Goodwood Park Hotel

apple >> I think you're way early. No rush. In fact I think you can contact them in May and you will still be on time.

missbibi >> Yup, my wedding is on the 1st weekend of May. I have printed invites, but have not selected my decor. My coordinator told me that there will be new themes coming up, so told me to wait. Anyway, I will be attending 2 GWP dinners this month, so wanted to attend them first before making a more informed selection. Will only meet coordinator to discuss all these in end-March.

I printed 300 pcs of inserts. Less than RM160. I did not use GWP inserts, cuz the printer only use their own paper. They dun use other ppl's paper (scared the paper spoil their machine), so I have all these extra inserts! Will find someway to use them.

Hi Kass :: abt the printin card, if we are not using GWP invite cards is there any discount on the cost or we can exchange other items...

Hey Kass, u r really very on the ball. it seems like a have a lot more things unsettled, even though my wedding's a few wks after urs.

the inserts r like less than 20cents per piece?! Wa, super worth it! I'll be going down JB tmr to check out their paper & printing

hey tan, my coordinator says new theme will be out in early Apr, though they said it sill be out since Oct last yr =_="

Dear Lycia,

I think there is no discount if you choose not to use the invites, cos to them, they have already printed so not considered a 'cost saving' even if you dun use.

Dear Kass,

Your wedding is in May, have they give you a BAR for a day's room or a room? I'm still hesitating to book a hotel room online when i can save some money if i book thru them..

apple: U can join the rest at July btb thread.

I'm still in the midst of the preparations. Not sure if im lagging behind but i dont think so. I still have not firm up and confirm my florist and floral design yet. haha.. i have not printed my invites but i think i have to get it moving by Apr as my GDL will be in early Jul so i need to get the cards ready by then. I have also completed my PS. What abt u? hows preps?

Hi Cocotintin, what is the thread link for the July btb? I haven't done much lol.. waiting for new floral design, florist most likely going with what GWP has available. In the midst of selecting my gowns for PS. Haven't visited DreamWeavers. I was wondering if I will be too late if I start preps in April lol.. HTB say I too kiasu already :P

Miss bibi >> I've tried contacting my coordinator thru emails regarding the enquiries on the contract, called him on his phone but he din ans. I'm juz afraid tt he will play me out.
It's the uncertainty that keeps me worried. The draft contract stated that I have to sign it by tml otherwise the htl has the right to change any terms.. How come?

*scratch head*

Lala,

I advise you to drop him an email and say that you are going to sign the contract and cc the general enquiries. So when your coordinator tries to change the terms, u got something to back you up.

Jacintha >> You are referring to a Day Use Room, or a room for helpers overnight?

"I'm still hesitating to book a hotel room online when i can save some money if i book thru them.." - Don't understand what you mean? Them meaning the GWP coordinators? As far as I know, the rates that GWP offer to us as per what is written on the package is subject to changes. When I enquired for a room for an overseas friend, my coordinator told me that room rate is subjected to changes without prior notice, and that the BAR is sometimes a better rate and may be better to book online instead.

Tan >> I've done everything I could to try to get hold of him. Maybe he is extremely busy. I juz wanna get it over with & proceed with other stuff... It seems so tough for me. I hate to bother my coordinator but I need some clarification regarding e contract. Seems like I gotta wait till he's ready. He told me tt e date line is formality only..

Sorry to bother everyone wif my whining.. Hee!

Kass, you've got mail..

Hi anyone, I am considering holding my wedding banquet at Goodwood Park.. but it's quite expensive ($1338++) for Sat dinner. However, after visiting a few hotels, it's the only hotel that can meet our requirements and it's of much significance to us as that's where my HTB proposed to me. Can anyone share their additional perks? Thanks a lot!

