Goodwood Park Hotel

hi nonscon,
thanks! that would be great! u can email to me at [email protected]

Think i wil try to visit them next week. my friend did a rough draft of e design, just want to compliment the colour theme w e paper too.

Hi LS,
I think GWP may hv limited colours of e napkins etc, the only thing that could prob be more flexible to change is flowers. dun think e hotel wil bother to bring in special colours juz for us. if u want something special, how about bold colours?

i went for a 7km power walk at macritchie this aftn, got caught in a heavy downpour after that, rush home to prepare dinner for family, super duper tired now. i'm totally whacked.
i think i'll keep up with my power walk, used to do it with my boss every morning last year. then we stopped..becamed slacked...hahahha....

gota work tom early in e mornin for an event at 730am til noon, then at 5pm gota for another small event....

oh, one great news: we finally bot our wedding bands. Platinum bands from Tiffanys. wil be able to pick them up next week after engraving. spent a bomb, but we felt soo married just tryin them on.*bliss*
kao_love.gif

Lindy,

I enjoy power walking too! Except I do it at Eact Coast Park. It's invigorating!!

Yeah, I know what you mean about GWP being limited on the colour scheme. Wish they could provide more variety.

i had to work yesterday but i had a really good nites rest. am going for my next fitting tom!!! something to look forward too! can try my EG with the shoes i bought!

Hi all, i manage to find shoes for my Kua last weekend. To my surprise, those beaded ones are pretty "in" now isnt it? Aiyo, me long time didnt go shopping liaoz... so dunno wat's in the fashion now...I can see a lot at Isetan and Metro... but still looks v odd to me if wear for causal. Still need to hunt shoes for EG... I now countg down for PS in 2 weeks time...

6 May 2005 (Terrace) - noscon ([email protected])
28 Jun 2005 - little bride ([email protected])
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream([email protected])
20 Aug 2005 (Terrace) - Lindy ([email protected])
10 Sep 2005 - aradia ([email protected])
16 Sep 2005 - Bride_pride ([email protected])
18 Sep 2005 - Jeanniegirl ([email protected])
5 Nov 2005 - skylark ([email protected])
25 Nov 2005 - L.S.
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra ([email protected])
31 Dec 2005 - EMF
late 2006 - moo ([email protected])

Hi ladies....although I've never posted a thred before, I'm posting it to announce to the world my wife and my joy at having our wedding banquet at such a wonderful locale! We've been ROM-ed
for about 4 years now, and just the early part of this year have we decided to have the wedding itself! I must say, we would have never thought in our wildest dreams to have our wedding at such a dreamy location...and my heart pours out to those brides who aren't able to have an actual banquet at all due to circumstances. We should all feel very lucky to have such an opportunity. MY wife's fell in love with the location when she set eyes on it the first time. I'm just so glad that this special moment and event would be done together as a couple; from the choosing of the gown,to the design of the gown, to choosing the wedding banquet....to see their priest for our church wedding...I'm just beaming with joy and looking forward to our AD ...thanks for allowing me to add my date to the list!Cheers!

Hi bride pride,
kao_welcome.gif

so u wil be having ur AD at the ballroom? am sure your wife will be really happy and you are both looking forward to the big day!!!

HI bride pride,

Happy for the both of you! Welcome to the thread. We all feel very good about our choice of GWP as our venue to celebrate our big day! The atmosphere there is very unique. Though I don't find GWP as luxurious as hotels like the Four Seasons, the Regent, Ritz Carlton and Shangri La, it does have a very distinctive charm all its own. Very quaint and cosy. My fiance and I love the ambiance at GWP. Elegant and classy without being pretentious. I hope you'll come back often and chat with us! We're a warm bunch here!

Thanks ladies, for such a warm reception to my first post!
My AD is at the ballroom, we were thinking of doing it by the poolside initially, but we coldnt accomodate all our guests into the locale.
Also, we felt that the ballroom is sorta tucked away in a little nook, via the corridor, so dont realy get prying eyes or kaypo folks staring at you so akwardly. We loved the little reception area, that we thought wold be an ideal place for cocktails before the actual dinner. *Sigh*, actually we're quite delighted that there was a slot for us on that day as we were kinda late to book for the wedding.(we paid deposit only early part of this year)....all in all...everythings going pretty well i suppose!

