Furama Riverfront Singapore

little_sweet

helo,free...my cordinator selest,very nice & friendly lady..Albert also veri professional

little_sweet

free,ya think they are every professional in every aspects, nt say who give the best deals coz they are still wrking under the management, is just the attitude and the svcs they provide and also do they do a follow up wif u after tat,tats the mst impt

icywave

Hi free, coordinator - mine seles too. She's been nice & friendly. I've nvr met or spoken to the other coordinator before. But guess it's mainly up to yr own negotiating skills too ba. :p Mine oso on wkend & have free flow of beer.

Kekeke gals! U bet I'm getting more & more excited! Im ok with him now. Ok lah, no more anger in me. Thx God so far we patch back quite soon. Nowadays both very hapi abt the upcoming ROM so not disagreemnts at all except the 'HP Matter'. Haha... I everyday imagine how the actual solemnisation day will be like. And excited coz the day after our ROM, we'll be going Bangkok to celebrate. I'm going to do lots of shopping manz! So hapi!

But aiyo, today FH juz tried on the wedding ring & found that his finger have grown thicker (fatter), the ring abit tight around his finger eh. Sigh...

Trying hard not to tink abt the "leaving family part' now.. i'll get quite emotional one. But lucky my FH live quite near me & after marriage, we'll stay at his current plc lst while waiting for our new residence so I can cme hme easily for the next 2-3yrs no problem!

purple_tulips

Good for u icywave..
i know how feel about the leaving family part.. I'm the emotional type too.. but i think no matter how near or how far i'll be, i'll still feel like i'm very far away from them..
Icywave, keep us updated about ur ROM k..

icywave

Halo Amanda!

I've got a long light purple dress for my ROM from my BS. Not really wat I wanted for my ROM (actually prefer a short dress but BS don't have), but nvr mind lah, afterall, Im juz going to wear it for like 1 day ba..

FH telling to go buy wat I really like but I tink its a waste of $ coz moz likely I wont really get to wear the dress again. Don't u tink so?

Oh ya regarding the surname, usually women who take after their hubby's surname, will put their hubby's surname in front of their own. So yours shld b Lee Goh Amanda!

Mdm is for our own's surname. That means you can oso address yrself Mdm Goh. And you will be Mrs Lee.

Haha..!! After marriage, we'll have alot of ways to let pple address us hor. And when filing up forms, the status will be married instead of single. Wat a great change..!!

magic_alz

haha..yeah i agree...!
hm...but usually if u don't change your surname in your ic, when u fill up forms i still use my maiden name..only in school i use my married name..in the database my name is Mdm, but i requested to change to Mrs, coz Mdm really v v old ah! but my students v funny 1...before i was married, some call me ms fiona (my name), but they call me mrs fiona..urgh!

hm...after i ROMed, we're still staying at our own parents places (still living apart la) coz my parents says after AD then considered truly married, so i go over to his place over weekends..actually feel that this arrangement is quite good, coz like slowly phasing in..now quite comfy with his parents too..so i think by the time i move in after AD next year should have minimal problems ba..just that want to invite friends over abit troublesome loh..after all its not our own place..

hi free! welcome!
my coordinator is albert...v nice guy, but make me feel pai seh abt asking for too many things coz i feel like i'm bullying him..haha..
i got free flow beer too...
hm..i think maybe they increased the price already...the website might not have updated yet...why not check with FRF straight?

seabreaker,
still no mag ley...22nd already...my hubby bought his new car mag yesterday n he laugh at me ...hmph!

grievance_bride

I just confirmed my wedding banquet at Furama Riverfront. My wedding co-ordinator is Halim ( senior Sales Manager) there. He was a very patient guy and explain everything in detail to me and my husband.. Initially, i have concern holding my banquet there, but was won over by Halim's friendliness and professionalism.

Yes, their wedding banquet prices have increased. The nett price per table for mine is $720.27.

magic_alz

hi janis!
welcome! good to see more ppl coming in...=)

when's your big day?
i presume your banquet's on a weekend? initially my hubby n i wanted to have it on a sunday, but last min changed our minds, n put it on a monday instead..

if u don't mind me asking, what were the concerns u had abt the place?

icywave

Halo Janis! Welcome here!

