Furama Riverfront Singapore

lollypop

hi magical
june is only 2 weeks away...so u must be looking fwd for it to come...sigh...jun & jul are dry mths w/o PH huh. ;(
but think again...sometimes simple is nice too. cos the main attention is ultimately on both of 2 rite? :p
some thing may be of interest to u future FRF brides!! 1 of my gf has attended a wedding dinner at FRF last nite and she had nothing but praises about it..
the food superb & filling, ballroom is grand & has high ceiling. good services. thumb up! best recommendation she said.

at this point, shld i feel bitter or not. hehee

icywave

Halo Jocester!

Thx so much for your reply. Actually I juz nit 1 nite of stay at the hotel. Haha.. Coz my mom bang tang, want me & FH to go back hme & sleep in our own couple bed asap. She doesn't like the idea of us staying overnite at the hotel after the dinner actually.

I did chk with my coordinator before abt offsetting the $500voucher for my ROM package but she said she have checked with her superior & the answer is no, we cannot use the voucher for the ROM package eh..

Hmmn... think your coordinator so nice hor.. How cme mine said cannot. Think I muz ask her again..

preciousmoments

hi magical,

my AD is on 24/09/06(Sun). It's the lunar eighth month so we 'kiasu' now already confirmed the place. Paid 3K deposit at the wedding show.

Merchant Court was my number 1 choice but then they could not give me the perks that I want. The perks at FRF are simply irresistable. ;)

magic_alz

hi jocester!
haha...don't need to feel bitter la..diff ppl diff taste ma...maybe the place u decide on suits u n your hubby more ley? yeah actually true...cannot be too flamboyant...but i like flowers ley..but i think add flowers sure need to top uo $$$ 1...dunno can re-use their fake silk flowers anot...at most i go n tie myself loh..

i only can go n jun coz i'm a teacher...but still filled up with activities...so can only make it away for short trip..sigh..

hi angel!
yeah yeah! i'm going to EAT as much as i can...hahaha!! then come back singapore n go gym everyday..haha...cannot afford to put on kilos now...

hi precious monents!
oh...8th lunar mth sure hot dates 1! but u very smart...chop the date asap..=D yeah we also paid 3K... but no extra room ley...sobsob...
if u dowan your room gimme la..haha...i think most likely need to pay for it loh...but very bu(4) gan (1) yuan (4) to pay lah....argh! headache ah...!!

initially wanted to go n see MC too..but when i saw the quotation i immediately say no...too expensive!..
who's your co-ordinator? managed to see any wedding theme set up yet?

magic_alz

aiya! sorry...its icywave who dowan the room...blur already....
today busy like siao...now gotta ruch back to work...running all over the school today...*tired look*..

icywave

Halo Everyone!

Wah! Magical, u're a teacher! Noble job! : )
Yup! I'm the one who dun nit xtra nite, but I sure dun mind xtra room on my AD. Haha..

Paid $3K for our deposit too.. Now eagerly wating for my coordinator to allow me to use my voucher for the ROM Pkg..

magic_alz

hi icywave!
yeah...nothing noble, although we always say we need 2 salaries, one for teaching n one for TRYING to teach...

Just make more noise n pester them la...in the end maybe u wear them down n can get what u want..i think i must do that too...pester for my extra night!!

have u seen any themes yet? want to go n take a look but now very busy...no time ley..
when's your ROM n AD?

icywave

Hi Hi Magical!

My ROM on 9Sept & AD on 11Dec this year. Going for my 1st fit next Sunday! Haha.. now more busy with my gowns/dresses/shoes & furnitures. Juz bought my pair of wedding shoes yesterday.

The January wedding show at FRF was quite nicely done up. Saw how my jupiter room was done up with candlelights. Seles showed me quite afew themes by pictures. But she advised me to wait until nearer to date then decide my theme coz the hotel will cme up with new themes every now & then. So I'll have more selection if I don't confirm my theme so fast.

