Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi EMF,
wow, its been quite awhile since we heard from you. hows all ur prep going?

hey ladies,
i'm going to T&C to collect our wedding bands (they've done e engraving) tonite!!! sooo happy!! only thing is that we exchange during ROM in May, then we wil not be wearing it again until our AD(Holy Matrimony) in Aug..think we will keep taking the ring out to admire it,hahahah!! i'm just really happy we finally got our rings and selected our wedding cards...

Hi ladies...

Yah, we love, love , LOVE the Mayfair Pool. Will work something out with GWP, I suppose. It's the exclusiveness of it that is so appealing. That, and the sheer beauty of the area, ambience... Sigh...

I received the photocopied version of my invitations from my U.S. based friend!! Everything looks just right! I looked through the text printed very carefully. So far, so good!

Any recommendations for a JP with a good sense of humour and who speaks eloquently?

hi EMF! long time no see

LS
i recommend the good old David Loh. He will acts as emcee as well.. he did for both me and my bro. My bro likes the way he livened up atmosphere so decided to engage him as well...

he did a no of times as GW too... can try him if you like the more experienced and chatty kind...

David Loh!! He is a wonderful JP! He made my solemnization so memoriable! He is so sincere & humorous. But he is very popular & super busy. Please quickly check with him!

Hi noscon & Lindy,

Yeah.. very busy recently. How is your wedding preparation?

hi EMF,
we went to collect our rings last nite, and my fiance bot his shoes for the ROM and AD.e staff at T&C was really nice too. they nicely wrapped our ring box with a lovely ribbon and gave us extra ribbon and another ring box meant for 2 rings for us to keep. really sweet of them.

i'm gg for my fitting for my tea dress which i'm using for ROM next tuesday. gona relax a lil e next few weeks until our ROM!

Hi EMF

I am getting married next fri so I guess stuff are more or less in place. I went to card n such to get my guestbook and will be gg to dentist to polish my teeth and doing last round of facial soon. also have to do my last round of alteration for gowns! then manicure and pedicure and such!

i hope everything will go smoothly.... have u selected your gowns?

Lindy
wow... time do pass v fast when you are spending money (for wedding) and having fun!

yeah and also keeping your face nice nice!

btw ladies

I recommend TG Goh if you guys are thinking of getting a MUA. I went to his salon a few times to discuss abt my makeup and hairdo and stuff and he very willingly accomodate my requests to change stuff and listen. Also he is really good and friendly.

I had a bad experience once during ROM when the MUA that I engaged did a not so gd job on me. I'm not blaming him or anything cos it's not that bad but it makes me realise the impt of Makeup and it can really make a difference so gals pls chk the "quality" or style of your MUA.

just sharing here...

Hi LS,
to be honest, we are pretty tight for the next 2 weeks, coz we "blessed" ourselves with nice rings, weddings cards,shoes,etc..hahhaha..so i think we will be going to nature parks for the next 2 weekends!

Hey nonscon,
gosh, it didnt occur to me how soon ur wedding is!!!u must be really excited!!

will u be preparing and doing up e car and terrace decor the day b4? would ur florist be the one responsible to do up the decoration for you on the AD?

i agree that a good MUA is impt. dun wana look like our make-up needs to be chiselled after the wedding!hahaa....i'm using Kenneth Lee, he came highly recommended and i think my hairstylist knows him and mentioned he does very natural looking make-up. exactly what i like!

hi everyone.. i m new here. I would like to give my comments GWP. i guess i wil agree with everyone tat the venue is unique however i really hav to comment abt the WEDDING COORDINATOR!!! they dun noe wat is cal the service industry at all.

It was a saturday when we just walk in and hopefully can mit up with the sales person as we have tried to call them for A WHOLE WEEK and NO ONE ans the call. the conceirge call them and told them to come down as we are already at the lobby, however they REFUSED to come down which pissed me n FH ALOT!! Is this how they service potential customers??

