Future Father-in-law cannot compromise on a venue.. What can I do? Please advise..."

I agree with Milo on his last para...*raise both hands to agree*

Cannot imagine what will come next after the venue is confirmed....which wedding card to use, what time to march-in?? wahahhahaha....best, who to invite, who sits with who and who to sit which table...i tell u the table arrangement can be equally tricky if ur FIL is like that....

everyone knows i'm not a big fan of the fairytale wedding, but i think in this case it's valid becos it's their own money and their choice.

the flaw is in the father pushing for some restaurant where maybe he feels important... u know those family restaurants where u have regular patrons who think they super regular? i think most of u know wat i mean... the family prob eats at these p-laces regularly, recommend relatives who eat there regularly and all want that place becos they are regulars...

sounds to me like the same reason why pple are buying properties...

A perfect wedding isn't one that is so perfectly planned. But simply because 2 people in love are so happily marrying. I couldn't stop grinning like a child when I came to pick her on our wedding day.

It didn't matter that the prez slides were not perfect and I lost my voice and couldn't speak at all during the banquet. Whatever the folks asks me to do, I did all. Even how foolish or ridiculous, I didn't question or get upset. I see how happy she was. That's enough.

Powder, based on my guess, majority of us are paying our entire wedding by ourselves. Well, I did, my frens did, our cousins did..

I believe none of us have ill intentions of wat we have said. Most of us should have gone thru the wedding prep and understand wat r the possible (and more) hiccups) coming up. I think we are jus trying to help our dear gal here, perhaps it's jus the way some of us have put across.......

Hi dsoo, sorri I have missed your previous queen post.. And ya, i also think Im like the Queen.. But what to do, its my BIG DAY and I want to be happy too.. Did your wedding went smooth-sailing without any quarrels? How envious.. Sigh..

Hi powder!! Great mind thinks alike! Exactly what i feel and think.. Thanks for understanding me!

Hi Milo, I think I did mention I am compromising on the restaurant part which you might have missed it out.. Do check it our yeah?
And if my r/s with PIL is so not impt to me, I wld have taken their money for my wedding and not worry so much now..

Soon-to-be: ya lo!! So many issues.. So stressful.. No wonder they call it the BIG DAY..
bleah

My b/f & i are paying for our wedding. We accept the suggestions & wishes of our elders, as long as they are reasonable & fits within what we want for our wedding.

Venue & date are both things i will not compromise, esp when i am paying for it.

I respect my elders but if they think they are running the show, they are mistaken.

dramamama! I want to be like you! SO cool!
I told my parents abt it and my dad finds the requirements weird too..

Rebeane, you won't believe that did I and my hubby fought over during our prep...the last and major one which we almost called off the wedding a few days before was whether to an chuang.

Wedding dinner is only one part of your marriage. Perhaps you may think differently, coz I know for some, it will mean an important step to the next stage of your life.

For me, I only wanted a simple ceremony. However, my hubby insisted on a proper and memorial evening for me which I appreciated.

If I were to go thru it again, perhaps I will jus pass the entire task to my hubby. And I will only focus on my wedding gowns, staying happy and looking good (and slim) for the 1-day event.

Gal, you got to learn that after marriage, there will be more things that you will need to learn to manage (including really "fighting" for) which will include managing your PIL relationship.

Rebeana,

I did read all those.

Its worrying to read how you don't want to marry anymore because of it etc. Such thoughts are really stressing the relationship over the wedding.

This is not new and so many couples breakup over their wedding. And those that didn't break up, many suffer collateral damages from the conflicts.

This is what I'm warning you against. Don't burn the bridges. There are ways to workaround. You just need to consider what are the main priorities and trade off with things that doesn't matter to the both of u. The problem is many couples just decide and fix on too many things without seeing if all are important and expect to move everything around it, its difficult this way. The budget, schedule etc all can be flexible because what's more important so far from what I read is really getting good ambience + food and a persistent FIL that thinks hotel food sucks.

