Goodwood Park Hotel

Kass, thanks for the info!

Yea, I dropped the coordinator an email to confirm the perks and negotiate additional.. forgotten to ask him abt the wedding show.. waiting for him to get back and I'll check with him regarding the wedding show..

I think they will increase the price which comes along with the additional perks like the invitation card, porsche, more bottles of additional wine.

I think I read that during one of the earlier wedding shows, perks include either free-flow wine or Ferarri wedding car (but u need to pay insurance for a day)

Hmm... I really dunno if I should share this. Maybe this offer is only extended to some by particular coordinator..?

I was told by my coordinator that I can still take the Wedding show offer in June if I want. Dun forget that I have already signed the contract at the present rate. The Wedding show rate will definitely be more expensive than my present one. However, it is still a good deal cos I will have an option to keep my current rate or take up the Wedding show deal with extra perks when the time comes. Plus I manage to get the date I want in the 1st time. I dunno if the rest of the coordinators at GWP give the same offer.

Missbibi >> Btw, if I get the kitchen to peel the prawns for me, I would not have dare to eat it. Cos I'm afraid tt they find this bride (me) so troublesome and might sabotage her by adding extra "ingredients".. Ha!

Kass >> I have no idea how the ballroom will look like with the standard floral decor that are given. Do I have to take a look at others' wedding in order to have a rough idea..? At this point, I dun even know if an additional is needed. *Scratch head*

Lala >> Next time you meet your coordinator just ask them to show you the floral arrangements. They have a file which has all the floral arrangements.
Last time they will email to me... but now they don't, cuz they said the new pictures are too big file size. Maybe you can ask Raman? Raman confirmed that the wedding show rate will be higher??

I agree I will not eat the prawns which someone else peeled for me (after cooking). Cuz dunno whether that persons hand clean or not.

But in the end I decided not to take the poached live prawns. I will take the salad prawns which was really popular among my guests at the food tasting yesterday.

Kass >> Salad prawn? Or the wasabi prawns? I've seen the floral arrangements fr the file before. Roughly.. Alright.. shall check with my coordinator when I meet him next time nearer to our AD. However, I need some extras like tall plants.. I was told to go straight to the florist leh...

As for the rate, I figure that it is only logical for it to go up instead of down. From what I have seen and heard, the rate went up slightly higher during the Wedding show but of course, with more perks such as free flow of beer and wine. Upgrade choice of wedding cards or mayb favours? Free rental of Limo..?

May I know if anyone has any idea if I can get a different colour inserts from the printer? Tot of using the GWP white wedding card with a coloured inserts.. Do you think it's feasible?

Dear lala,

Are you having the 'perks' from wedding show, if yes, you can pick an alternative colour. But if you're getting the standard package, the inserts are not include in the package and hence, you can pick any colours of your choice!!

Jacintha and Lala - if you are taking the "normal" package, inserts are provided, even if you are printing at your own printer. It's a plain white paper. You can choose to not use the appointed printer/insert and procure your own paper. I printed my inserts in JB, and was given a choice of ivory and pink paper... so the inserts provided by GWP still sitting at home. I still thinking what to do with the paper...
Very good quality. Wedding show package will depend on whether this time round they will provide dreamweaver invites again.

Lala - I am referring not to the cold dish, the prawn dish... the deep fried prawns with salad sauce. Not wasabi prawns, cuz cannot taste it, but the salad cream is v good...

If you already know that you need to know extra plants, then go direct to the florist.

Anyone engaged the Goodwood Park appointed printers for the printing? Any feedback on the printers? Do the printers collect the cards from GWP themselves and print? Any extra charges?

Kass & Jacintha >> thank you for the info..

That is great info.. At least I can use a colored insert with the white card. My package is a standard package.

Kass, I remember that you have mentioned abt the price u paid for the inserts and printing. Do you mind telling me how each costs again? An insert with printing.

Salad prawns... Sounds delicious! But I'm very chi-na. Hee! Poached live prawns in Chinese herbs & wine looks more expensive.

If I have to go straight to the florist, how long in advance do you suggest that I should go?

Some info to share..

Yesterday my HTB & I went to meet up with our GWP coordinator to look at the contract.. realised the dinner menu they are offering has more variety!!! :p

Should be signing with GWP next week and going to the wedding show in June.. The coordinator told us as well that we can still opt for the wedding show package if we prefer that.

Piglet> The menu is with my bf. I can share with you sometime next week?

Kass> More variety as compared to what was emailed and shown to me previously for dinner menu.

Red> I don't have the menu with me currently, but I can remember a few dishes like:
1) the appetizer they have chicken yakitori and I thought I also saw duck/goose liver as one of the choices
2) for poultry, they have a few additional dishes to choose from like US Pork Steak with Champagne sauce, US Pork steak... (black pig)... etc
3)For rice & noodles, they also have fried rice with baby abalone and crabmeat and a few more
4) For Scallops & Squids, they have dishes like with scallops and prawn with egg roe (or something like that)

Overall, the revised wedding dinner looks more enticing and worth the price..

Yes, quite a pleasant surprise seeing the greater variety and some additional waiver of charges
.. and we are getting at 1268++ instead of 1338++.. i think the 1338 will either come during the wedding show or after the wedding show...

