Furama Riverfront Singapore

little_sweet

Hi mcblurbride, ur coordinator seles,mine too, so u view the Venus ballroom, so oki for u?Did u view the Jupiter ballroom, the smaller one?

magic_alz

hi mcblurbride!
oh realli ah? i thought have flowers would be nicer..coz i have a few pictures of the rods without flowers, looked rather plain ley..

actually after we ROM we also didn't want to have big dinner..but my mum preferred for us to have it..n after checking with some friends, they all said that although it is a hassle to plan, but if do with the right attitude, it's a fun milestone in our lives..plus they had no regrets at all coz during the dinner they had so much fun! i guess the key is to find a reliable friend to be your co-ordinator, then u can relax n enjoy yourselves..

preciousmoments

Hi 2006,

I got my extra perks (free video montage, free flow of beer and complimentary food tasting for 10) because of the wedding show in May. The other perks like more parking coupons, more wedding invitation cards, complimentary use of solenmization room and extra night's stay at the suite is because we have many tables. We have confirmed 40 tables when we booked the place but my coordinator knows that we have more guests than that number.

I guess it depends on how you bargain with them. If you have more tables, you will have more bargaining power.

As for the amount people give, it all depends on your friends and relatives. Maybe you can check out how much they give for other people's weddings. Very subjective. Some relatives give not very much but bring the whole family along. Ha ha...I guess friends will give more, minimum $80 per pax. Some closer friends may give $100 or more. =)

sweetie_sweet

Hi Preciousmoments,

Tat's good! Saw from yr thread above tat both of u r grassroots leader, would u be inviting any ministers & additional security needed?

Wat's the theme u'll be taking up? Would u be having any food for the solenmization guests?

little_sweet

Hi everybody, i went to view FRF Venus ballroom on last sunday,it was magnificent,great and so grand when my hubby and i stepped into the Venus ballroom...Ya indeed we loved the Venus ballroom & it was the love at first sight tat kinda of thing..Ya our cordinator Seles is a friendly and very professional lady...I like Venus becoz Venus is spacious n pillarless n they have actually just renovated the ballroom n Seles was telling me yesterday tat their boss had promised to reprint the wallpaper of the ballroom in the near future.FRF have several themes in fact, think their latest n popular themes is the theme which i saw yesterday the 'crystal' theme,veri nicely done up when i view the pl yesterday...Initially, i was thinking of taking the jupiter Room,but the jupiter room nt as nice as the Venus Rm, coz Jupiter Rm have low ceiling and look abit run down tats y me and my hubby insists of taking the Venus Room, but guess i have to review all my guest list nw, coz the min tables is abt 32 for Venus....

preciousmoments

Hi 2006,

yup, we will be inviting our MP. However, who else to invite will depends on the upcoming election cos there may be some changes to our GRC. No additional security is required cos our MP is not those senior ministers.

I have not chosen my theme cos my wedding is in Sept next yr. But it will definitely have something to do with Precious Moments as my FH and I are crazy collectors of PMs. =)

I am not providing any food for the solemnization guests as it will only start at 6.30pm. The hotel will provide free coffee and tea at the ceremony though. After which, reception starts at 7pm and dinner at 8pm.

little_sweet

Hi precious moments, hehe we shared the same sentiments,ya one thing, where u gone to to check the auspicious date for ur AD?any recommendations,coz me still choosing for the date, tenantively i prefer next year march, april, may or june,so duno the tong shu out by end of this mth?

preciousmoments

Hi little sweet,

the date for my AD was chosen by the fengshui master who came to see the fengshui of my future in-laws' house cos they are doing some reno before I moved in.