6 May 2005 (Terrace) - noscon ([email protected])
28 Jun 2005 - little bride ([email protected])
29 Jul 2005 - cookieNcream([email protected])
20 Aug 2005 (Terrace) - Lindy ([email protected])
10 Sep 2005 - aradia ([email protected])
16 Sep 2005 - Bride_pride ([email protected])
18 Sep 2005 - Jeanniegirl ([email protected])
5 Nov 2005 - skylark ([email protected])
25 Nov 2005 - L.S. ([email protected])
23 Dec 2005 - eastlibra ([email protected])
31 Dec 2005 - EMF ([email protected])
late 2006 - moo ([email protected])

Welcome, bride pride! Like you, i also paid deposit only early part of this year ard Feb. I only started hunting for venue during late Dec last year and so relieved when search was over. Bcoz i realised at that time, many venues and dates were already booked before us. We almost gave up GWP bcoz all the dates we wanted from Sep-Dec were fully booked, until we compromised for the month of July. I was so scared i couldnt get GWP as it's quite to our liking and within our budget too.

Now, lookg at this thread, it getting so lively. It's really feel great that someone out there is also sharing the preparation with you. We can start to count down one by one, starting from noscon ...

just had the final meeting with Jeanie yest. So left to pick up the color of napkin and table cloths.

The table cloth colors are red, pink, blue, peach, white. napkin additional grey color onto of the above.... what would you choose?

hi nonscon,
it would have to depend on e kind of look u want to achieve for the dinner. i think all would look great if you have some lovely flowers and deco to compliment!

HI noscon,

They have blue tablecloth?? Is it a light shade of blue or a dark one?? The red and pink will definitely be out for us. And I'm a little skeptical of the peach too... They've got a yellow one, don't they??

You must be getting pretty excited now. Your BIG day is approaching fast!!

i just went for my fitting yesterday again. really had fun. i chose another tea dress instead. it has a nice oriental touch to it with some lovely black lace.i really like it. and i think my mum and FMIL wil be happy to see it for the tea ceremony. i wil be using it for our ROM in may too.

wow nonscon,
can imagine ur busy schedule now...u must be busy finalizing all the stuff.have u applied leave to pamper and relax at least a day or two before ur big day? go for mani,pedi, massage, scrub,etc...

hi LS

yeah it's blue...what kind eh? hard to say.. bright kind of blue. I took a pic.. will try to upload it..
the peach is really the one you see in the gw pic...looks like yellow one..
they dun have yellow only the peach one which looks like yellow.. haha :D

man im nervous that I forget something or turn out ugly that day like skin color too dark etc or dark eye circle... and Im so BUSY with work!!! so everynight and day im out. no time to rest.

Lindy
i love fittings so exciting!!! can we see your gown or little bride or anyone have you got your album? i just got mine yest...

I think i will go for a scrub... to make my back and shoulder looks nicer for my bustier gown.
v practical person. im also doing some arm toning stuff at a salon.

what beauty regime or secret tips that you girls have?

Ladies also know where to buy a nice cheap guest book? GW one is not very nice(beware), a few pieces of paper stapled together one....
I used it for my ROM there. I love GW but I did told them they can improve in this area.

hi nonscon,
i've picked up power walking again recently coz i've not been doing it for e longest time.i just did 7km last sat.wil be goin again with fiance this sat. u are gota find an activity that you enjoy,its really impt u find something u enjoy. that way u haev fun plus get in shape!

i dun hv any pix at the moment, but wil upload some if i hv any! our AD is still 4months away but i'm already starting to feel the excitement sinking in!

hey ladies,
after today, the weekend wil be really close!wooohooo!!!

Hi noscon,
i din really do anything to keep fit or do facials or wat. although i bought some face mask n eye mask, but i din use them reguarly! haha. onli going for facial 1 wk plus b4 the AD.

i chose my PS fotos liao but must wait till june then can collect. will share my pics then.
u girls also dun forget to share har.

i tinking of getting a foto album tt can double up as a guest bk. more practical n less things to store. haha...

my EG is those dark pink color. so i guess red, pink or white tablecloth is more suitable? will be meeting irene tomolo liao. wat r the things tt we need to discuss?

