Furama Riverfront Singapore

ace14

Hi Bonjour,

I can see where u coming from.....i think all the folks here worried the same. Whether can break even or not? haha.....
tell you what lah.....as many of them will give you miserable ang baos, there will be some generous ones lah. this one u cannot control.
Chill lah.....mai stress.......

law_len

Hi iceblue,
My hubby wanted the saucer...its me who is indecisive... i wanted to meet the vendor to see more choices leh. But I guess if no time (which i thnk i m really running out of time!!!), i most prob will settle for that too. I also very keen in having a mixture but i prefer the chin cartoon more so i think i might choose one only...in case guests exchange here n there! hahaha! But its a gd idea to have both though!

iceblue27

me n hubby bth lik the saucer, only tt catches our eyes there.then u faster meet them loh.

my hubby prefers the chi cartoon more,keke bt i want mix, so tt ppl can exchange if they dun lik wats on their seat

iceblue27

btw any1 here goin for FRf's wedg show next mth?

hi wan, ur wedg comg soon in nov rite? y dun u go choose ur wedg favor now,i mean wen u free nw

chubby_ting

Hi Bonjour,

My wedding is on a Fri too... I think most of the hotels in Singapore considered Fri as a weekend. I think ppl compare restaurants to hotels. If hotels then I think they will give slightly higher than restaurants ma. Personally I feel that for close relatives they wont give v little lo. I reli only invite close frens. So if you reli wanna have profit think who are you inviting then work from there. If you choose FRF, you wont lose so much ma. I tink the market rate for hotels are $80. The wedding I went in Jan i gave $80+ lo... imagine the couple can earn liao xiao man haha.... I am sure if most ppl give $80 (excluding elderly) you shd be able to make a profit.

It is the only hotel in SGP I can be sure of to offer this kind of pricing. You know some other hotels they based on the auspicious date to determine the price of the table. My Date is a auspicious date for that particular hotel, imagine if I go other hotel I would b paying more.

Personally, my HB & Me are trying to make a profit for House reno & Honeymoon so we dont mind a low ceiling & not a grand ballroom (Bo Bian)... If you dont mind to pay more try novotel, peony jade(But it only can hold 2 tables max, 250pax max) they offer gd food, great location & great food as well.

I have done quite alot of research on Hotel pricing... so.... I know roughly what is the market rate.

Hope it helps.

bien

Thanks alot Shinning Hoshi,

I also wish to make profits if i can from my custom marriage.. but i think if i can break even i be very happy.

i just hope everyone got this thinking that Fri is consider weekend.. then i think breaking even shall not be a problem.

You are right to say that relative mostly cant expect much. so i just have to rely on all my friends.

but which day have u book for your custom at FRF?

And you are right.. actually i wont mind taking Mercury room but i think more or less i have more than 28 tables. so i have no choice but to take Venus room instead which is 30 dollar more as compare to Mercury room if it is a Fri.

sweet_lady

hello all,

being MIA for a quite some time in this topic.
yeah, me too having my dinner on friday.

i actually prefer venus more than mercury. but my half and i do not wish to spend too much on banquet. so we decided to get mercury. think mercury can hold up to 30 tables.

so, bonjour. have u booked w them?

bien

Hi Sweet lady,

I have not book with them but will book soon.. yours also friday? u book with them already?

i will like to prefer mercury room cos is cheaper and the room have diff concept but ceiling is really bit low but still acceptable.

which friday u book?

law_len

I managed to meet up with the vendor today to look at the favours le... They are the same as those posted on my multiply. The lady showed me the saucer but she said she didnt pass this sample to Albert so i m not sure if the saucer is from her or not.

She advised that the saucer is not a gd idea coz of the "colouring" of the cartoon. It might not be good if the sauces are mixed with the colourings and affect the food (something like that). That made my hubby abt worried but i think i still prefer the cartoon saucer than the photo frame cum coaster.... May settle for the saucer ba...hopefully my hubby will be fine too..

iceblue27

hi law,saucer is frm them too? in that case they shldnt evn tak saucer out to hotels, otherw they shld improve their saucer leh.

hmm quite funny lor, she ment neg thing abt own prdt, but nt doin anyth abt it

law_len

Hi iceblue,

The lady told me that the saucer is not from her and i remembered Albert said that they have more than 1 vendor....so i think the lady is trying to advise us not to take the saucer and should instead choose from her range of items, such as the coaster cum photo frame. She intend not to put the saucer as a favour for any hotel coz she said its not a gd idea. She juz merely showed it to us this evening..

