Goodwood Park Hotel

blueangel81

Yeah Cocotintin, time flies!!! Was sooooo bz with the wedding preps & house reno…& the big day is now fast approaching! Scary haha.. Congrats to u too. When’s yr AD again? I rem we had a google doc set up to keep track of one another wedding dates & the vendors we used. I lost the link…wonder if it is still being updated with the many new GWP BTBs along the way ïŠ

I dun have any photos of JM floral decors…went down to their nursery at Thomson & were shown the pictures & flowers… the 4 themes were Crystal, Garden, Romance & Oriental… actually all except Oriental (too cheena for our liking :p) were pretty nice..I couldn’t decide b/w Crystal & Garden so HTB made the call hee… Might as well since my wedding gown were laced with crystal too…matching theme keke..

I din realize the march-in was that short only! Thot it was at least a minute when I attended my friends’ weddings.. 30 secs sound quite short…I’m thinking to sing on our 2nd march-in with my live band on the stage.. duno 30 secs can complete the first segment of the song or not lolz…

Kass, the engineer in the sound room is your own friend or GWP staff? Did you play your montage from a CD or directly from laptop? I’m doing my own montage using Macbook Pro…then my coordinator reminded me I may not be able to plug in the Macbook directly to their system to play the slideshow.. Oh yes, what’s your guests’ feedback on the AD food too? Which 5 items did you pick for the cold dish?

Piglet, I had my food tasting last month at Min Jiang, GWP… Overall the food was good & like you said, I was surprised with the quantity & quality of the sharkfin soup (no offend to any anti-sharkfin advocates here :p)...The sharkfin come in chunks (not the scattered type) & the broth was just nice (not over starchy)..so I wrote in the feedback form..hope they keep up with the standard on AD hehe..

strikingreality

The engineer is there to help you with the controls, if you are not familiar. You need to have your own guys there to help manage the music, montage etc, where needed.

Do prepare a copy of your montage on DVD and also one from your laptop. Test both and then decide which works better for you in terms of quality etc. We played from the laptop.

Food was good, I cannot compare AD and food tasting, because I have attended 2 GWP dinners before that and more or less decided what dishes I wanted, so the food tasting was just a free meal to try other dishes. :p I also altered some of the dishes quite a bit, so hard to compare food tasting and AD quality. But do note that you should not expect the food tasting quality during AD because there is a difference with cooking for a table and cooking for 30 tables. Fish are steamed in a huge steamer, items are prepared in bulk beforehand, as compared to food tasting, where dishes are prepared ala minute. However, general guest feedback is that the food is good, and all our requests made during the food tasting were met. Quantity however, should remain the same.

discreed

hello all! i'm just starting to look for my wedding banquet venue (even though my AD is at the end of the year) and think im more or less decided with GWP!
Love the place for its unique charm! Just wanted to ask other than the standard package, did you girls manage to request for any additional items like additional night's stay or more carpark coupons etc? Thanks!

missbibi

Discreed: Good choice, GWP is really pretty! Can't ask for more CP coupons cos they are managed by Wilson Parking, an external vendor.. u can try negotiating for 2 nights stay instead of one though

phantazia

what's minimum number of tables for GWP and how much? Is their food prep by the restaurant or hotel? I only know their Min Jiang restaurant is excellent. Any pics to share their ballroom layout?

discreed

missbibi: Thanks! yah it's really pretty! the more i compare it with the other hotels, the more I love it

mel ng: if you are looking at the ballrooms, it will be minimum 18 tables for Tudor and 25 for Windsor. If it's any lower, you may want to consider holding it at the Poolside Terrace. It's lovely as well! According to the wedding coordinator, the food's prepared by the restaurant.

blueangel81

mel: Yes, its Min Jiang. Had my food tasting weeks ago..pretty good. Btw I think they wun be able to throw in an extra night stay but no harm trying. The Tudor ballroom has a lower ceiling but more cosy victorian feel. Windsor feels more grand on the other hand. So you should really drop by GWP to see both ballrooms to judge for yrself. Btw there is another smaller pool, Mayfair pool, lovely for solemnisation ceremony too.