HI Lindy, the timing juz nice loh, not really in advance. i do it late mar, which is 3 mths b4 my AD. but still must wait till june then can collect back....still so long.
i bought many 4R samples fotos which i tinking of scanning n develop to bigger sizes but dun know how. tink need high resolution scanner, n print 8R n above for digitals v ex....

little bride

hope im in time. well u prob need to discuss table cloth and napkin colors. flowers type and color. beverages and food confirmation. etc

little bride can you help me see whether the renov at GW is almost done? I heard the renov will be done soon, prob this week. very impt for me that they finished by this week...

i might be choosing all white combin or similar for my tablecloths and napkin

I also tried to develop my pic, the guy mentioned that what I have are actually high quality slide, not negative so very exp to develop.1 4R costs $2.

What is your bridal shop? I did mine in Feb and got my photos in late April cos they sent it to Taiwan for developing.

Lindy
wow you so on one... wish i so disciplined to go and do exercise but now v hard cos v busy... you gals might lose weight closer to the AD cos SO many things to do... I a bit stressed now cos I tend to sleep v late due to work and get up at six automatically cos I busy and stressed! can't sleep! my hubby even worse, get up at 3am....

sorry lindy I did not go back to office these few days so I could not email you the card design yet.

I'm thinking of getting a large piece of our photo and they sign onto. Is it very cheena?

noscon,

Errr.... ya. The signing-on-the-photo idea does sound cheena. Try going to Delfi Orchard. There's a shop on the same level as Bridal Veil that sells wedding stationary. Lovely invitations, but extremely pricey. If I remember correctly, they've got guest books, etc.

LS

thanks for the contact... I will go and take a look at it when I popped by near Orchard... same building as the fairies ring shop right?

thanks for the advice..

hi noscon

i saw one of the brides who used their photo as guest book, like what u suggested. theirs is long rectangular , like a long tablecloth. guests sign at the border.

doesnt look cheena to me. looks v special. i like it a lot.

is not those big, blown up photo that is 10times the size of a large portrait photo. if it is that that u r referring, my view is the same is l.s.

my 2cents worth

anyone of u has done up your new lovenest and any recommendation to me?

cracking my head now for my new hm...

anyone of u has wiw?

hi moo

do you know where they did theirs for the guestbook?

i just done up my lovenest... not much renov though... so prob cant introduce a interior designer to you...

what is wiw?

hi moo,
long time no hear from you!we just got our hse key too. so far, we have been really blessed by our family-they helped us with a big spring cleaning session(ours is resale flat).hopefully we will get our painting done next weekend. am plannin to paint one of the walls in living room red. and our study corner, which is in our other living room orange. and maybe green/yellow for bedroom coz there isnt much natural sunlight coming thru..my only advise is discuss on the kind of look you want to have and what your home will mostly be used for. for entertaining guests, or more for relaxing. it just has to be something that matches your lifestyle and personality. many pple wil be wanting to tell you what to do, but dun let that affect what you both want and like. hpoe this helps!

LS,

we have finally selected our invitations. guest what? we made a sudden change of decision and got ready made wedding cards. we saw it at a lovely boutique and straightaway fell in love with it. its more than twice our original budget (without printing!) but heck, its a once in a lifetime event, so decided to splurge on something we really like. and a close friend was with us and said he would be pleasantly surprised and impressed if he received such an invitation. spent about $600 just on the cards. we will be collecting the cards in about 4-6 weeks time and we will be sending it for printers ourselves.

i gota say that we have been tremendously blessed and even though we started with nothing, we have been blessed with everything that we wanted from our dream wedding bands (from T&C), a lovely wedding location, lovely gowns & exquisite wedding invitations. We are truly happy and lookin forward to our wedding day.

I hope all the GWP brides are also experiencing the special feeling of sheer joy in preparing for your weddings!

HI all,

It didn't occur to us that we'd need to ORDER our wedding rings. Thought that we'd just buy what was offered at the shops. Boy, were we WRONG!

We've been looking at wedding rings for a few months now, but never really gave them too much thought till recently since our photography session is in 6 weeks. Then yesterday, after having dinner at Jai Thai in Thompson Plaza, we wandered into Goldheart. There was a lovely pair of platinum rings that caught our attention (Something Blue range). Tried them on and we fell in love with them. The fit was good and they felt right. Plain round band for him and a matching one with a tiny diamond in the middle for me. It was then that the saleslady mentioned that we had to order it and that the waiting period was 4-6 weeks since they're from Japan. She almost pushed our panic button. Almost. We asked a few more questions and because it was getting late (the stores were all closing), we decided to wait till today to do more serious ring shopping. No time to lose.

