Goodwood Park Hotel

Wow! Alfa Romeo! Tat's really cool! Lindy, that's a very flashy car for wedding!!! U r so lucky! How i wish i can hv tat car too!

haru...

Hello!!! With the cost of having addtional flowers, my fiance and I may just have to settle with getting an arch with artificial flowers. I know of a florist who will rent one at $80. Not too bad since it can be used for our solemnisation in the morning and banquet in the evening!

Haru,
I'm not too sure about others, but we'll be sending invitations out about 6 weeks before the banquet. Is that the normal practice?

hi LS,
yeah, i think me too, about 6 weeks before...

i will def have to dress up e terrace or it may end up looking very bare. the ballroom on e other hand already looks charming on its own, so i think no need to splurge too much. and the ceiling is also not too high, so just be careful not to have the arch too high!

hi haru,

For me, i already sent out my invite to friends 2 weeks ago, and that's 12 weeks in advance! Middle of next month, then i will send out my invite to my relatives & colleagues.

Actually i know you may find that my invite for friends comes a bit too early. But i was worried
as the main bulk of my invites goes to friends, so i really need them to 'chop' the date for me.
Now at least seeing the response, i am less worried liaoz coz more prepared mah. Also to note, many of my friends do not RSVP and I took some time to chase for replies (now still in progress!).

U may think 3 months are too advance but in my case, I already hv a handful of frenz who can tell me they cannot attend with all sort of reasons!
So i guess it do help to eliminate who are sincere to attend and who r not. Initially i planned 5 tables for frenz, now got only 4 tables, so left wif 1 table unfilled. I will give tis table to my hubby side to invite more of his colleagues later on.

As for mailing the cards, I will post them out in 4 weeks in advance!

super busy at work today man, think i continue like that gona need a real holiday...

i think locals do not have a habit of RSVP-ing. so we have to end up calling them. but i think if u give out e cards personally, they can normally tell you immediately if they can make it.

Hi Ceceli

Yes goodwood has 2 solemnisation areas, both are beside the pool. They have 2 pools, mayfair and the main pool. Both packages let you hold your ceremony right beside the pool. The packages shd costs > $1000 but are very worth it. Their food are better than some other hotel's solemnisation ceremony that I went to....

Pls call their banquet number on their website (banquet/wedding page). It will be faster as sometime they are short handed. you will not regret it. Some of us here in this forum also had or are having our solemnisation there.

hope this helps

hi haru

I sent mine about 6weeks before the banquet but I did informed my friends verbally before that to let them keep that day for me....

haru are you having your banquet at terrace or ballroom?

hello all

Just wondering if anyone has recent pics of the ballroom done up? I'll be having my dinner on the 30th Sept, but have not gone for any meetings with Jeannie yet...

HI all...
Things have been pretty quiet around here. Let's shake things up, shall we??

All GWP brides and grooms: Where are you at in your preparations for your wedding? Who else is considering getting additional flowers? How are your invitation cards coming along? Are you having trouble making seating arrangements?

Hello ladies! hello angel!
remember me? in FRF thread!! wat a coincidence to find u here. and guess wat i'm thinkg of GWP too! i'm so happy to see u..
i've got the latest pkg plus some photo, will fwd it to u.

HI angel...

The packages we sign for are custom created for each couple depending on our needs. Consult the banquet sales office and have them email package details. Also, depending on the number of tables you are planning to have and elaborateness of the banquet and the date of your wedding, packages differ. So, best to check with them. Rule of thumb: NEGOTIATE. This is true for any hotel you enquire at. Us GWP brides and grooms here on this thread stand by our choice. We know we made the right decision with GWP and we hope you will join us too!!

Hi LS,
enlighten me pls, diana has sent me 3 types of pkgs-edwardian, victorian & georgian. my understanding is that tudor can hold max 23tbls?

And according to her, there is a new ballroom coming up end of this year wif a bigger capacity of 40tbls. anyone knows abt this?

how do u custom ur wedding pkg? is it in term of food??? yes i'd very much appreciated if all ladies here can advise angel & myself the kinds of perks can we fight for??? tks tks!!

hi jocester,
welcome welcome!! we are GWP brides so naturally we are all praises for GWP,hehehhe...but of coz not everyone appreciates the charm that GWP exudes, its a very english/victorian charm that made us chose the hotel. some brides may find that alil to traditional (we just call it classy!), and mite prefer the newer 5-star hotels. like LS mentioned,do try to get what you really want.always ask. never ask, never know.=P

hi LS,
yeah, seems like the thread a lil slow these few days yea?i've been really busy myself so not much time to post messages. ok here are my updates:

i just discussed the invitation wordings with my friend this afternoon, aiming to finalize and send for printing within the next week or so.

