Goodwood Park Hotel

conditionred

Kass >> Oh I see!! Thank you very much for explaining.. I guess I will also have decide on the flowers and backdrop etc in June, 3 months before my actual day..

missbibi

Kass: my coordinator says the 2 backdrops by JM are old ones used 2 yrs ago n they r not using anymore. Which design are u gg with for ur wedding huh?

strikingreality

Issit? If no longer in use, then how come my coord willing to show to me leh. The pictures look quite new and recent leh.

My coord has changed my backdrop design to the one I want already. I also customised by changing the type of satin cloth used at the base. I dun mind using them, they actually look quite nice, better than the new one JM have. I dunno how to describe which 1 I am using leh. In total I saw three JM designs, two with different types of flower stand, one with green plant pots. I chose 1 of the 2 with the flower stand.

Really ah. How come all these coord like to say different things to different couples?

strikingreality

Missbibi... Just write to Raman and tell him, even if it is 2 years old, JM told you that they are still available for GWP and you would like to choose them if possible. See what he say??

missbibi

I just met June florist yesterday. They've got a backdrop design not available in GW's presentation deck. I've requested for it n they said ok as long as its available tt day! Keeping my fingers and toes crossed that no one is using it that day so I can have it for my wedding cos its just so elegant!!

And so happy my coordinator is very accommodating on hw I can decorate the whole recep area plus he can help shift the solemmisation arch up to the ballroom.. yea! Super excited!

missbibi

Woohoo! I just received an email from my coordinator that I can use the new backdrop design by June Florist!! I'm so excited n looking forward to the day!

To those who are considering GW, I feel that although the price may be on the steeper side compared to other hotels, I feel that the money is worth it. (With the right coordinator) ur requests will b fulfilled to the best of their abilities. Given the beautiful n magical exterior, n excellent service to boot, u can indeed hold ur dream wedding here

nykolee

Hey... Would like to check with those that have chosen their theme with JM Design. What are the color combination offered? I'm planning my wedding theme now. =D

missbibi

If u r using their latest backdrop, the colour is ivory/cream, green n purple. Think the other flowers, u can choose ur own colours depending on the type of flowers u r getting.

nykolee

Hi Missbibi thanks for the info. ivory/cream, green n purple is just for the backdrop? Do you have any idea if the color for the table and chairs is still white or red?

nykolee

Hi Missbibi, yes....

I want to know the color offered for the table cloth, sash color and etc... Didn't want my color theme to clash with the ballroom.

Any idea?

missbibi

table cloth is provided by hotel. They've got a few options to choose fr - green, white, ivory, red, black n a few more I can't remember. The chair sash colours depends on what JM has. Im using Jun florist, so can't help u. Y dun u talk to ur coordinator abt this? They shd b able to answer u better

strikingreality

Time for my AAR... :p

I totally enjoyed my time at GWP. From check in (or pre-check in as my xiongdi arrived before me and got everything sent to my room even before I arrived), the entire day was very smooth and went without a hitch.

Mei Fung was my coordinator. Although there was a particularly bad review about her after I signed up, I was v comfortable with her and decided to remain with her. No regrets at all. She was very flexible and ever so accommodating with my requests throughout my entire planning process. From 1st meeting her to the actual day she was always available on the phone or via email and was always prompt in replying, which I appreciate and value very much. She also tried her best to accommodate my last minute requests even up till the day before. On the actual day itself, although we did not meet up, she was down at the poolside helping with the set up of the area with the rest of the banquet team.

I totally recommend the poolside terrace for ROM. It was very romantic and because I never had a church ceremony, this was my "walk down the aisle" with my parents.

My banquet ops manager for the day was Kumar. Kumar was also available all the time and make sure everything was organised from making sure that I always have a straw in my cup to giving us additional allowances for our drinks. He gave us his phone number and even after the banquet he was contactable and personally delivered the top tier of my wedding cake to the suite. He worked to our schedule and was around to advise us on how we can change our schedules etc.

Couldn't have been happier with my choice of wedding venue.
Don't worry guys, you guys are all in safe hands!

Congrats Kass. Glad that u had a wonderful day at GWP. By the way, was your suite very far away from the ballroom? Can you share some of the photos taken in the ballroom?

Was the food serve on time? I heard that u had a candy bar? where did u place it? is it very squeezy? i initially was toying with the idea of a candy bar but worried that there will be space constraint.

conditionred

Hi everyone, does anyone know if food tasting is strictly only from Monday to Thursday? Because I think it could be difficult as I always end work late on weekdays =(

strikingreality

Cocotintin... Where did you hear I have a candy bar?? :p Lol. Yup I did have 1 in my reception area but whether it is very tight depends on what else you have at the area. Are you going to have a photobooth? If you do then I think it will be quite tight. Similarly if you are having the 45 minute band... They will stand opp the reception desk, so must bear in mind. Also will you have your photobook on display?? That will take up space as well. I only had a candy bar and a small photobook hence I dun think it was tight at all. My photobook is placed next to the desk and my candy bar opposite my reception desk.