I really hope that they can look into their sales team in terms of service.. I dont think tis is how a hotel service staff shld work!! Her name is Jean (if i didnt rem wrongly)

Hope for those who are thinkin of goin to GWP hotel for weddin dinner, dun chose this coordinator.. she sounds irresponsible to me..

Hi JOanne!sorry to hear about ur experience. I can understand and if i were in ur shoes, i would be pretty upset as well. (i'm sorta in svc line, so i noe what u mean) For viewing of venues, it would be good if u can make an appt (so that they can book the time slot to attend only to you plus make sure the venues are avail for viewing), coz most days, e team may be busy organizing a wedding happening that day. and they do also hv corporate events as well to facilitate. I've met worst service staff at Raffles Hotel, i called to make an appt, and yet all they did was ask me to go view the venue myself! and i went there only to find that all the venues locked. so u can imagine..
kao_angry.gif

I'm serviced by Jeanie, and to be honest, so far, i'm pretty pleased with her service, and she reverts to my emails promptly. and she never fails to put a great smile.

nevertheless, i think all the GWP will agree with me that GWP is still a special venue with a lovely charm to it.

hi joanne

Sorry to hear what had happened! Perhaps they are short handed as well... But pls dun let that incident take away what may be a good venue for you.... Jeanie is a nice and cheerful coordinator.

Yeah maybe you can make an appt first so they can give you their undivided attention. I have been attended to by several of GW coord and they are all polite and friendly. But there was also one time when they were very busy and they did not reply my email and calls for close to 1 week. But later on, I discovered that they did not do that intentionally but because one of their staff left so they were a bit short handed.

I hope you can give them a try again. I dun think they meant to ignore you or not attend to you....

Lindy

My car decor will be done by bridal shop. I just pass them the design I like and they will try to set it up accordingly. For venue decor, my florist will do it...

yeah very near liao

yeah kenneth lee is good i heard too!
pls share pic next time. he will be doing your PS too?

Hi Joanne,

I din face the problem you met. Not sure why yr calls were not picked up. Did you call them during office hr? or call wif the right numbers? Why dont you try emailing them?

That was what i did! They responsed promptly to my email on the day i sent out and called me up shortly. Next, a coordinator was allocated to me and we fixed up an appointment to meet.

Although I agree with you that GWP has room for improvement in handling 'impromptu' customers, but i think they are seriously short-handed.

Juz to share that during my past days in hunting a hotel, not every hotel coordinators work on weekend, unless they got appointment to meet up couples or they are busy preparing the weddg dinner on that day. So my best advice for you is to make an appointment beforehand with the coordinator.

I think probably your timing at GWP that day wasnt right as they might be busy in preparation.

Since u also agree that GWP is a unique place, y dont u just give them a 2nd chance? maybe u will realise that the incident was juz a pure misunderstanding...

HI ladies...

My fiance managed to speak with JP David Loh today. Looks like he's available to marry us!! Thanks for the recommendation. It seems he's an accquaintance of my fiance's brother. And highly sought after by couples.

noscon,
Here comes the bride... All dressed in white... Getting close and closer!! Good luck!!

Thanks LS! you too! You are going to enjoy yourself on your ROM cum Wedding Day! So you have decided to hold your solemnisation at Mayfair?

Ladies
have you tot of which songs for march in?

noscon,
Yes, I do hope when my time comes, everything will run smoothly! We're going to have our solemnisation ceremony at the Mayfair Pool. We're sure of that. Too romantic to pass up.

We're considering the song, 'This Is The Night' by Clay Aiken to march in. Romantic...

Hi noscon,

I'm still selecting the songs, might be using two of the following:
1. Angels brought me here (Guy Sebastian)
2. Endless Love (Diana Ross & Lionel Richie)
3. I finally found someone (Barbra Streisand & Bryan Adam)
4. When You tell me that you love me (Diana Ross)
5. I'll be loving you forever (Westlife)

I decide to drop the song "From this Moment On" by Shain Twain coz it's simply overused. Dont hv that special effect if pple hear this too often. Juz my 2 cents worth!

