Furama Riverfront Singapore

odelia

Hi Mashi,
thanks for your reply.My frien called up furama but they claim they dun have any restaurant for food tasting.. hmm.. which restaurant u went for ur food tasting..
Yes found the package at their website but heard they have pillars in their mercury hall. i wonder how does it look like.. as the pics in the website cant really tell.

mashi_mashi

Cynthia,
I had mine at their VIP room. But normally food tasting is held at The Square. which is so call their restaurant.

i went to mercury b4. the pillars are at the side. will hv abit of blockage. but stil have to c hw many tables u looking at...
but the lightings there is nice...

little_starsg

hai,everyone
Jst received my co-ordinator sent me the photo of wedding card...only 3 design...2 white colour & 1 red colour very simple design lei..

little_starsg

hai mashi mashi,
act the another 2 cream colour designs is quite similar...
My coordinator jst sent me photo of the wedding theme, gt 3 wedding theme...look quite similar lei all red colour concert ...

little_starsg

hai grace,
jst check wif my coordinatoer she tell me so far no any plan renov for jupiter ballrooms...
sian lei..aft i kw tat hee...
Bt is ok la.. since alr comfirmed..get the ballrroms..

meitong

Hi Cynthia,

I'm using Mercury ballroom for my wedding this month.
Mercury ballroom's ceiling is lower. If you prefer high ceiling, maybe you can take the Venus ballroom. Their perks are really good, pity that I signed up in 2008, so I'm not eligible for their free flow red wine.

As Cecila mentioned, there is a night club on the right side of the hotel. If you don't mind then it's ok. Perhaps you might like to call the hotel and arrange to view the ballrooms. Then you'll get a better idea of how the ballrooms look like.

odelia

Ya i agree about the perks. their package is good. but i couldnt get the sales manager.. argh... Looks like their service are bad. anyone has the sales manager direct contact? or at least the office no.

odelia

hi little star,
do you mind sending me the wedding card pics?

true_love

mashi mashi, mine is at mercury ;) same date as you, most likely we might bump into each other although the 2 ballrooms are at diff levels, ha..

mashi_mashi

Doris,
haha... ya. most likely will bump to each other. mayb we check in the hotel the same timing... haha...

so hw many tables u hv at mercury rm? choose which theme?

true_love

mashi mashi,
oh, i have about 25 tables, not finalised yet, and i chosen the enchanted garden theme
what about you? who is your coordinator?

mashi_mashi

Doris,
Oic. me ar. ard 40 tables. still haven finalise the no. of tables. haha.. will confirm 1wk b4 the date.

mine also garden theme. but then i change the color of the flowers. keke...

my co ordinator is Albert. urs?

mashi_mashi

Doris,
haha.. i knw liao. juz met uop wif albert today. heard fr him abt the wedding show. next yr couples sure have gd deals. i heard abt the deals so envy. haha...

mashi_mashi

CH,

I heard tat next yr wedding couples if bk on the wedding show will hv live band n emcee included in their package. be it is book which ballroom lor.

then the wedding show will hv live band there also...

true_love

woah!! that is very good deal indeed

i wonder is the band "a little dream"? they are very good i think but they must be expensive..
anyhow i think furama's deals are considered pretty good already as compared to many other hotels

mashi_mashi

Doris,
ya lor. but i dun knw which band they are engaging... mayb can go c their wedding show then knw liao. haha..

yup. their deal is pretty gd liao. keke...

kacie

HI All,i'm having my wedding in 2010. FRF is one of my shortlisted hotel and most probably will sign up .But,I got one concern which there is a nightclub outside the ballroom,looks abit unpleasant.Isit? Btw,Anyone going for the wedding show on the 18th oct?

little star: can you send me the pic of the wedding card?

mashi mashi:You say tat nxt year package gt live band and emcee? Did i see wrongly ?But the website nv say there are. The deal is really good ,compare to any other hotel .Btw,how is the food tasting ?And, the enchanted garden theme ,are u referring to the blue lighting one ?

mashi_mashi

KaiXin,
Website dun hv de. I also heard fr my co ordinator. If i nt wrong, this offer will only be release on the wedding show. n for those who book on the wedding show itself will hv this added in their package...
so if u interested, muz go for their wedding show. keke...
I dun tink the niteclub is an issue lor. for me. i will use it as a landmark to tell some frens. haha...
Food tasting nt bad. keke.. so far quite pleased wif their food n the portion...

hmm. no lei. wat blue lightings? the garden theme is the deco in the ballroom. blue lighting tink only mercury hv only. but then no effect on the deco. but heard next yr will hv new theme. n will display at the wedding show also...

sept_09_bride

KaiXin>> me too got alittle worried ov the nightclub right outside FRF.. else, i will consider tat lor.. nw still hesitating.. coz to me, i feel tat the nightclub is nt so nice and mks the hotel looks alittle slizzy.. other than tat.. the perks that this hotel is offering is kinda good lor..

cant imagine wat liveband they gona hv..juz dun mk my wedding looks so 80s.. haha.. :p

kacie

Thx mashi mashi. You got any photo to share wif me ? Eg. the theme,invitation card or etc..? Btw,the nightclub is outside which ballroom ,i nt very sure.I already sign up for the wedding show but nt sure if will go anot coz my HTB has been going job oversea quite frequently .Haiz....