All my guests arrived early so I started early and ended by 2300h. My suite is right next to the ballroom, not far at all.

strikingreality

Btw, I bought additional car park coupons amounting to slightly more than 10% of my dinner attendance. Total i had about 30+% parking coupons. Can i complain that the prices of these coupons have gone up again?? It's now $4, increase by 50 cents.

In the end used only about half of those I bought. I have an additional 18 coupons to let go at $3.50 each. These coupons are valid till 24th June 2011. Can be used any date up till then. If you have many friends who drive, good to purchase more cuz 20% Is not really sufficient.

If interested pls drop me an email at strikingreality at hotmail.com. I will be back in SG from saturday afternoon hence will be able to meet up and pass to you or alternatively send to you should you prefer.

Kass: i got to know from May 2011 btbs forum. I will not be having any photobooth or photobook on display. I intend to show the pics in the ballroom up on the projector instead. By the way, at what time did u had to open up the ballroom for guest to enter? the reception area is so small, i dont think it can cater 80 guest. I do have a 45mins band though.. so i dont think theres anymore space for the candy bar but im contemplating to move the 45mins band inside the ballroom but not sure if they will allow me to do that. I have gotten my wedding planner to check out with the hotel.

Another thing that bothers me is that it is quite difficult to find nice bottles for candy bar, where did u get urs from?

By the way, how come the extra carpark coupons are not refundable to the hotel? did ur guest experience difficulty finding a carpark lot? Were there 1 or 2 weddings on ur wedding day? Sorry for asking so much.

strikingreality

cocotintin - Are you allowed to choose what type of 45 min band you want?? My cousin who also got married in GWP had 45 min band, but they are an acoustic band, so if you move them into the ballroom, I don't think anyone can hear them.

As for when to open doors, I didn't even think about it. That's for your banquet ops manager to worry. They are the best in judging the situation and deciding when to open the door, so don't over worry.

My bottles for candy bar are from Ikea, but I dressed them up with ribbons and pinwheels. If you want really nice and elegant bottles, you can get them from iwannagohome, but they are V expensive.

I dunno how come extra car park coupons are refundable to the hotel, but we were informed when we bought. There was also another wedding at Tudor ballroom, but even without that wedding, the GWP car park is already quite tight for a single wedding. If you are concerned parking is an issue, you can tell your guests that they can choose to park in York Hotel in Mount Elizabeth. York hotel is also under GWP and they also use Wilson Parking so the parking coupons can be used there.

Missbibi - my coupons are currently pending. I will let you know if the other BTB decide not to take them. I dunno how many guests took my coupons, but prob 25% is a good amount to cater for.

Kass: thanks. I will check out the bottles at IKEA soon.

I am having headache over the guest list and cards now. sigh.. i think everyone has to go through this stage man. haha..

By the way, can i check what fishes did all of u choose for your dinner menu? Sea perch? Garoupa? or Promfret? Any recommendations?

Any recommendations for the cold dish? Any idea if prawn roll taste nice? dont quite understand how this prawn roll is being cooked for the cold dish selection. Is stuff mushroom good?

missbibi

Thanks Kass think i'll get straight fr hotel in tt case cos i'll need them this Sun.

Coco: u may want to check with ur parents or fil if they hv any preference cos usu either party will hv

strikingreality

Cocotintin - The fish all taste good actually on the four occasions I have tried them. Just to note that Sea Perch is a fillet of fish, rather than a whole fish, do check with ur parents if they are okay with that, cuz some parents may insist on 有头有尾. Sea Perch is actually very good, tastes like cod fish. Pomfret is nice, but not easy to serve, because the fish is served flat, so very hard for the servers, because they have to remove the bone in the middle, if you are superstitious and think you shouldn't flip the fish. My actual wedding dish is garoupa steamed teochew style.

But I agree with missbibi to check with your parents cuz they usually have their own preferences on the type of menu they want. The only dish I had my dad to choose was the fish cuz he is v particular about fish.

yup, i have check with my parents already. I will be trying the pomfret steam in teochew style for the food tasting and if it doesnt taste 'sweet' because it is actually a fresh frozen fish then i will opt for garoupa which is a local bred live fish.

Anyone tried the smoked duck under the poultry section? Is it gd? according to my coordinator, he says it is good.

love_asa

Hi cocotin, I tried the stuffed mushroom during my food tasting. It sounds better than it tastes I feel. I don't know what's the part on top, but it tasted like fish cake.

conditionred

I'm always worried that it will rain during my wedding dinner because GWP has an open air car park.. Will the hotel provide umbrellas for guests if it rains?

magpievy

Hi ReD,

I held a conference in GWP last yr and it rained. In the end, we have ushers with Umbrellas sheltering pple to and fro the carpark. So should be ok....

amryllis

I think the new themes are ugly.
I also think their choice of invitation cards (not the dreamweavers one) and favours lack standard, esp when they are 5 star hotel.

strikingreality

I actually kinda like the invites, because they are understated and elegant looking. Have u signed up with them? Shouldn't you have seen the cards beforehand?

amryllis

Kass, the invites u saw r the white/ red w 'xi' right? I m negotiating the package w them. I m nt keen bt my htb is super determined to hold our wedding there so we have to accommodate. Of course no venue is perfect n there are def pros n cons n tradeoffs, etc. It's bt finding a balance bt ibfeel gwp flaw lies in these areas...

strikingreality

amryllis >> If the themes and the cards are an issue for you, then you might want to consider "negotiating" with your HTB to have you engage a separate wedding planner for your decor and wedding invites, since he is insistent on having this wedding there.

