Furama Riverfront Singapore

sweetcyanide

mashi, what time is ur rom and what time ur wedding starts?? i am also afraid too rush.. initially wanna do it during wedding but i think might be quite weird.. rather have a small cozy ceremony.
be it 1 or 2 banquet manager, be with assurance, i feel better.. haha!!

i am also planning to find PG and VG and still researching. Mind sharing urs?? i still having a headache leh.. haha!!

43 tables??!! is it very squeezy? we are only planning about 36 tables.. hehez.. u march in from the middle door? why cannot march in from last day? they should be able to arrange the tables right?

wow! printing own cards is extra spending.. i will be going for hotel's card to cut cost and anyway, ppl usually will throw away the cards so i feel no need to waste extra $$ haha!!

jes, u just went for printing?? 3 weeks ar? is it after u confirm the layout?? from the 1st time u visit the printing guys, how long will it take for them to contact us again to view and confirm printing layout?

jes407

mashi: my AD is on 10th Jan 2010. need help here.. can share your itinerary for the AD? n aso emcees script if any? sigh .. my exams coming soon aso dunno how to split myself sia ..

Jacq: i juz went ytd. they says its 3 weeks from ytd. They will show mi how the print-out will be like by 2 Nov, then after i confirm, they will go ahead n print.

sweetcyanide

mashi, thanks for sharing ur pg and vg. will do some research on time when i get home later...

jes, ur ad is a hot date leh!! and i got a colleague also same day!!! better confirm soon... as for emcee scripts, i think some other treads got scripts to share...
okok, so it seems they need 1 week to prepare the template and 3 weeks to print.. thanks babe! at least got an idea le..
wow!! exams!! u must really take care ok?? dun overstress urself..

jes407

Jacq: think the printing take 2 weeks ba .. coz the lady told mi the whole thing will need around 3 weeks... sigh.. exams ... got 3 somemore, i can be superwoman liao ... somemore i m starting my house reno soon .. heng my house viewing ended b4 my course start.

mashi_mashi

Jacqueline,
my rom start ard 6.40pm. abit of delay there.
dinner also start abit late as its on a friday.
so my dinner end late. lol..

but if u hv lesser tables shld nt hv tat prob..

mine is abit different lay out fr normal de. keke. still a L march in. juz tat the begining is nt fr the last door... due the the no of tables we have. so cannot march in fr last door.

36 tables ok lar. not squeeze. alot of spaces to walk ard. keke..

I go msia to print. so cheaper lor. the difference is nt big...

jes407,
my emcee script is diff fr normal de as got programs along the dinner. haha... so dun tink suitable.

AD schedule mah can share. but u need to send me a PM then i attach fr there... keke..

sweetcyanide

jes, when ur exam starts and end?? dun worry.. i also got friends who went through what u r going through.. you will survive! Gambatte!!!
i think better give 1 month period for invitation printing coz my month seems liek alot wedding.. haha!
house reno?? would it be in time for your wedding??

mashi, i m already expecting dinner not to start on time.. wedding dinners seldom start on time de.. whahha! i think i understand how your march in le.. well, there r 3 projectors so all can still view!
next year's package include invitation cards and printing.. hehez@!! so heng..

AD schedule? i thought its depending whether you go find any shifu to find auspicious hours den plan from there de??

mashi_mashi

Jacqueline,
there are 3 projectors. but no live feed. haha.. so march in still only the front ppl can c only. haha.... unless ur march in is all the way fr the back... lol...

next yr lesser ppl get married. so the package is better. lol.. if i knw, mayb will consider next yr wedding. haha...

schedule timing can be change. tink she juz wan to c hw is the flow of the morning session...

if u gals hv my FB. u can view the morning montage done by my VG. c whether u all like his works or nt. haha....

jes407

ya... i need to plan the flow .. the timing wise will be different ..

mashi: will the coordinator advise us on the layout de mah? my coordinator i dunno how gd.. nv see ppl commenting about her here ...

mashi_mashi

jes407,

ur co ordinator will ask u where u wan to put ur stage n fr there, they will do the layout for u.

for my case, i got my layout 1wk b4 my AD as we confirmed the no. of tables b4 getting the layout.

who is ur co ordinator??

jes407

Jacq: my exams starting on 10 Nov, last day of exam is 19 Nov. haven got the time to start revision.. cham liao.. My house reno is starting on the day I getting my keys. 2nd appointment is this fri, but current owners need to stay for awhile longer. Latest reno start date is 15 nov.. The contractor says enuff time .. 6 weeks the most. Lets hope for the best ba.

bride83_a

Jacqueline and mashi_mashi, thanks alot for the advice... will go down this sat and see the ballroom and cross finger "I" will be helpful.. any idea what is the chance of requesting upgrade from jupitar to mecury ballroom?