Lala, once you cc the generalenquiries email, he will be more prompt in his revert le.. maybe u can also state that u;ve been trying to contact him via email, sms and hp on which dates but have not gotten any response etc etc. that shd do the trick.

dun worry, u aren't whinning.. wedding is a big thing to us girls so naturally we'll get worried if response is slow

dear kass,

yes, i'm refering to the day room ( and possibly any room that i can book)...ya, i have been checking their online website and yes, cheaper than the rest of the 3rd parties website.

Dear vivian,

yes, like kass mentioned, 1338 seems to be a more expensive menu.. but i was also informed that the prices went up from our 1188. if you haven't got any coordinator, maybe you can try MF, she's quite nice and prompt...

Dear lala,
Yup, we all do whining here.. hahaha, so it is normal!

I can't wait to see the new themes! I saw crown prince hotel's new theme.. wah, their last year's theme is better..

$1338 is the normal menu! Victorian package wedding dinner on weekend.

From the past postings, it seems like it has went up from $1188 to $1268 (2011) and then now to $1338 in 2012! That will be like almost $1.6k per table!! Gosh... That said, I really love to hold my wedding there.. comtemplating now...

And for the solemnization area at Mayfair pool, they are quoting me for another $800++!

Faint...

Thanks, Jacintha. I've contacted Rahman. He doesn't really reply to email, but a nice person to talk to face-to-face..

Hope to hear more comments from anyone who just held her wedding at GWP...

sorry to flood.. but just to share:

Premium menu for 2012 is $1488++ (all days)
Normal menu for 2012 weekend dinner is $1338++ (9 course)
Wedding lunch is $918++ (8 course, all days)
Normal menu for 2012 weekday dinner is $988++ (8 course)

Windsor Ballroom (25-38 tables)
Tudor Ballroom (18-22 tables

To be honest, I find the price hike a bit too ridiculous! When I booked the place in early 2010, it was less than $1100 for Saturday dinner! and less than $1000 for Friday and Sunday dinners.

hi vivian and kass..

agreed. it is getting really expensive, i wonder what is the basis for the increment? i personally dun think that the economy is doing so well that it warrants such hike! but i wonder if it is the same for the rest of the hotels..

and i thought my 1138 is expensive already.. omg.

Thanks Missbibi and Jacintha for ur comforting words. Initially, I was still afraid that I whine too much.

Juz an update, there is a little movement in the direction of signing the contract. Still short of some changes. I managed to catch my coordinator on his phone the other day. I guess it's easier to find them on weekdays. I juz take each day as it goes. Dun wanna get myself worked up. Looking at the price hike, I juz wanna confirm my bookings and take a deep breath after that.

Vivian >> looking at the price list.. Lunch or weekday dinner looks more reasonable.. I think fri is considered as weekend too rite?

I realized other hotels are increasing their prices too. For 2012 menu because it is the year of Dragon..!

According to a friend of mine, she said Hyatt is offering her $1300 nett for lunch reception.. For wedding on nov 2011.

Er.. Vivian, you better decide earlier, I suggest. Or if you can wait, wait for GWP wedding day, which will be ard Jun or Jul this yr, according to my coordinator.

Vivian... if you are very firm on GWP, I don't suggest you wait actually. Because GWP will most likely make use of the wedding show to increase price (although they may have some wedding show only perks eg. Dreamweaver invititions). Also your preferred date may be booked up by someone else before the wedding show.

Hi Jacintha, not sure what's the basis too.. but Rahman say he'll be serving a full small abalone instead of sliced abalone..

Hi Kass, I'm not firm but very tempted though. So far my name has been placed against my date 7 Jul 2012 (Sat) and Rahman told me he'll not remove my name unless another couple comes by. He said he'll inform me (I hope : / ).

