Furama Riverfront Singapore

twinkle2610

Hi Desther..
yup..FRF definitely looks much betta den FCC..gd tt even ur grandparents like it. No worries abt pouring out ur sorrows / joy here in the forum.. that's wat all of us are for, to help one another with the preparation process. Issues can be ironed out one... prob u n hb need to set out a budget and work ard it... end of the day (IMHO) who pays the bill, den who decide lor.. hehehe... if ur FFIL is helping ur pay for the dinner, den of coz u cannot disregard his opinions. Coz for me n my hb, we shared the bill among ourselves. So, both sides' parents leave it to us to decide on the venue, coz they oso know we have a budget to keep to. =D

stnov

hi Desther....in fact FRF prices for a hotel is considered as veri reasonable....other than that most probably u might have to consider restaurants oreadi.....fret not...im sure things will work out fine ya...good luck!!!

stnov

hi eric....it would beta for u to call them directly as most of us signed up wif them b4 d price increases.....cheerios~~~

carolzjh

Hi Mebbie,
Yup my wedding is much further from yours, in oct. Thanks for asking me to see ur decorations. Hehe... Really anticipating for it to be completed, should be pretty...

wilest

mentioned about the banquet dinner... anyone has the package comes with complimentary live performance during the cocktail? any feedback with their performance? seem like 5mths away from my AD... geeee heee

newbie2007

Me need advise. FRF is on my shortlist.
When it comes finalizing details like themes, invitation cards and flowers, does the co-ordinator help out or they push you directly to the contractors ?
Please help to advise ya....
TIA.

summerice

newbie what do u mean by help out....your coordiantor will give u info on the cards n themes like the colors and design. So from there u can pick what u like...if unsure u can ask them n they will advice u. As for flowers i havent reach that stage.

twinkle2610

hi newbie

wat flowers are u referring to? Is it the overall decor for the place?

What me n hb did was, after our food tasting, we meet up with the co-or to finalise on the menu (see if need any changes.. oso for us to feedback any +ve / -ve things to him)
We oso finalise on the themes, color of the flowers (if any), favors etc.

As for the invitation card, we got them earlier..den source our own printer (though they gave a contact for tt.. we sourced out a cheaper one). Printer u gotta liase direct urself.. but flowers n decor just let him know which one u choose.. unless u have special request for certain flowers etc..mayb they'll get the florist to cfm with u etc... for us, we topped up for some more flowers..we just told the co-or and he see to it. No worries!

sandsand

hello all!!! i'm back from my honeymoon!!

just to share/ reassure those yet to get married at FRF... honestly, seeing some of the negative feedbacks that some of the brides experience, got me a little scared.. but my banquet went smoothly... PERFECT.

Carol was very meticulous, everything went as planned, the captain was very good also. (will go find out his name)... food reviews from my guest were all positive. Big portions, good taste.
my suite was on the 10th floor, corner... no kitchen, only hall and room but very big.

overall, would definitely recommended FURAMA!!!!

so did anyone come to see my set up?

i choose garden theme (Assorted colours) but the whole day was a blur to me, so i dont even know how the decor was.. hee.... i only knew i was pleased with what i saw.. never go notice details...

mebbie

hey kai..

can share with me your contact for the inserts ?
now really blurr man.. so many things to look after...
need to save some money

bigboyj

I just had my banquet at FRF Jupiter Room and all went better than expected (except for a few hiccups which was immediately rectified without any interruption). I was very impressed with the staff especially Jasmine, my coordinator, who was going around during the dinner to make sure that all went well. Also, Chee Wee, the banquet exec (captain) who was there the whole time to guide us through the night. They all knew what they were doing and were all very professional. I did not have to worry about anything at all. Infact, all I did was make a fool of myself and got drunk :p. They really were all very devoted to their jobs. Kudos to all at FRF. Seriously, it wouldn't had been a successful evening without them. Really really thank you very much.

Feedback from the guest were good... the crystal theme was beautiful... the surprise first course presentation was .... A SURPRISE... very comedic with a dancing chef... hahaha... Food was good... Sound and Projection was good and clear...

Anybody out there still considering... stop and take FRF as your choice. I am really glad that we did.

Thank you again Jasmine, your devotion has really touched us.

To the upcoming FRF's Couples, relax and enjoy your night. I am sure it will leave a lasting impression.

From One Very Happy Couple.
Jay n Tracy
06 Jan 2007
FRF Jupiter Room

shiori72

Hi bigboyj...

Congra to you... Glad to hear tt all went smoothly..

Can i kw wat theme you choose?? can share with me your AD pics? I am also taking jupiter and wanted to see how it look like for AD? Thks... My email : [email protected]

shiori72

Hi ribbon..