sweetcyanide

bride83, i suggest u discussing with ur coordinator. mercury room is min 25... not too far away lehz.. its better u talk to ur coord and see what they say and how they can help.

i have attended a wedding at jupiter before.. there are pillars but i have to say, the projector's position also ok lah, coz tat time, we were behind the pillar but got good projector position.

i m not sure about I but my coord is T and he is pretty flexible and easy to talk to.

jes407

Bride83: the upgrade shouldnt be a problem if the tables u have and the min tables of the ballroom is quite close.. n aso provided mercury is not taken.. coz mine is similar, i got 32 tables, min tables for venus is 36. Mercury is taken on my day but not Venus. So i ask my coordinator if i can take Venus. She says ok..

bride83_a

Hi Jacqueline and jes.. thanks for the info.. hmmm have to try my luck and see how.. hopefully can get.. i guess depend on the coordinator see if they willing to help or not..

sweetcyanide

alternatively, like mentioned above, see if can change coord or not lor.. my coord is flexible coz i also couldnt meet the min table requirement for venus but diff not so much so my coord gave it to us. Of coz, when it comes to actual day, if we didn't manage to meet at least 36 tables (min requirement for venus), we are not entitled to the rebate.
my experience is, as time goes by, u would probably increase ur number of tables..

joyle_t

just went down to see the ballrooms today, mercury room has one whole row on the left kena block by large pillars, liked mecury but got no reception area.

venus is really nice. large recept as well. but how's the food at furama??

gal80

Hi DoubleJ,

I would say tt the comments made here are based on our personal experience so really hope tt she stays the same way as she served you and I can only wish you the best.

As per my prev post, i also encourage those who had better luck with her to speak a word in fairness so

Actually, I hv brought up the matter to their mgmt so tt may explains her change of attitude (not claiming credit) and seriously hope tt she changes for the better in order to stay in the job.

Rgds

darlenena79

I have worked with Ira before. I really dun think that she is really that bad as wat has mentioned. She really work fast to give customers wat they need and has responsiblity.
It's juz a partical un- attentive does not mean she is a bad co-ordinator. She is a CO-ORDINATOR not a BANQUET MANAGER.... So wat ever questions asked, if not sure she gotta make sure before giving you the ans. She cant be simply ans you before making sure and u dun get wat u requested for AD rite.. Or u want it this way ? All i can say is from the first time i spoke to her, she gave me feelings that she is approachable, attends to customers needs and give the best to we customers from the bottom of her heart. Customer come first is always her priority !

Communicate more with her, tell her ur requirements and wat u hope to have on ur AD,
I believe she will look into it and try to fulfill your wish and make ur AD a memorable day.... There are wedding couples whom are really picky and not happy wif her here and there during wedding preparation but thanked her again and agian after the AD has ended for her full support and attentiveness.... So i hope you guys can really seriously consider and seriously think abt it. give her a chance to prove herself to u ! To be fair to you and her....

Rgds
Darlene

gal80

Darlene: Happy for u tt u hv a gd experience with her..

for ur info no one mentioned that Ira is a bad coordinator, we merely mentioned that we had poor/bad/disappointing experiences with her but if you link it to her being bad then we hv nothing to say

Anyway u look relatively new in this forum since u have only just joined or maybe u hv always been a viewer of the past threads?

So when is your actual day?

To all brides/grooms-to-be of FRF: The banquet manager only comes in towards the nearing of the wedding and wat they do will only be relating to food only and actual day banquet coordination so any prior queries definitely will go to the coordinator. So the role of coordinator is very impt. What I would say is a coordinator must be knowledge and be in a pro-active position and well-informed in the basic of things since they wld hv handle many couples and alot of queries should not be new and these are the things that Ira lacked in. Of cos I wld not expect my coordinator to tell me things tt she din know or not sure of in the first place just to ans my qns promptly but there must be a limit to the use of 'i will check and revert to u'. This shld not be used always or when used, revert to us promptly. As i was told, she is relatively new when i first speak to her so tt explains y she cant hv ans on hand but my wedding is not still long way to go so cant afford for her to get updated with the info then served me. So hope by now she has updated herself with the nec info and the new couples under her will have a more positive experience.

Again i wld say, it is not only this area tt she is poor in but in skills of handling situations, at least I hv experienced tt.

For those who dont mind trying, do go ahead. I believe wedding is a very big event for everyone and therefore everyone will be demanding in some ways and being demanding n picky can be of a fine line in definition and seriously think tt demanding with reasonableness is acceptable in my opinion and anyone here who disagree can choose not to agree with me.

IMO, thanking coordinator after the AD is basic courtesy tt one will surely do so bt tt doesnt tell much abt their true gratitude towards them, only the parties themselves will know deep in their heart so this part I dont quite agree with Darlene. Citing an example, when a couple first sign the contract with any hotel, they also will thank them for choosing their hotel thou the couple may hv in a way 'annoyed' them by requesting for lots of perks. So dont be surprised to know tt hypocrites are always around.

