Goodwood Park Hotel

hi litle bride,
i checked with hollywood secrets, about $90+ for hair and make-up. i'm really confused coz i rather spend the money on treating our families for a really nice meal after the ROM. coz the ROM is not so much a special occassion for us, its more for the paper that we need to give to HDB for our house...anyone got cheap and good MUA an hairstylist to recommended?My budget quite low...

Hi CookienCream,
Does the Loreal mask make ur face look "whiter" or brighter? coz i'm quite tanned, will look funny if my face become whiter, while my body looks tanned...=P

hi cookiencream,
where are you doing ur facials?

hi noscon,
our ROM is 20 May..very soon..have already booked appt for mani/pedi/haircut..only make-up not yet...i'm soooo confused!!

Hi Lindy, its up to u loh. unless u can do it urself n not so particular, then can save up the money. $90 is not ex for bridal makeup. u still can spend this money n treat ur families at the same time. once in a lifetime mah. since u already wear nice gown n nice ring, y not add on some nice makeup n hairdo?
juz my advise lah.

noscon, r u playing montage during ur dinner? where u got the projector from?

hi little bride,
thanks for your opinions! yeah,i agree, since gon dress up already, mite as well doll up!hahhaa..

my fiance just told me to do my own make-up coz he doesnt like how those MUA make the make-up really heavy, he likes my natural look,hahahah...and i dun really use much make-up.so i gues i mite just visit my hairstylist that morn and do my own make-up!

our ROM ceremony at our church office is at 3pm.i think it wil finish by 330pm. wondering where i can bring our families, about 20pax to for light makan, such as high tea. not too expensive (or my FMIL will scold!) and pref somewhere near or at suntec city....any suggestions?

Thank you CookienCream! ;)

little bride
yes im playing.... i got the projector from GW....
Are you?

lindy
you cn test out the make up artiste skills by hvg a trial run first...
but of course at extra costs.... just in case cos u said u dun want heavy makeup...

i like millenia walk better cos quieter but then again... do they have crystal jade there at suntec... ?

Lindy, my frenz commented that my complexion looked better and radiant after using that Loreal mask. Of course, there was some whitening effect since it's a whitening mask...

As for salon, i not v particular wif any brand. So i chose the one near my place so tat i can easily pop over the weekend, more convenient for me.

If yr complexion is relatively not bad, I think u neednt worry too much, coz makeup will make u look "mei mei" on yr day. More impt, think positively and u will look v bright and radiant on the day itself! Having a radiant smile is most impt on yr ROM day and it will definitely lit up yr face greatly!

hi noscon,
one more day!!!!! you must be busy busy BUT happy happy !!!!

i'm now scouting around for nice ring pillow, guest book,bouquets.bridal studio providing hand bouquet but i wana prepare my own, just in case..know of any good places to get lovely ring pillow,etc? tot of making my own ring pillow with own fabric,but i dun think my workmanship that good....hahahahah

HI ladies...
Been so very busy. Unreal. Thanks for sharing your comments about masks, facials, etc... I've decided to DIY my skincare for my PS in June. If I'm not too pleased with the results, then i'll consider getting a facial package prior to my wedding in Nov.

noscon...
Here comes the bride! Here comes the bride!

Have a wonderful wedding and do enjoy yourself!!!

Hi noscon,
GWP one is charging at $250 rite? v ex leh.
ur wedding tomolo! congrats! all the best, relax n enjoy!

i shld be going down to floralbell 1 day to discuss abt my floral decor. the lady v nice n patient while toking to her on fone.