For me, choosing the dates was a hard decision. I prefer March (cos it's both mine and FH's bday) but my MIL says not good to be same as birthday. I love June and was even given a date 090606 as wedding date but my MIL says "half yr" not good. She finally settled for the Sept date since it is lunar 8th month (her favourite). Sigh...have to give in to her since I am staying with her. If not, next time I will be in trouble...haha

If you don't have a fussy and "pang dang" MIL like mine, I guess you can choose any date you want. But do take note that there are 2 hungry ghosts months next year.

sweetie_sweet

Hi Precious Moments,

Thank you for yr feedback! Me 2 oso love at 1st sight wif venus ballroom. But FH wanted jupiter room cos he's afraid not able to meet te min requirement for venus ballroom.

magic_alz

preciousmoments,
why is there 2 hungry ghosts months next year? which months are they?

oh btw do u know when the elections will be? weekday or weekend? got holiday anot? heh..!

little sweet,
same here! that's the only place i saw that made me go "Wahhh.h....."

hm...we didnt choose a date,..but wanted 23rd may coz its our 9th year anniversary, but its on tuesday so not convenient..so in the end we decided on tea ceremony on 28th sunday, n the dinner'll be 29th monday..save alot of money this way.. =)

little sweet,
did u take any photos? the crystal theme uses the iron rods right? without flowers or with flowers?

magic_alz

yeah...already booked.. my dinner'll be on 29th may.. but tea ceremony on 28th..=)

so can see the crystals clearly or only a few here n there?

magic_alz

erm..from the gregorian calendar.. hehee+D
we actually wanted 23 may 06, which is our 9th year anniversary, but on a tues, so not feasible..so brought it to the weekend loh..28th..n since i'm a teacher n most of my colleagues n some good friends are teachers too, 29th may already hols, so made good sense to put my dinner on a mon, which is so much cheaper..

we didn't look at tong shu or see some master..coz all of us see no point..my FIL even said just find one date where its convenient for everyone n happy with can already..

i read in another thread, this bride did all the right things, consulted fengshui master, prepare this n that all done properly to the liking of the older gen in her family, n on her AD one of the xiong di's accidently drove the bridal car over her toes, n she ended up in hosp ..
...so....

depends on individual loh..if u feel safer with a good date then by all means la! no harm done anyway..=D

little_sweet

hi magical,ya i agreed but mum in law insists to consult master to have my AD but nw oredi end july,nt yet choose my AD,gan cheong liao heehe

icywave

Halo everyone!

I've been to c the crystal theme last wkend too. FH tink it look very nice.

And I... was feeling the tension when I stand in the middle of the Jupiter Rm with everytin done up - all tables set, all deco up, the emcees for the wedding couple tat nite were rehearsing, the projectors were playing the wedding pixs of the couple. The groom & sme family members were waiting for their guests arrival & mking sure all in order....

Phew...!! It's like I suddenly realise that I AM REALLY GETTING MARRIED. Happy but moz of all, head so filled up with excitement tat mk me abit giddy. Ha...

One tin tat pls me moz, the cocktail reception was done up nicely - better than wat I actually expect. There was a tower of champange glasses on display grandly too.

icywave

Oh ya... actually I'm a bang dang person, guess due to my mom's influence ba..

FYI, to get an auspicious date for wedding is not to ensure that everytin will go smoothly on that day itself.

Choosing an auspicious date & time is to mk sure that the bride will bring prosperity & happiness into the groom's family. & that their marriage will be blissful & everlasting.

But I'm bang tang lah... :p

magic_alz

hi little sweet!
then in that case just go along la..its ok 1 la...now only july..anyway the tong shu is out only later part of the year ( i think..;-D)

hi icywave!
so many ppl say crystal theme nice, so now i abit more fang xin..
haha....yeah, you're REALLY getting MARRIED!
so exciting! dunno why but i feel excited for u too..! hehee!

icywave

Haha magical! Thx for sharing my joy!

Think u shld like the crystal theme too! It's more unique compared to the other wedding theme. Flowers is not the focus here. But u may want to note that crystal is not the genuine crystals for the theme (think will be very exp if they use real crystals). The crystals are actually clear plastic. But whatever, it's a refreshing theme from the old ones!

Maybe by yr time, FRF wld have cme up with an even more attractive theme!

