Goodwood Park Hotel

piepie02

great to hear that u r confirming the wedding at GW...

I go to the 11am sunday svr.... I joined TCC for less than 9mths so din join them for the marriage prep...also not getting married there...
you?

how many sessions is the marriage prep?

Ladies
Anyone knows when will the renov ends?

Hi noscon,

I will be changing the duck to chicken. initially wanted chicken cos safer choice as it more common but i juz wanted to try out their other food, so asked for duck for food tasting. haha. same for the red bean paste. wanted to take mango, but tried red bean paste liao v nice so will stick to it. i also tink the prawns will be 2 spicy for those who dun take spicy leh.
huh, maybe irene new, dun know fri cannot food tasting? but if really cannot, e restaurant would have told her.
will be arranging to meet her end of the mth to discuss the details liao. izzit 2 early? my AD 28/6.

Hello Ladies...

Been horrendously BUSY!!! Sigh. Anyhoos, I hope all are well and enjoying the process of preparing for our weddings.

My fiance and I officially placed our order for our invitation cards last night from an internet website based in the U.S. Friends living there will bring them down to S'pore in June when they come for a visit. Exciting!! Received an email this morning about our order. Something to do with the text we wanted. Now I have to ask you dearies to help...
Do we have to specify the time at which cocktails will be served? Or can we leave that out and only have the time dinner will commence?? Which is better - to specify or not to specify?? I will upload a pic of the invitation card we've ordered with our text on it. Please... look closely at the last few lines and tell me if it appears all right to you, ya?? Thanks!!

269176.jpg

Ammended some of the lines on our actual invitation card (the verse at the top has been changed to fill only one line, and 'Mr. and Mrs.' will not have a full-stop), but check out the last few lines. Should I include the '( )'?? What about the part about cocktails? It was suggested that I leave that last line out completely. What do you ladies think??

littlebride

samasama.. im getting the chicken and red bean paste... you can change the cooking style of prawns to less spicy kind or other cooking style..

no lah always good to do everything fast so you dun hv to panic and get too stress closer to AD. Not good for skin hor...

I'm discussing with mine 2 weeks before AD... a bit rushed...

LS

nice card....
I also inlcuded the cocktail part inside.. told the guests.. cocktail will start at what time and at where... so they know they can come early and this will help to encourage guests to come early...

The invitation that my coord passed me also states the cocktail details... so in my own opinion, it can be helpful but can phrased it nicely and subtly...
LS, this is my own opinions only...

Ladies...
Thanks for your advise. We decided to leave the cocktail info out. Coz the earliest GWP will officially release the ballroom to us is at 7p.m. Cocktails are pretty much standard for wedding banquets anyway (guests will know this) and we didn't want our invite to say that dinner starts at 7:30p.m. as Singaporeans WILL indefinitely be LATE. So 7p.m. is good. Also, we reached the max. no. of lines allowed on the card! Hehehe...

hi oops

it's at the website...maybe not visible enough... under the "banquet and wedding: page

To make reservations:
Tel: (65) 6730 1887 / 1756
Fax: (65) 6738 6130

hope you like Goodwood hotel! Welcome!
kao_welcome.gif

piepie02
I acquired the svr of a JP as I'm not a member of church yet...
What abt you?

LS
good also....
as long as you are happy...

Noscon, I'm not a member of TCC yet too. But as long as one of the two is a member can already, but both must be water baptised. I am not water baptised yet, so if I can't make it in time, then i will need a JP.

HI gals...

Going down to GWP today to indulge in a spa treatment at the Aspara. Part of the banquet deal we had with them. Think I'll take the opportunity to wander around the hotel...

Lindy,
The Aspara was HEAVENLY. Enjoyed a body scrub and aromatherapy massage. My FH didn't join me. It was just me. I highly recommended it to all GW Park brides-to-be!

Hi girls, have any one of u printed ur invitation cards liao? do u use the GWP recommended printer? any feedback or any other better recommendations?

LS
sounds fun... how is the costs like roughly? I know you went for free right?

little bride
I have a contact for printing which is cheaper than the recommended one..
if you read the earlier posts you will see me describing his costs compared to GW ones...

little bride

im asking with cards cos i not using GWP cards but it may be cheaper for you if you only request for printing of inserts....

littlebride,

We're not using the cards from GWP. Neither are we using a local printer. We've ordered from the U.S. 'coz the same cards here will cost a lot more. About 70% more. Plus, we get raised printing or thermography as they refer to it here. Have to have a lobang in the States lah. They will be bringing the cards with them in June when they visit. Otherwise, it will cost an arm and a leg to ship the package to Singapore.

Been to a few places here to look at invitation cards - American Wedding Treasures, etc. Pricey. But i do believe Bras Basah Complex has some printers that're reasonable. Worth checking out.

hi little bride, i was asked to collect the cards and arrange for foodtasting. Btw, what is yr ratio of of white and red invitation card you took? Did you ask for additional cards beyond the 70% entitled?

Ladies...

Poll time.

How many tables will you be expecting at your wedding?? Do the cut and paste routine we so love...

18-20 (dazednconfused)
20-22
22-25

Beside Jennie and Irene, i think there is one more coordinator, but i didnt know any other names... Btw, Irene told me that the food tasting only available on Mon-Thur... so only our little bride is lucky to hv on Friday...

wau, how come i so lucky. hahah. cookiencream, i cfm 18 tables so irene gave me 150 cards if i no rem wrongly. which is more than 70%. i took all red ones. dun like the white ones. so juz stick to the tranditional type. no choice. their cards so CMI.
theres a guy also call desmond?

