Furama Riverfront Singapore

chubby_ting

Hi Bonjour,

So you have a few dates to choose from ah? I only have 1 date....so I die die must book a banquet on the day or else I have to source for other alternative already... Hehe

Hi L&H,
Thanks for your advice I shall source for those then....

bien

yalor.. sigh.. someone had taken 05 dec 2008 in which i and my wife wish to choose this date. But we are late.

so we have to choose other dates now.

Sad man

stnov

denril....thk they are quite firm on no xtra freebies so can onli look forward to promo pkg they might have.....dats wat I notice for d past yr or so.....=)

ace14

stnov, borrow nia lah....dun so serious... afterall, that quote is very famous in the other forum. wahahahaha.... by 'lup', I mean invest in the wedding package lah.

jazzy_chimes

Hi denril, I've signed up the Venus Ballroom pkg for Nov 08.

Attended a colleague's wedding banquet at the Venus ballroom in early june and I'm quite impressed with it. As it was pillarless and high ceiling, it can be pretty grand depending on which theme you opt for. The food in FRF is good, a lot of my colleagues who attended the wedding were full of praise.

chubby_ting

Wow so fast taken up liao ah! Hahaha.... then how? You have to find other dates from the shifu again?So fast ah... I am worried now man.. wanna wait till their wedding show then sign one if we are happy with the food everything... now if dont have then have to move on to other hotels liao...

They post their invitation for their wedding show already! 2-8pm lo! V long man.. why they wanna start so late... will end v late man...form aftn to night haha

denril

Thanks ladies for ur helpful input =) feel more reassurred le.. Going to view wedding set-up tmr! Really love the Venus Ballroom.
hey chimes, when's ur AD? Mine is on 15th Nov 08

jazzy_chimes

hi denril, mine's on 9 Nov 08, 1 week apart from yours, initially wanted 8 Nov, but it was taken up, so we settled for our next best date.

netfinity25

Hi Lawris,

The free 12 bottles of red wine is for the coming oct package...

Hee hee we dont have cos we sign up early....

Anybody AD is at Feb 08?

chubby_ting

Hahaha hey got free wines reli make a diff man! I am really wondering is Mercury a gd venue ma... I just msg Albert and confirm that Mercury can hold up to 34 Tables. Just for all you girls info... Bonjour.. maybe you can re-consider Mercury liao! Since your wife like d ballroom and you are looking ard 30tables...

Can't wait for their wedding show to come!Anyone went to view their ballroom over the weekend?

chubby_ting

Lim & Huang,

You sign up for which ballroom? Why you dont wanna wait till their wedding show then sign up since its a few weeks later... can fight for more perks...

Ask you all, if like FRF price is comparable to Restaurants like Qian Xi would you all consider them?

muddle_ger

hi Hoshi,

I think for FRF I find the Mercury Ballroom ceiling height rather low, but it does offers gd view from the full height glass windows at day time.

You should fix an appointment to view it. I much prefer the Venus Ballroom.

The only considering factor for me was the nightclub outside.

Still deciding on venus .. any suggestions ?

chubby_ting

Hi Winnie,

Actually I've been to Mercury for wedding b4 so I have an odea for the setup. Yes I do agree that the ceiling is rather low. My HB dont really like Venus though its bigger... Maybe its abit old and we are not looking @ so much tables.. so thats why we are looking @ Mercury.. By the time wedding banquet the sun have set and we cant really view the greenies outside anymore.. hehe

Have you been to their Bridal suite? Is it ok?

bien

Hi Shinning Hoshi,

yup all taken and i have to choose other date unless i take Mercury room. Perhaps still got chance. but however, my coordinator say the most for Mercury room is 30 cos if not will be very clamp. Honestly speaking i went to Mercury room before with no set up and i dont think their room can accomodate 34 even it can. i can say from table to another will be quite clamp and it wont look good and i believe all the guest will not feel comfortable also and best part we all must think of parent friends and relatives which they will not find it grand with tables so near to each other and ceiling low.

So after weighing the pro and cons and myself having more than 30 tables so i think is better for me to take Venus room.