But guess I'll opt for sumtin more gentle/sweet & fairytale as my theme coz my wedding gown's design is like that too. Haha.. me dreaming of becoming a princess - juz for 1 day oso nice! hahaha...!

magic_alz

hi icywave!
wow....your dates will be here in no time! have u done ur PS yet?

me already ROM last year , but AD will only be next May..1 more year to go! PS will be in Dec.. =)

i didnt go to the jan show...only went for the recent one 22nd may..
they didn't really do it up very much..but i do like the ambience coz warm orangy lighting..very comfy..

u got any photos? maybe later this year will go n take a look at the actual wedding set up loh..still got time...=D

yeah i also like fairytale theme..i guess most girls want to be a princess some time or another.. ;-D

preciousmoments

Hi magical,

I have seen 2 themes from FRF already. This Sunday will go view another wedding at Venus Ballroom cos the couple is having 48 tables which will most likely the same number as what I will have too.

My FRF's coordinator is Halim. Nice and friendly guy.

Been to MC twice. However, their prices have increased very fast and service is getting worse. Somemore, they only have 2 themes which has been the same for the past few years. So boring...Moreover, they are very stingy...ask for more perks and their coordinator offered to ask but never return with an answer. ;(

I was so pissed with MC...somemore their reception area very open...not so cosy...unlike FRF on 3rd floor and there are also hotel ushers around to guide people to the right ballroom at FRF...that's something which I noticed when I was too early for an appointment with the wedding coodinator that my FH and I just sit outside Venus ballroom and observed a wedding going on...hee hee.

lollypop

I've rec'd an email from lynn today and this was what she has quoted:

"In anycase, we wish to correct an information that has been told by myself to you. It is with regards to the $500.00 cash vouchers that you are to receive during the wedding show. This is that, I have just find out that the vouchers cannot be used to offset from the wedding dinner bill. It will remain as a voucher than can be utilised at any of our 03 Food & Beverage outlets in the Hotel. My sincere apologies for the error and should you still be considering us, we look forward to hearing from you."

halo icywave! guess ur co-ordinator has delivered to u the correct info. seems like the voucher has no valuable use for the banquet huh..

halo magical! no lah, i'm not sourgrape over it..haha..actually feel good too to be able to contribute some comments i've heard abt FRF. btw i'm now looking at my 2nd favourite..goodwood park....

if u gals know anything abt it.. be it gd or bad, pls PM or email me [email protected] rest of the GWP brides seems to hv acquainted themself so well dat i feel shy to 'intrude' them...haha

magic_alz

hi preciousmoments!
if u go this sunday n got pictures, can show me? thanks ah!
wah...lucklily i struck them off my list...so ex n still not very good service...
yeah i like the FRF recep area...very comfy n spacious too..
mu coordinator is albert..also very nice guy...so far we feel very comfy talking to him..some other co-ordinators from other places like weird weird 1...don't really feel at ease talking to them.,..got 1 from a place we went to..when she showed us the BR, w thought the carpet cannot make it(at this point dunno u knowwhich place i'm referring to.. heh..), so my hubby cldn't believe its that actual carpet on AD, so he asked on AD dowe stil use this carpet? she said 'no..we'll take it all out n change it for u.......no lah of course not!' although i think my hubby asked a silly question, but still was slightly offfended by the answer. then after showing us the ballroom, she asked 'so how? can anot? if cannot i don'twant to talk further already!' she said these things in a light way la, not sarcastic, but still we felt abit uncomfortable with her sales style..

hi jocester!
i went to my friend's ROM hi tea recep...so i kaypo n walked around...very nice atmosphere...old english style...
i think GWP is a very 'bridal' place....queen like style...
i didn't go there to see coz i prefer being a princess instead of a queen..haha...

service wise i got no experience .. so cannot comment
..=)

haha...your pink blush face very cute...
don't need to feel instrusive la...forum ma...just ask for advice n comments loh..

lollypop

magical
thanks for ur feedback..hmm..queen is oso a gd idea...a touch of royality..hee...
wah! wat nasty reception fr the weirdo u've received! ridiculous! how can she talks like dat esp when u may be her potential custy. this is wat i call a black sheep in the service industry! sure give her a cold stare and talk her back if i meet someone like her...oh my..i cant believe it. sori getting too aggitated here..haha...cos i really cant stand such ppl!

icywave

Halo Everybody!

Thx Jocester.. at least now I know FRF offer watever they can to the couples & not unfair treatment wherein some can use the voucher for banquet & sme others who don't know how to bargain - cannot. Haha..