A sigh of relief, ladies!! We found the rings again. Same ones from Goldheart in Parkway Parade. And they do have the sizes we need right here in Singapore! We'll be collecting them next week! Went from one jewellery store to another in the mall (Lee Hwa, Poh Heng, Soo Kee, and a few smaller establishments), but came right back to the one that had the rings we fell in love with. Got a free ring pillow with our purchase too. A rather nice one at that. Quite impressed. So, our search for wedding rings is over. It had a very happy ending.

Learnt sonething new: Not all the jewellery in the stores are really what they're supposed to be. The platinum collection at Goldheart is actually silver. They will only bring in the real mccoys when an order is placed and money is handed over. Business... Business...

278611.png

Hi noscon,
I din c blue tablecloth leh, n din get to view the suites also.

n bascially the flowers onli have 2 choices, roses n gerbaras, n onli 1 design, nothing to choose.
i was told the renov will be till june leh.

oh, for my case, i trying to develop from fotos itself, not negatives or slides loh. wau, tt's v ex for 4R!

Lindy,

SOOOO happy for you! I know how you feel. Really. Didn't think my fiance would be spending so much on our rings as well. My engagement ring and our wedding bands together cost him approx. 9K. Thankfully, we have friends in the U.S. who're kind enough to bring our invitations cards over with them in June. The exact invitations that we so love and want as OUR wedding invitations. Our friends have already received the order. They've mailed one off to me to look over and it should get here this coming week. We're very thrilled! Everything is coming together nicely. Taking shape like it's supposed to. On one hand, I'm so very joyous and excited! On the other, I'm nervous. Just think... In December 2004, all of us on this thread were discussing how happy we were when we decided on GWP as our banquet venue for our weddings. Raving about the ambience, service, decor, etc. Now... we're well on our way to our weddings! Time has really flown.

My 2nd fitting is scheduled for mid next month. I'm also gonna be selecting outfits for our studio shots. My fiance too. Have to step up the power walking and dieting!!!

I would like to publicly think my fiance for being my Rock of Gibraltar. For standing strong for me when I needed him to. For making sense when I don't. For loving me despite all my flaws (including my expensive taste in jewellery). Hehehe... For all that and so much more.... Thank you, Simon Owen.

hi LS,
i noe!!! T&C was nice enuf to reserve the wedding bands for us longer than they normally do. coz they only had one of each of our sizes left! the engravements are done, and we can collect them anytime. really happy!!

u are soooo sweet, LS!!!! ur husband-to-be is one very lucky groom!!!!!

oh ya, talkin about power walking..i went to macritchie yesterday and i almost collapsed from dehydration!! hahaha...juz kidding..i just kept seeing stars coz i went at noon and it was just HOT HOT HOT!!!! and the walk was really long, so i could only do power walk for the first 2km and had to do brisk walk the rest of the journey...haahha, but it still a nice and good workout! my thighs are a lil achy today...

Lindy...
We're a couple of giddy brides-to-be!!! Hehehehe!!! Didn't realise I made a grave spelling error in my thank-you note to my fiance. Hahaha...

I'll be power walking a little later on this evening. Vain me is trying to stay out of the sun (though, really, it's actually quite cloudy today). It's a good thing for thighs to ache!! I want mine to ache too! It means they're really getting a workout!

Hi noscon, I prefer signing guestbook to signing-on-photo. As for guestbook, I popped by the Bookbinder at the CityLink Mall last week. They had this photobinders which were pretty sweet & nice to act as guestbook but kinda ex! Now considering whether to buy or to get from my BS instead. My BS is giving me a guestbook that comes wif hardcover (much much better than GWP!). It is simple & plain silver colour, that's all. So if I gonna use this from BS, i need to add a nice satin ribbon on the cover.

Hi moo, I hv already done up my hse and stayed for 9 months. R u looking for contractor or interior designer? Is it WIS that u refer? Mine is.

Hi Little_bride, har... the flowers so limited in choices ar! What abt the colour? Somemore one design only??!! Did u add any new flowers stands? What are the costs?

Lindy & L.S., can really share yr happiness! I'm going to shop wif my hubby for a set of jewellery to wear on wedding day, will ask him to throw in a new pair of rings too... keekeekee.