Last but not least, an example to quote: if the charges/rate is the same for hair services, will u try an experienced hairstylist/Director Stylist or would u settle for whichever apprentice or new stylist to attend to u?

Rgds

darlenena79

gal0880: I am glad that you know she is relatively new. If your AD is near, in the first place u sld ask the banquet manager to arrange for u an experienced coordinator and not newly join coordinator. The only thing i sld say is the banquet manager has poor management. They did not understand the needs of customer first before assign a coordinator for them. Moreover, thanking the coordinator after the AD is basic courtesy but not thank AGAIN AND AGAIN for her SUPPORT and ATTENTIVENESS. The couple need not do so !!! I think she had serve the wrong person at the wrong time, its fate...

I would try all kinda hair stylist. An experienced hairstylist/director Stylist may not cut out a hairstyle tt suits or i am happy with. Who knows it might be the apprentice or new stylist the one who cut out a hairstyle that i like or wat i want.

So its not tt an experienced or high position in-charged will give u the service or demand you want.

Rgds

sweetcyanide

well, if i am not wrong.. U will only meet the banquet manager before on on your actual day... usually we will meet the coordinator 1st.. then, after which, the coordinator will hand over to the banquet manager on the actual day.

gal80

Hi Darlene,

if only i was given a choice in the first place. I was reassured that the same situation (being that she din bother to go thru my contract before meeting me and make me wait so long & cant answer my qns, etc) wont happen again and that she will do a good job for me in future and somehow even after knowing later tt she is new but thot that she may be from other hotel so should hv experience so decided to give her another chance but i am obviously wrong. So it is not that i am not fair to her cos i did give her chance to serve me better. Anyway tis just proves that it doesnt pay to be kind.

For ur info, it is not the banquet manager who appoints the coordinator to us, usually is the sales side.

Seriously, I dont know who tt couple is unless you are saying is you else I wont know for real if anyone did thank her again n again for her support n attentiveness and wont know where your account comes from and from the way i look at it, the couple must be served by someone else beforehand and when she takes over, she dont need to do much since we all know again that she is new and that most if not all couples signed up way before and those that she handled previously cant be new clients of her own liaising (tis is my analysis which u can don agree). Most imptly, we will be more concerned abt what will happen to us, though they may have postive experience but we can't be sure for ours since i cant place any confidence in her. If u say that it is her fate that she served the wrong person at the wrong time then I would instead say that I have been served by the wrong person at the wrong time.

Well, about the stylist thing, one wont know till they tried and personally i have tried and proven that it is sometimes better to go for someone more experienced and LESSER room for mistake and they have no excuses to say that they are new when they din do a gd job than to accept the fact tt those apprentice or new stylist being new can be excused for their mistake. TT's y i have been advising them to be safe than sorry. Again, one must see what is the price to pay for trying and if you can afford to try then tts gd cos i cant afford to.

In any way, it has been nice talking to u.

Rgds

darlenena79

Hi gal0880, I wont want to compliment anything abt Ira again cuz there will be no ending due to the different experienced we had. That does not mean i agree with wat u comment abt her.

Due to the hair stylist subject i wont want to debete too cuz no point when the point of view is different.

Nice talking to you too.

Rgds

mayshalws

I'm new in this tread..I'll having apointment with Albert for further discussion. Does it mean he'll be my coordinator if I sign the package ? Thanks.

cirrus09

hi mayshalws
albert is my coordinator too. He knows of my situation. You can discuss with him and if interested, i can transfer my pkg to you at a discount. my guest list expanded thus got to let go. thks. [email protected]

bride83_a

hi all (Jacqueline and jes407), anyway "I" refuse to allow us to upgrade the room.. she say must have min 25 tables. She told me her colleague who allow upgrade was transfer out of banquet sales. therefore she cannot do it.

The price she quoted for upgrade of food was also very high.

Any one have an idea of the price for changing the fish to soon hock and adding abablone slice?

By the way, "I"is banque manager, not coordinator. So if she refuese to upgrade.. guess no choice

en_octobre

Hi gal0880,

Thanks for sharing your valuable info on coordinators. I believe good or bad coordinators can either help or ruin a perfect wedding.

Hi Bride83,

I thought "I" is a wedding co-ordinator. erm since when she became a Banquet Manager????

sn0w

Hi everyone, I'm also holding my banquet at FRF.

Hi Mayshalws! I'm took Mercury and yes there's pillars.

My coordinator is Shannon. Anyone same?

mashi_mashi

kirara,
who u wan to change to? u can call their office n speak to his/her superior to request. shld b no prob on that...

most likely his/her superior is Albert. can try to find him n request.

thomaskoo

Anyone interested to hold their wedding at Furama Riverfront. Mercury ballroom on weekend. Deposit paid is 3000, going to let off at 2000.