Wah, their price have increased quite alot hor. Your pricing for weekday 2006?

Guess maybe yr previous concerns same as mine - feel that the hotel not popular/famous enuff? scared the location not gd & inconvenient for guests? wori that the hotel not 'new' enuff?

Hey magical, I agree on the 'phasing in' part, that's y I prefer to have my ROM ceremony & chinese customary separate. So that I won't experience great change in my life too dramatically. But hor, my ROM only 3mths apart from my customary eh, duno izzit enuff time for me to settle in my new status.. Haha!!

Mine mine! My ROM date really arriving soon, so excited...!! :D

little_sweet

hi all, ya their pricing increased alot, coz i guess their biz has increased alot too tats y they need to increased the price also...Weekend is mre expensive than weekday..Tats y i bked on a weekday

flying_pig

Halo janis!
like to check with u ur wedding is for 2005 or 2006? Cos i'm booking for 2006, halim told me for $488+++ table,net price is $568.76. So for a $688 table is onli $720.27? Is ther any +++ in it?

preciousmoments

Hi Free,

when is your AD?

I booked mine on 24 Sept 2006 (Sunday) and mine is abt $695 nett per table in Venus ballroom. Luckily, I booked early in May when they had their wedding show so had extra perks too.

preciousmoments

Hi Janis,

my coordinator is Halim too. I was also very impressed with his service that's why we signed up with FRF.

When's your AD? If it's before 24 Sept next year, maybe you can share more of your experience with me. I will be holding my ROM at the hotel before dinner. =)

preciousmoments

Hi Icywave,

I sure can feel your excitement. Although there's still a year and one month to my ROM and AD, I am starting to feel very excited liao.

I had all my aerobics classes, spa and facial packages all ready cos I am having my PS this year end at JB.

purple_tulips

Hey precious moments.. ur PS is in JB? Ur bs is in singapore/ jb? Guess ur pics will be really nice, cos it wouldnt be the usual shots. (singapore's outdoor location shots are so limited. If its not sentosa, its lababor park, etc)
the new prices are online already..
Ivywave: I agree with u about spending money on something u'll only wear one day.. Besides, ask pple to remember what u were wearing on ur ROM day and AD, no one will remember what u were wearing to ur ROM..

icywave

Haha.. Amanda, I tink no one will really remember wat I wear too. Though I do remember the designs of my frd's gowns during her wedding in June. But that's bcoz I noe Im getting married tats y paid more attn to her gowns.

So dun care lah.. though I dun really like my ROM dress but nvr mind lah. Haha..

Wah precious moments, u go JB tk pixs ah.. Isn't alot of travelling required then? Tk pixs, choose pix, collect pixs etc quite a few trips to & from hor? But yeah, tink yr pixs backgrounds will be so refreshing from our norm photo tking locations in spore.

preciousmoments

Hi Amanda and Icywave,

my BS is in JB. I booked the same bridal package as my best friend who is getting married in Nov this year. She has already collected her album and it was indeed value for $$.

I went in with her when they choose gowns, choose pics and collect album except PS cos I was sick that day. We look upon it as a shopping cum makan trip everytime we go in. As we have company, we do not find it a bother.

The main reason why I am having PS in Nov is so that we overlap with my friend's timings. For example when she go and collect her AD gown, I go and try my gowns. When she returns her gown, I go for PS. In this way, we save some trips to JB. Hee hee...

I am very happy with that BS cos my friend and I signed up together and we got some extra perks. I try to bargain for more things and save some $$ so that I can splurge on other things.

The pics also turn out to be very nice especially the outdoor shoot. I still can't decide if I want to go Desaru to take outdoor pics but I can't wait to have my PS soon. =)

purple_tulips

Precious moments.. hope u dont mind sharing, which bridal studio did u go with? me and FH plannin to go in one of these weekends, but have no idea where to start.
what did u get in ur package? how much?
If i were u, i'll go desaru..