Think I'll moz likely hold my solemnisation at FRF too

little_sweet

Hi magical, i have bked the package wif FRF and also confirmed my AD liao, so happy...And also the tong shu out liao, so alot of pple are fighting over the hot dates ,heng ah, finally all my things have settled,phew!!!

sweetie_sweet

Hi Little Sweet,

Congrats! Luckily u to make it in time before the increase of the pricing. So which date did u booked for yr AD? BTW, could u share wif me...how to check the tong shu to know if the date is auspicious for both ba zi?

I've seen the crystal theme but I find it a little empty as a whole. But tat's my personal view only lah.

I'm worried abt the carpark, duno if there's anyone feels the same. I noticed tat the carpark is very dark especially if there's function going on & u've to park all the way to the top level. In fact, there's certain area which the lights were not switched on. A bit scary lor!

sweetie_sweet

Can anyone share wif me which menu is better? I've seen alot of good comments on the fish, may I know is it Steamed sea bass with light soya sauce, deep fried soon hock in light soya sauce, steamed garoupa in hong kong style or steamed garoupa in black bean sauce?

icywave

Hmn.. me interested to know the exact name of the fish too. Know comments are gd on a steamed fish but not the details too. And think I nit to confirm my menu soon..

I'm concerned abt the carpark too though I've tried to strike it off my mind. Wish they cld do sme improvement/upgrading to the carpark. I find the entry to the carpark abit confusing too. The arrow sign on the cement floor is incorrect - always mislead me to drv into the wrong way..

magic_alz

hi icywave!
yeah i saw some of the 'crystal' they put on display for the wedding show..too bad i'm not rich enough to buy real glittery ones..=(
yeah hopefuly will have nicer ones next year..not that the current ones ar not nice la..;-)
i think their waterfall very nice for solemnisation...but too bad we rom already...no chance...haha..unless renew vows loh..=)hm...idea hor?

hi little sweet!
congrats on one more thing down~!=) oh the tong shu is out ah? hm..i better dont kaypo go n see...wait my date is actually no good then i sure worry over it forever 1... heheh..

erm...actually, good question..i also dunno which one..haha...coz that time just take n eat, n v happy with it coz so nice so take anothr portion, but never see the name of the dish..i thknk its the garoupa hk style la..but not sure..

sweetie_sweet

Hi Magical,

I oso agree tat the waterfall lounge is awesome...

I've read from Little Sweet's thread tat the hotel management would be doing minor upgrade at the ballroom so let's cross our fingers tat they'll upgrade the carpark too.

Maybe the invitation card designs, decor theme & wedding favors hor...

little_sweet

Hi 2006, ya my AD is on 09/06/06,ya u need to c whether the date u chosen does it 'chiong'wif u & ur FH,ur inlaws & ur parents...Is beta to get someone who able to read the tong shu, and they will give u 3 dates,tat is AD date,'Guo Da Li date & "An chuang date...Ya i heard from my cordinator tat the mgmt will do some upgrading, and also the wedding favours,think they will change also, coz i quite the key chain,so cute,but my cordinator said limited stock duno whether have it til next year
And to regards to which fish will taste nicer, my cordinator suggest to me tat,take the groupa with hongkong style one will be beta

sweetie_sweet

Hi Little Sweet,

Tat's a good date cos it's lunar ba yue shi wu, yue duan yuan. u better make sure tat non of yr friends or relatives r vegetarian on tat day.

magic_alz

hi 2006 n little sweet!
8th lunar month is in june meh? i thought in sept?

i kinda like to give wedding bells as favours..i saw some in a shop at orchard delfi,n they're so pretty! but its $3 + each..if i want 300+ pcs itll be 1k already..sigh...

sweetie_sweet

sorry sorry, lunar 8th month is in oct 06. alamak, i've mistaken as 6 oct 2006 is ba yue shi wu.

thousands of apologises!

Hi magical,

by the time u choose yr favors, maybe the hotel has new favors? try asking them 6 month later (3 month b4 yr wedding), if nothing catches yr eyes, then u decide if u wan to get from other sources lor. who knows, u might not even have to spend!

sweetie_sweet

sorry sorry, lunar 8th month is in oct 06. alamak, i've mistaken as 6 oct 2006 is ba yue shi wu.

thousands of apologises!