Shinning Hoshi, i myself went to my friend wedding dinner at Venus room abt near half a year ago and i can say the food is good. So no worries.

chubby_ting

Hi Bonjour!

Then how? Your venus is taken up.. I told my MIL that she cant exceed 30tables..so we try to have 28 tables.... sian man! I am worried that 1.5 yrs down the road if we were to increase the tables then jialat liao... Mercury cannot hold so many pax ah.. sian ah sian ah.... now also vexed man... we are hitting 30tables man. By the rate she is increasing haha... if we really take Mercury then have to constantly remind her that she cant invite so many pax liao man.Or else v risky man...

Haiz... sigh.... worried ah..dont sign also worried taken up, sign also scared later the ballroom cannot fit in so much tables. I've been to Mercury Room as well. Think I've to agree with you that it would b cramp with 34tables... Sigh..... My god headache xia...

muddle_ger

Yup yup and got pillars blockage at the Mercury Ballroom. ..

and your right that the Venus ballroom looks old, esp some wallpaper and paint on the doors are peeling off.

have u ladies seen furama city center? I been there last weekend, quite like it.

any views on it?

lwd80

hi Shining Hoshi,

My coordinator assure me that what i getting now is the same as offer in the wedding show. i will be going to the wedding show as well to take a look

I getting the Venus ballroom for Jun 08.
Went to QianXi to view before. their price is abit cheaper but i dun like the lady boss attitude. dun feel comfortable when i see her face. i rather pay more and see someone who smile often and better service.

chubby_ting

Hi All!

Oh ok... I think I would take Mercury Ballroom... Thinking of whether 30 tables would b too cramp for Mercury... So would have to go their Wedding show and decide from there ma.. Anyway Mercury have wedding show this weekend. Anyone interested popby ma.. Me would be going with in-laws.. I think Merucry Ballroom Pillars are not those v big types so I think it shd be fine ma...Haiz..... headache ah headache....

Lim & Huang then you are heng ah... Can get exactly the same then gd if like this then maybe I go down 1 day mit Albert & talk 2 him liao ah...

tlisa

Hi Shining Hoshi,

Which day will the wedding be? Sunday or Saturday? I will like to go and take a look for the setup for 30 tables too. I have signed up for mercury already. But now the no. of tables are growing at a scary rate. Am a little worried now.

lwd80

Hi Shining Hoshi,

not heng leh, the perks are advertised on the homepage now. there wont be any additional perks. Additional perks will be go there to win something from the lucky draw.

ACtually wanna take Mercury but feel it is too small. Cant really bring out the wedding mood.
Since you are taking 30 tables, why not top up ard $2000 for the Venus ballroom. bigger and grand. i also taking 30 tables

tlisa

Hi Lim & Huang,

Can I ask if your wedding is on a weekend or weekday? Do you know the minimum no. of tables for weekend for Venus?

Hence you are topping up $2000 because you do not fufill the minium no. of tables?

bien

Hi Shinning Hoshi,

i suggest u take up Venus Room.. Heard from my coordinator that they will change their carpet by next year and thus i think by then Venus room wont look so old. But i went to my friend wedding before. To me i find is ok. Is indeed grand for the high ceiling and i found for those who have 30 tables now and dont forget to add abt 2 more extra tables just in case. If u got 30 tables now and by then your actual day come. i feel that mostly by then surely got more tables unless some of your friends back up.

So i find is better to take Venus room. Cos no worries. Unless you all now have calculate around 25 tables and i can suggest you all take Mercury room. Firstly is cheaper and secondly it offer diff concept and not those tradiontal type as it got glass panel with ppl able see the view outside.