Having already had my wedding, I do feel that GWP is a perfect venue for me...

conditionred

magpievy: You said that you had ushers with umbrellas.. Are they from your company or from the hotel? =x I don't think I have enough xiongdis to help out as ushers if it rains because they will probably be busy with other duties

strikingreality

To be honest, if it rains it v difficult for your xiongdi to be usher to and from car park. How will ur ushers know who is attending ur dinner and who is there for other reasons? And chances are ppl who are driving there would already hv umbrellas in their cars or otherwise be dropping off their guests at the main entrance. It might be more petinent for you to prepare the umbrella covers for their umbrellas should it rain...

amryllis

Kass -thanks. LOL on the contrary, my htb convinced me that the invitation cards are not an issue because people usually throw them away after seeing it. So we are not going to get another printer. For themes, GWP shared that we can talk to the florist on our preference and we will see if we can do it within the package budget. If we need to top up, might consider outsourcing. But hopefully they can accomodate to my preference. =crosses fingers=

Kass, which ballroom did you have? YEs the place is very unique - colonial feel so that's why my htb wants that venue by hook or by crook. Arg!

strikingreality

Amryllis - You're welcome! I love GWP, seriously. Having actually never stepped into the hotel before my 1st appt, I fell inlove with it at first sight.
For the colonial feel. For the elegance. There is only 1 other place in my opinion like it, and that's Raffles Hotel. But this is cheaper. LOL. I had my wedding in Windsor just 2 weeks (and 2 days) back.

For the invites, you can personalise it even with using the normal wedding cards, through the use of different coloured inserts, translucent paper insert printed with different colours. For me, I didn't use the GWP envelopes and in fact got my own envelopes to customise the overall presentation. I also decorated my envelopes with scrapbooking stamps etc to customise them as well.
So yeah, it's really limited by your own creativity.

And for me, I felt even more of a need to be different because my cousin's wedding was 6 weeks before mine, and she had the dreamweaver invites, and my Hubby's colleague also had her wedding there 8 weeks before mine.

But like you said and what I believe in as well, dun need to spend too much on cards, cuz ppl will throw them away in the end.

amryllis

Hi Kass, you are very nice and generous to come back to the forums even though your big day is over! Thanks for sharing so much advice!
Yah raffles hotel is nice but it's about $1600 per table for dinner. =.= I think u are someone who likes classic stuff yah!

Its ok, I think i agree w my htb that the invites are not impt and nowadays, the younger generation have einvites...we probably only give the hard copies to the elderly.

How was the dreamweavers cards? I know they are beautiful.
What did you have?

blueangel81

It has been a while since I last visited this thread & Kass, u've tied the knots already! Congrats! Mine coming up soon in ~3 weeks time..nervous & excited! keke..

Just to share...me & HTB visited JM florist last Sat..they have 4 stage themes now..we picked their latest crystal theme coupled with vanilla roses & choose to decorate the stairway to windsor ballroom w/o the sash for a neat & elegant feel..

Kass, how long does it take to complete the March-In from entrance to stage in the Windsor ballroom? ~2mins? Did you do a reheasal b4 the dinner? cracking my head over the March-In songs..

blueangel: congrats. time flies, the last time i saw u here was the time where we just sign up with GWP.

I am also cracking my head on the march in songs. I think it will take 30 secs to walk from the entrance to the stage? Do u have any photos of the floral decor set up by JM to share?

strikingreality

blueangel - you definitely won't walk for 2 minutes! I also think 30 seconds may be a bit long. Actually I didn't feel the march in was super long but we didn't really march in and walk super slow lah. I think it went by in the flash! As for your march in song, I dun think you need to worry about how long your song is, or when to march in, your banquet manager will cue you on when to walk in and he will open the door for you. The engineer in the sound room will also turn up/turn down the volume accordingly.

My march in songs are all sang live, so my singers who were also my hubby's xiongdis, they know how to pace the song to our march in as well.

I also did not do a rehearsal as well. My makeup was elaborate and took v long, so didn't have time to do it. Not an issue for me though. If you are doing an elaborate march in, dance with your JM/XDs etc, then you might wanna consider a rehearsal. Otherwise, it is really easy lah, no march in required.

pqpq

I was helping in my sis' wedding over the weekend and started thinking how to plan for ours. My HTB's XD dont have prior XD experience. *nervous ><*
Kass, you mentioned engineer in the sound room. As for the playing of videos, would it be the XD or the sound engineer playing it ah?

pqpq

oh and also, does anyone have any feedback re. the AD food? Coz during my sis' food tasting (not at GWP), they served a lot of sharks fin and we were all very surprised. But come to AD, the amount served was much lesser.