magic_alz

aiya...precious moments,
if i knew u earlier b4 i booked my package i would want to get the contact from u too..but too late la..=p

so fun hor? can go overeas for photoshoot..my PS in dec...so we were thinking if whould take christmas lights..but dunno take from where..orchard everywhere so many ppl..then i thought of taking the hippo bus to drive along orchard ..but don't really wan to spend the $$$..sigh..i'm also thinking should take photos at the places we often go, so got more meaning ma..we usu go chinatown, but there ALSO so many ppl, n the ppl are the essence of chinatown..so in a dilemma again..argh!

icywave,
hm..3 mths ok la..but imagine u have to change your 20+ years of lifestyle in 3 mths...
for me 1 yr plus..ROM last year oct on my bday, then next year may then have AD..but i think stay over on weekends very diff from staying there permanantly..coz i don't wash my clothes there..i just clean my hubby's room only..that's all..

icywave

Hmn.. bet u gals are excited abt yr upcoming PS. I'd mine in June - went Changi Beach & Punggol End. Scenery not bad actually, but Im not photogenic type. Haha.. Remember to sleep early before yr PS, put a mask the day before & don't drink too much water after 9pm esle yr eyes may look swollen eh.

Precious moments u muz have save alot. My BS charge me $65 per additional photo leh.

Keke magical u know, I've been tinking where to hang my undergarments after I moved to my new home. FH have elder brothers, they don't have any daughters so I tink it'll be very "refreshing" that they c ladies undergarments in their house. Haha...

preciousmoments

Hi Amanda,

I signed up with Honeymoon Bridal at Johor Jaya but it's kind of far. We need 30 mins by cab from the customs. If you dun mind the travelling, there are a few BS in that area too. If not, you can consider those in City Square. We signed with this cos my friend's colleague's cousin was the manager there then. Actually, if I didn't sign up with this JB BS, I had planned to sign up with White Link cos it's only 3 mins walk from my house.

My package is RM4088 with 3 albums (S,M and L), one long frame with 4 shots, 1 big frame (forget wat sizes), 108 3R photos to give away, 1 AD WG and EG, 3 AD suits and all negatives back in CD-Rom. I can't remember the extra details of the sizes but I know it's quite cheap to develop extras cos all the costs are around the same as Singapore except it's in Ringgit. =)

But I do not have AD makeup and car decor. I have to source for my own. FH's friend has agreed to lend us her CLK convertible as our wedding car.

As you can see, most of my things have been settled so I want to have PS earlier so that I can print personal invitation cards, do a wedding scrapbook etc. Hee hee...

hapi_jace

Hi Magical & everyone!
Hi Magical, surprise to see u here! I m also a bride of bridal zone. I m shortlisting frf to hold my banquet. Have spoken to albert.. is he negotiable on certain things like free printing? I m considering holiday inn @ atrim & plaza parkroyal too. any comments? thx ah!

purple_tulips

Hi hapi_jace.. free printing of what? Invites?
Precious moments.. Ur package sounds good.. i find that most malaysian BSs give back negatives, in CD rom form somemore..
Considering malaysian BS now.. must make time to go in man..
Why o Why Style Weddings not out yet!! I read and read all my past mags till falling apart liao!

magic_alz

precious moments
wow your deal is really not bad! but maybe for u got friend bought the same package la..i imagine for myself, my hubby is the typical guy guy..so he will wait until the last last min before he will go down n try out his suit..so i'll be goin to my fittings with a good friend only..so if i take JB package not very convenient too.. (haha sound like comforting myself..)

hi hapi jace!
oh i just posted to u on the BZ forum abt this..! ha! =D my co-ordinator also albert...very nice guy..hm...printing of invites? definitely hafta to print ourselves..hm..have u been to see the places? i havent been to plaza parkroyal, but been to Grand plaza parkroyal..don't really like the entrance into the hotel..n not v confy with the co-ordinator..albert is much more easy to talk to.. holiday inn atrium i emailed but no reply, so no go loh..

amanda,
ya loh! so long still not out!! sept going to behere soon man!

preciousmoments

I was walking ard Popular Bookstore trying to kill time yesterday when I chanced upon this book 'Wedding Planner Singapore' and decided to buy it cos it looks quite impressive from the outside and comes with CD-Rom.