Btw, does GWP provide any 1st dish song? Until now I still cant find any suitable 1st dish song yet.

hi nonscon,
have u compiled ur music?i think if do you do not have live band, better to compile ur own then let the hotel play their music...we'll either be getting live jazz band or compiling our own music..

i'll be using a track (havent decided which one) from one of our many new age/jazz/chillout collections..=P

guys wow... you guys all very prepared! I only start thinking abt this 2 wks ago...

Thanks for sharing

LS
your hubby is ang moh isit? sorry I dun recognise the title of the song. Maybe I will recognise it when I hear it..

cookiencream
their 1st dish is "victory" by bond. bond dunno wat... yeah i agreed abt the Shain Twain part...

The songs you chose r quite nice..

lindy and ladies
I'm using a jazz band (they played a few times in GW too so dun need to coord them, they will do everything by themselves and coord with Jeanie personally) ... my march in song is sang by a acapella "What a wonderful world"... he has the actual singer's voice that's why we settle on that song... my 2nd march in is "She" cos hubby likes it...

I guess you are a music person so you have much expertise in order to compile your own songs?

The first dish is "Victory" so if you dun like, you can get your band to play somethng else or ask GW to chge song. I heard it sounds drama...

HI ladies,

noscon,
No lah. My fiance's local. As local as local can be. A romantic local though. Not the 'typical' Singaporean male (Hey, want to apply for HDB flat?) type.

Victory by Bond... I haven't heard it, but I'll go find out what it sounds like this weekend!!!

Hi nonscon,

I love "She"!!! its a fantastic song!!!! i love elvis costello's voice, really dreamy...hahaha...well, i do not have e jazz band in our package. so we're not sure if we should pay extra to have one, it'll be nice to have them in the terrace though, thats for sure. i would love to hear your review aft ur AD!

HI noscon,

the yam pink you toking abt is the same as the yam rose(lilac)?
so how u match the tablecloths n napkins?
do u have any pics of how ur flowers will looks like?

i haven choose my songs also....headache...
huh...maybe i go check out abt the victory song, if ok then juz take it. heehee...

lindy

thanks... ok will keep you informed abt the band performance.... actually I heard one before and we forbid guests making delication! hahaha Cos the band in charge asked us whether we want to let guests delicate songs or not.... it may be interesting for some couples but we sigh just want to keep things simple..

little bride
yeah yam = lilac color... i might be hvg all white table cloth and napkin, this depends on your floral arrangement too eg if you take red roses, then best not to take peach color tablecloth cos color clashes...

i dun hv a pic but try to imagine light purple, pink and peach color together...

all the best to you too!!

noscon,

I've been looking thru bridal mags after bridal mags... I'm starting to really like the yam rose very much... Have to speak to the GWP florist to see what they can do with the floral arrangements. You've engaged a florist that's separate from GWP to handle your decor, ya?? How did you get them to coordinate? Both being from different companies and all that.

hi LS

yeah yam really in this year I heard from a couple of florist... I engaged 3 different florists for diff part of wedding but all of them wanted extra $$ for yam roses as it is popular or harder to get...

yes i engaged greenpt. They have experience decorating GW before so they are quite experienced and they will liaise directly with your coord concerning details and time of setup etc so we are very confident in them since they done it there a few times... i think Jeanie also knew them.

For a previous florist which I consulted, since she has not seen the tudor terrace before, she said she will come and view the venue first before giving me a quote and all this is after I put a deposit of a few hundred...

so are you planning to add on something?

LS

but maybe you can ask floralbell.... there is always a chance they will give yam roses at no extra cost!

Happy Labour day! still labouring here.... work..@@@@

noscon,

Working on MAY DAY? You must be in the service industry, ya? I am too (sort of), but thankfully, I get public hols off!