phantazia

wow! Not bad ah the deco. The little tree looks weird though. So the packages u guyz had is abt the same as wat's written in their website right? Can't bargain? Or any roadshow by them coming up?

pqpq

Yea, the one on the right looks not bad. simple.. Not sure if anyone checked this b4, can we change the chairs in windsor? I dont like that it's too squarish. I prefer Tudor's rounded head.
Also, the pic has sash ribbons on alternate chairs. This is not part of the package. The package only provide for VIP tables. Need to arrange with the florist and topup.
I think the upcoming show is on 26th Jun (Sun), $68 per couple

nykolee

Hi lala, how did u get hold of the photos? I wonder if they are done with the theme? tot of meeting up with the co-ordinator =D

strikingreality

I took the one on the right, without the white cloth behind. There is already another 2 more... the coordinators should have the picture, cuz my coord showed to me even in April, and blueangel mentioned there is one more theme which she saw at JM as well.

strikingreality

Silk flowers, cuz they are standard arrangements used in many different hotels, doesn't make sense for them to use fresh flowers as fresh ones won't last through the transportation from the nurseries to the various ballrooms and costs incurred will be much higher for something they use in such high frequency.

piggy_chong

Actually i dun like both settings. I'm look fwd to the third setting which I guess already ready but i paiseh to pester my co-ordinator again.

Somemore photos to share....
1724947.jpg
1724948.jpg

strikingreality

Cocotintin - usually at the May 2011 thread, cuz we are mostly still quite active there chatting.
So sometimes will pop by to see what's going on. This is the other JM theme which I saw.

1724953.jpg

hi all, can i check, for those of you that were entitled 2 nights stay in the hotel, did u all manage to request for a voucher to come back for the 2nd night stay on another day? Or all of you stayed in GWP for 2 nights in a row?

shanfeng

I am having a headache now w.r.t. which ballroom to choose..

I have about 22 tables, so more suited for Tudor. (But im worried if ceiling is too low and too cramp)

But if I choose windsor, will have to find another 30 guests.

Also, any idea if we want to add sash to the chairs, what is the cost like?

Thanks all in adv !!

pqpq

H Esther, my sis attended a wedding at tudor, it was 20 tables and she said it's very cramp le. Wont have much walking space for the couple. Me too had the same delimma, I went for Windsor in the end.
The last I asked in Sep 2010 was each sash is $3.

shanfeng

Hi Piglet,

Initially It didnt occur to me, so I only went to view the Tudor Ballroom. I will be going down to view the Windsor Ballroom.

Worried that 22 tables in Windsor will look kind of sparse since Windsor is big.

But I really like the private reception area at Tudor. Is there one at Windsor too?

I think sash on chairs are nicer, if not it looks too 'white' n plain !

pqpq

Actually I havent seen the actual layout for 25 tables in the ballroom, only saw it on paper.

The recep area at Windsor is quite small, i think it'll be cramp to let 250 guest mingle around, and not as grand looking as Tudor.

It has been some time since I last saw the ballroom. Will be attending the wedding show to see the full layout & deco. Agree with you, I'll be adding sash on alternate chairs.

shanfeng

I will be attending the wedding show too!! Kind of confused right now as to which ballroom to choose.

Hopefully after I see Windsor I will have a clear choice.

If I really choose Tudor, I will add in more flowers, sash etc to make the place more cosy..

Correct me if im wrong but lighting at windsor looks very bright n yellow! Or is it adjustable? Coz tudor lighting looks oranger, dimmer and dreamier...

amryllis

Anyone knows if it is possible to request to get the invitation cards earlier, not 1 month before wedding? I thought 1 month to write the names, etc is very short. I so busy at work so can only do it on weekends leh.

appledumpling

Lala, Kass - Those pics posted for the new themes, are they from JM florist? Were they shared by your coordinators? Anyone has more pics for the new themes by JM? Are we allowed to use back June Florist if we signed last year?

appledumpling

Cocotintin - From what I know, we can opt to separate 2 nights stay if we wish to. Think they'll give us a voucher that has 1 year validity? Better check with your coordinator on that. I haven't decided what we'll do.