i am def planning to use additional flowers coz me using terrace. but its a matter of how much budget i have, coz while e decor is really impt, i dun hv a big budget for my flowers...so hopefully i can work out something practical with the GWP florist too. will have to meet up with them really soon.

i have small concern bout some of my guests as they are foreigners. i'm trying to think about how to tell them (politely) that we would rather ang pow than gifts which they practice at their home country...hmm..dun wana be rude at the same time. gues i wil just tell my other friends and hopefully they will share that with the angmohs..=P

i will be gg for next gown fitting and make-up trial in about 2-3 weeks time. i will have to do-up my EG coz stil have emblishments that have yet to be added on...wil prob sort that one out when i go for fitting..

really starting to feel the date drawing near....

hey noscon,
can i just ask if you actually had to top up for the banquet? (meaning after the angpow gifts). if its too sensitive, its ok. i totally understand. =>

hi jocester, So happy to see u here too. Thanks for the wedding package. U also considering this pretty place.. My sis recommended me this place cos she been to one of the ballroom and full of praises but so far, i havent been to this place to see. Maybe find 1 day to go down..

hi L.S. thanks for your advise. I will remember to negotiate.. pls let us know what are the perks that jocester and i can request fr them. eg did u manage to get another free night hotel stay? thanks..

haru,

Hmmm... your idea seems to be the most logical: you could quietly ask your local colleagues to very tactfully spread the word to your foreign colleagues about wedding gifts. It is a rather sensitive issue, so even if they buy you a gift instead of giving a red packet, must also appreciate lah... It's the thought that went into it. It's always nice when people give money! I know how you feel and most bridal couples will feel the same way.

Flowers... Do update us when you meet with the GWP florist. We too will have to discuss the issue of additional flowers for our wedding, colour scheme, coordination with napkins and tablecloth, etc. And like you, we don't have a very large budget for additional flowers. I've been pouring over mag after mag for ideas, but I would think it'll be best to consult with them 1st about what they are able to provide.

Our next fitting will be next week. All my gowns and his suits have been confirmed and we're preparing for our studio photography in mid June. My gosh!! That's 2 weeks away! Have yet to have my trial make-up done! I actually went for a trial facial for a $8 yesterday. Of course, the consultants at the spa tried to get me to sign up for one of their packages, but I turned them down. Will have to consider all options before I make up my mind. But it was a very nice experience, though. Most relaxing. Have 2 weddings to attend this weekend. Don't think my MUA will have the time to squeeze me into her schedule for my trial make-up. Perhaps next week when there is yet another wedding I have to attend!

invitations... You're moving along very nicely!! It's all taking shape now, isn't it?? Happy for you that you and your hubby managed to find and order the invitation card that you truly love. We'll be getting ours in about 13 days!! All printed and ready for us to assemble together. Ribbons and all. So very exciting!!!

Have you had your food tasting?? If yes, how did it go? We won't have ours till late Sept or early Oct.

Hi Jocester,

GWP will have a new ballroom? Really? How can i find out more infor abt that?

GWP is renovating the lobby.. anyone has any idea they will also renovate its ballroom?

hi LS,
we plan to go for the food tasting in july.i have a weird logic that if we go now, the food mite not really be the same later!hahahahha....

i signed up a facial package which i have not really used,and now i'm thinkin that i didnt really need it...sigh...but already spent so much on it,just enjoy it lah!

i will try and see if hubby is free to visit florist with me next weekend. this weekend i'll be busy receiving some items for e house and hubby is working over the weekend due to some events..=<

angel and joycester,

I'm unaware of this new ballroom that Diana mentioned. The Tudor Ballroom can hold a max. of 24 tables, I think. Have you gone down to GWP for a chat with their sales coordinator? Take a look around the place and enjoy its victorian charm! Truly lovely. When are your gals considering having your banquet? This is important as your bargaining power for additional perks will depend on whether the date you have chosen is considered an auspicious one or not. Also, do be mindful of GWP's position as a well established 5-star hotel and be tactful when you negotiate - esp. if you already have your heart set on GWP. Ask lots of questions and have them show you the bridal suites. There are several different suites that GWP uses as bridal suites. If you are comfortable with their service and what they are offerring you after all that, then go ahead and sign on the dotted line.

The perks you and your fiance get will ultimately depend on how you negotiate. That's a BIG hint. There are couples on this thread who did receive the additional night's stay and then there are those who didn't. But then again, this could be because of many reasons (e.g. the date of the banquet - the more auspicious the date, chances are you'll have to make do with less perks). Business, they will say.