CH:actually i wanted to hire a live band . If it is included, i will be more happy ,save me some $$$. The live band u can coordinate with them. Just tell them yr theme and they will plan for u . So nt too worry . Are you going for the wedding show?

mashi_mashi

KaiXin,
hmm. no lei. I never take their invitation card. I use mine. so no pics. Wedding nt over, so no way to show u their theme. keke..

The niteclub is nt outside the ballroom. the niteclub is beside the hotel. nothing to do wif the ballroom. haha..

But if u are interested to sign up FRF. then u shld go. offers there shld b gd... keke..

CH,
like wat KaiXin say, u can tell the live band wat songs u would like them to sign. tell them ur theme. then shld nt b a prob.... If i getting married next yr then gd. haha... got the live band free. lol...

true_love

hey ladies, it is not actually a nightclub lar..its something like KTV only..plus if i never read this thread, i also never notice that there is such a "nightclub" beside the hotel.
Actually hotel itself is very normal looking, if mashi mashi would agree with me
so no worries ladies, plus Furama's perks are actually one of the better than many many other hotels.
i am also using enchanted garden theme, the blue lighting KaiXin is talking about should be the mercury ballroom's lights. i think if you make an appointment to go talk with the catering team, the person-in-charge should be able to let you see all the themes they have right now

mashi_mashi

haha.. the hotel is normal lar. juz tat got another building beside it only. haha..

tink best is tat u all go there to have a look. c whether u like the place or nt... wat we say here is based on our own views lor... so only when u there then u will knw. keke

kacie

mashi mashi, wat freebies can i get from them ? i'm not gd at bargaining .

CH:when is yr big day ? going for the wedding show ?

mashi_mashi

KaiXin,
Need to c wat are thei perks. If very gd liao then nothing to bargain liao.... haha..

but tink next yr perks shld b better. so dun tink need to bargain... haha...

kacie

Ya, i also can't think of any tat can get from them at the moment. Seem like everything is provided. i think i just wait for the wedding show then go down .
Anw, Congrats, mashi mashi! Yr big day getting closer and closer . All yr preparation done ?

mashi_mashi

Thanks KaiXin,

sort of ba... still got those minor tings to settle lor. keke... still in the midst of planning on the dinner schedule. n some other tings. haha....

lovie1216

I tink FRF package perks is definitely better than other hotels...but those who wish to have better quality food for their guests..you may need to consider the food they serve.

Just had my food tasting recently...was very surprised with one of their veg dish...lettuce with 2 types of mushrooms...guess wat mushroom they use? They use button mushroom and straw mushroom...it really shocked me. A hotel served a dish with canned mushrooms in its dish...honestly say we paid $850 plus for a table and the hotel should serve better food...

Anybody had their food tasting done and also tasted the lettuce dish using canned mushroom? Pls advise which other veg dish I can choose beside this 'unpresentable' lettuce dish...

mashi_mashi

chsh16,
wat other dish other than this dish for this part of the menu? I never encounter this lei..

i took the lingzhi mushroom wif spinach. tat one nt bad...

overall i still quite pleased wif my food tasting...

lovie1216

mashi mashi

maybe I will choose the spinach or broccoli...the lettuce not very presentable as the veg looked overcooked and not green. Did you choose the herbal prawns? The prawns we had were not fresh and got a smell. Can advise me which soup u choose? I chose the braised shark fin with crabmeat and fish maw and it tasted very fishy smell. Oh no...I got a BIG headache now after the food tasting...my family members who tasted the food got alot of average comments on the food. My htb and me were very disappointed with the quality of the food and "pai sei" to let my elder family members tasted such food.

There are even more "extreme" comments on the food which I tink I wont post here...I will need to speak to my coordinator personally. My coordinator was not present during the food tasting, so we can't convey our comments to her immediately. Really hope the food on my AD will turn out good.

mashi_mashi

chsh16,
hmm. funny lei. mine all mostly ok lei. nope. i neber choose herbal prawns becoz dun wan my guest to peel the shells. in the end tink i took the scallops. heard nt bad. keke...

mine also sharkfin wif crabmeat. but comments are gd. juz nt stachy enough only..
but overall the comments are gd. the chicken also very nice lor.

tats y i nt sure hw come urs is like tat...

my co ordinator also nt there. we also write on the comments feedback. but when i c my co ordinator the other day. he inform tat the cook already seen the comments n acknowledge liao. n we also discuss on the menu again..

so far i still very pleased wif the food... hmm. dun knw y urs so much diff....

kacie

I can understand how chsh16 felt.Although the perks is good but $850 don't consider cheap. Btw chsh16, who is yr coordinator ? When is yr big day ? You got any photo to share for the food tasting ?
After hearing chsh16, abit worried cause my in-laws is quite picky and particular abt food.

lovie1216

mashi mashi

I also don't know why my food tasting turned out so different. Usually food tasting should be the best...but turned out different for mine.
Really hope that my guests on AD will have nice food.

Kaixin, my AD is in Dec...my family members are also quite picky on food...so my food tasting were filled with alot of comments. But no worries, maybe I am the unlucky one...mashi mashi has no problem with her food tasting.

limck007

meitong (meitong)>>> how the food tasting???

from what i gathered, the food std like quite bad leh..

We are thinking of holding our weddng there leh.....