Hi magical,

by the time u choose yr favors, maybe the hotel has new favors? try asking them 6 month later (3 month b4 yr wedding), if nothing catches yr eyes, then u decide if u wan to get from other sources lor. who knows, u might not even have to spend!

preciousmoments

Hi Little Sweet,

I was given 09/06/06 as one of the dates for my AD too. I loved it very much because of many reasons but my MIL dislikes it because it's "half year". She's a Cantonese so she likes Lunar 8th month. I have to give in to her and settle for 24th Sept. =)

happi

Hi, u think ang pao will shrink if AD is on lunar 8th month? .. cos its a happening month for weddings.
btw, can we get free flow beer fm FRF?

little_sweet

ic,ya i chosen the dates coz given by a master tat tat day will nt chiong wif my inlaws & me & my FH,so if ur in laws mind,then just give in to her,no choice,u gotto to respect her

preciousmoments

Hi purple star,

I think ang pao may shrink a bit if AD is in lunar 8th month cos many people getting married. Luckily mine is the 3rd day of the lunar 8th month so keeping my fingers crossed that I am not badly affected.

I got my free flow beer cos I signed up at the wedding show. If you have many tables, try to bargain with them. I managed to bargain for more things...hee hee =)

magic_alz

yep..i got free flow of beer too coz also did sign on during their wedding show..=)

hi 2006!
yeah i think i'll wait loh...hopefully their supplier got wedding bells too..=) so pretty! i'm also going to buy bubble guns n use for walk-in on the aisle..=)

06 oct is ba yue 15 ah? that's my bday n my rom anniversary! =D

sweetie_sweet

Hi Magical,

confirm it's ba yue 15th. oh, tat's gd! would be make it san xi ling meng? shuang xi is consider very gd, so san xi is lagi gd hor...some more just celebrate all in 1 date annually. can save alot of money leh

magic_alz

haha..yeah..instead of a bday cake i get a bday mooncake..
n ppl will gimme lanterns as bday presents...
hm...not worth it ley...=D

seabreaker

I have signed up with FRF too but I am not able to get the free flow of beer although I have 55+ tables..sigh. Do you think I can request again?

I did mention to them about their carpark..looks a bit rundown like those ulu shopping centre. Doesn't project a good image for the hotel as well. Maybe repainting work and a change of lights will do but don't think they are able to change it in the time being.

As for the wedding favor, I was told that they only have two, that is the bear and the heart. Seriously, I don't fancy both. They said they will be changing soon coz their stock is running low. Hope that they are able to upgrade to a better one.

Apart from the above, we are quite happy with the place. Actually we are contemplating between OH (the ballroom is very grand, 70 wedding cards design and lots of wedding favor to choose from) & FRF, but ultimately FRF won coz it's within our budget and my FH loves the high ceiling and pillarless ballroom.

I have yet to see any real wedding setup. If you gals have any photos to share, I'll be glad to view it. Do share share ok. =)

icywave

Hmn.. Seabreaker.. I've free flow of beer too eh. And mine's at Jupiter Rm only. But I signed up during their Jan wedding show though..

The bear might not be available anymore?! But I do like the bear eh.. Always have a soft spot for bear bear..

Strange, I was given a few selection of wedding favors to choose from when I signed up. Was told that I juz have to confirm my choice nearer to my AD.

Am curious whose yr coordinator too..??

seabreaker

Hi precious_moments, initially we are going to choose 8/1/2006 but seem that it's a hot date for wedding as it has been booked by another couple. Thus, we change our wedding day to the following weekend. My coordinator is Albert, a nice guy and kind accommodating. He even offered us a few wedding tips. ;)

Icywave, I requested for free flow but alas was told not possible..only manage to get extra 30litres of beer on top of the 30l given. Wonder whether is it enough for 56~60 tables? Initially we have about 65 tables but due to capacity constraint, we manage to cut down the tables to around 56 (find 60 tables too cramp).

