Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
Xuan,

I'm on msn now. Btw,1 gd thing is that the waitress change our plates after every dish when i attend the wedding dinner.

Tok to u in the noon via MSN....

But do they serve individually or they will just leave the plate on the table?

I'm quite scared of their food in fact, but feel more assured now as more of u say the food is ok.

for both VIP table they will serve the food individual, but others they leave it on the table. Except for sharkfins they will scoop into bowls at the table. Fish as i say they cut out before serving, so the fish look messy. Advised them to cut the fish only when it is served at the table.

Ok thanks alot.....

U r saying the lingzhi mushroom n cripsy chicken is nice right?

I think we select the Scallop instead of mushroom, chicken think we select roast chicken leh.... How does cripsy chicken look like? Like KFC kind?

LOL xuan....sorry my mistake..crispy chicken meaning roast crispy chicken. So your selection is the right one!

Lingzhi mushroom is nice cos' i am a mushroom person i loveeeeeeeeee mushroom!

Yam ring not nice...don't take. Is cold already by the time is served.

For dessert, we chose red bean... cos not many pple eat yam paste.

I think for 2005, price increase to $708 if i'm not wrong

How much do u all pay per table?

Dear all NA brides:
My menu are Cold dish, Shark Fin, Deep Fried Prawn wrapped with Yam, Braised Jin Bao Abalone with Lingzhi Mushrooms, Deep Fried Soon Hock, Roast Crispy Chicken with Prawn Crackers, Ee Fu Noodles with Chives & Sago Pearls in Yam Puree.

The waitor who served us was damn good, very courteous & polite. Whatever he did (changed plates (he changed the plate many times leh), served food, refilled tea & etc), he kept on addressing me & my husband, "Miss Lee, Mr Lau", made me a bit awkward & pai sei. He showed us all our dishes 1st before serving. He even asked 1st if we wanted to be served on individual plate. The fish was served nicely cut & not messy @ all. I even request my coordinator to engage the same waitor on my wedding day! hehehehe....

The presentation was ok lah. Out of all dishes, I was only curious with the way they served the cold dish as the jelly fish was served in a separate smaller bowl. Later my coordinator did explaint to me & I understood their effort. So, it's ok with us lah.

Frankly speaking, my coordinator was the one who recommended me the Sago Pearls in Yam Puree. She said she tried it before & was very nice & i did took her advise. Before my food tasting, she did informed me that there was a complaint that the yam puree was suck & that I could changed to something else if we dun like it! I did warned my guests abt it before the dessert was served and to my surprised, all my guests loved it very much!

We didnt make any bad comments abt the food tasting as all food were very tasty (not blend, salty or sweet). My husband only commented about the chinese tea, "PU ER" is tasteless & request to change the tea to "XIANG PIAN". We also added a remark, hoping that standard of all dishes will be the same on our wedding day, including the service!

** Shark fin & roasted crispy chicken were the best! Highly recommended!!!!

Hi all NA brides..

Need your opinion on my invitation cards printing. As we are all aware that NA has changed its name to Furama Riverfront Singapore, what will be the best thing to write for the hotel name in the invitation cards?

Im thinking of putting it as Venue : Novotel Apollo Singapore (now known as Furama Riverfront Sinagpore) instead of Furama Riverfront singapore ( formerly known as Novotel Apollo). I reckon my guests will have an easier time locating the right place instead of ending up in Furama Chinatown and especially that most people know the place to be Novotel Apollo, instead of its new name. If I am to print Furama Riverfront Singapore ( former Novotel Apollo), guests may overlook the address / map and worst if they are taking cabs and cant remember that its actually the former Apollo hotel and all they can remember is the first few words of the hotel's name printed on the card as Furama something..something in Havelock Rd,the cab driver who are not even aware of the change in the name of the hotel, wil be more confused as what most of us know that the only Furama hotel (or whatever Furama it may be) is in Chinatown, no Furama hotel in Havelock.

So how? Do you think its funny to print it as
Novotel Apollo (now know as Furama Riverfront Singapore)or should I print otherwise?

I really wish that the management had not changed its name in the 1st place. Now sooo "mafan"...*sigh*

Appreciate your views and comments.

My insert is printed as: Furama Riverfront singapore ( formerly known as Novotel Apollo.

As their wedding card has already changed to Furama Riverfront, think it is best not to have too many discrepancies just in case some blur blur guest got even more mixed up.

What i suggest is that u print a map of the location. More clear... that's what i do....

