Goodwood Park Hotel

eastlibra

Hi Moo ,

I mean 1 day before and 1 day after. For example if it is a 12 days tour, 1 day for flying off from Singapore and 1 day for flying back to Singapore. That leaves 10 days for sightseeing and tour.

I am flying off next thursday and it is a 12 days trip.

harlowpiglet

Hi Ng,

I am new here
I saw in your earlier thread that there is a wedding this coming Sunday at winsor ballroom. What is a good time to pop by to have a look at the setup?

eastlibra

Hi harlowpiglet ,

I will advise you to go before 6pm. This is a time where nobody is around except for the waitess and waiter preparing for the dinner.
6plus to 7pm will be too late because the host and the helpers maybe around preparing already.

galnextdoor

Hi all GWP BTB,

Recently, I went to my friend's wedding banquet held at GWP Tudor ballroom. The ambience was cozy and nice. But wanna share a flaw in their staff's service for u to take note.

That nite the waiter/waitress there served the food to us individually. When it is time to serve the fish, the waiter served big portion to the first 7 guests but left almost nothing to the remaining 3 guests. It was embarrassing to see him scrapping the fish fin and fish head to get whatever little meat for the remaining 3 guests. So in the end, my friend told him it is okie to leave out her portion. Then another waitress spilled a cold drink on my friend's pants.

There are still other smaller problems we saw arising from the inexperienced staff. So u may want to check with GWP to improve on this point if u are holding your banquet there.

pebble_furball

Was just informed by Jeanie that she has quitted her job...this is her last week at GWP..

GWP also has prob of high turnover..now I dunno what to do...whether to still stick to GWP..sigh

autumn8five

Oh my god,

I just met her for the 1st time today and she has quitted ? She's such a friendly and nice person.. so sad.. who will be replacing her ??

Btw, anyone here has solemnisation & buffet done at the Terrace by the pool ? Any photos or experience to share ? =) Kinda helpless here cos my AD is so near and I haven't even confirm on my venue..

scobido

hi charmaine

don't fret, quickly decide on a date, your venue and your bridal studio.

when's your ad? think if u like buffet, they can hold only a small party.

didn't hv that by e pool, can't help u.

twinstarz

hi LS & Eastlibra,

could u pls share ur GWP pics w me too? GWP's 1 of my shortlisted venue for AD, so, would like to find out more. pls do share. thanx! [email protected]

by the way, anybody has wedding present as their BS?

pebble_furball

Jeanie told me on Monday that she is leaving middle this week and will pass my info to her colleague for follow-up.

Not sure why she is leaving. Dont know whether she is still at GWP cos she has not responded to the emails I sent her yesterday. SIGH

dazednconfused

twinstarz,

My wedding banquet was held at the Tudor Ballroom, not the newer and larger Windsor Ballroom. But I'll go ahead and send you the album anyway. I hope the pics help in some manner. When's your big day? Have you decided on your bridal boutique yet? I was with Bridal Concept. This must be an exciting time for you!
Do enjoy every moment of this journey to your wedding day!

cookiebunny

oh no Jeanie is leaving
I hope whoever takes over can fill her shoes...

twinstarz, I'm going to wedding present this week to see their gowns. Have you gone there? How's their package like?

apple68

i am worried. ANyone knows who is taking over jeanie?

My 1st contact from GWP was with Irene, then very abruptly, she left and i only communicate with jeanie for a few times over email exchange. n now she is leaving or has left.

who will contact us for the dinner prep?

am i worry too much?

eastlibra

Hi All ,

I am sad to hear the high turnover rate at GWP.
Jeanie is our banquet manager and is a nice lady.
Surprising , she is leaving the place after 2 years of working there.

I believe GWP will get it sort it out. Maybe there is a change of management.
For the GWP bride-to-be , if you read through the archives thread of GWP for the past few years , I believe you will see quite a lot of good comments on them.

Hi Twinstarz , I am leaving tonite for my honeymoon and still busy packing. Can I show it to you after I come back ? Mine is also held at the Tudor Ballroom.

dazednconfused

HI all...

Just wanted you to know that I really feel for the couples holding their wedding banquets at GWP. My wedding celebration at GWP last Nov was a beautiful one thanks to Jeanie. She worked hard with us to make our wedding so memorable. I can only guess that the couples who are going to have their wedding celebrations at GWP may be feeling worried at this time as Jeanie is leaving. I would be too if I were in that position. Perhaps you can bring up your concerns to the Banquet Sales Manager. Just a thought.

pebble_furball

A new guy called Chris has taken over. It seems that he is the only person at GWP.

Spoke to him. He seems quite nice and is aware of my "presence" ie know what is my outstanding issues.