I love bear but not the bear provided by FRF lor (looks kind of small & cheap-no offence). You should have see OH bear..lovely. They placed a female and a male bear (furry kind with nice clothes on) at alternate seat. Whilst FRF only offered a red bear (w/o any clothes) and a red heart as wedding favor. Wonder how come you gals was given a few selection? Anyway, Albert did told me that I can go to their supplier to choose whatever wedding favor they have, that is, if it's within their contract amount or else we will need to top up, which we don't want coz will definitely be out of our budget. Really hope they will come out with a better choice before our wedding day..

icywave

Oh! I saw the red bear, think the col abit odd for bear bear. But I was shown a beige color bear too & I tink it look quite nice. The limbs are movable, it can sit down one.. Ha! Guess I have little expectation when it comes to bears.

Went to my frd's wedding at pan pac, they gave a pair of bears coil around each other. Mmn.. by yr description, tink OH bears really cute! For me, I'm not willing to spend more on wedding favor too. I'll juz tk watever FRF can offer ba.. Anyway, the bears from my frd's wedding are sitting in a corner of my nephew's bedroom only. So tink not worth to pay additional for these things.

magic_alz

actually i also didn't like the red bear...i mean, if it were the normal brown bear still okay..i can buy ribbons to tie on them.but i don't know what to do with red bears..

i kinda like to give wedding bells...but usu a bell costs abt 3 dollars..the bears i think cost at most a dollar each..so i think quite hard to find some other things that fit into a dollar each budget..even keychains are 1 plus to 2 bucks..argh!!

purple_tulips

Hi. Am new to thi forum.. Me and my FH have signed up with Furama Riverfront.. but sadly, we signed it just after the wedding show in May.. By the time we heard about the show it was june 15.. sigh.. anyway, we signed up in June.. our parents have gone to see the place.. all very impressed.. I have a good feeling about Furama.. only thing i dont feel good is departing with my 3k.. sob, who wouldnt.. haha..
hope furama will come up with new favours.. i find those offered by them... very common leh.. nothing special..
did all of u FRF brides here take their favours? or get ur own?

icywave

Hi magical! The brown/beige color bear tat was shown to me cme with a big ribbon, nonit buy ribbon from own pocket anymore

Halo Amanda, I'll be tking wedding favors offered by FRF, don't intend to get my own favors coz feel not worth it. Found that wedding favors don't really matter alot to guests.. They'll bring it hme & lve it aside & forget abt it soon. Oh ya!! Welcome to FRF! Haha.. u muz be getting the Venus Ballroom i believe? When's yr AD? Next yr??

magic_alz

hi amanda!
welcome!
i also chose FRF coz was very impressed with it!
i got over my 3K already...haha..

icywave,
oh really ah? phew...ok..=)the red bear i saw only had a worn out thank you tag..i havent seen the brown bear yet..but i remember u telling me about it before..=)

i really like the idea of wedding bells..the ones i saw at orchard delfi were so pretty! they made a wonderful tinkling sound..was thinking they'll sound really great during march-in..but 3 bucks per bell!! so expensive@!

i also hope they have more favours to choose from next year..too limited la..

purple_tulips

HI magical.. yeah, we've been so pleased with what we've seen and he service we've received so far, so we thik this 3k is worth is..
Didnt see the brown bear.. Only the pink heart, pink bear and key chain..
Icy wave, i agree with u, no one really bothers with the favours.. The only people who will cherish it will be the couple themselves..
We're taking the venus ballroom..AD is next year Oct.
Magical.. U want wedding bells? Delfi sure ex one!! I saw this at tecman before.. A little bell, attached to a card, and on the card, guests are given instructios to ring the bells when u and ur partner kiss... think it costs around no more than $2.. bell looks a little cheapo lah, but its looks nice..maybe u can consider that..
I'm fine with any hotel favours, just dont want it to be the boring chocolates.

magic_alz

hi amanda!
oh really! where's tecman located at? maybe i
ll go down n take a look..
i think i'll also check with FRF which supplier they liaise with..but my AD in may 2006..still long long way to go la...don't need to source for that yet..

now waiting to start to choose my WG n EG for PS! =)