Lindy, i can recommend mine to u. i got someone to make my ring pillow w names n date sew on it. i tink abt $48, depending on the number of letters loh. i tink juz the pillow itself costs abt $20+ or $30+. u send me email then i send u her contacts n website. i can show u my ring pillow also.

noscon is the one getting married, but i'm e one feeling e excitement!hahahha....

hi little bride,
wow! would b great if you email me e details :[email protected] Thanks!!
can you also choose e fabric and design?

so wat are you ladies up to this weekend??
i'll be meetin a friend i've not met for ages to discuss about the flowers n decor(wana leave tis to someone who is much better at it, coz i am totally clueless), bring mum for nice dinner (Mothers' Day) and try to squeeze in time to go for power walk..gota work half day on sunday..

hi!!!
can anyone recommend a good and affordable florist for my small bouquet for our ROM? am thinkin of doing my own, but i dun really noe how to...

Hi Lindy,
she has a few designs to choose from, fabric standard i tink, u onli choose the color. u can also give her ideas or give her the materials u wan to use.
wait till weekend then i send to u from home.
i got my ROM bouquet from raffles city basement a shop call ah huay ah huay. v nice bouquet she made for me.
can show u the pic as well when i email u. normal pricing i not sure cos mine is on VD, n it costs $150!

hi little bride,
what a name!ah huay ah huay!wow, $150 is way out of my budget...was hoping to keep it to $50,thats why tot of doing my own.hahaha....but i would love to see ur bouquet! coz am thinikin of doing my own for PS and AD as well. thanks!

HI Lindy, mine so ex cos VD mah. usual price i not sure, u got to check it out there.
for ROM maybe u can, but AD got time meh? haha. or maybe u ask a fren to help.

hi littlebride,
sorry for my ignorance..what is VD?

hi LS,
i just brot my mum out for nice makan at Crystal Jade, mum has everything..so really nothing she needs at the moment!

i didnt do any powerwalking today,maybe tom. hope i will stop procrastinating....hope i wil actualy get my butt moving a lil more tom evening..

can't wait for next weekend to visit my hairstylist! i love going to the salon, always walk out feeling refreshed after a nice haircut/colour.n e ambience of my salon really nice. love to just there and slowly watch my hair brot back to life!hahahha....

i'm really starting to feel e real excitement of the wedding...heheheh...how about e rest of you??

Noscon,
how was e wedding??? can't wait to hear from you about the whole experience. especially you are the only other one of the GWP brides here using the Terrace. share some pix of you in ur lovely gowns as well if you can too ya?

lindy,

VD means Valentine's Day! Thought of getting my mum a voucher at a nail salon. Buy her some pampering! Hehehe...

I just came back from power walking!! Woke up very early this morning and left the house. Good thing too! Was gone for more than an hour, and now that I'm home, it looks like its gonna rain buckets.

My studio photography is in a month. Have began final preparations for my skin and body (hence the power walking). Will not be going for facials, but rather, DIY with home facial masks (both the whitening kind and the anti-aging kind). Also bought some heavy duty body moisturizer - Nivea Firming Body Lotion (absolutely LOVE it) and Nivea Whitening Body Lotion. Using them religiously. Trying to take care of my hands and nails too - bought Collagen hand cream from Watsons and using them at least twice a day on my hands and well as feet.

I really hope I am disciplined enough to keep up this beauty routine till mid June! Then have to maintain till wedding in Nov!!

thanks for your good wishes!!! Everything went well and great!

Had a really good time and it was quite relaxing. A lot of people like the band....
Food was quite good even though my hubby and I ate left overs from the banquet....

HI noscon!!!

So glad to know you had a good experience at GWP! The bride and groom ALWAYS have left-overs! Hahaha... SO, tell us, which suite did you and your husband end up with? How did it compare with the Tower Suite?

LS
i was at the junior suite overlooking the mayfair pool... quite nice and newer... got 2 bathrooms which cn be handy for me and my helpers who went there to bathe in the afternoon.

Tower suite is longish but in terms of size I think junior is a bit bigger... or ard the same. But i think GW suites give me a old feeling, which I think comes naturally as it is a heritage building..

They are renovating their reception area now....

HI noscon,

Congratulations!!! Thrilled for you!