Adeline:

U are so lucky.... Maybe just my luck that day...
But more assured now since u all compliment on that... Was so worried that the food doesn't turn out well on my AD dinner

I agreed that the sharkfin was good.... very concentrated... hope it will be the same that day

Any idea if the shuttle bus services are made available to our guests? or do they serve oni the hotel guests (tourists) oni?

i think they dun check... cos that shuttle bus dun oni serve apollo guests, it also serve the guest from the hotels nearby like miranmar etc...

me new member here, my wedding is next yr march...

my coordinator is Jenny, hmmm hv not hear of selest and halim, but jenny is very good so far..

the theme i chosen was by stefi. as what desc by u gals, w/ the arch and silver gate and tealights hanging. but i understand, tis was call the garden theme leh...

ya, it was really troublesome they change hotel name.. if nv come in here, also nv tot the guest might b mistaken hor.. hai...

have not c the keychain gift.. tt time when i sign up, was quite sometime ago. but they very good in a way, can bring in DFS liquor, as they provide bottles lah, and free flow of beer, so i tot is cheap and good.. hehehe...

usually i tell my fren the hotel beside the Largest niteclub in Singapore and they kw.. haahhahaahah

hi kiki,

it is true that can bring in DFS liquor, din hear from my co-ordinator leh????

I am very blur about the themethat they have oso, anyway its better to make trips down to hotel to view the various themes before making a decision.

Dear Kiki: Ya lor, my coordinator is also Jenny leh. Like wat you have said, she is indeed really very good. Not only that, nice, friendly & responsible as well. Since she is our coordinator, must really trust & have faith in her that she will do her very best to help our big day an unforgettable one. Like our recent food tasting, she really did a good job for us lor and my husband & I are also very happy & glad to have her as our coordinator!

Dear nov bride: Yes, kiki is right. can bring DFS liquor but have to pour the liquor into the bottles the hotel provides as not nice to display the DFS label lor. Just feel a bit troublsome lor but at least the corkage charge is waived...so never mind lor!

Actually, me like you very blur with their theme as they have 4 themes and steffi....but we prefer bubble glass & will be using this theme instead to save the trouble to "CRACK OUR HEADS"!!!! hehehehe...... :P

Actually i quite sure the one w/ an arch and gate is called garden theme by steffi, cos i saw that at traders also.. and is also by steffi... cos i remember i did ask jenny lah..

as for the flowers, all is real flowers, except the ones on the arch lor... hehe

for me, i chosen the garden theme. but jenny is good, let say any weekend, u wonder got any dinner, can call her and ask, then can go view the actual setting lor.. hehe.. so far i saw 2, bubble and garden...

cant wait for the food tasting

hehe

Me choose Bubble one......... I like the bubble glass with floating candles n flowers.

But hor... If u wan bring Red wine, corkage charge is ard $10-$15 per bottle.

If not, u can also get red win from them, then no corkage charges.

U gals bring red wine???

I'm back from my honeymoon!

Hi i_bless_u,
I'm a WL bride. SO did you choose WL in the end?

My parents said that the sharksfin on my AD is very salty and the scallop not fresh. All are fine during the food tasting and I've also reminded my co-ordinator not to cook the food too salty (as it seems like the food tends to be salty for AD based on other's feedback) but still ... think very hard for them to estimate for bigger group as compared to 10 persons?

I was very nervous for my first march in. My hubby and the banquet co-ordinator reminded me to wwlk very slow as the march-in is very short but I still walk quite fast leh. Think too nervous liao.

Hi hiphip,

Welcome back. So we'll have a banquet coordinator too is it? Wah, will there be any rehearsal prior to the AD? I mean, how do we know at what pace are we supposed to walk..and some more it has to flow with the march in song rite? Btw, what song did you choose for the march in? How wld they know when to star playing the song? Who will play the song anyway? Sorry ah so many qns..dunno really what to expect and can expect from my package.

Fiona,
The shuttle service is meant for the hotel guests, not our wedding guests. I remembered when I was there (NA) and we wanted to take the shuttle bus, we were required to so-called registed with the bell captain or someone like that. Like what weiuan said, they don't serve NA guests only but other nearby hotels too. So if you want to provide shittle for your guests, I guess you'd have to charter a bus.