Yup Magical! My lst fit next Sunday & my PS coming up soon in end of June. Getting excited..!! Juz bought a pair of silver color heels as my wedding shoes! However, me still tan tan, have not been able to revert to my fair skin state yet. sigh... hope I won't look too dark in my photos.

Mine! U've met such a "poor service attitude" sales coordinator.

I have an experience at Rendezvous Hotel.. But the sales coordinator wasn't rude, in fact I can sense that she was trying to be nice. However, I guess she's very new & do not have much experience at all in liaising with clients. She was very quiet though she tried to maintain her smiles. We spent only a total of 10mins with her.

magic_alz

hi jocester!
calm down, calm down..=D
i email u the place okay?
.actually she was quite nice person la..so i was rather taken aback when she blurted those things out..i think it wasn't intentional la..but still was quite uncomfortable already...anyway, we didnt;t like the place as much as we did FRF...

hi icywave!
we actuallly wanted tos ee rendezvous too...but the table only 16 max..not enough..
wah 10 mins is really quick! yeah maybe she's new n dunno howto handle customers ba..
come to think of it..the co-ordintor is really impt hor? impression is all it takes to make it or break it..

magic_alz

hi jocester!
i totally agree with what u said in ur email..;-)

i guess no matter how good service is, there';s always a black sheep lurking somewhere loh..

icywave

Ya Ya!

Tink the coordinator real important. In actual fact, it's how our coordinator present the hotel that attract FH & me to FRF!

I've experience with another coordinator of another hotel wherein it's obvious that she has 'no heart' to show us around. After the very standard style of showing us the ballroom, she turned and said in a flat tone "...this is how our ballroom look like, so, how serious are you about holding your wedding dinner here?"

It's like we shld have first book our banquet with her before we asked her to show us around..

She doesn't know this.. but I was really keen to have my dinner at the hotel, however, her lack of interest mk FH & I lose interest in the hotel too..

magic_alz

eee..
why got ppl like that 1...really spoil everything..
never mind la...now we're all happy with FRF n that's most impt!
hope i can get to see their themes soon...now cracking my brains abt what type of gown to wear to match..= D

icywave

Ya Ya! Hope our wedding nite will be very lovely & memorable at FRF.. Maybe we can go back FRF on our wedding anniversay every yr for celebration & refresh our sweet memories..

Heheh... nowadays I simply love day-dreaming of how my gowns will look like - ROM dress, WG, tea dress, EG.. haha! My lst fit tis weekend!

I would like to confirm my guest list, table arrangement & weddings songs etc aredi.. but now still much too early. At present, I luv their fairytale(crystal) theme best.

Don't know if they will come up with more design of wedding invitation cards? Hope so coz find their designs very limited for cards.

magic_alz

haha.. this weekend is just a few days away!
these few nights keep dreaming abt your dresses right? ;-p!!
actually i think u can start making up your guest list already...my AD in May 0 6 i already came up with a rough 1...it's a BIG headache i tell u..some ppl cannot be placed to gether coz they dunno each other, some got "history" n cannot sit together also..then hubby's friends n my friends cannot coz don't know each other...n got 1 couple who don't know anyone else..some can only sit with these ppl but that table no space already....argh!!

hey their fairytale theme is the iron rods one izzit?
i also like the tealights thing, but cannot really see crystals ley..n from photos seem quite plain...dunno if i can add on flowers anot...n i wan to add extra sashes too...all white covers seem quite plain..
hm...maybe to cut costs i buy my own ribbons n tie on the chairs my self.. heh heh..

i think i might make n print my own cards...theirs too obiang already...i asked t-dragon, they said they're only providing these two designs ley..

icywave

I'll try to pop by FRF to tk a look at the new theme tis sat if I can. Tis weekends have been filled up with searches for furnitures. Now looking around for a gd mattress!

I aredi hav a draft guests list consisting of close relatives & close frds. But FH duno which colleagues to invite yet coz his work environment quite volatile - sum have resigned & new pple have come in. So he said he doesn't who he'll be close to nearer to our dates. And tink his mom have quite a few more relatives to add. Most likely will be using the Jupiter Room to the max - 25tables. Hope he won't increase his no. of guests anymore esle some guests would have to sit outside the Jupiter Room!

Hey! idea hor! Maybe we shld get our own ribbons & tie to the chairs to mk them all look gd! Think how much we need spend on the ribbons..??