Congra to you too... Aft hearing some of you tt FRF got good view, I felt better lor...

Sure bought a lots of things when you are in taipei hor... Nice weather now rite?

When can see your Ad and PS fotos?? Hee...

shiori72

Chk with you... Do we need to prepare the background songs during the dinner or FRF will do it?

Actually, how many song do we need to prepare for the march in, slide show & etc...

bigboyj

Hi Evon,

I chose the crystal theme. Simple and nice. I will post it up as soon as I get my photos back from the photographer.

Everybody tot that the theme was elegant. If you are doing the 'L' marchin, you might like to ask your coordinator to ask Jasmine about ours... which is slightly different... at least the guest are still grouped together... and I manage to put in 22 tables easily... there is still room for maybe 1 more...

bigboyj

Evon,

If you do not have background music, i believe you can use the hotel's one. They have a CD of songs. I chose my own songs... took me ages to compile it... :p

You will need 1 song for 1st marchin, 1 song for 2nd marchin and 1 song for champagne pouring.

Upto you on the slide shows.... I had 3... bridal shoot, baby montage and express highlight... I initially tot was too much but it fitted in just nicely...

starjewel

wow FRF have many good comments.. I am also considering..

hi bigboyj.. can i know how you fit your bridal shoot, baby montage & express highlight nicely? thanks for yr reference..

mebbie

hi kai...
thanks a lot for your contact.. today..i went to the one that furama recommended..since i only need like 180 pcs inserts..we decided to go with t-dragon to save the hassle..

dancing chef as 1st course !
hmm.. i must talk to albert.. i want this too

stnov

welcome back ribbon......hws ur HM....hw abt d weather wen ur thr....manage to have a fruitful trip???....looking forward to all ur pixs real soon.......=)

eccentrical

congrats to all the brides who are back from their lovely honeymon.. who is next?

hi kai & mebbie.. what is dancing chef? music for the 1st dish presentation? usually how is the 1s dish presentation like?

bigboyj

Hi Starjewel,

We used the bridal montage when the doors are opened and will continue to play until the 1st marchin. The baby montage was used just before the 1st marchin and the express highlights was used just before the 2nd marchin.

bigboyj

HI twinkly,

The 1st dish presentation started off with the waitress bringing the food in with some catchy music. Next, three other waitress started dancing towards the stage... Next thing I knew, people were laughing away... Cos we couldn't see the doors at Jupiter 3, we didn't know what was going on until we saw the dancing chef pouncing around with his big 'round' belly... he was going around getting people to rub his belly... it was hilarious.

I wasn't even aware of it as it was meant to be a surprise... Well i have to say that it was really a Surprise for us.

At least it was entertaining... :p

shiori72

Hi bigboyj...

I thought of doing the L shape, if i kw tt you are doing the L shape i will go down and see but too bad, think i have to wait for your fotos... Hee... I got max 20 tbls, think got space to walk?? I think L shape is better cos if use I shape those pp near the end cannot really see even there is a screen there lor... So ma fan... Hee...

Thks for the info for the march in songs...

Btw can share with me your montage?? My email : [email protected]

bigboyj

Hi Evon,

Our 'L' shape started from the right at Jupiter 3. We turn left as soon as we walked in so that we can group all our guest at J3 together, instead of spliting them up as suggestion by FRF. We find this better as we can march a little bit more at J2 (middle room) so that those at J1 can have a little more time to see us.

I had 22 tables and there were still extra space. Don't worry, with 20 tbls max, you can do a lot... You could also be able to come in from both doors and meet in the centre. Both of you can swap place between the 1st and 2nd marchin so that all your guest can see you both.

The FOC montage provided by Academy is simple. Nothing fancy but I guess it does the job. To make it more interesting, I added a few funny shots... well, it did manage to get a few laughs... hahaha

pskin

hihi, went down to furama today served by albert. He showed us the mercury room today (currently under renov with some pillars) it can have a max 28 inside however it can extend up to 32 but the four tables are in the foyer.

The room looks great with full length windows overseeing the pool and trees on both sides. I wanted to do a poolside initially but have concerns abt it. Now i can do a indoor cum outdoor view which is perfect.

However i feel that I didnt get a good bargain as compared to other packages pple had..
I couldnt bargain with him to give me a room for the helpers with a overnight stay for helpers.. an extended night stay at the bridal suite..
Looking at the package some pple had. they all managed to get an extended stay, 2N bridal suite and even had a pre-dinner muscial performance..