18-20 (dazednconfused, noscon, cookiencream, littlebride)
20-22
22-25

Hi LS n noscon, we decided to use the printer recommended by GWP. saves the trouble. n they got the hotel template, nothing shld goes wrong. thanx.
planning to meet irene next sat to discuss abt the details liao

HI gals...
Very excited for you!! Down to the last details now!!! Please share with us your experiences. especially in the area of floral decor. What are the colour schemes available, etc.

hi LS,
did u get to choose ur spa treatment or its already prearranged? we also have the complimentary spa treats, was actually to do it on the day after our wedding! not sure we can resist the temptation to use it earlier though,hahaha...

i hv been trying to meet up with a friend to leave the decor to him.but i've been too busy with house to find a date with him, sigh..

my invitations still no progress...i gota get my butt moving and get things going....

Hi Lindy & LS, think u all hv a better deals than mine. I didnt hv any SPA treat.

As for colour scheme, i only saw white & yellow... the yellow theme is very common & u can see frm the one GWP advertised in most weddg magazines.

Btw, noscon & little bride, any advices for us in getting invitation? I getting a little cold feet abt this. I felt kinda awkward esp to contact classmates who used to hang out with, but have lost touch for quite a while.

I thinking to start my invite during end of May starting wif friends & relatives first. My invite for colleagues would come later (mid Jun), so that in case for any shortfall, i can invite more colleagues...what u think? How abt my schedule for invite? too late? Did u meet any problem in getting invites?

LS

floral arrangements will be taken cre of by my florist the basic colors (romantic theme) will be lilac, pink and beige... with a lot of leaves like gdn of eden...

napkin table cloth not decided yet. ladies ps advise.

cookiencream YUM YUM
im did my own invitations like LS and lindy but totail cost for me is $80 for card supplies n printing. maybe got soft copy just given to me by my designer...

yeah me too... somemore hv to call them one by one to ask them whether they r coming...so awkward but no choice...

i sent out 1.5mths before my wedding. This is my preferred schedule since i will be busier later on... but relatives i give out slightly later...

I have some problems with invites but it's gd to do earlier cos my printer due to miscomm printed it in a different ink but they redo it FOC within 3 days. so it's ok but try to give some time for every item so that you will have time to redo things if things go wrong....

Ladies
I'm looking for nice guestbooks and reception decor stuff like placecard holder....where can I get them?

btw gals

if u need more GW beige color cards, you can get it free from me. I dun have the envelopes anymore though.... im not using GW cards so no pt keeping it too..

i think its fine to just give them a call.u inviting pple that u are not close to? coz my guest list consists of close friends that i have no prb calling and inviting. its more of whether they can make it.

hi nonscon,
i'm surprised that ur printing + cards costs so little, i was expecting that it may cost a few hundred bucks!hahaha...

Hi cookiesncream, i facing some probs also. kind of awkward n dun know they will turn up or not. sms many of them yesterday but onli few replied.

will be sending my cards for printing next mon. probably end of mth then collect. then maybe mid next mth can send out liao.

hi nonscon,
how long does e printing take?

Little Bride,
i actually informed quite a few of my friends that i'll be inviting to save the date already, so i think i should be able to fill up the tables. almost all of them said they will save the date for our wedding! u can invite more of ur colleagues perhaps?

noscon, found this website...
http://www.vanityfaire.com.sg
Their wedding collection v sweet but v ex lor.

littlebride, that's my biggest fear... sms liaoz & no reply... like that muz call up one by one lor... I guess this situation would happen more for those "lost touch" ones... it's those in-touch ones who reply isnt it? Anyway, u juz sent out sms yesterday, it's better to wait until weekend to see how.

Lindy n cookiencream,

actually i met them up recently last mth onli. n i told them abt it. so now i sms to ask them ok or not. abt 2/3 of my tables r those not so close frens or used 2 be close frens.

cookiencream,

I believe Lindy is right. We got the spa treat during a period when they were allowed to give them away as freebies.

Lindy,
I had a choice between a Swedish massage or aromatherapy. I chose aromatherapy and added a Bodyglow full body scrub (30mins). It was divine... simply divine.

I'm not too keen on the white colour scheme. Guess I'll have to work around their yellow scheme. Any suggestions on the floral arrangements if yellow table cloth is chosen???

thanks cookiencream.... just checked them out ...
really not cheap eh... maybe forget it...

Lindy
it depends cos when they are not busy it's 3-4 days else it might be ard 1 week... that is cos they need to print cover as well.... once you go down they will tell you know how long it takes. if you r ok with it, then they will then go ahead..

LS
I think for the color scheme, they seems to also have other colors as last time I was told they have white, green, some red, some blue, yellow and pink table cloths, napkin etc so you can choose from a few colors... can also mix and match eg some people might want red color for VIP tables and white for others or alternate table colors etc etc...

Hi nonscon,
thanks.u think i can go down and check out their papers and printing styles before sending them my design? my friend who is designing said its easier to have an idea of which colour paper,etc we like then design to compliment it...

Hi LS,
U mite check out e foreign wedding magazines as they seem to be more adventurous with colours. could be nicely surprised with a bold colour to match ur yellow theme...

Lindy

yeah that will be gd.. my designer friend also select paper first (which she knows is avail there) then start designing... might be good to go down there to take a look first. safer to give them a call first to ask for estimated quote and whether convenient to go down or not... hope everything goes well for you...
I email u my card design if I can find. my friend just passed to me...

Hi Ho...

Colours... Colours... Love colours. It's having to coordinate them that's a headache. Sigh...
Will have Jeanie show me the other colour schemes and napkins and everything else that GWP has available.

274656.png