I'm oso tinking of wat to add to the pillars (coz mine's Jupiter Room) to make it look better & not so much an eye-sore.. M tinking of adding flowers or pictures of my wedding photos eh..

Hmn.. for me, if they really don't have new designs for their cards.. Guess most likely I'll juz choose what they have coz I feel not worth it to spend more on cards. Moz pple dun keep the cards so I feel no point. Might as well have abit more $ for a luxury honeymoon! : )

Think I'll tk the red color one. Haha... Ji Li mah! Nvr mind old-fashion or not. I can accept! Haha...

magic_alz

haha...yeah...we also think the red one don't look so awful..but thinking we could just add ribbons on the white one to make it look better..
if not then i might just buy card paper, n just print them myself on tracing paper, then can tie the two together with small ribbons..=)

now u so far got less than 25 tables right? i think by then shoulld be just nice la..in that case just wait a while more to confirm your guest list loh..
my hubby also cannot confirm his colleagues yet, coz he's in real estate n car sales, the ppl he work with are always changing...so he say no point confirming now..but for me very easy..i'm inviting ALL my colleagues...=) no headaches there..haha..

hm...maybe can add ribbons and silk sashes, tassels, or can make tissue paper flowers..they look really sweet..n almost zero cost..but i think your wedding photos are a good idea!

i think the ribbons won't cost to much ba..go handicraft shop n buy in bulk, maybe 1 or 2 bucks per roll? i'm also not sure...haven't gone to check out yet..=D

i always see 'great mattress sale' on newspapers..maybe u can keep an eye out for those?
hey when u go down to see the wedding setup will be be bringing a camera? if u do let me see the pictures okay?

icywave

If I can really mk it to c the wedding setup tis sat, I'll definitely tk pixs & show u too! Only scared that I won't have enuff time. Till now we have not even gone to HDB to apply for flat u noe! It's either FH have work/co. event or it's me who's busy with work. So far have not manage to have a Saturday morning free to go to the HDB. Sigh..

Heheh.. guess yr hubby facing the same problem like my FH. That's y loh.. till now I cannot confirm guest list. And expecting some of the relatives from my side cannot attend the dinner too. Coz Mom say they seldom attend occassions like tis, so moz likely they'll juz give ang pows & no turn-up.

Wah! Abt the mattress - alot of knowledges leh. There's wat individual pocketed spring mattresses and many brands to choose from. FH & I tink tis is very important coz we are going to spend at least 6hrs a day on the bed, so muz not anyhow buy.

icywave

...A good sleep is important! Have comments from sis that a certain brand is not good though it's popular by pricing.

If u have any comments/feedback abt the different brands of mattresses, pls do let me noe okie!

magic_alz

hi icywave!
we went down to HBD yday..n all the WIS selection places we don't like..
which area u planning to apply for? we also went to see jwest..but dunno want to take anot ley..coz its ver yfar out, n very ulu, n near industrial estate n foreign workers dormitory..
but got plans to extend MRT line to be completed by 2009, n got a sports complex coming up..n also quite near Jurong point..aiyo..how?

okay if i hear anything abt mattresses i'll tell u..haha..but we still not gonna buy furniture yet, so most likely u will be the one advising me instead...

icywave

Haha! No prob! when u want to chk on furnitures, ask me! I've been to quite a few plcs to look at furnitures..

I'm hoping to get areas like Sengkang, Buangkok & Punggol. Coz they are near Hougang, which is near my parents' plc. My FH's mom living in Hougang too!

Jurong ah.. quite far hor. Firstly, do u find it convenient to travel to yr parents & yr hubby's parents? I tink that's important coz u'll need to pay visits to yr both of yr parents frequently. Secondly, are the development plans for the estate confirmed? If not, it may end up to be a really ulu plc eh! Thirdly, izit convenient to travel to other parts of S'pore? Hmn, tink u muz tink over this few pts carefully. If dun really like the plc or have serious doubts, better dun rush into decision esle u may regret for many years to come by..

icywave

We muz pay a deposit of $2000 for application am I rite? Me don't know much abt application for flat eh.

Tink there's what Build To Order Flats & Premium Flats rite?