Hi Lim and Huang, dont get you what u mean you need to top up 2k more for Venus room? u mean deposit for Mercury room is 1k as for Venus is 3k huh?

ssybaby

Hi law & len

U mean the saucer wat colouring thing? U mean will pass e color to the food? hmmm then wat shd b choosen? any idea whether is there any new favours for nxt yr wedding?

sgbikee80

I get the $2000 based on math calculation.
Intend to get ard 30-34 table on weekend.
for a table in Mercury room is $608++
for a table in Venus room is $668++
different in price per table for both ballroom is $60++

Minimum table required in Venus is 30
so you take 30 tables x $60= $1800.
plus GST and service charges, you will get ard $2000 ++

Get it?

sgbikee80

Hi Dolphin,

My coordinator told me that every year there will be a change of favour, themes, etc. waiting for next year theme. maybe they will show in the wedding show.
if u dun like, still can go directly to vendor to check other favours.

law_len

Ya, i met up with Albert yst, he also have new favours...but those are what I have seen before already from the vendor..its the heart shape coaster cum photo frame and rose photo frame....

I chose the saucers for favours le..Albert said normally ppl dun use them but as souvenirs so I took different designs de...

chubby_ting

I am looking @ ard 27 tables now... So I say 30tables is just an estimation as to what it may reach in 1.5yrs time..If I confirm 30tables, I scared by then we wont fully utilise so many tables then invite all those not close ppl.. Hehe sorry if I mislead you all. I would go again to view the ballroom then speak to Albert again and see what he says. I have told my MIL that she cant add alot,Max for Merucry I told her was 30 tables including reserve tables. So she would cut down on inviting those unnecessary ppl.They got tonnes of frens man! Walao.. I dont even dare to invie those who are not so close.. They inviting like nobody biz haha...

I wan Mercury coz like what Bonjour says it gives a diff feeling from other ballroom... The pkg price for Mercury is going @ 548nett. So I think its a v affordable...I would try to work out the number of tables and try to squeeze in Max 30 tables to get Mercury hehe...

Hi Lisa,
I think my case and your case is close. You took Mercury but worried that it may exceed 30tables haha... Great someone who share same prob as me.. I kept reminding my MIL man! Make sure it gets knock into her brain that they cant invite so many ppl! Let me & HB invite more frens... hehe.. Lisa, the wedding this weekend is on Sat. But not sure Sun got wedding going on ma.. Mercury have wedding this sat but Im not v sure how many tables the couples having as well.. would be going down to speak to Albert. If everything is ok then shall proceed to sign ma... Think talking to the ppl there beta as they have hold so many weddings im sure they can provide you with a gd answer to your queries.

chubby_ting

My wedding is on a weekday for Furama... so wold discuss with Albert & HB on which ballroom to take ma.. Vexed man! Not me increase tables but in-laws this is a big headache xia...

chubby_ting

FRF biz so gd ah called Albert and he is tied up the whole day today man! Haha.... So worried if my date would b snatch up... my god.... haha

jazzy_chimes

Hi folks, I've been to Mercury Ballroom to view the wedding set-up twice, one with 27 tables, one with 29 tables.

Personally, the 29 tables-set up was very cramped, thus I guess if you are talking abt 30 tables, it will be worse, very cramped up near the stage. So for 29 tables and above, Venus Ballroom will be a much better choice.

I have around 30 tables, so I took Venus, was also advised by my coordinator to do so, as the numbers might just go up as AD draws nearer.

Shining Hoshi, I have the same problem as you. My FIL increased the number of tables, initially we were just looking at Jupiter as we only estimated around 22 tables, then we "upgraded" to Mercury 2 weeks later when he added further and said 27 tables. Then he said he might need to invite some more ppl, so we ended up taking up Venus which can accomodate 30 tables and above. So you might wanna consider taking Venus instead if u can't compromise with your in-laws on this issue yet.

chubby_ting

Hi Chimes...

Thanks for your support! Now if really this case, I have to sort out with HB already... Haiz... sigh... My god... so sian man... Haha.. thought can settle with Mercury. My fren wedding which i went in Jan 07 was with 20tables... it looks v comfortable.. so I can guess that itcant hold so many tables also...I would re-consider this issue..

