Furama Riverfront Singapore

magic_alz

my BS is bridal zone
think will go down this mth..in next couple of weeks..they've got a new batch of gowns comin in, so if i cant find anything i like, will MTM in sept loh...coz my PS will be in dec..

icywave

Wah, magical u muz be quite excited abt the PS ba? Had my PS in June, now waiting for pixs to be ready in Oct. Tis wkend going to choose my ROM dress, hopefully can find sumtin I like.

Haha.. Amanda! u r rite! anytin quite alrite with me too except boring chocolates.

magic_alz

hi icywave!
ooh! when u get your pics back can i see? =) i love looking at wedding photos..!=)
my PS still long way ley..in dec..

yeah i think the chocolate phase has passed la.. there was a time when fruit cake ruled..then chocs...then i think now are teddy bears n test tube tea leaves..=)

purple_tulips

magical: Tecman is located at Brash Basar.. 4th floor i think.. top floor, come out from escalator turn left. they have 3 outlets there but top one has more bridal stuff..there are other shops there.. like Glory Graphics.. Looks a bit cheena and old. but there was a day when i bravely went in alone to take a look, and surprisingly, saw a few nice stuff there.. bridal accesories lah, cards lah.. Going to see if they have red packets with the 'xi' word on it or not..
My FH didnt like the bear, he said if all other new favours not nice, we'll go with chocs... No way man. I rather take the bear.
I remember the times when fruit cakes were the in thing.. at least fruit cakes were more interesting than chocos.. to me at least..

Hey, how is the bridal suite at FRF? anyone saw it yet?

seabreaker

Do tell you the truth, I don't mind chocolates coz I love chocolates. But nowsaday it seem that chocolate was phased out already so the in thing now is wedding favor that can be kept. I have kept all the wedding favors received from my friends' wedding dinner and I treasured them a lot. I even intend to add a display corner especially for that in my new hse (renov starting early sept). I hope people will treasure mine too.

seabreaker

Hi little_sweet,

I saw your qtn to magical regarding breakeven for the banquet. Personally, I think the chances of breakeven is higher if we opt for restaurant. AS for hotel, the chances are there too depends on your guest actually. I'm prepared to make a loss about $1k~$2k..hope not more. =P

magic_alz

hm...i think won't make a loss la...cos usu for hotels ppl will give 80 or 100, but maybe this hotel not as popular as others, maybe ppl will give abt 60 or 70 loh..
will most probably cover, but won't make much la..
i think in order not to make a loss, we have to call up ppl n remind them to come..my colleagues took the time to call up their friends 2-3 times..so their attendance was abt 99%..only 1 or 2 ppl no show..

i saw the bridal suite! not very nice, i admit...quite simple loh..the one at york hotel was even nicer n bigger..

little_sweet

magical & seabreaker coz me think hotel pple will normally 80-100 depends on wat kinda of hotel & restaurant i will normally give $60,so if i myself such a mentality,guess pple will think likewise...hehe
ya but prepare to have some losses first nt to have profit...

magic_alz

yeah for hotel if 'm not v close with the bride n bgroom i'll give 80..if close friends then 100.
restaurant i've never been invited b4, but i think will give 60 also..
i'm preparing to break even...coz already chose a lower priced venue, so really hope can cover loh..but if make losses also no choice wat...we can't tell ppl to give minimum how much, right? =D

i guess since already decided to go for a traditional sit-down dinner, then just have fun n enjoy loh...don't worry so much abt $$$..if not it defeats the purpose of celebrating already...

i'm not htat worried abt ppl givin less money, but abt ppl who will not turn up on that night without informing..they're the ones who will cause empty seats at tables which will otherwise be fully utilized..*grrr...*

hi amanda! osrrie i just saw your post!
thanks for your info! will go down to tecman one day to look...=) bras basah got alot of wedding stuff shops izzit? do they sell those transclusent paper to be used as inserts in invites? i want to print my own invitations...cannot stand FRF's ..haha..

purple_tulips

Haha! I kow what u mean about their invitations!!! If i can afford it, i'll do my own too.. but using it, is a big portion of money that can be saved lor..
I'll just swallow my saliva and use it...
Maybe i dont really like chocolate favours cos i dont really fancy chocolate..
Little_Sweet.. me and FH are expecting to break even..

purple_tulips

This is a little of the topic.. but does anyone knoe when the next issue of ay local bridal magazine is coming out? I search for like 2 months liao.. i think i only saw one.. Female Brides i think.. me want Style weddings/ Her World..

magic_alz

oh yayy! got new mag to read over the weekend! =)
my hubby always got new car mags..but poor me always happily go the the weddings section but got nothing...sob sob...

icywave

Ha.. ya.. me been searching for new wedding mags too. But apparently local wedding mags not alot. & foreign mags contents not so relevant to our style & culture.

