard rate at GWP. Had the solemnisation at 11a.m. Then dinner in the evening. Checked into your suite as soon as my then fiance now husband arrived at GWP 10a.m. There were a few late comers for our solemnisation - our witnesses! Hahaha... But everything went somewhat smoothly.

jazzcy,
The food tasting will take place at the Coffee House. No lah.. Not western setting! The Coffee House serves lots of local food as well! Min Jiang's decor is now very "zen". It's all the rage now, I suppose. Sending you the link to my wedding day pics.