Hi Lois,

If you interested to book FRF pkg then go to the weding showcase and see ma..Or else.. you can just go down any day & speak to the person-in-charge

lois

i cant go down on 13th Oct cuz need to watch Sammi's concert. i wonder ifthe perks are extended after the showcase. -______-"

chubby_ting

Umm... haha this depends on your luck liao.. or go b4 the wedding show? This weekend they have weddings going on.. can go view then mit up with coordinators b4 wedding show & get the perks?

lois

come to think of that, i', actually attending one at Jupiter room this wkend. attended another one in Venus.

hope my FMIL sets the date by this week.

chubby_ting

Oh so you havent attend Mercury one? How is Venus ballroom with setup?

Albert just call me and he cannot make it after 630pm anymore... haiz.... then weekend they are not working.. we have to take leave specially to see them.. sigh... so troublesome.. my HB v busy abit diff 2 take leave type... sian...

He actually advice me if my PIL are increasing the numbers take Venus more safe... I do agree so but HB dont reli like Venus... so still considering FRF liao now...

lois

Mercury nope. maybe take the opportunity this wkend to take a quick peek.

i have at least 35 tables so will take Venus most probably. I find it very cosy rather than grand even with the high ceiling.

raingetz

just had my wedding on 15sept @ furama riverfront jupiter ballroom...all my guests say the food is very nice...deco ok ok...but the service provided by the banquet staffs are bad...say its either they dun understand wat they are saying or the staffs are rude..which i tink its true...coz i requested to take away the noodle for a table as i only have 3guests remaining for the table...2adults and 1kid...how is it possible for them to finish up the whole plate of noodle?? the staff just smiled and rejected my request, but later i saw him mumbling something which seems like saying something bad abt me....haiz..im paying for the dinner leh...why cant i pack away leh?? this whole dinner costs me more than $10k leh...

but i wanna say that the permanent staffs there are very good and professional..esp odaliq (banquet executive)..he did alot of exceptional handling for me...so nice of him...he really made my day...thanks man =)

i had the saucer as my wedding facour...the one with chinese wedding couple...its so cute..all my guests took home more than one favour...my MIL even took 6 home...but its really a very nice souvenier...

raingetz

just had my wedding on 15sept @ furama riverfront jupiter ballroom...all my guests say the food is very nice...deco ok ok...but the service provided by the banquet staffs are bad...say its either they dun understand wat they are saying or the staffs are rude..which i tink its true...coz i requested to take away the noodle for a table as i only have 3guests remaining for the table...2adults and 1kid...how is it possible for them to finish up the whole plate of noodle?? the staff just smiled and rejected my request, but later i saw him mumbling something which seems like saying something bad abt me....haiz..im paying for the dinner leh...why cant i pack away leh?? this whole dinner costs me more than $10k leh...

but i wanna say that the permanent staffs there are very good and professional..esp odaliq (banquet executive)..he did alot of exceptional handling for me...so nice of him...he really made my day...thanks man =)

i had the saucer as my wedding facour...the one with chinese wedding couple...its so cute..all my guests took home more than one favour...my MIL even took 6 home...but its really a very nice souvenier...
535772.gif

law_len

Hi raingetz,
Congrats on ur wedding! Yeah, i chose this as my wedding favours too....but hubby also wanted a mixture so we have this and the other western cartoon type de... i prefer this though...

bien

Those taking Venus room, dont worry i have paid my deposit for Venus room yesterday and i heard from them they got budget to revamp abit on Venus room. So mostly i think those AD on next year june shall be able to see a newer Venus room. heard they will changing the carpet, doing some of the Sound System and abit on others. I think with changing of Carpet(which is the most impt) will make Venus room even better.

As mine still gt a year plus for my AD thus i believe by then i will have a newer Venus Room.

Btw, if anyone do not have an coordinator. I will like to intro FRF coordinator Kriss Chua to you all. He is really very good. No complaints and infact i have high praise for Kriss. He listen to customer request and he will try his best to accomodate and he will help out and give good advise. He is also a patience guy. Even he is on leave and i got impt things need to confirm and ask. He will also wont mind and reply my sms to answer to my query.

I have been to a few hotels talking to some wedding planners, so far i think he is the best.

If you all want to take FRF and no coordinator yet. Try Kriss Chua. You all surely wont regret.

I dont gain anything by praising him. He has been a good wedding planner/Coordinator so i also wish everyone here will be happy and has a good coordinator.