But I juz bout "Cleo Sept", they've a few pages abt "alternative wedding", have alittle bit of ideas from them lor. But really only a few pages.

Me & FH hoping for breakeven too!

But difficult to say too coz my side's any pow all go to my parents, so can oni rely on FH's relatives & frds' ang pow.

preciousmoments

FH and I are expecting to break even too. My parents say the ang baos they collected will be given to me. Hee hee.

Anyway, we are thinking of using the extra money we saved by booking FRF instead of other hotel for extras like hiring Precious Moments mascots and having Precious Moments wedding favors cos we are crazy fans of PMs.

We are also thinking of getting some friends who are symphonic band performers to perform during reception.

purple_tulips

Magical..I know EXACTLY how u feel.. When we see a news stand or any place that has magazines, i literally run to go find wedding mags, then after a short while, my FH is happily reading his motoring mags while his poor wife to be bends up and down looking for one local wedding magazine..
Icewave, i think i saw the article u are talking about.. Something about having something other than a white wedding..
There are loads of wedding mags, but i want a local one cos i wanna see if there are any bridal shows or sales, etc.
Precious moments.. what are precious moments mascots? as in those huge mascots where pple have to don the huge hot suit? wow.. never seen such thing.. It would be fun to do so though.. free sauna.. If u have the suit and no human to do it, ask me to do.. i desp to lose weight. ha!
Yeah! Got magazine to read liao!! **eagerly anticipating..**

magic_alz

haha!!! i like the precious moments mascot idea n of amanda in the suits!
how fun! i think it'll be nice to give PM favours..add a nice sweet touch..some thing different too..but they're v ex right? mayeb if u can buy in bulk will be cheaper..

Amanda,i think all BTBs are like us...run to see but got nothing..haha..
local mags are more relavant la..but overseas gowns are nicer ley..can steal ideas n ask BS to MTM for me..=)

seabreaker,
sure this week will be out ah? i'm tired of reading my old ones already man...=D

magic_alz

icywave,
i think your parents will give you a certain amt from their APs la...my mother also say will give me some back..
i think colleagues will give more...coz relatives come in big families, n their amt per person might be less than colleagues n friends..

icywave

Hmn.. don't tink so abt getting any ang pow from my side coz my relatives are quite old eh.. they've the custom to buy gold jewelries for me & give ang pow during tea ceremony only. So basically no any pow to collect from them :p

Moz likely my mom's side relatives will give only.

Heheh.. precious moments' idea of mascots really innovative! But I'm worried the mascots will bang into tables & knock dwn sumtin coz the space gaps between tables to tables actually not that big.

M getting ROM in 3wks time! Sob... but juz had an disagreemt on sumtin trivial with FH.. sob... life's so hard..

magic_alz

icywave,
hey..life is not a bed of roses ma..cheer up la..
ROM no small matter..its a life changing, sign-on-the-dotted line matter..so maybe u guys feeling stress of change ba..
before my ROM we also had disagreements...small small things like shopping for ROM dress he dowan to come with me, booking of hi-tea venue he also don't care..etc..but all will be over la..so this time plan for wedding i smarter...EVERYTHING i source n do, he just needs to say OK only..haha..but i told him, now early stages i don't mind doing, very fun ma..but he has to help out whatever i tell him to do..so he's happy n i'm happy..but he automatic will get interested now..we're sourcingfor photographers now, n he will ask me 'when are we going to see the next one?'..n i will smile to myself..haha..

icywave

Hi magical, thx for yr concern

But me & FH didnt have any disagreemt abt ROM or AD. Basically he very nice & help in watever he can.

I was angry with him for getting a new HP & didn't tell me immediately lah.. Sigh... he bought it during his lunch time & I only got to know in the evening when he come to my plc.

U tink I'm petty?? But I feel getting a HP (which we use every single day) is quite a important change in daily life. I wish he have told me immediately after his purchase. But he said that he had intended to tell me when we met in the evening.. tats y..