Oh! We don't need to be ROM before we apply rite??

magic_alz

at point of application don't need..but 3mths (dunno before or after) take keys need to show your marriage cert.

i think booking fee is 2000, then when u get the key then pay to 20% downpayment..if u or hubby is civil servant then only 10% loh..

Built to order (BTO) flats means u choose the area that u like, then when HDB got enough requests, they'll start the project, but might need to wait 4-6 years until completion..

premium flats i also not sure..i think its including the reno or something..

i think we'll wait to see what else comes up loh...i also really don't want to regret buying the place...will be living there for years to come!
i think sengkang coming up with the tivela place izzit? u haven't gone to HDB izzit? go n ask them la...they'll explain better.. or go www.hdb.gov.sg n check la

icywave

Hey Magical thanks for the info abt the flats!

I miz the wedding set up last sat eh.. FH too stressed by work, wanted to relax & so we went for a movie instead - Monster In-Law! Its quite funny! I'll be living with my monther-in-law u c? Haha...!!

little_sweet

Helo to all FHR brides,i m enquiring for the wedding package and the pricing for it. Can i have mre info and also can anyone feedback whether the food there is nice?

magic_alz

hi icywave!

haha..i wanted to go n catch that too! but my friend said it wasn;t very good...so was it a good movie?

anyway, my hubby always fall asleep at movies...unless it something interesting..so we seldom go to the movies also..

hi little sweet!
erm..i haven't attended any weddings there b4, so cannot comment much.. but i went for the wedding show, and apparently the refeshments they served were the food for the wedding dinner...not fantastic, but good enough la..they have 2 ballrooms, jupiter max 25 tables, wkday 418+++ wkend 448+++ . venus min 35 max 55 (but im taking 30+2 n they're okay with it) , wkday 448+++ wkend 598+++

hope this helps! =D

magic_alz

hi little sweet!

its not not nice la...its standard loh..nothing really special, but its not awful..
i only tried the little bit they provided as refreshments, so not a very good gauge..

there was the e-fu noodles (very nice! i loved it!), n the fish ( also very nice!), but the chicken was not very good..a bit dry, sharks fin was so so, slightly starchy n not much fin (maybe itz coz for refreshments so they didn't want to add too much fin in ).. but its above my 'happy-with - it' level, so its okay..
i attended wedding at marriot once, food was no good also..but huge serving of fin in the sharks fin soup la)

when'll your wedding be?
mine is in a year's time, n my co-ordinator told me to play safe, only take jupiter rm if i now have planned 18 tables, coz guest list sure increase when date is nearing. 25 tabs might be a bit tight there.

most likely they'll ask u to take venus, the number of tables usu negotiable la..

why not u make an appt with them n go see the place..? they're not pushy 1...n very helpful n fiendly...that was why i decided to sign up with them coz feel very comfortable with them..

preciousmoments

Hi little sweet,

I agree with magical too...The food was so-so but the fish is good. =)

My co-ordinator is friendly and try his best to fit in whatever requests I have...I was so impressed with their service that I signed up with them...They are not pushy and snobbish...

You should really make an appointment to view their Venus ballroom...It's lovely and considering the price you are paying, it's really a great deal.

You don't have to spend a lot on the wedding dinner but it's those little things that you can do to make it into a very memorable night for everyone to remember...It doesn't mean a really posh place will be a better choice cos some 5-star hotels have bad services that people will remember for life...hee hee...

I hope you will fall in love with Venus ballroom like I did...Some of their themes are simply too lovely to resist...

magic_alz

precious moments,
yeah i totally agree with u..!
the price for the place is just great.. =)

but i think different ppl got different tastes, i showed my friend th epicture of the ballroom, she said it was quite normal..but then she's the dramatic type who likes the cool, sophisticated setting..not the 'fairytale' kind of theme..

so little sweet,
u really must go down personally n take a look...photos n ppl's recommendations are not really a good gauge..

icywave

Hi magical! I find the movie quite funny, meaningful towards the end eh.. FH & I enjoyed the show. Haha.. maybe coz we are getting married so the movie touch us easily.

Wah! It's not the lst time I heard abt the delicious fish! It's the steam fish rite? Tink I'll confirm to have my fish steam for my dinner's menu.