But I think he must be really overwhelmed...running the whole show on his own now.

twinstarz

hi LS, thanks for sharing ur pics. evthg turned out so nice! sigh...wish the planning part was easier though. im aiming for AD to be june 2007 so i think im quite kiasu alrdy, but at the same time, reali want to start now so wun have to rush later. haha..i have yet to decide on a bridal boutique oso! i seem to like a little of each that i've read abt. but im quite kneen on wedding present.

hi cookie bunny! is this gonna be ur 1st visit with them? i hv yet to make an appt to go down..do u think im too early if i plan to hold my AD next June? i hope it all goes well for u! do keep me updated yah! =)

hi eastlibra, dun think i'll catch u in time before u leave for your honeymoon. have a great time!!! hee hee...

cookiebunny

Hi twinstarz,

Yup 1st time going down to try their gowns. There's one gown I really like from Silhouette but going to see more bridal studios before deciding.

For me, the top priority is to get your wedding date then book a hotel. If your wedding date is popular ones, you might have to be a bit kiasu and book earlier(esp things like hotel venue, AD photographers/videographers basically services you need on the actual day).

Bridal studios need only about 8-9 months before your AD to make your gowns so you have more time to choose. Have you visited and try any gowns?

Ng HL,
I hope they will have at least another wedding coordinator at GWP. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed.

Eastlibra,
Have fun on your honeymoon!!

twinstarz

hi cookie bunny! yah, i wan to finalise on the hotels 1st, at least then i can also make sure the gowns fit the theme of the ballroom. u've gone down to silhouette too? its at stamford house right? their designs quite similar to divine couture i find. i hv yet to go to any though i've been to orchard delfi a few times n have passed by blush blush, bridal veil n some others that r located there. im lookin for sth plain n elegant or sth bare back. so many choices out thr...haha...let me know how it goes at wedding present yah!

cs_pair

Just thought I share with you all my latest findings: -
1) those who booked earlier like me when parking is free will still be getting free carpark.
2) i have asked whether can I change my ballroom and was told that there's additional charge for changing to Winsor.
Didn't know Jeanie is leaving as I only spoken to her earlier this wk....Let's just pray hard that the new person taking over be good...

autumn8five

Jeanie has left and no one is taking over my package.. called the banquet sales line today and left a message for them to call back also never call back.. so I popped by GWP in the evening anf no one is able to assist me.. we are kinda pissed off by the service..

Sigh...

dazednconfused

Charmaine...

I do sympathise with you. Yes, you do have every right to be upset. GWP should have kept all their clients updated on who they should contact. Have you asked to speak to the Banquet Sales Manager? Perhaps doing that will ease your worries.

cookiebunny

Hi twinstarz,

Yup I have gone down to Silhouette at Stamford House. Last week, I went to TWP...now still undecided which one to choose. Both have nice gowns but most likely will choose TWP. Felt more confident with the designer at TWP :p

Charmaine,
When is your wedding? Hopefully they are now priortizing those BTBs whose weddings are coming soon so they have not assigned your package to anyone. Hope everything turns out ok.

vanessa_r

It's a blessing I chanced upon this thread or I wouldn't know about GWP's sudden change in personnel.

Charmaine, I do empathise with you.
I've had similar harrowing experiences of trying several times to call/email them with inquiries about their banquet dates, but to no avail.

I finally managed to meet up with Jeanie to make a tentative booking for Dec'06 & am suppose to arrange for a placement of a deposit this week but
now I can't seem to speak to anyone who has taken over. I pray they've not released my tentative booking. It's really distressing!
I've only gotten my church date fixed & am hunting for a BS now.
Just wanna cry!

autumn8five

Hi LS & Cookie Bunny & Vanessa,

Thanks for yr concern.. well, this morning I'd emailed the banquet, pending for their call and reply but NO reply at all.. are they reli that busy ? I need to finalise my wedding package cos mine is in Nov..

Hi Venessa,

So which package have u taken up ? Talking abt Bridal Studio .. kinda disappointed. Now, I am deciding of doing away with Photoshooet w Bridal Studio cos ultimately, after topping up the pics, it's gonna costs more than $4000 to $5000.

Any recommendation for places that sell nice wedding gown ? Kinda short of time now..

cookiebunny

Hi Charmaine,

Have you signed the wedding package with them? If you have, should not have any problem and from what I know they will only contact us again 3 mths before the wedding.

For wedding gown, still got time. I also just started with the bridal hunt. Most of the bridals I visited advise me the latest I have to confirm is May, my wedding is in Dec. So for you should be just nice. Dont worry, ok?