However, after I opened it, I was quite disappointed. It's definitely not worth the $25 that I paid for it. Just a warning to you gals in case any of you are thinking of getting this book.

silversky

I've just signed up with Furama RV...
Went down to view and sign on the spot...something i dun usually do cos afraid may regret but so far, I am still quite happy with the hotel service!! =)
Coordinator is Albert...really a very nice guy!
Anyone attended wedding at the hotel before? How 's the service of staff serving food?

grievance_bride

Hi Destineey

I also signed up with Furama Riverfront lately. My wedding on 15th October 2005..My co-ordinator is Halim, the Sales Manager there. I am pleased with their service. I am taking the venus ballroom and my package is $720 per table...

When is your wedding date?

silversky

HI Janis,

Mine in June next yr...still a long way to go...hee...Mind sharing photos with me after ur wedding?
Btw, u mean u just booked the venue and u holding ur wedding in Oct this year? U are lucky to get a date u want! =)
Most of the hotel ballroom also booked for the day we wanted...lucky FRF ballroom still available for us! =)

seabreaker

Style wedding mag is finally out?! I'm going to grab one this instant! Thx lazingbear!

Hi Destineey & Janis, welcome to this thread. Finally get to see more frf brides.

magic_alz

hello!
wow! so many new ppl! welcome all! =)

i got my copy yday too..=) but this issue not very nice...all the gowns featured are so-so only..sigh...quite disappointed...

purple_tulips

thanks Lazingbear.. I got so excited when i saw it today!!! I was at the woodlands interchange jumping and trying not to scream like a goondo.. but as what magical says.. not impressed with the gowns leh. and very heavy ah.. was flipping thru the back pages. featuring the hotels.. not interested liao, since i've booked FRF.. haha

preciousmoments

I agree with you gals...there's really nothing much to look at although this issue is very thick.

I guess it's also because we have booked hotel venue and BS so most of the pages are irrelevant already. I noticed that some hotels and BS are not featured in this issue too...sigh...

grievance_bride

Hi Destineey

Yes, my husband and myself just booked this year for our October Wedding....It was quite rash, but then I discovered that I am 2 months pregnant after ROM for 6 years. Sure, I will show you my photo during the wedding dinner. I would also like to share with you guys about my unpleasant experience with Popular Studio at Jurong East. They are cut-throat bridal studio and very unprofessional...Actually, my husband and myself intend to hold our customary wedding next year......and during July, i booked a package with Popular Studio but then discovered that their package is very expensive. $1588 only include white gown, evening gown, 2 makeup (without trial).....and I will have to pay $150 extra for men's suite. For this $1,588, i would get a more comprehensive package at other bridal studio as told by my friend....So when i decided not to fulfill Popular studio's package afterall, they threatened to call the police, forced me to fulfill their package and forefited my $300 deposit... I started to agrue with the female Manager, who was very unprofessional and rude. She only stop when my stomach starts to ache. I won't mind to forgo my $300, but was shocked by Popular's unethical service.

purple_tulips

Hi Janis..
So when u guys went to see their 1588 package, u signed up for that?
Did u ask for ur deposit back? really unprofessional and darn childish of them to threaten to call police lor.. Its just a matter of u not wanting to fulfill ur package. Even though i dont think u'll get ur deposit back, still no reason for them to call police unless u make some unreasonable requests, which i dont thin is the case.. If they want to call police, call lor. What can police do? Dont think police will entertain them over the phone even.. its a real childish act. Like when we were kids, how we threatened to tell the adults whenever another kid disturbed u.. yeah.. 'so scared'
$1588 for 2 gowns, and make up is so pathetic! photoshoot leh? $150 for a suit? I rather go get a tailor made one, can keep some more..
Well, they are breaking their own rice bowl and reputation lor.. Thanks Janis for sharing this with us. I guess if u cannot get ur $300 back, then take it as a lesson learnt lor.. How about checking out JB studios? u'll get more stuff with S$1588 in JB.. i think u'll be able to get a full package man. with photoshoot, make up etc..