Yeah! I like FRF wide selection of wedding themes. Been to afew hotels & they only have a couple of themes for u to choose from.

little sweet & ahger, do go to view the hotel. The coordinators are really not pushy at all. Mine gave me a very good orientation of the hotel, was even treated to a cuppy of tea while my coordinator explain to me their packages & show me pixs of their wedding theme at no obligation at all.

magic_alz

yeah..like they way they're very flexible..if we don't like their themes, we can even liaise with the vendor ourselves n get what we really want..no extra charge if what we want doesn't exceed the budget the hotel set for deco..

same for weddign favours..

btw, i think their wedding favors not very nice ley..little red hearts n little red miniature bears ..but we can choose from their vendor also..but i think must top up $$$..coz i think the bears n hearts r the cheapest in the range...

hm..wedding invitations are no good la..frankly speaking...thinking of doing them myself.. n maybe printing also do myself..so that's not a problem for m.e..

n the fish is really good! must ask them to schedule to serving of fish before we leave to change for 2nd march in.. ;-D

icywave

Haha.. magical!

ya ya! so we brides & groom will get to eat the famous fish too. yummy!

I do like the bear actually. Bear Bear always touch my heart. Haha.. so I'll b tking the bear if nothing cutter comes out for the next few mths! Oh, tink the bear can become beige color instead if we want eh.

Wedding cards ah.. real limited. M still hoping they'll cme up with new designs soon.

But I really like their wide choices of wedding themes. Heheh.. will try pop by to look at the jupiter rm when it's fully set up for weddings tis couple of mths.

Anyone have idea wats the duration of a short march-in? 2mins? Wld u all opt for a long one or a short march-in??

magic_alz

hi icywave!
oh the bear can be changed to beige ah? then not so bad...but bears like not very practical ley...but hten if i tie ribbons on their necks like very cute hor? dont think the guy guests will be very impressed by the bear though..heh heh...

yeah wedding cards only got 2...i emailed t-dragon( their supplier), they say they're not supplying other designs...so if we want to take must buy directly from them..but don't realli wan to spend the extra money ely...anyway invitations will all be thrown away .. no point ..

i think i'll opt for an 'okay' length of time...coz too short like not very sincere, n too long i will start to feel pai seh...haha...

happi

hi all, went to view FRF ballroom last weekend. The decorations attracted me.... the coordinator told me tat they r the few hotels that hv different themes. Any idea which other hotels have these?

icywave

Halo purple star

I've went to a few hotels before confirming with FRF. I tink it's true that they r the only few hotels that are concern abt wedding themes & really have quite a few choices for us to select.

The rest of the hotels I've seen only have at the most 3themes for wedding banquet.

U don't find FRF suitable? Ya.. can tell me which room deco did u see last wkend?? Thx!!

icywave

Ha.. magical!

Tink I'm kiasu or greedy.. I kinda wish for a long march-in eh..

Coz for me, at frds/relatives wedding, I always feel that I've not seen enuff of the brides & grooms dressing & stuffs. They are always busy mingling around & have little time for all guests. So the march-in part is the only time that I can see the couple as much as I want.

As such, I'm tinking of a long march-in instead of short one so that everyone can have more time to look at my lovely mtm gown??!! Haha.. am I too vain or silly to think like tis?? Hmmn.. But at the same time, I'm not really the type who like all attention on me. Will feel really pai seh too. And I seldom wear heels so I've fear that I may trip during march-in too! Haha... so ironic.. I oso don't know wat I want, really.

Sigh..........

magic_alz

hi icywave!
hey i think u've got a good point..hm...

no la, not vain or silly at all..spent tens of thousands of dollars already of course must make sure EVERYONE sees us as long as possible la....
must practise walking up n down in heels loh.haha...my heels are not gonna be too high, coz i also don't like wearing heels..maybe only abt 2 inches enough already...i just scared i step on my gown or my hubby or someone else step on my train..coz last time i nearly stepped on my friend's EG train, luckily i move fast enough, if not sure kena...haha..

happi

Hi icywave,
I went to both ballrooms. The bigger one was with the traditional flower deco, the smaller one is the decorated with tea lights. I prefer the tea light ones... will be very nice when the lights are dim... very romantic.
so which theme hv u chosen?
I find the coordinator, Jasmine, very nice too. I can't confirm yet cos i dun hv a date, and FRF is the first hotel i've been to, i wanna view others before i decide.