Looking forward to my 2nd gown fit this coming friday and my PS next Monday! So exciting!!!

hi cookiencream,
long time to hear from you! been busy?you should spoil yourselves for your wedding!i agree, coz its once in a lifetime.=D

have fun at your PS!!!

cookie,
Thanks! I'm happy for you too! Your PS should be a big milestone for you and your fiance. It'll be my turn before you know it!! Have to get in shape!

hi noscon

wiw = walk in warerobe

think is a gift from their biz partner...

Lindy

Yes, I had been busy with my hse renovation, sourcing for interior designers...+ my hse pc is not working, + too busy at work to send any msgs...

cookiencream, mine is also a wis

is your id gd?can intro? tnx

Hi cookiencream,

they onli have v limited fotos to show loh. all i can rem now is red roses w white orchids, n colorful gerbaras. colors shld be those usual colors bah. i asked for an unusual color for roses n she say need to check w florist. guess chances not high bah....
if u have designs from mag shld be able to discuss w the florist n c if they can do for u. i din look for designs so juz take the design they have. now still tinking if they dun have the orange red i wan. shld i stick to red or take yam roses instead....
i din add any more flowers.

wat u have in mind??

hi noscon, wat flowers u chose??

hi moo

i see...wiw cool..

cookiencream
thanks for sharing... i will pop by to see if I got time(which is v hard now) hahaha

littlebride
i chose yam pink and beige colored roses with lots of leave(special kind) for my wedding at terrace. it's a combination my florist came up with so I just went along with it. I got my own florist on top of the GW one...

I think yam is nice and kinda in.... but subjective to own's taste lah..

so what do you have in mind... time passes so fast

wow nonscon,
u still up at 1 plus in e morning..ur big day coming, try not to have too many late nites!

i also dunno what flowers to choose, think just go with pleasant colours...no red.

noscon and lindy,

Hi ladies... I too like the yam rose. But will keep an open mind about floral matters coz I know next to nothing about it.

My fiance was thinking of having our solemnisation in the evening before our banquet. Presently, the plan is to have it done at the Mayfair Pool the very morning of our banquet. We're still looking at the Mayfair Pool, but instead of having the ceremony done during the late morning, we'll have it in the early evening. His reason: It's cooler at about 5ish and our guests can mingle and hang around till its time for the banquet (7p.m.). The only problem I forsee in such a situation is the overcrowding of the Mayfair Pool area. Sigh... If I remember correctly, The Mayfair Pool can only take a max. of 20 people? Or is it 30? Difficult to draw the line when it comes to solemnisation ceremony right before the banquet. Who to invite? Who to say no to? How to turn them down when they're relatives? Politics, Politics. What do you ladies think?? Have the ceremony earlier in the day? Or have it right before the banquet??

i assume yam rose is lilac? sounds funny, yam rose. i think more of the real yam,hahahah..

LS,
yah, mayfair pool really small...it was even smaller than i tot when i saw it..you will have to weigh you priorities and what is most impt for you both.its YOUR wedding, do what you feel like most.

lindy

yeah working lor... anyway have to take it easy otherwise i not pretty!

yeah yam rosesis lilac in color... hahaha i got confused over that too..

LS
tot of using the main pool? which is bigger? The maypool have more privacy and I believe you can have an arch but can accomodate less people... you can consider main pool with a sitting capacity of up to 50 pple at least and then your guests can sit there until banquet so it will also serve as your romantc reception area?
just my 2 cents...

anyone choosing all white? even the flowers and table cloth?

Hi lindy and noscon,

We really love the Mayfair Pool lah... Main Pool is very nice, no doubt. But the former stole our hearts away the moment we laid our eyes on it. Plus, we've agreed with GWP, on paper, to use the Mayfair Pool. It's a done deal. The only thing we can change now is the time of the ceremony. Provided, of course another event isn't going on.

The more I ponder this issue, the more I like the idea of having our solemnisation ceremony in the evening. HOWEVER, there's still the unsettled matter of our number of guests. Sigh. No easy solution to this.

hi LS

well... Mayfair pool is really romantic too so go for it then! Maybe you can ask the coord to squeeze more chairs in?

Hi LS,

Mayfair Pool is really nice & exclusive. I had my solemnization at Mayfair Pool on Jan. Hope that you can have a great time there!