Have you settled for photographer for actual day? If you have not, maybe you can try looking for that one first since 1 photographer can only do 1 wedding in 1 day while bridal studios can have more than 1 wedding.

vanessa_r

Hi Charmaine,

I've decided on the Victorian ($838+++) package.
I need to confirm my booking asap,
so today I tried arranging for an appointment to meet with Jeanie's replacement person but my calls were transfered from one person to another!
Finally, managed to speak to the banquet manager who said he was busy then & would return my call in the evening.
Not heard from him yet.

In a fix.
I love the ambience but am having my doubts about
their service.
Hope they've not released my tentative booking without 1st confirming with me.
Geez, I'll probably have to go down personally instead of trying to call.

Nope, not found a BS yet(panicking).
Am also considering just AD photography/videography without the photoshoot.

autumn8five

Hi Vanessa,

No one has called me yet... so disappointed. I need to confirm my venue fast else I can't start on the rest... like gowns etc.. cos the gown has to match e venue..

Oh, u dun intend to have a PS ? So will u be sourcing yr own gowns ? or get a designer to MTM for you ? My friend recommend Divine.. she said v good..

Actually, alot of ppl was shocked that I have not confirm my venue yet when my wedding is in Nov !! Hahaha...

Anyway, I dropped another email to complain but still no reply !

pebble_furball

I suggest that you dont try the email approach. Its too passive. You need to call the hotline and ask to speak to the manager in charge of overall service.

They will then pay attention to your case.

It worked for me. = )

vanessa_r

Charmaine,

Yup, I know, really fed up!
I got through to the rep this morning but barely spoke to him coz he said he was rushing off to a meeting & would call me in half an hour but didn't call at all!

Awful service.
I wanna confirm my booking but it appears they're not interested.
I understand with the current changes, they
must be busy but that's still no excuse for
shoddy service.

I'm going down in the morning to try
to resolve this.
The delay is hampering my other plans too.
Hope all will work out well for you soon.

dazednconfused

Vanessa and Charmaine,

Keep your cool. Remember to stay in control of your emotions. Good luck with your trip to GWP. Have you thought of Plan B if the Banquet Sales Manager is not available to speak to you?

As for bridal boutiques...
You've still got time.

autumn8five

Sigh.. upset.. reli anticipate that this will happen on my dinner day..poor service. I still prefer Jeanie..

So, LS, which BS did u take up ?

dazednconfused

Charmaine,
Take it easy for now... As you get closer to your banquet, make sure all plans are clearly stated to the banquet staff assigned to your wedding celebration. Expectations as well. Our wedding went smoothly.
And it is my sincere hope that yours will also.

I was with Bridal Concept. They're located along Liang Seah St. Loved the service we received there too. But, I believe they're presently extremely busy with an upcoming fashion show. If you have yet to choose a boutique, you might wish to consider Bridal Concept. Speak to Sally Tan. She's very obliging. When's your big day?

dazednconfused

HI all...

I wonder...How is everyone these days? I hope everyone managed to clear the air with GWP with amicable solutions. Meanwhile, it's the weekend! Enjoy...

scobido

Hi L.S

Realised this thread is quite quiet at times.

Tried to call GWP a couple of times but there are no anwsers always. Do you happen to know whether we can bring in our own projector at no cost? Just wonder.

Going for my gowns selection hopefully in May and photoshoot hopefully in June. Kind of looking forward to that and hopefully GWP's manpower turnover would be stabilised by then.

How are you now?

cs_pair

Hi moo, LS & everyone!
Chris Seow is the new person. I suppose all of Jeanie's old customer will go to him. His contact details ->
Chris Seow
Catering Sales Manager
Goodwood Park Hotel
22 Scotts Road
Singapore 228221
Tel : +65 6730 1821
Fax : +65 6738 6130
Email : [email protected]
So ladies, he is the man to go to. If you need to reach him on his hp, do call the main line and they will transfer you. That's how I managed to get him everytime! Email + Phone call.
His responce is always a bit delay, but I suppose he is really swarmed as he's only 1.5 wk in GWP! Give him a chance as I find out that he is a easier (more negotiable) person to speak to when compared to Jeanie.
As for the wedding favours when I enquired about any "new stock", he said for the moment, it is still wildflowers tea leaves and honey.

vanessa_r

Phew! Finally met up with Chris (seems like a nice chap) to confirm my Dec booking!
After all the uncertainty
& attempts to contact GWP in the last week, I now feel a huge sense of relief

Charmaine,
have you had oppotunity to meet with your co-ordinator yet? I hope u managed to secure your Nov date too.