But, this is all part of the process we all go through as part of the preparations for our big day! It should be a happy experience. You must also do your homework and check with other hotels before you make up your mind. That will also give you the added edge when you finally decide on your venue. Good luck!!!

hi haru

sorry for the delay..... I did not have to top up. I have abt 1K in access but this depends on the generosity of your relatives as well as friends.

have a good time preparing for your wedding and yeah is GW hvg a new ballroom?

hi LS

thanks.... now it's your turn to "mei mei" liao... so exciting!!!

I was the most excited when I went for my PS so hope you have a good time too...
remember to share your card pic when they come.

hi LS &amp; haru, at this moment, i have completed my PS, photo selection &amp; inserts printing, and i'll be having my foodtasting session this Thurs. My AD is <2mths away and i will be focusing on the deco work and guest list. I'm tinking to add some additional deco, not necessary be flowers. I want sth more glittering and glam (if possible) even though it's a small wedding. Now pending for the quotes from the deco co. Will look at the budget 1st. I'll be renting the projector and making a montage. So these are extra costs already. Dun wan to overspend for just a few hrs on that nite, wld rather save the $$ for my HM...

hi shymz, angel &amp; joycester, Welcome! As for perks wise, like LS mentioned, it's depend on the date you choose! If it's hot date, you hv less to bargain. As for me, I have less perks compared to some who booked earlier. I do find GWP quite strict in giving perks. I hv no free flow of beer, no waiver of corkage charges for wine, no free usage of projector etc. You shld also see their invitation card and guest book which most bride would agree not-that-fantastic. Despite that, i still booked with GWP bcoz of it's prominent heritage, classic character and central location. Also, it's not easy for one to get a Ballrm at a 5-star hotel for a small wedding. Other hotels will only give function rm. So do negotiate to your needs before signing the contract and afterthat you will not be able to bargain anymore.

Btw, i didnt know there's a new ballroom! Let me check out the place this Thurs &amp; d progress of reno &amp; update u all again!

I m new to tis thread.
Although the ballroom cn hold up to 23tables..
but some tables wil be behind the pillar right?
cn any1 advice me on this?
Thank you so much

hi snowy_casper, from the way i see the floor plan, there isnt any pillar blocking... Btw, forget to add tat i wld advise not to have the max no. of tables. The table-to-table space will be v tight. I hv seen the setup with 24 tables before and some chairs at the entrance will "eat" into the reception corridor. It gives the squeezy look lor.

Ladies

and hello to snow casper, angel and jocester. sorry if i left out any

casper
im not sure abt ballrm as i took terrace.

For table no, my personal opinion for terrace is 18 is the best. Remember to get them to let the isle wide enough for the both of you else it will look very awkward when you march in. I did that luckily as it is the advice given to me from an ex GW bride. I agreed shd watch this as sometimes in order to squeeze the tables, they made the isle smaller.
heehee some personal opinions

cookiencream

so excited for youI any PS photo to share? Are you doing renov now? Is your wedding n a sat? My friend is hvg her wedding the day after yours at terrace.

cookie,

I hope you had a great time during your PS! I'll make darn sure I do!! Haha...

I agree with you about the no. of tables the ballroom can hold. Sure, it may state 24, but we also have to bear in mind the comfort of our guests. My brother also had his wedding banquet at the Tudor Ballroom several years ago and he had 26 tables. Had to use the 2 wings on the left and right sides of the main ballroom, so some tables were blocked by the pillars. Definitely not going to do that!! So glad we're only going to have 18 tables.

casper,
Take a trip down to GWP with your fiance and check it out!! The coordinators there will show you the ballroom if you make an appointment. Don't forget to have them show you all the suites!! This is an exciting time for brides-to-be... I recall the time my fiance and I went down to GWP to speak to our coordinator. Very enjoyable indeed!

hi noscon, my hse reno already completed last year. Hubby &amp; me hv been staying in the new hse for nearly a year. Now I only left wif wedding issues. I hv asked a frenz to scan my PS photos, will upload &amp; share when done. My AD falls on a Friday, hopefully the guests will turn up punctually. Do u hv any prob wif starting the banquet on time?

hi LS, when yr PS? I found the best part of PS was to see myself looking so diff and... heehee pretty lah! But poor hubby...hv to wait for hours for every makeup. Overall, my PS quite fun lah although i hv some crop-ups here &amp; there. Do think of yr venues for yr outdoor shoots, else the photographer usually will bring u to the usual spots such as sentosa. I hd my PS on a PH and i hv limited places for PS at Sentosa due to the crowd.

hi noscon,
wow!!! good for you!e majority of my guests are friends, but I think we will leave it to God to provide for our banquet! but its nice to hear that you guys had excess.=P

hey ladies,
wah, the thread suddenly becoming very busy! thats nice to see.. more things to chat chat..hhaaha...