The GWP reception area was in bad need of renovations. It was getting quite shabby actually. Will try to request from Jeanie for the Jr Suite since it has 2 bathrooms and is a little more spacious. Thanks!!

We're getting ready for for our PS in June. Fitting at the end of this week! Have to go shopping for shoes this Thurs!

hi noscon,
wow!!! so happy for you. i think at e end of the day, doesnt matter which suite as long as u are with your hubby!

Hi LS,
good for you!!! i didnt do any workouts this weekend, shucks...i'm just a bum!!!
kao_angry.gif
i think i'll try to go running/walking sometime soon...gosh, my fiance who is always procrastinating too doesnt help at all..he'd rather bum around at home with some CSI dvd!!!hahahah..

Hi noscon, I was at GWP last friday evening to collect my cards and managed to peep into yr terrace setup. Heehee... Quite nice lah.
Now i hv a better picture of getting on with my layout. Also saw the renovation still on-going @ d reception area. Hope that it can finish soon.

LS and lindy

Thanks for your good wishes!
I was wondering whether the first floor suite(below mine) will be better as it will open directly to the mayfair pool? Maybe u gals can go and see.... But not good if you want complete privacy as pple walking by will be able to see you...

cookiencream
did u see me? or the two of us?
I only saw one outsider holding a baby at the reception, couldnt be you!

yeah my friend whos havng her wedding at terrace on 30th Jul went to collect her cards on sat. Is yours peach or red cards?

Can't believe I'm still up! Have to sleep soon, but my gosh... SO much work!! Bad for my health and not to mention MY SKIN! Sigh...

noscon,
You may be referring to the Mayfair Deluxe Suites. Those are VERY NICE! But I think my fiance and I will settle for the Jr Suite.

Lindy,
I'm trying my best to get in shape lah... Photography is very close now, and work is no help coz its so stressful!! And stress is BAD for the metabolic rate. I'm not one of those blessed women who don't have to workout to stay in shape. I HAVE to exercise, otherwise, I'd be a blimp! Life is so unfair sometimes...

hi LS,
i gues i'm blessed with a petite frame like my mum. so i've been petite and slim since young...but i do wana have better toned thighs and arms! i love those shapely arms with definition! i used to do some weights training but not anymore..sigh, so barely have anymore definition!hahahahah...

i just ate a huge cream puff from miki ojisan no mise last nite, so yummelicious!!!!wat am i doing????hahahha..

HI noscon,

Unfortunately, to upgrade to the Mayfair Deluxe Suite would require the bridal couple to fork out about $220/nite. Unless of course the coordinator has worked out a "deal" with the bridal couple - which in some cases do happen.(Or better yet, have a lobang at GWP)I would think it depends on the season also. Year-end and mid year weddings are popular, so chances are slim to upgrade for free.

Lindy,
Lucky you! I have to slog to stay in shape. Seriously. It's a pain sometimes...

Hi noscon,
welcome back from ur wedding. haha. not going for honeymoon?? i went to peep at ur setup also. v nice, like ur table setup as well, w the decor on the chairs n the flower petals on the table. i going to throw flower petals ard also. cant wait to c ur fotos! u had ur guests to throw flower petals izzit? saw those little baskets of petals on the chairs. if my bubble plan burst, tt is my alternative also.

u mean u got ur projector free? how did u?!? tot its impossible to get it free.

girls, those who having wedding at the tudor ballrm, i saw those pastry counters outside our recept area! oh gosh, hope they r gone during my wedding!

Hi noscon,

I not the one holding the baby lah, maybe it's little bride, she's there too! haahaahaa... When i peeped, nobody was inside leh...i was there ard 6pm.

Btw, juz like to check wif u if there's any underground carpark open for wedding guests? I notice that when i arrived at GWP, the carpark already quite occupied. Like this, how to accomodate my guests who are arriving ard 7pm?