L.S.
your BS Bridal Concept sounds promising.
Do they speak English or mostly Mandarin?
I know this sounds silly but both of us can't quite understand nor converse well in mandarin so may have some difficulty with package negotiation & preferences.
Oh, would u pls share your pics with me too at
Many thanks!

autumn8five

Finally Chris call me me back after I called the F & B and feedback my concerns to this gal, Vicky.
NOw, Chris is the only one who handle all the wedding enquiries! Ok, I can understand the workload he's having... so now, I am pending to fix an appt to discuss w him my package... my booking is safe now !

Phew... but, trouble surfaced ! Can someone share w me if you have experience having a dinner buffet at the Terrace and Min Pavilion by the Poolside ? Now, parents has concerns over it.. and I need to reassured them.. but seemed like all of you here are havin yr wedding at the Tudor Ballroom or Winsor.. but cos I only have ard 120 pax, so I can't satisfied the min requirements of GWP Ballroom...

Hi L.S.

You have yr solemnisation at the Mayfair Pool ? Can share w me yr photos ? I am checking w Chris if I can do my solemnisation at Mayfair cos it's more cosy and appropriate than doing it at the Main Pool..

Pls help !

scobido

hi Charmaine

My wedding will be in a ballroom but I saw a wedding couple having their sit down chinese dinner in min pavilion by the Poolside sometime back. Looks v cosy as it is a v small group, think about your size. What r some of your parents concerns? Perhaps u can check w Chris? There are fans, so I don't think it is v hot unless the weather is really humid. When's your wedding?

dazednconfused

Vanessa,
HI. So glad you managed to get in touch with your new coordinator at GWP.
The people at Bridal Concept are mostly mandarin speaking. HOWEVER, do not discount them on that fact. They've got many Malay couples who are their clients. Speak to Sally Tan. She's effectively bilingual. Their designers too. One in particular, I think her name if Yi Ping,if I'm not wrong. She's also very effectively bilingual. My husband and I are not able to speak Mandarin well either. Very poor, in fact!! But, Sally Tan and her colleagues made us feel very comfortable whenever we were there. No regrets in our choices for wedding banquet and bridal boutique. I'll go ahead and send you my studio/outdoor pics as well as my wedding day pics. I hope they help! Oh, and you'll be surprised, but Sally Tan actually permitted me to try on gown after gown after gown BEFORE we even paid our deposit. A whole week before. That's almost unheard of at bridal boutiques. Sally's very obliging. Anyway, check your mailbox soon!!

Charmaine,
Unfortunately, my wedding had to be moved from the Mayfair Pool to the Main Pool because it was drizzling. Still, it was a lovely event!
If you still want to look at my pics, let me know!

bae,
The Tudor Ballroom has a very cosy and warm ambience!
Perfect for a banquet of up to 20 tables! We had a dance floor too! Check your mailbox!

dazednconfused

Vanessa,

BTW, when negotiating a package with any bridal boutique, its always best to conduct it in the language you are most comfortable with. Of course, we did it in English. After you are satisfied with the deal, make sure your coordinator notes EVERYTHING LITTLE DETAIL down on your invoice. Do not sign the invoice until you're absolutely sure all the items agreed upon are listed on it. Only unscrupulous bridal boutiques will attempt to take their clients for a ride. In any case, it's best to have the 'consumer beware' attitude. Of course, friendliness and tact helps. After all, this will be a journey you want to remember with fondness. And coordinators also prefer to work with clients who're not too fussy and unreasonable. Who wouldn't, ya??
I had the most wonderful time with Bridal Concept! Our coordinator, Sally Tan, was so nice to us. I highly recommend Bridal Concept. At least make an appointment to visit them and have them show you their gowns. See what they have to offer you. No harm... Sally wasn't pushy. I've heard that there are some there who are that type though. So, we were really fortunate! Visit other boutiques as well. Get a feel of their service, etc. This is a most exciting time for you! Enjoy every moment of it!!

moo,

We didn't have a projector during our banquet. But I would think you'd have to inform GWP if indeed you wish to have one set up. And whether or not you can bring your own in. I do believe they'll have to set it all up for you, conceal the wiring, etc. Make the whole ballroom safe for you and your guests!

autumn8five

Hi Moo,

My wedding in early Nov.. parents' concern tt it's outdoor.. something unconventional.. hmm.. concern is at the mercy of the weather..

Hi L.S,

Thanks for yr reassurance.. so u had yr wedding at Main pool too ? How many guests you have ?Would very appreciate if u can send me yr pics at [email protected]

Where did u have yr solemnisation ? Hmm.. care to share w me yr wedding package w Bridal Concept ? So at least I know what are the standard stuff couple can ask for and they r willing to give.. If you dun mind, can share w me your pretty pic ?