Anyone could bargain for any of these items with other coordinates like carol or jasmine? or albert is more strict with such things?

stnov

hi pskin.....any indication on wen d mercury ballroom will be completed???

alot of changes to d pkg after their bridal show last oct so perks have been removed....tose dat u have mentioned are supposed to be for promotional period only......if u can wait perhaps try ur luck to see if they might have a show soon (my guess is shd b 3rd qtr of 2007).....perhaps booking over d show includes beta or more perks......cheers~~~~

hiakhiak

Hi Mebbie,

Congrats. Mine is in Nov 2007.

Hi pskin,

I feel the same way as you. The current package is not as attractive. But have decided to go ahead with it as like you said, the ballroom is indoor and has a outdoor view.

pskin

ya the first wedding held in mercury room will be 27 Jan.

The room is actually 3 smaller rooms after removed the partition walls its one room, thus there will be pillars and quite fat ones. Thus they have provided us 4 projectors. One near the stage, 2 others in the other 2 rooms plus one at the foyer (if you have tables there)

hmm. if i were to wait till the next show, i would risk a higher package price even if the GST has not been increased. and it seems that many pple are attracted to the new room and it seems that they are overwhelmed. thus maybe that is why they didnt wan to add perks, as they have had enough customers.

havent decide on my date yet.. as the package is only for 2007 and i might have it end 07 or 08. So another thing is they are not flexible to the date.. i can only consume it by 2007.

twinkle2610

hi twinkly...im sorry... i have no idea wat the dancing chef is...as i din get tt part for my 1st dish. my 1st dish is the normal ones lor..the banquet staff walk in...go to the stage... den no more le....

btw...i've gotten my AD pics le... am in the midst of uploading them... once i uploaded... ur will be able to see from my multiply le.. =D have uploaded the day pics..nite pics haven.. so cannot see the FRF pics yet...

deepbluesea

Hi bigboyj,

Hee...I was there on your wedding day. Congratulation!!! Your theme was indeed very beautiful but as my HTB prefer pearl theme, we had selected that.

I had saw ur L shape walk-in, might follow yours too...

Dancing Chef? Hee..think I would ask Jasmine abt that? Maybe must depend on whether the chef is free to dance that day or not(Don ask him to cook too much food :p)

tiffany81

Dear BTBs,

I have negotiated a very good deal for the banquet package in venus ballroom (min 30 tbls). Additional perks are thrown in. A grand and pillarless ballroom at a reasonable price. Willing to let go due to personal reasons.

The price/per table is before the increase and is defintely lower!!

Currently, already paid a 3K deposit, willing to let go at a lower price.

Looking for sincere buyers, please email me [email protected] and I will send you the full details.

dewdew

Have been to Furama a few days back. My fiance and I were quite attracted by the Mercury ballroom as well. Though it is still under renovation, the full length glass windows on both sides is rather unique and elegant. Our main concern is the low ceiling and the pillars in the ballroom. Quite similar layout to Jupiter. Those who had their wedding dinner in Jupiter ballroom, are the pillars causing lots of blockage to the guests? How about the location of the hotel? Any complaints from the guests due to the hotel's location? I am having a headache to choose between Furama Riverfront and Novotel Clarke Quay...

bigboyj

Hi KoceanO,
Wasn't aware that you were there. Thanx for the compliment, the deco was indeed well done.

I was told that they have increased the size of the stage for Jupiter as more and more people were going up for yum seng. However, when we chose our L shape marchin, they took away half of the shape to accomodate the table arrangement. It worked well for us as we only required about 10 people on stage. I would suggest that you confirm the size of the stage when you decide on your arrangement.

As for the dancing chef, I do not know if it was planned or not as I was only told that afternoon. They asked me if I wanted a surprise for the 1st presentation and I told them... why not... :p Thank god for that ...

bigboyj

Hi dewdrop,

The pillars does cause some level of blockage, you just have to plan your seating properly. However, the projectors does help. Overall, there were only a few guest who commented about the pillar. Most were impressed by the deco, food and how smoothly the dinner went. Their level of service was also good. I guess it has something to do with the captain being formally from Raffles Hotel. That was what one of my friends found out when speaking to him.

One thing you can be sure is that your guest will definately assume the Furama in Chinatown... even after you include a map in the invites. Guess nobody really look at the maps... :p. You have to make it a point to contact them before your dinner.

As for the tiananmen downstairs... non of my guest commented on it.

starjewel

Hi dewdrop..

I also considering FRF.. You prefer Mercury or Jupiter Ballroom? How is the layout similar to Jupiter? I have not seen Mercury before.. only Jupiter.. Think my co-ordinator said the walkway is longer for Mercury..