Hi hiphip,

welcome back :} Hope you will still come into this thread even though your wedding is over, ok :p Thanks for the feedback regarding the food, will remind them not to make it too salty on my day also. Ya, please answer to the question that blackrose ask leh, me wanted to know too, Thank you hor

Hi Blackrose and Nov_Bride,

My hubby and I assigned my hubby's 2 brother-in-laws as our own banquet co-ordinator and media co-ordinators. The media co-ordinator is in charge of the banquet music, march-in songs and the presentation slide shows that we played before the banquet and first march-in. So on the AD, after we arrived at NA and before the banquet, my hubby, our banquet and media co-ordinators, hotel co-ordinator and hotel technician (who will help to play the banquet music and march-in songs) and our emcees met up for briefing and rehearsal. I think it's about 4.30pm - 5pm when it started. I'm not involved as I've started my make-up for the dinner in the bridal suite by then.

We prepared 2 CDs : 1 CD that contains the music which we've selected to be played thru out the banquet and another CD that contains the 2 march-in songs. During the briefing, the hotel technician was given the CDs and was informed which song to be played for the march-in. My hubby also told our own banquet and the hotel co-ordinators when we will march-in. We choose 'Perfect Moment' (from the taiwanese idol soap 'Meteor Rain' sound track) for our first march-in and 'I've Finally Found Someone' for our second march-in. For the first march-in, the ballroom door will only open for us to march in when the singer starts singing. And for the second march-in, the door only opened during the chorus. So the timing is very important and the co-ordinators are briefed. During the actual march-ins, our own banquet co-ordinator will be outside the ballroom with us when the door is closed and will open the door at the correct timing (he knows by peeping into the ballroom now and then). Btw, our own banquet co-ordinator is the most important person (besides me & my hubby) during the banquet as he'll signal the emcees to start as well. Basically he does the co-ordination for the dinner event.

During the briefing, the sequence for the whole dinner will be briefed and run thru with all the involved parties. Our own media co-ordinator will test run the music, march-in songs and the presentation shows during the briefing too. Btw, the projector and your notebook will be in the ballroom so you need to assign your own media co-ordinator to help to play and stop your presentation shows if you have any.

I hope I've answered your questions. Let me know if you still have any questions. I'll be more glad to help if I can.

Btw, when's your wedding?

Hi hiphip,
Glad you are stilln visiting this forum. Thanks for the detailed info. At least, ive got some clue to whats gonna take place on the AD. So basically you're saying that NA will provide a banquet coordinator and hotel technician to assist us on the AD itself right? My Big Day is on 19 March 05. Still have yet to choose which theme for the deco. Im with Stefii's, so dunno how it'll turn out.. By the way how soon are we supposed to arrange and confirm with the florist on the wedding deco? And printing of cards as well? The thing is, though the wedding is gonna take place only in March but Ive gotta get things settled by end Nov. My hubby will be here only in mid - end Nov. After that we are both flying off to the UK, to distribute the invitations to his family and friends there and I'll only be back to SG late Jan, so i wanna be sure all is in order and no last minute changes. How long will the card printing take (for 160 cards?)Where did you go to for the printing? Wld you recommend them?

Hi hiphip,

Thanks for the informations, now i m getting more and more stress, seems like theres alot to be done. Just hope everything will turn out well on that day. Btw, how helpful are the hotel staffs to you on your actual day? My wedding is on the 21st Nov. Did you use any projector on that day?

Hi Nov Bride,

My AD is 1week 1day before yours.

Have u selected the songs n the theme?

I have selected the theme but have't finalise on the songs fo march in yet. Dunno which to choose.

D u all rent the projector from NA? How much do u all pay for it?

Hi HipHip & Kiki!

I chose Whitelink too

May i know if they will return you negative for the photos you chose? The sales person told me they don't return 1!

Sigh

Hi Blackrose,
There're 2 banquet co-ordinators for my wedding : 1 from the hotel, another is my BIL. Both are important persons as they interact w one another. Reason why we have our own co-ordinator is so that this person will co-ordinate with the hotel co-ordinator so we dun have to worry. Believe me, the banquet co-ordination is not easy. I've juz seen my video recording of my wedding. The hotel co-ordinator will be inside the ballroom to open the door for the march-in and my BIL is the one standing outside the ballroom. Like I said in my earlier post, it has to be stated clearly to both co-ordinators when the doors will be opened during the briefing prior to the dinner so they know what to do. And yes, there's a technician from the hotel in charge of the music. I juz came back to office today and my friend told me that the music stopped at the later part of the banquet. I'm not aware but if that's the case, not good. So u may take note and remind the technician or hotel to play till end of dinner. We select our theme 2 weeks before AD and collect the cards about 2 months before AD. The printer I went to is HiTech which I think is cheap. Service quite good also. I printed 400 inserts for only $100, with free strings to tie the insert with the cards. The printing takes less than 1 week for me. The contact is 64589455.