I will check out florabell after consultation with Jeanie. Will try not to overspend on flowers, but... Aiyoh! It's really difficult since flowers create the whole atmosphere! They set the mood. What exactly does GWP provide? 6 flower stands along the centre aisle, ya? then 2 on the stage? What about the sides of the ballroom/terrace?

i miss e weekend...i spent the weekend painting our new home, and we are almost done! so we can now start to shop for furnishings...have a super week ahead!

Hi LS, me too. tinking of changing to yam roses. heehee. tt day my office pantry area had a table arrangement of the yam roses matched w bright pink gerbaras, quite nice. but i wun choose this kind of bright combinations. will prefer to match w white color. but wonders how it will looks like under the yellow light, scared the effect will be pale.
GWP provides 8 floral stands. 4 along the aisle, in a zigzag manner. 2 on stage n another 2 at the entrance between the recept n the ballrm. terrace i no idea.

noscon, hope i will have a chance to peek into ur ballrm this fri!

i'm having our ROM at our church office in about 2 weeks time. i already have a lovely tea dress from my bridal studio, but am just contemplating whether i should go have my make up and hair done coz i'm thinking that its gona be just a 15 minutes process and only our family present, so wondering if its worth the time and money....coz for us, the AD is the important event with the Holy Matrimony....

if so,where is a place that I can arrange for cheap and natural looking make-up and hair?

LS
no lah not in svr line but rushing project.... sigh

Lindy
Wow must be exciting for you too... personally i will see get makeup cos when i show my rom pic to others, i still want to look pretty pretty... heehee
My mua for rom is $150 but I dun think he is really that good so I dare not recommend to you..

yeah I'm excited and nervous. nervous abt what might go wrong. i just went to picked up my gown and do last min alteration...

busy busy later my hubby n i r gg to meet the helpers and have a little pre wedding meeting to see who doing what... then tml hvg dinner with relatives, do nail, pick up earrings and so many stuff to do!!@

but 1 thing is im v v pleased with GW service and their prompt emails to all my queries... thanks to Jeanie!

little bride
you are right to say how wd those flowers look under the yellow light... that's why i think some girls chose red roses cos it's a color that cn still show their color under yellow light....

yeah pls feel free to come and visit my banquet place... my florist combination is purple pink and beige with green leaves. Not to be confused with those given by hotel. a good gauge is to see my topiary trees = flower stands.

Hope to see you too!

noscon...

My fiance and I might just pop by this Saturday to see how the floral set up is like. Thanks!!

You mean we get to choose which suite we would like?? For real? I thought GWP will assign the suite on the day itself. Do let us know so we can be selective! Hehehe.. Which suite do you and your fiance have in mind?

littlebride,
Thanks for the info. I'm clueless when it comes to flowers lah. Need all the help I can get!

LADIES...
Need your help (feedback actually). I'm thinking of buying a facial package to help prep my skin for our PS in mid June. But I don't wish to spend too much. What's a good price range to work around?? How often must we go for facials? Once every 2 weeks? Once a week? I've only got 6 weeks before our PS. Would any of you recommend, instead of a facial package, home (DIY) facial masks? I'm very tempted to buy the L'OREAL Visible Results facial masks at Watsons. They have it on sale now at only $29.90 for a pack of 5. One more question: Have any of you tried the Bioessence Radiant Youth Essence? Comments?

LS

mine is on fri nite... not sat... sure pop by

I dun noe which suite to get cos I only stayed at the tower suite before. No lah I thought if you request it, maybe Jeanie can try to get it.... but still based on whats available..

what is your budget for mask? Are you thinkg of off the shelf or those in salon?

noscon,
I don't mind spending up tp $40 or so on DIY facial masks (off the shelf) for a pack of 5. SKII is very expensive lah.