Me too petty? I juz want to share his joy of the new purchase mah. But m surprised he didnt sms me to tell me his happiness of the new HP leh..

magic_alz

oh..i see...
but actually a handphone is just a handphone...its a necessity these days, so maybe your FH felt that its nothing to discuss about..
but if he buys a car or property, or even a brand new computer, then its a different matter loh..after all, buying a new handphone is so common nowadays, its like buying a new pair of pants or fitting a new pair of specs..

n i think guys won't feel happy just bcos he buys a new handphone loh.they're not like us, we got new things, we get v happy n excited abt it..even when i buy a new bag or new shoes i'll be v happy for a few days..guys are like ' i need this. i'll buy this. full stop.

like two weeks ago, while my hubby was in HK with his family, i gave in to impulse n bought a Gucci sunglasses, 150+..i also didn't tell him until he came back when i showed it to him..n even now, 2 weeks after my purchase, n we go out on a sunny day in the car, i'll say 'yayy! got sun!' n put on my shades..haha..my hubby say i siao already..

purple_tulips

MAybe a hp before the proposal was a small thing.. but after the proposal, when u know u are going to be spending ur lives together, and how u will have to share finances may have an impact lah.. Maybe its sort of like a, "Huh, u spend money never discuss with me first?"... Maybe Icywave just wanted to be the 1st one to share his joy lah.. not share his joy with his blokes 1st.. Icywave, nvm lah, let it pass, small matter. Maybe to him he really only intended to share with u that evening, to him not important to let u know asap. Its a guy and girl thing.. and different perspectives on what is important or not. And its how u choose to handle it. Let him know how u feel lah, like if it were u who bought something new, u would inform him asap, cos u would want to share with him too, and it would be nice if he could take the effort to do the same..

Hey Magical.. I can imagine i'll be cute in those mascots k.. This is the only time u can outrightly act cute, do silly things.. fall down also nvm, cos no one can see who i am under the mask!!!!!!! Thats why i dare! ask me be clown i dare not, cos can still see face..
Only PM favours i've received so far are those PM sweets..

hey Precious Moments.. U havent answer my question yet.. are we thinking about the same kind of mascots?

magic_alz

haha..yeah hor? come to think of it, that's really a good chance to act silly ..at the same time can get rid of stress..=)

yeah loh, guys an girls have totally different points of view...that's what triggered the book "men are from mars, women from venus"..=)

purple_tulips

Yeah.. it was also illustrated by the Style Magazine and motoring magazines thing too.. how we have different interest.. Magical, i see we're online at the same time. ha.

icywave

Hi magical & Amanda!

Thx for your concern, really appreciate that. Yr words mk me feel so much more better coz it mk the issue seem very small now. Guess I ovr-react abit ba.. haha.. but actually I don't mind his spending at all coz he's one who plan his expenditures. Really juz feel sad coz I wasn't the lst one to share his joy.. But afterall, maybe getting a new hp not so joyous to him ba. coz he's been changing hp. Ha! Okie! I'll go! Going to stop my cold war now..

Keke.. I can imagine the PM mascots. Will be realy cute manz!

purple_tulips

so tell him, to make up for not telling u first hand, u can use his hp as and when u want!
Use it as much as possible!
hee!
Women dont get mad, they get even...!Haha..

Dont get mad, dont show u are sad.. doesnt put us women in a good light.. Make us look like we're petty. Tell ur man how u feel then dont do anything.. let him live with the guilt. hee.. (Me in evil mood today..)

preciousmoments

sorry for slow reply. I have a picture of the PM mascots so u can visit the link below to take a look.
http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/4560/930/1600/IMG_0178.jpg

As for PM wedding favors, I was thinking of giving PM shotglass which I saw at Yahoo auctions. I think cost $1.30 each. There are also PM kit kat chocolates. All these are not available from the Precious Thots shops.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that the Precious Thots shops will import some wedding favors in before my wedding. =)

magic_alz

i totally agree with amanda!
never get mad, get even!! haha!then we will still seem like angels ..
but sometimes men are super dense 1...anyway, disagreements may seem big now, but after a while we'll look back n think 'why did i get so upset for?"

preciousmoments,
the shotglass idea seems really cute! 1.30 is an ok price..
i wanted to get wedding bells..but the ones i saw were 3 bucks per piece!! too ex la..

purple_tulips

haha! The mascots are cute! But dont think i am tall enough.. If i wear the suit, my head may end at their chin level.
Precious moments.. I saw the shot glass before.. Quite nice.. If i were marrying a richer man, i'll prob do something like that, but since i'm not.. so...
Magical.. I said liao, tecman wedding bells nice and cheap... And since it comes secured to a card, easier for ur guest to keep.. U can just gie bells like that right, sure lost.. And extra work if u want to secure to card..