Have to keep in mind that for wedding show, usually they will show "Premium" settings where you need to pay extra $$ if you want it. When we went to the show last year, it looked great but later we found out how expensive the mood lighting was lol...

limstephy

Is anyone here liaising with Rahman? Can any kind soul PM me his contact number? I met up with him awhile ago and need to re-contact him now for some enquiries. Thanks in advance!

strikingreality

Apple - AFAIK, June Florist is no longer avail as they are not recontracted by GWP. Doesn't matter when you sign, as contracting between the florist and the hotel is by the date of event, not by when you sign (cuz the florist wouldn't know/care when you sign). So there is only JM Florist for weddings from June onwards. THe three themes above are what the GWP coordinator shared with me when I was choosing my themes. Apparently there are now 4 themes.

Agree with what you said about the premium decor. MF did tell me that the decor during wedding shows is enhanced and require additional top up to the florist if you want to have them. Best is still to refer to the pictures to know what is actually included, or speak to the florist directly.

Windsor lighting is quite yellow, but can be adjusted in terms of brightness/dimness. As for the yellowness your PG should be able to edit the colours in the photo.

apple: according to my coordinator, they just had a change in policy and they are no longer giving out room vouchers to separate the 2 nights. therefore i am checking out in the forum here to confirm if all of you are aware of this change in policy or not. Have anyone of u here spoke this to your coordinator recently abt this?

You mean the intelligent lights (blue spot lights) used during the wedding show was not part of the package? using those lights that is already installed in the ballroom requires a top up? any idea how much?

strikingreality

Actually what is your reason for separating the 2 nights to take them separately. I took the 2 nights together and I find that it is actually quite good that the stay is 2 nights instead of 1. The morning after the banquet you will be quite knackered, so being able to sleep in and do things in a leisurely pace is good. Cuz if only 1 night, you will be rushing to pack and check out etc the next morning, won't be able to enjoy as much. You also may not have the opportunity to use the room service credit or have time to count your angpows etc.

piggy_chong

yeap... those photos are shared by my cooridnator Meifung. I have been troubling her to ask her to send me pictures... hehe...
But guess will try to meet up next month to look at all the themes again. Any idea if we can use back the old theme if we want?
Happy that this forum suddenly liven up!

strikingreality

Lala - old theme can be used if it is under JM. If the theme is done by June Florist, then most likely cannot since June no longer contracted to do the wedding themes for GWP.

But I think the old themes from JM not very nice. June's themes were nicer, but overused already.

You might wanna go to JM's nursery in Thomson to look at the actual themes?

missbibi

apple: i think it depends on who's ur coordinator. my hubby & i didn't like JM's new themes and we used back June Florist for our wedding which was just over in May. My coordinator said to be fair to the clients, those who signed previously cos of June's decor can still be allowed to use their decor.

Steph: Hv u gotten Rahman's no already? If not i can pm u.

piggy_chong

kass, roger... ya, i agreed june's themes nicer... maybe let me discuss with MF already then go JM's nursery to see see look look. My wedding is in Nov, will it be too early to meet MF next month to cfm theme?

nykolee

Me too. My wedding in Oct. But wanna meet the coordinator now because lunar seven month not advise to do anything (31 July - 28 Aug). Is it still too early to contact them?

appledumpling

Mood lighting was the blue lighting we saw during the wedding show last year. They are not part of the standard lighting at Windsor. Agree with Kass that lighting is towards yellow side. Now worrying about deco 'coz don't have much information about JM.
1726055.jpg

appledumpling

Coco - u may want to check with the company which sponsored this during the wedding show. Don't have this information on hand now but my guess is at least 1k+

chewychiu

cocotintin, apple> Before signing the contract a month back, my coordinator assured me that splitting the 2 nights is not a problem at all, coz I wanted the 2nd night for anniversary instead.