Look at the variables, budget though tight, its variable and increasing with timing. The 2 session idea is possible if you allow time to gather your resources. Honeymoon, house renovation etc. all these are variables you can play with to give you more resources and budget. I printed my own wedding cards using a friend's color laser printer and MS excel to format the template. And our honeymoon to Bangkok was surprise gift from BIL. We planned our Hokkaido trip only 1 yr after the wedding.

Hi Soon-to-be.. Ya I agree with what you said.. I also wanted a simple affair, a wedding lunch but it was rejected, so I had to listen to their idea of wedding dinner.. Maybe all these accumulates to my first post coz I feel why can't i even make plans for my wedding and why should they always plan for me..

Im better now after listening to all the suggestions and advises.. I will compromise on a restaurant but will never do it at the Boon Lay Raja or Yun Nan Restaurant at Fairway Club.. I think I have took a big step back, the rest is really up to FIL..

Rebeane, good for u! Do enjoy your prep...it is be over before u know it..and perhaps when u read this thread again, u might be laughing at it.....

And congraz on your upcoming BIG day!

oh your highness, how can i fault you for missing my insignificant and unpleasant comments?

oh,of cos my wedding is not smooth sailing, as with anyone else's. I did wrote "i'm sure all of us met into some hurdles during our preparation, the difference with us is that we don't just say "i don't want to get married anymore". Do check that out yah?

and do also check out what Milo has written as well.

yes. my dear queen...you are entitled to everything you want for your wedding and i hope you will get it eventually - that is if you do succeed in getting married!

Hi Milo, ya, you are right.. Sigh.. I guess its just like everything being so negative and stress has got over me. You are right, I have more important things to look into and flat is definately one of them.. Dun worry, I will not brun the bridge, as I say, I do not have anything personal against my FIL, its more of the situation than him.. and wow! Yr parents in law are so nice! Give you a surprise! Wedding is such a headache, so many things to plan.. thanks for highlighting them to me.. coz seriously, Im really at a lost as in what to do and what to do next..

Hi soon-to-be.. Thanks! Really, its only 1 week into the day i decided to go ahead with it. Its like the feeling of lost, scared, whatever you call it + so people telling you how scary things will be.. I guess I took it too seriously and kinda influenced myself..

hi dsoo, y are you so aggitated? Why say "that is if you do succeed in getting married!" Its very insulting and hurting you know? Pls con't curse me, I really don't like it.. Why are you so angry with me? Did I say anything wrong? Im sure you also don't like people to curse you like that right?
This is a friendly forum, Im not defensive, Im just lost and confused.. dun get angry because of me ok? its not worth it

And if you are, bye..

i nvr curse u lah...i wouldn't dare..i wished happiness didn't I?

why bye? are u angry? chase me away ah... so unfriendly wor.....

Hi Rebeana,

Don't worry too much. You will definitely be a happy bride if everyone around you is happy.

To me a fairy-tale wedding is when everyone is happy to celebrate together with me.

We had a restaurant wedding and I don't feel embarassed at all although most of our guests were the top 10% earners in Singapore. In fact, most of the guests thought my hubby was very wise.

We were pleasantly surprised that the Angbow collected was more than double the whole wedding cost.

well...you always say this is a friendly forum but you unfriendly towards me leh....
is it because I keep saying things you don't wish to hear? well...that's a forum for you.

Honestly, if it's really the food quality... then could have it at Renowned, Top-notch, Excellent restaurants... tio bo? (the father can top-up for them if that's really his concern but he sounds like the typical lame uncle to me)

i dun know isit me, or are we really that dumb to still think the father's choice of those restaurants for good food is like a freakin biblical fact...

sure, fight and fight over good food, but last time i went yunan, the food is crap on ala carte, the other Raja one i never tried, the Chevron one, erm... it's a catering business... so can we At Least try to see beyond the father's poor reasoning of Food taste. and get onto Location?

ok, honestly, i'm not downplaying anything, but location is subjective... the father just happens to know his circle who may stay in that area... how abt the bride's parents & herself - their side of invitees, the colleagues, frens etc?

no doubt relationship with FIL is impt, and i advocate that over the 1-day affair, but this particular case isn't like the rest where pple argue over the number of tables etc... this one is abt a freakin restaurant in the west which Doesn't host weddings as it's main, but is a foodie reastuarant that can hold a wedding.