How was the Tower Suite? Did it have 2 bathrooms? I understand it's a rather 'long' suite, is it not?

hi noscon,
thanks! i wil scout around for mu and hair, maybe hollywood secrets...

i can really feel ur excitement, noscon!!i am already planning to take 2 days leave before my AD to decorate car, venue, pick up gowns, suits. and do my nails, body scrub, massage e day before. i wil also have to go pay respect to my future father-in-law who is deceased. so after that, its rush rush...mine is stil about 3 months away but i'm already starting to feel the adrenaline!

we will be getting our cards in about 4 weeks time. i think we will be finalizing guest list soon so that we can prepare for them to be given out by July..gosh, time flies! plus we are busy doing up the house. but my dad and bro-in-law have been tremendous help and they did all the painting for us, realy sweet.

Hi LS,
yah, no guarantees that they can give u the suite you want..its gona be dependent on availability..

Hi noscon,

I also can feel how excited and happy you are. I really hope that you can enjoy & have a memorable day.

I am glad to know that GWP provide good service. I hope that their service standard can maintain when my turn come.

LS

Have you considered neutrogena whitening mask? It is sold in watson. I quite like loreal prdt so can consider their prdt. I think I tried the watson mask once, you have to mix n put the paste on and can be quite messy taking it off.... just my opinion cos the paste will crack and come off in pieces...

the tower suite is the long one... have u view it before? it only has 1 toilet but it's pretty big as it is the older part of the hotel... older=bigger? hahaha but i enjoyed it though it is old... It is directly above the ballrm and terrace that's why some brides like it... dun hv to walk all the way to the ballrm across the reception area etc etc

hi Lindy

when is your actual ROM day? Very soon right?

I think you need to do more preparation than me...
My father in law is also very sick at the moment. But wow after you distribute the cards, everything will be in a BIG rush. My hubby just fell sick but still must grit his teeth and participate in all the preparation!

My jie mei just smsed me the method of "torture" for the groom.... just dun ask him to sing else we will all "suffer" hahaha
yeah so good when both families are supportive and help out in the new home.... you feel so thankful for them and they have experience so can advice...

EMF
Thanks and I hope the same for you.... But I think GW is continuously ungrading themselves so it might be grander and more beautiful in future.... They just finished renovating the cafe corner at the reception area....

Ladies
Have you gals prepared your accessories? Where do you get those?

Hi LS,

what kind of mask u intend to buy? Facial (cleasning), whitening, or soothing mask?

I hv used L'oreal White Perfect Deep Whitening Mask 5x10ml for my ROM before, i find it not bad coz got show some visible results. Even my guy frenz notice the differences after using this product.

Many of my lady colleagues swear by this pdt which is called the Borghese Fango Delicato/Borghese Active Mud, which i hv not try out yet. They claim that it helps to cleanse and moisture & after washing really feel v good. However, this might b slightly off yr budget, abt $70-$80. There is a thread in this forum that gives gd reviews on this product too.

At present, I using the Avene soothing mask, SKII whitening mask and Bodyshop mineral mask.On top of that, i hv a facial package at salon. I'm now going to salon at 3-4 weeks interval but intend to shorten to 2-3 weeks when my Big Day is nearer.

HI Lindy, of cos its worth it to da ban mei mei for ROM n take many fotos! rem to show us leh. heehee...

i din get to choose bridal suite cos they not available to view when i last went GWP. n my corodinator say if i choose liao then not available i will be v disappointed, best is dun c dun choose loh. :/

Hi noscon, 2 bad urs at terrace, mine at tudor, dun know if the flowers will look diff at both places or not. i tink i will decides betw pink or purple,to mix w white. headache... i wan a more romantic n dreamy fairy tale feeling...heehee.... hope can adds in the bubble effect.... but 1 thing to note is it wun stands out as much as red color in fotos loh.

i am gg for regular facial bout once every 3-4 weeks at Dikara Spa, not too bad. except that i have lots pores that are blocked so i always have to do extraction which wil leave my forehead a lil red and bumpy for bout a day or two. but after that my forehead really less dots..i'm also using kaolin clay mask, but am open to tryin new stuff that are good for my wedding!my forehead is quite a problem area. am looking for good mask,cleaning pdt to help clear my pores and clear my skin, rather than whiten my skin...wil check out e pdts that you ladies have recommended.