Vivian>> Thanks very much for sharing with us more details about the new menu.. My wedding dinner falls on a Sunday and we don't even have abalone and we also paid the cheaper table rate (because we gave our deposit last year), so I guess my WTB and I won't get to select from this new menu.. Some of the dishes sounds v tasty =)

Red - u paid $1068++ right? Then most likely won't get the new menu... but so far I find GWP is quite flexible in tailoring the menu to what you prefer. Unless u want really premium items, then you will have to top up, or else, it is not too bad, really.

When is ur big day?

Kass >> Yes my WTB and I paid $1068++.. We estimate that if each perso gives $100 angpao on average then we will lose about $250 per table =x haha.. But I was quite stubborn and still wanted GWP because it's my childhood dream to get married there.. My wedding date is 4th Sept 2011 (Sunday)

Yes red, Goodwood is like a very magical place to get married I liked the exterior more than the interior, lol..
Dun worry abt the ap money. Am sure those more zidong ppl will give more so it will average out better

Red>> No worries... you are not the only stubborn bride....lol. I tot the same too. GWP just miraclely mesmerise me despite i know the avg is $100 per angbao... lol

Kass>> Is JM the only vendor? I'm waiting for Rahman to inform me when they are done with it.lol.... Hopefully he can send me so visuals to see... *pray hard...

Kass >> Oh I see. The only vendor will provide us with a few themes to chose from. Hmm... I wonder what are the colour themes they have for 2011? Maybe it's time I go and disturb my co-coordinator. Lol

Missbibi> I'm meeting Rahman tmr too! to pay the deposit and sign the contract...

Btw, I've received the wedding show perks that GWP will be offering.. it's $1288++ per table, and the offer includes:
1) Free flow of beer
2) Additional 18 complimentary bottles of wine on top of the 1 complimentary bottle per table
3) Waiver of wine & hard liquor corkage
4) Complimentary 3 peking duck to be served during cocktail
5) Complimentary 2 piece musical playing of 45 min
6) 1 additional wedding favour - chinese oriental cup

If book before the wedding show, can still get $100 voucher + dowry basket with a bottle of wine..

Hi Vivian, I think u know who u r le. We both had appt at the same time. Lol.

There's only one miserable design fr JM. Not very exciting. Another option be out for the Jun wedding fair. So I'llll only ne So in the end i'll b using June florist's design in the end.. wad a disappointing wait!

Hi missbibi... oh? Heh i dunno. Only know Rahman met us and walked away for a few min.. I was there at around 12... finally paid the deposit.. hee...

misbibi - JM got only 1 design? Which design did u see? Is it the backdrop design? I just emailed my coordinator. She told me when I made the theme selection that more backdrop designs will be out in mid-Apr. Awaiting her reply on this...

nykolee >> btw I am groom-to-be, not bride =p

vivian >> thanks for sharing the details of perks with us, the 2 piece musical playing for 45 min sounds nice =)

Yes Kass, only 1 backdrop design from JM, until Jun. But by then our wedding over le. its the long cloth covering the brown board with a few flower stands in front.Their aisle stand and table flowers hv a few designs to choose from. They also do staircase deco. But once u go with JM, u need to choose the 1backdrop n not so impressive staircase. Which was y I chose June in the end.

Jacintha: if ur wedding is this yr, theres only 1 backdrop fr JM to work with

missbibi - I got my reply from my coord. She showed me another 2 backdrop designs from JM, so total is 3 designs. There is the long cloth backdrop, with 2 different flower stands which we can choose from and a third backdrop with green flower pots. Not bad actually.

For the stair deco, I asked for floral petals on both sides of the staircase. And I bought my own decor and will ask the staff to help me add them in.

Did you ask your coord how much JM will charge from stair deco?

missbibi - what kind of stairs deco is JM offering without cost?? The picture you mentioned without sash. So if no sash, what other decor is there?

My coord told me that JM don't have sash decor on the stairs, which is what I thought you wanted and hence was wondering if you have checked with your coord on the costing...

Their decor is candles on the left side then some flowers bundled tog at intervals on the railing

I only saw one JM backdrop but dun like it, so ended up choosing June, which jus nice has sash decor for stairs

missbibi >> Thanks for sharing... I didn't see this, so will check with my coord. I bought decor for 1 side of the stairs but not the other, so if that's a thrown in, then I'll save a bit!

I am not using June cuz the previous 2 GWP weddings I attended both used June and the same backdrop as well and the others didn't seem too nice, so I a bit sian with that backdrop already, rather go with JM.

How come it seems like these coordinators don't have a complete set of everything... how come like some coord show one thing to one couple, another coord another thing to another couple. End up we all have to find our ways by asking around.

Oh Kass, i mis-read your comments. I thought you meant you bought the decor "package" from the florist. How much are the florist charging?

piglet - Sorry I have no idea how much the florist charge for the stairs deco. I remember cocotintin mentioned it is $400, but I am not sure if that is the case for JM florist.

Ok this sounds silly but I never knew that there are additional charges for flowers. I always thought the nice flowers I saw at other dinners came complimentary as they are part of the package =x

Red >> Nothing silly about it. Actually you're partially right. There are some flowers that came with the package and some don't. Sometimes, ppl love more decor and would gladly pay more for it, while some ppl are just happy with what is in the package.

For GWP, why we are discussing flowers is because GWP used to use 2 florists and both florists provide different stuff in their contract with GWP. So now that they are using only 1 florist, some items that came with the preivous florist are no longer available, hence some BTBs are asking about the charges for the additional items.