And yes, that durian puff counter at the entrance area. Little bride, u better highlight to Irene on this issue. I dont like the idea of them outside the ballrm. Look v ugly for the reception.

LS
i see... it wd be heavenly to stay there!

littlebride
im gg for my hm tom... will be back in 8days! yeah my friends threw petals at me AND RIGHT in my face....! Wow... better ask yr friend to throw into the space just before you, not right into your face!!! a piece of advice.

yeah i neg for the projector... i just asked for it.... but different couple has different bargaining power so ....

cookienCream
you came on fri too?
so you saw the set up too?

no underground carpk... better advice your guests to arrive early cos it's free parking... they will not reserve them for wedding guests...except for one bridal car. It has been an issue raised before...

i guess we have remind our guests to arrive early to get a lot. we are planning to ask our guests to arrive by 6pm as we have our Holy Matrimony/solemnization at about 6:30pm..but as its mostly close friends, i will gently tell them that if they arrive and there are no lots, they may wana park at Far East beside or York Hotel..i gues its not really within our control if there are not enuf lots,eh?

Hi cookiencream, definitly not me! cos i m a baby myself. haha...:p
i arrived near 640pm. tot i was late but no one at the recept yet. heng. heehee. ya, carpark quite full, usually when we went on wkend afternoon, hubby still can park near the entrance, but tt day he have to park inside inside.
well, for the pastry counter, tink no choice izzit, they cant possibly move away for my wedding.
hope renov done by my wedding.

Hi noscon, haha, ur fren trying to sabo u izzit? but must be v fun for u? wau, u so li hai can get projector. last time jac din give me, now at this stage liao, dun tink irene will give me.

Hi Lindy, juz pray tt our guests dun complain to us. mine on wkday, ppl working, cant arrive early also.

girls, i got my PS cd back liao. heehee....;) so excited

Ya, the renovated cafe is very nice and now GWP is renovating its lobby. Anyone has any idea where will be the next place to be renovated? Will they renovate it's ballroom? :p

Hi Lindy, no prob, but must wait till i got time to load them online. my hse pc having probs so must go hubby hse do.
when done then i inform u all.

hi littlebride, u mean yr PS use digital camera one ar? Mine use analog one wor... went to c the photo ydaz. Sadly, didnt meet my expectation. so only top up 5 photos. My coordinator saw me not v happy, so dont dare to push me too much.
The indoor one were good, but the outdoor ones were not that fantastic. Didnt have that unqiue angle that i wanted. Sigh... now i still need to scan the photos for montage.

Noscon, does the hotel use VCD/DVD player with your projector? Can share any guest feedback & wat dishes on yr menu? Me planning to go foodtasting end of May. thx.

hi cookie,
who was ur photographer?mayb you can consider doing another PS with another photographer if you have the budget...coz photos are the only tangible momentos...but its up to you lar..

Hi cookiencream, my indoor used film, outdoor used a mixture of film n digital. so those film ones, the bridal shop will scan into tif format n give me together w the digtal ones.

wau, i m next on the list! nervous n stressed! haha

Oh gosh, i forget noscon on HM... no wonder no reply...

hi lindy, my photographer from my BS. Actually it's not really very bad, but it didnt excite me at all. I dont think my hubby will agree for another PS coz of $$ factor. Sigh, that's really dampen my moods and somemore now i am stress with getting invites. Quite a handful replied that they unable to attend and I have one empty table now. Seriously need to crack my brain who I can invite...

hi littlebride, i'm 1 mth after u. I am already nervous n stressed like u!!!

cookiencream,

My studio photography is set for mid next month! I'm nervous lah... I hope it turns out all right. How many tables will you be having for your banquet? My fiance and I are expecting no more than 18 - 20. Leaning more towards 18. But of course we have to send out more invitations to make up for those who will turn it down. It's difficult, we know! We too are worried about this. Have you thought about childhood friends? Former schoolmates? College-mates? Uni-mates? What about inviting more colleagues? Extended family members?