Hi Nov_Bride,
I'm also very stressed during the preparation so my temper not very good during that time also. I keep throwing temper at my hubby and parents which I feel bad. Now when come to think about it, I should take it easy. So dun be like me loh. Everything will be fine. My package includes the projector which I used to play the slide shows. Does yours include?

Hi i_bless_u,
My PS photos are digital photos. As we bought a lot of photos from them and topup a lot, we got the proofs back (in CD). Think it depends on how much u buy. Who're you photographer and MUA?

Hi Xuan,

Not yet leh, both theme and song not chosen, roughly have what i want in mind, just wan to go down and c to finalise on the theme. Regarding the song, i leave it to my hubby to do, too mani things to do on my part liao :p Plan to rent the projector from hotel, forgot about the pricing though, keep you update later k.

Hi hiphip,

Mine dun include leh, tried asking for it but was turned down
Did you go down to the cocktail on your wedding day? Wat time does your makeup start? My makeup will be at 6.30pm as my makeup artist had another bride to do makeup before me.

Nov Bride:

Same same, i also leave th songs to my hubby. Me too lazy to go thru all the songs

Think they charge us ard $200 if I'm not wrong... Abit expensive leh....

Hi nov_bride,

Initially I planned to go down to the cocktail which started at 7pm. But my MU starts at about 5.30pm and I had my hair set which takes longer time and my eyes are very hard to do as I've small eyes. So in the end, i went down at about 7.45pm which by then most of the guests are seated. But I'm very satisfied w my MU and hair so bo bian since wanna b a pretty bride.

HipHip..

My Photographer i chose vincent, MUA & designer is Sammi. Who did you chose that time??

Where did u go for PS? Thought of Pualu Ubin,but dunno need to top $$ anot. PS will be in mid or end Jan as Feb is CNY and they go back Malaysia.

Wow, your makeup & hairdo is long for dinner.
I was thinking of asking MUA come 6pm. Dunno too rush anot as i hav a Solemisation after the first march-in. Need to start at 8pm.

Hi i_bless_u,
My photographer is Alex and MUA is also Sammi. They are great. Sammi perm my hair hence takes longer and my eyes very hard to makeup. If you not setting your hair and you dun have small eyes like me, u may not need as much time as me. U can discuss with Sammi what kind of hair you wanna do then ask her how long she need. I think diff bride require diff time.

We went to Bintan for our outdoor. We paid another $500. I can send you the link of some of my PS photos if you want.

I can't remember how much is one pix. But I think digital and non-digital cost the same. We bought a lot of extra photos so we paid 1 lump sum like paying another package. We got 2 mag style albums in the end.

hiphip

For Photos alone how much did u top up including the Bintan $500 and how many pics?

I wanna see if i got such a big budget anot! HAHA

Hi i_bless_u, xuan,
I'll send you the link shortly. Now uploading some of my AD photos.

i_bless_u,
We take altogther about 180 (or 160, can't remember liao) photos. Can't remember how much we top up liao. Think it's about $4-5K for the photos and album only. Yes, we stayed overnight at Bintan. Also includes the ferry ticket.

WOW..........

That is alot! xuan says assuming u chose half of it is 90 pics then exculde choosing indoor pics!

Haha...rich rich...so envy.. ;)

Hi i_bless_u, xuan, nov_bride,
sent u the link liao. If you got your PS or AD photos to share, send to me so I can c yours too.

Me not rich lah. But the photos really very nice esp. the outdoor one. Think the photographer takes a total of about 400-500 photos. We like the photos and had a hard time selecting. So in the end, select a lot. We feel that as this's once a lifetime event and we seldom get to take such pretty photos, we're willing to spend more on photos. But really overspend so cut cost in other areas loh. It all depends on how you prioritise and willing to spend on the individual things. Like I'm not willing to spend too much on wedding card printing. A simple one will do loh.

Hiphip

ok..will go view your beautiful photos.
So where did you go for your honeymoon??

I havent take PS ..only next yr January then take!

harlow hiphip,

just saw your photos, u look so sweet
ur photos are very well taken leh, me havent got the photos yet, onces get it will show you k :p

wow, my makeup will start at 6.30pm leh as my makeup artist have to do makeup for another bride before me. I am the one who requested to be the 2nd bride she does makeup for so that she wont rush through her job. Now worry that wont have enough time. But no choice liao lah, right now just have to cross finger and hope that everything turns out well.

Hip Hip,

can i ask you how mani tables you have on your wedding day ah? Did you manage to cover the dinner expenses? :p sori ah ask you something like that, hope you dun mind hor.