Can we at least take this case for what it is?

I insisted on the hotel that I want to hold my wedding dinner in. Despite my MIL's call for wedding at Chevron/Boon Lay Raja or somewhere in the west, like you. Hubby loved me, thus gave in to me. We had our wedding at M hotel. Food is so-so. But we get to enjoy the wedding suite for 2 nights.

On wedding day, I walked down the aisle with my hubby. I should feel the bliss. But when walking down the aisle, the faces that I passed by... kept me wondering. 'Do I Know You?'.... And it dawned to me. Why am I spending a fortune just to treat people whom I don't know? Are they really there to celebrate for us or just an obligations/respect towards our parents?

Wedding ended, we got back 50% of the wedding cost. Ended up paying another 50% of the dinner with our own money. Changed plan on honeymoon due to unexpected spending on wedding dinner. Regrets sets in..... If only I could be tact bit wiser, to know that to spend on me and my hubby rather than on the dinner, for 80% of guests whom you don't even know.

I was 23 yrs old then. If only I could turn back the time.....

not PIL but the Bro in law

Her family side is alot more well-to-do then mine. So, on the 'face' matters, I understand how important it is for them, to have it in a expensive hotel. They didn't insist we foot everything but its about our own principles not to use parent's funds for our wedding. In fact, we spent quite abit on the photography, and gown as we selected them individually instead. And even forfeited the deposit with another studio.

Just took our time and plan it over some yrs. Still, budget ended up stretched abit

1) Suggest a place with very good food + nice ambience (Any suggestions to me? Please...)

Try Peony jade - ALL praises from my guests and relatives

Hi Rebeana,

you can seek advice here, But do what you think is best for you.

All written here are my personal thoughts. And I did not read tru all the post when posting this entry.

Firstly, your FIL you mentioned:

"Bf's father have his priorities.. He wanted somewhere with
- Very good food
- Accessible to his relatives and friends"

If he is the one paying for the whole wedding. Then you will have no say. But since you are going to pay everything yourself. Then decide on a venue you really like and not just to "eng siew" your FIL. Trust me, once you give in to him, for the rest of either his or your life, you will have to give in to every nonsense and shit.

And I don't really get it why do you have to get approval from your FIL when this is not his wedding but yours.

Wedding is an once in a lifetime issue. Why give in when you know you won't be happy about it FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE? Its easy for others to comment and talk about your problem. Because they are not the one going tru it. And yes I have been to all the 3 places your FIL suggested and I will never ever hold my wedding there either.

Maybe I am a not so nice daughter-in-law or wife. But I make all decisions with my hubby. And all we do is inform our parents NOT SEEK APPROVAL from them. We've ROM and stay in the flat we bought. AD is next yr Jan but right now, from the very first day I move in, my in-laws stay with me. I had no issues with that as long as they don't provoke me. But at the same time, I do not communicate much with them. Talk more = more conflicts. So I only talk to them when there is a need. I wouldn't do or say nasty things to my PIL so I expect them to stay out of my life too. And if parents really love and dote on their children, they would want them to be happy too including their spouse.

Another key factor that determines are you going to be happy in the future depends on your husband or rather in the case your Soon to be Husband.

If he wants you to give in to his dad no matter what, then chances are, you will have to give in to them every now and then. I suggest that you tell him that this is the wedding between you and him and something that do not please you will not please him either. Best is to have a supportive husband.