HI Vivian,

Usually, that's the case. in most hotels, once you make a booking, they are 'obligated' to help you keep the date until other couple is willing to pay a deposit immediately then u will be forced to 'drop the date'...

hey gals, met up with the coordinator yesterday to select themes and all the nitty gritty stuff. when we tried our luck to ask for cheaper ROM rate at the poolside, we were told that the current rate they quote now is $1000.

kass, we just changed to windsor ballroom

originally worried 18 tables in Tudor is too huge for us. now we will probably end up having to cramp 38 tables in windsor. LOL

have you confirmed your wine?

lala, GWP quoted me S$330++ for a deluxe room (on a weekday, which is supposed to be more expensive)

then we checked out the GWP website and it is definitely cheaper.

tangerinez >> So Jialat! Is it the family thing u mentioned about? Lucky the Windsor ballroom was not booked on the actual day...

I am gg to visit the wine merchant this weekend!

Now every weekend also will be planning something or buying something, or checking out vendors. No time to breathe at all! I wish there is a weekend I dun have to make a decision.

dear tangerinez,

they quoted me 500++ - for poolside rental... i thought i could bargin for cheaper rate, apparently not! And yes, the rooms on their website is cheaper, for my wedding, it is 252++.

dear kass,
jia you!! soon, it will be over soon.

kass, yea... happy ending
but lots to do last min.

yes every weekend busy busy! but very happy when things get done. strike one more item off the list, even if it's a small thing = happy!

we'll need to go to get more wine and martell too. maybe will see you at toh guan? hee

jacintha, yes lucky we got the $500 rate!

kass, i'm sorry if you've given me this info before. do you know whether T&T opens on Sundays, and what time they close? just trying my luck

thank you...

Yes... Lucky all of us for getting the $500 rate! I feel v happy that I am getting married this year and not next year. If I am getting married next year cannot use GWP le.

Tangerinez >> TnT opens on Sunday. They close around 8, I think. But best to go earlier bah, just in case.
Maybe see u at Toh Guan this weekend!

Jacintha >> I dun want it to be over actually. It's tiring but it is very fulfilling because it is your own wedding.
It's a v happy thing. I was telling my hubby, dunno after wedding do what already....

Kass>> Seen a few like:
- Marina Mandarin (ballroom low ceiling, with pillars, very small though I like the foyer/recept area
my date is 7/7/12 but someone has already book the date (not paid), heard from fren the food not very nice)
- Orch Mandarin (max 22 tables if not 35 tables for grand ballroom, too little tables)
- Orch Parade (cheap.. but ballroom only slightly better than MM's one.. heard from fren food not nice too)

Alot of other hotels I can't meet their min table requirements for weekend (like Oriental, Sheraton, Intercon, Conrad)...

Tangerinez>> you are so lucky!! GWP quoted me $800.. he said $1000 but if im booking through wedding banquet he can charge me $800

Vivian >>
- Orchard Parade: Very nice food actually as it is catered from Tung Lok's kitchen.

It seems like u are looking at something between 28-35 tables?? Have u considered the following hotels as well??

- Amara Sanctuary. It's on Sentosa but shouldn't be an issue for Saturday dinner as ppl dun need to rush back to prepare for work the next day.
- Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. Very nice poolside solemnisation area.
- Raffles City Convention Centre (Swissotel the Stamford)
- Pan Pacific Ocean Ballroom

Tangerinez >> Yup, after that still got reno! But I won't be the project lead!
That my hubby will take charge!

Thanks Kass. OK I will check out Orch Parade hotel, just that the ballroom has pillars too. I might be meeting the coordinator this Sat. Have you attended wedding there? The food good? Yea, I thought the food should be nice since from TungLok, maybe that's just a one-off incident that my fren encountered

I was looking at Crowne Plaza, concern is the location as it's all the at the east.. the ballroom in the pic looks nice though!

RCCC: lol.. I had my company DnD there and the food is quite lousy I find..

Pan Pac: Min table is 30.. im looking at 25-30, 30 is on the high side and I do not hope to commit.

Amara Sanctuary: Can consider, but if I am the guest, I would be turn off by the location :D

Sorry, I think I am very very fussy... haiz...

Looking at Grand Park City Hall.. they having a wedding show in Apr..