hey cookiencream,
yeah,me gona have to personally request my friends to come early or on time as we need to do the Holy Matrimony which will already take about 30-45 mins. its e most impt part of the whole weddding so i really dun want pple walking in halfway during e ceremony.

our PS only in July then we will pick e photos the very same weekend. so we still have some time, but can really feel time just zipping by! hey cookiencream, can share some photos with us?

cookie,
Yah... very excited lah! But will not be doing much in terms of outdoor photography. Just around the Bugis area where the boutique is located. Perhaps the shophouses. Quite nice actually! Can't wait.

hi L.S., cookieNcream, noscon and the rest..

thanks for the wonderful suggestions and advise. U all are so helpful. At least i know what i can request and bargain..
my AD should be in May'06 but actual date still waiting to be confirmed. Actually i prefer friday cos lower price but fh prefer sat. Its so tough to make decision.. Maybe toss a coin and decide. haha

i shld be getting extra flower petals to throw all ard. will be meeting bee tin from floralbell. tok to her on fone, sounds v nice lady.
well, hopes the lobby renov will be done by end of the mth so the pastry counters wun be outside the ballrm recept! i left barely 4 wks to go! haven prepare accessories, have to decide to make or to buy, source for angbao boxes, guest bk, maybe have to buy a pair of gold heels to match teadress, guest list in a mess, haven plan AD program, hse not ready....argh....help!

hello ladies,
tks for sharing..i din know abt the new ballroom until the co-odinator mentioned abt it when she replied my email. Apparently the artist impression draft is not avail as yet. The same pkg applies but min tbls will be increased. keep u gals posted if i hear anythg again. =)

hi little bride,
good time to go shop shop coz its GSS!! my mum told me we shouldnt use ang pow box coz pple mite just take the whole box away.she wants us to personally keep the angpows...gosh,i wonder if its even poss even if mum and dad helps to keep the angpows...

i bot a lovely pair of gold heels from NineWest,if you have a budget do take a look there, they have really elegant shoes there.

isn't ur BS providing the accessories? i think i wont use too much, just a simple necklace, earrings..etc.

well, dun worry, everything will fall nicely into place. just relax and enjoy the preparation!

Haru &amp; little bride, my BS will not provide me the accessories on AD, so i hv to get my own. I bot some beaded accessories at CK Tangs. As for ang bao box, i will be making one myself. My opinion is ang bao box will be useful when guests esp yr frenz cant find u to pass u the angbao (maybe u r in yr bridal suite). Dun tink they will pass to yr parents or HB unless they knew them personally. For security wise, wat i intend to do is to stick the box firmly to the recept table to make it difficult for anyone who attempt to remove. Heehee.

Littlebride, u can try to priortise yr TO-DO list and work it out. Then u wont be panicky when nearer to date. Can ask yr bridemaids to help out if u cant cope. Meantime try to relax. dun get strezz up!

hi haru

I went to Mauritius twice... the first time I stayed in Le CoCo, second time I stayed in hilton. I can't comment for Legends but its std shd be between Le CoCo and hilton. Usu air mauritius will have packages with Le Co Co and Legends. We esp requested for Hilton cos a local there said it's good. I think to go Mauritus, its impt to choose a hotel not too far out or isolated else you will spend quite some time travelling as Mauritius is 5 times bigger than spore...

also need to find out what is a good season to go esp they hv cyclone and rainy seasons...

are you gg there for hm?

hi noscon,
thanks, can u advise if end aug/early sep is a good time to go?

hi cookiencream,
gosh, i gota try to convince my mum to have the ang pow box, coz like what u said, we dun have much relatives for the banquet.dun think our friends wil wana pass to our parents!i hope she'll understand my point. she's so freaked out about the ang pow box going missing...

Hi haru, try to convince yr mum the ways of security and she may relent? Most imptly is tat you need to have trustworthy frenz who can safeguard yr ang bao box &amp; to deliver them to yr bridal suite safebox.

Hi angel, u r rite! sat and sun can only choose between Victorian and Georgian package. Edwardian package is only valid for mon-fri. If budget and the date is not an issue to u, choose Sat! More convenient! Too bad, budget is an issue to me...tat's y i choose a Fri. Heehee.

Hi all, i'm going to foodtasting tonite! Hope the food will be nice!

hi haru

yeah it's nearing the end of "winter" there and coming to "summer" so not so much rain....

they have beautiful beaches!!!
try underwater snorkelling or diving cos their sea so clean and got many corals... I prefer the eastern part of the island's sea as I think they have more sea creatures there but I may be wrong as I only went twice....

hi angel
I may be wrong cos so long never see menu liao and I heard there is a slight change in some stuff from 2004 package... opps.... :P