grievance_bride

Hi Amanda

Yes, i signed up for the package and paid $300 deposit. After i paid my deposit, the Sales Executive then revealed to my husband and myself that the man's suit and car are not included in the package, and i have to pay $150 for man's suit, $300 for car without decoration, and $150 for car decoration, $80 for hand bouquet on actual day, $50 for trial make up and NO photo shooting. I went back the following week, and the female manager at Popular's studio was very unethical and told me that she can only give me ONE man's suite (old and second hand somemore) for the $300 deposit that i have paid for if i don't want to fulfill their package. Or alternatively, She even wanted me to top up $280 on top of my $300 deposit for either a chinese Kua or evening gowns if i don't want to fulfill the whole package. Their Chinese Kua and evening gowns look horrible and old and she said she can only offer me OLD and Second Hand stuff and not new arrival. When i refused and agrued with her, she THREATENED to call the police and FOREFITTED my $300 deposit if i don't agree to her terms. She also accused me of signing up package with other bridal studio which i didn't and forced me to fulfill their package or else i will get nothing even if i pay the $300 deposit.

More ridiculous thing coming up and guess what? The female Manager later counter-offer me with a DAY make up at $480 and NO HAIR-DO (that mean i have to top up $180 on top of the $300 deposit) and asked me to get my friend to do the Night make up and hair-do for me. I told her this is day light robbery and then she very " hao lian" and told me that even if i get a lawyer also no use....as i am at a losing end...

Thanks Amanda for sharing my woes, and i agree with you that I will take this as a lesson learnt.

icywave

Poor Janis... its so unfortunate of u to have such nasty encounter with such stupid BS.

I feel that the package really very expensive for so little tins.

They're really very very childish to try to threaten u to do their bidding with the police! U shld have oso told her with a "hao lian" face that even if they get the police, they cannot force u to fulfil yr package. They are so silly!

Sigh.. tink now u can only either forget abt yr $300 deposit or seek CASE (Consumer Association) for help.

Hope you can cope with this issue well, don't let this nasty BS upset u too much - it's not worth yr good health getting unhappy over such unpleasant pple.

grievance_bride

Hi Icywave

Thanks for your concern...Yah, like what Amanda had said, i will treat this as a lesson learnt. Popular studio is very sly and cunning....The female Manager show no mercy even to a pregnant woman like me......

I am glad to know you guys here....you guys are nice people....Thanks you for all your advice...

magic_alz

wow..
janis,
actually not true...there was a bride who paid quite a huge dep..1.5 or 2k for a almost 4k package, she also wanted to calcel her package.the BS refused and wanted to keep her dep plus make her pay some more as the contract stated they must pay half of the package price..they brought it up to CASE n even to court..n the court granted in favour of the bride coz her case was why should she pay for no goods or service rendered..so in the end that BS had to pay her back her deposit n also pay for her lawyer n legal costs...hahaha!

but maybe this is special case la..or dunno how she go n fight la..anyway, be thankful that u only placed a small sum of money..take it that u spent $300 on buying a life lesson, which is priceless anyway.. =)

i hope u laughed at them when they said they'll call the police loh..say thank you, save your phone call money for you..they're this is called 'zuo zei han zhua zei' (calling for help when u're the thief yourself)

anywayz,chill out! dont' get wrinkles over these small ppl...n also, congrats on your upcoming new addition to your family! =)

grievance_bride

Hi Magical

Thanks you very much....Ya, maybe i should take it as if i am buying a life lesson.....you are right.

Hahahahaa, what you said is true.... 'zuo zei han zhua zei'....Popular's studio is the thief themselves.......

Thanks you once again....

grievance_bride

Hi Precious moment.

Sorry for my late response too.. My wedding is 15th October 2005. At venus ballroom as well, however, my table is 720.27 nett.....Sure, i will share my experience with you.....Congrats to you too.

silversky

Hi Janis,

Congrats to you!!....It's double happiness for you..after 6 years, ur BIG day is coming...must be feeling very excited..baby must be excited too...=)

Sad to hear that you encounter such BS. It's really very unprofessional of them. BS shd be very customer service orientated cos lots of times, they depends on referral to make business. Lots of BS closed down due to their bad reputation. Let's pre warn pple around us when they getting married to be extra careful when they sign with any BS.

I guess it's already over...forgo the $300 deposit and just put the unhapiness behind..U got to stay very happy and positive during this period of time u know.. =)

Me looking fwd to look at ur beautiful wedding photos. Am happy that thready becoming more active now...=)