magic_alz

hi amanda!
yeah i remember u telling me abt tecman...haven't had a chance to go there n see for myself yet..the ones i saw were at delfi orchard...super nice but also super ex!
maybe will go down there in the next few weeks.anyone knows which supplier FRF gets their favours from? if their supplier has what i want then i don't have to spend extra ..can ask them to change for me n i just pay up the difference (if its not too much! )

magic_alz

hm..okay...then will ask my coordinator when my day is nearer loh...=) thanks!

btw seems like v few brides in this thread hor? nobody take FRF package meh?

icywave

I tink there are more FRF brides, maybe they dino chance upon tis thread??

Hmn... unique wedding favors.. maybe can get my brother to source for me ovrseas & bring them in? He has contacts with some factories, maybe really can do that!

My ROM cming up next mth 9th! At FRF waterfall lounge.

My AD this yr Dec 11th!

My status changing soon....!!

flying_pig

thinking of hosting my wedding banquet at Furama Riverfront Singapore during dec week days. Anyone like to share with me their good and bad experience with the hotel? i recently request for a wedding package from them. price at $488+++ but from http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquet_price.php
it ard $448.Understand that $448 is the min cost ,but $488+++ ,working out maybe ard $530 per table. no free flow of beer,other than that the package which is given is very normal. Any advise for me?

purple_tulips

Haha.. From Miss Icywave, to Mrs Icywave?
The waterfall lounge is nice.. So u do it in the lounge right? not actually move out to the water fall? Peeked there before.. was so amused to find that it was the car park entrance. haha.
Me and FH considering to have ROM there too.. Dunno yet, selest says can tell her at a later date..
Talk about maiden names, if you want to keep your maiden surname in, What follows ur own name? My FH surname is Lee. So will it be Amanda Goh- Lee or Amamda Lee- Goh? How about mdm? with mdm is it my own surname?

magic_alz

going to be a mrs already! =)
some of my students couldn't get used to calling me mrs...but better that mdm, sound like i'm 50+ years old!

u must be so excited! next mth 9th coming up very very soon!=)

purple_tulips

Magical.. u teacher ah? And.. urs is 28th of which month?

Yeah, Icywave.. so how are u feeling now? Planning wise, emotionally wise (since u know u are going to 'leave' ur family..)

seabreaker

Hi magical,
I was told by the newstand vendor that most probably the Style Mag will be out on the 17th or 18th. I'm still waiting too..neck long long liao. My fh is on the watchout everyday too (he is the one who has been buying all the bridal mag..hee). Have been eyeing the style wedding since day 1. Luckily manage to get the last 2 issues from my colleague, who's getting married this nov.

Hi icywave,
I understand how you feel too. You should be feeling better now already right? Don't brood over it ok..let ur hubby know how you feel, maybe next time he will let you know before he buys anything again. ;)

Hi free,
My wedding is on weekend, so not sure about weekday package. I don't have free flow of beer but manage to get another 30l free and an extra night stay in the honeymoon suite (I have 56~60 tables).

seabreaker

Hi little sweet,

Normally I will give $80 for wedding held in a hotel and $60 for restaurant. However, it all depends on your guest too coz some of my colleagues gave standard $60 for wedding regardless whether it's in a hotel or restaurant. I'm prepared to make a loss since my mum will be keeping all her tables ang pow money.

purple_tulips

Free.. whatever it is that u want to ask, just thick skin a bit and just ask. maybe before u can ask, they would already have offered u. How many tables u have? if 30 plus i think they wouldnt hesitate to offer u free flow..
Seabreaker: is that true? Style will be out on 17 or 18? Yeah! can't wait!

flying_pig

Thanz seabreaker and amanda,i think im going for ard 35 to 40 tables.Now hesitating dun kwn going to invite my colleagues a not,cos im getting my home this year.So i think will be spending more on my home rather than wedding.I heard a lot from my married buddies saying that the more pple u call the more u lost.Izit true? Or rather call the relatives and closer friends onli.And for colleagues onli closer ones?

seabreaker

Hi Amanda,
Not sure leh..still waiting for the mag to be out.

Hi Free,
My coordinator is Albert..never met up with selest or halim before. So far have talk to Albert twice..quite a soft-spoken guy.