Go for something you want & like. If the 1st day of your wedding, if you are unhappy, I doubt the rest of the time you will be happy.

how bout yun nan at NTU Alumni Club @ buona vista?
You can use the main hall for your wedding, they have cocktail recep before the wedding and the setup is quite nice too. moreover, they serve great food n has great service.

the food sucks there as well. by the way they've shrunken the place, so u have to hold in the 'ballroom', the whole place feels more like a campus, it's hard to find for 1st timers and dark at nite...

there's no specific budget constraints so far, so i'm wondering why we're trying so hard to come up with budgety places to please a FIL who has his priorities wrong and obviously imposing on her...

by the way, places like these which are not hosting weddings day-in/day-out who hire those fill-in waiters, there will have issues with the standard of waiters/waitressing... there'll be manpower issues. also, the march in will be short, the sound system isn't made for the occasion, there's no special equipment for Aisle and logistic will be an issue if they simply get the typical restaurant captain to run the show...

there's more consideration than one would think of. just cos a place has the capability to hold a wedding, does not make it a good wedding venue....

"One idea is Noble House although I have not read the reviews yet.."

I've been to a friend's wedding at Noble House last year.. not sure if anything has changed drastically now.. The first thing i like about it is the open area at the back of the restaurant for smokers... =X
Due to the newly implemented law, i duno if that area is still open for smokers.
Next, the food. Seriously, i cannot remember how the food was. So IMO, it is just normal bqt food quality loh.. as i dont have any impression of it.
Third, the location. A short walking distance from Tanjiong Pagar MRT Station. If one is not familiar with that area, you might missed out the dull looking building. Hard to catch a cab after the whole bqt. My friends and i left at around 11pm, crossed the road to the taxi stand and we waited for at least 30mins for a cab and then another 15mins for the next one.

Well, this is what i remember from my last visit to the bqt invite at Noble House.

The last time I had at M hotel, the food was quite good. U can consider there. Conveniently beside MRT as well.

After all you'll are paying. Hence, just try to settle him via the logistic arrangements. If he pro his friend's restaurant that much, just bring him there on his birthdays or any other days.

Mayi for the smoking part they would normally close one eye lah. Rear exit, Toilet, Poolside all should be no prob. Previously I had mine in a restaurant within a none smoking hotel... All my guest also smoke till luan lol... I was biting a cigar when we march in due to my wedding theme :P

rebeana,

i can understand that u might not like his venue choices, as some other brides wouldn't fancy as well. he has his reasons, no matter how 'crazy' or unreasonable', but so do you.

just imagine, what could u have done if u have no money and no say?

as the ultimate paymaster, u are actually in that position to talk to the FIL without trying to sound too hard to dispel his choices. i think it's the way that u and ur fiance shld be putting the message across - despite the history abt the BIL and all, i do not think it shld be taken as a priority. u're perhaps reading too much into the negativties for now.

actually, i can see the reason behind the suggestions that u might not be ready for the Real marriage. if u can see that, u shld be able to get the fiance to convince his dad on the preferred venues... or u can even do it urself.
hey, i'm serious.

LOL hbh... eh.. ur cigar was lighted when u march in??

i quite agree with hbh on the M hotel part. Cos i worked there as a bqt vip server before.. haha.. the food is good. Especially the chicken and mango pudding. I mention vip server because as a vip server, she get more privilege.. that is, the chef will keep some extra portion of food for her. So, i have tasted all kind of BQT food in M hotel throughout the 1.5yr i worked there..

the function room at level 2 is low ceiling and not nice de.. the one at level 10 is much much much nicer..

this whole affair feels like me wanting to buy a Lange & Sohne, and FIL insisting on me buying a Rolex...

i dun think the FIL has a say... not in this case. and his say is abit chia-lart...

I don't think it is food that FIL is grumbling about as those places that the FIL mentioned do not serve that great food.

As I see it, the request to have it at those restaurants in the west is a bit ridiculous - if it is logistics then it can be overcome.

But I think the FIL is more stubborn and insistent than just the food itself. So in any case, if you can bring him to a restaurant with better ambience or a hotel with food that he can at least compromise.. that would be good. Else, you have to let your HTB convince or inform him.

Yeah mayi it was lighted. Banquet Managers are quite willing to nod their heads when you have thhe whole place. Just maintain good relationships with them. They even offered me discounts when I go back there for dinning still.

WJ doesn't seem local to me eh?

TS HTB's stand is pro towards his dad or her? As I vaguely rem TS mentioning her HTB is kinda stuck between them. Best is let him go convince his dad. My grandfather also whine about the location initially when I had mine in town. His suggestion was at the void deck or community center across the road.

Just have a few contigencies mapped out when talking to him. I believe that after you convinced him with logistic arrangements, something else might pop up.

Hi all, im back (with more updates)..

Everything is still fine with me and my future FIL (althought I really try to avoid the topic of marriage with him).. He asked me when I am going to see the dates (his granduncle helping us with it) and Im still procastinating coz if we cannot get a solution, I am not too sure what to do and no mood to proceed..

Spoke to future sister-in-law abt wat happened during her time and she told me it was drama.. haha.. She say relatives actually came over to negiotiate with the FIL to see if he could change his mind and bla and SIL even cried and BIL even quarrelled with FIL and bla.. Ya drama hur? In the end, FIL finally agreed to not having it at Yun Nan Restaurant, bt he will also not attend the wedding.. hahaha.. In the end, BIL & SIL gave in..

She told me that it is also not true that the food is cheap and food. She says the place is dark, the exterior is dark and dirty and the worst is, she felt terrible and upset when at the end of the wedding, her friends ask her why she choose this location (it is at tamah jurong).. Very inconvenient for all her friends and relatives..

Sis-in-law suggest us to find hotels near to his dad's work place (Tanjong Pagar) which we gathered is Amara and M hotel which i am willing to compromise although I don't quite like it but I know both of us have to make a step back.. She say find the hotel first than tell FIL but I don't want to do it bcoz I feel it is no respect for him but my bf is going ahead with it..

Anyway back to me, I have stopped stressing bf(thanks for all yr advise.. I thought I am just discussing and sharing my thoughts to him but seem like apparantly Im not..) But we have also stopped (for a few days la) discussing about our wedding plans (except that bf asked me to go see a date next week with his parents which I say not now).. I know its pretty unhealthy and I have told bf abt my concerns and hope he can understand me and luckiy, he told me he understand coz he also feels the same way but he have no choice coz its his dad..
I told him i also hope his dad will be happy thats why Im vexed over it as well, else, I wldnt have bothered..

So yest, he spoke to his mum abt it and even his mum tnks his dad's request is ridiculous and say will try helping us.. So with mum, bro and sis-in-law's help, really hope that we can see some light to it(although during SIL time, their elder sis, auntie, uncle, bla bla came over to tok to his dad)..

I asked bf abt his opnions and he say he have thought of something (which he feels is alittle unfair to me).. He suggested that we skip the whole wedding banquet thing which I agreed (but still feel v sad).. I told him if this is the case, we can have a mini family gathering (ROM) at the YUN NAN Restaurant and we just go honeymoon and thats it but my family thinks that no big bang, not exciting..
But I think I have no choice..

Actually all in all, I just feel sad that I cannot decide the things I want and I feel sad why do I even have to compromise on my own famiy and relatives to suit his dad's requirements.. I feel sad why he never thought of my family, relatives and most importantly, me and my bf.. Thats why I feel very upset and tired(but since my undertsands me, I feel really good abt it)..

oh ya btw, we are paying for the banquet..

Hi Rebeana,

QianXi has braches in Hilltop (Bukit Batok CSC), you can try there and I heard they have open a new branch in the west too. Check it out...If your dinner venue really need to be in the western part of spore..