I will need to check with Albert on the "colouring" issue lor coz i really prefer the saucer than the rest of the favours..

soulsista

Hello everyone,

Im gonna sign the contract with Furama and i wanna know if there's anyone with bad experiences with the hotel service and Terrence who is my coordinator.. i didnt really fancy Furama as the whole place looks old but my FH wants Furama coz of the perks and the price.. i've seen their bridal suite and its a great disappointment to be staying in there as it looks really old and run down. Can someone share their experinces and their package?

stnov

lawris.....most probably guests wun truely use it as a saucer but more likely as a souvenir onli....at least dats wat I will do...=)

chubby_ting

Hi Bonjour!

Ya lo.. I think it really have to depens on what you want at the end of the day. I think Venus is also ok ah.. The ballroom is w/o pillars and it is high ciling.. so a few dollars more is ok ma right? Hehe. Dont try to squeze into Mecury and found that if you wanna add tables you cannot. So its beta to play safe to get a bigger ballroom... I think I would be getting the Mercury 1 if I were to sign up. Mercury 1 can hold up to 34 tables? I also not v sure leh...

Soulsista, you said the bridal suite looks v old ah? Really that bad ah? My god.. but amaybe you would be too tired to enjoy liao ma haha...So you going sign on irregardless of the Bridal suite?

I think most of us here who take FRF dont wanna spend 2 much on Banquet haha....

I seriously think only FRF can offer this kind of price in a hotel premises....I cn't find other hotels with such atractive price.

soulsista

hey Shining Hoshi,

when u go down to the hotel, ask them to show u the bridal suite.. then u will see and decide.. hehe.. I think my FH really wants this hotel coz of the perks and the price.. so i shall juz settle for this..

bien

Hi Shining Hoshi,

I do agree with u.. if want to play safe.. better take Venus room.

Sigh,.. side track abit here.. and i do found that now getting a flat is also hard.. sigh.. everywhere is asking 20 to 30k top up cash..

anyway i hope everyone here will be able to break even when sign up for FRF hotel.

stnov

but risk d danger of having xtra ingredients in ur sauces....definitely for d vendor they will claim otherwise....beta b safe than sorrie....=)

chubby_ting

Hi Hi!

During the time when I was there, I requested to view the Bridal Suite but Albert told me that it have been occupied so can't go and view it. Hopefully during the wedding show they would deco the bridal suite n let us view it then we can have a better idea... Is the bridal suite facing any gd view? However, I can imagine how the Bridal suite looks like man aft Soulsista's description...My HB also want there coz of the perks & price... Given the perks & price its reli worth it.

I feel the Bridal suite is not so impt since after a long day I am sure you won't be able to enjoy much also..You just want a gd slep man.I think Honeymoon should b a good & memorable one instead. I feel that during that time then you can really relax and enjoy yourself. Enjoy 2 person world ma.

Bonjour, good that you have decided on Venus. I think that the Wedding show in Oct they would be using Venus as the setup ma... They most prob wont use Mercury as it is too small... I am still thinking Mercury / Venus.. Bringing my IL to view the wedding setup next week. This Sat (15Sept07) Venus & Mercury are having wedding setup. Go @ 630pm to view the setup if you guys are interested ma.

Bonjour, you are getting re-sale ma in this case? I feel that now getting a re-sale flat like bo hua leh.. need to topup so much cash..why dont go try get a new flat or is there any prob?

law_len

hi shining hoshi,

U knw the theme of the setup this sat? I have not confirmed my wedding decor and my AD is just 2 wks away!

For the wedding show, i dun think there is a chance to view the bridal suite leh. I been to the show last yr but we werent show on the suite....maybe u can try requesting ba.

bien

Hi shinning Hoshi,

Yup.. i think i have to get Venus cos i think i got 30 to 32 tables.. cos i dun think i can deduct any further on my tables wise.

15 sept got Mercury room wedding? heard from my coordinator Mercury room have wedding onm 22 sept only.

I want to get resales but cant get at all.. everyone is asking for high top up cash.. how to buy.. buy from HDB, all those balloting queue give me 1000 plus with only few hundreds flats available.. and been fail in 3 or 4 times balloting already.

like recently bi monthly balloting on mature estates. 300 plus flats available. 10200 ppl apply. How to have chance to get flats from HDB.. as good as zero i get a queue number of 1700 plus..

sigh..

so i just plan my custom marriage first.. no choice..

chubby_ting

Hi Law & Len,

I have no idea the setup, I emailed to Albert 1.. But he didnt mentioned. They are not working on Sat so there wouldnt b anyone to entertain even if we are there.. Their ans are always brief & short.. Haiz...

You are nt gan jiong ma? Your AD so near you havent confirm your theme? Haha beta go check with FRF when is the latest you need to onfirm your theme ma...

Bonjour,

Yes 15sept this sat got mercury wedding going on... I heard from Albert 1 leh dont know how true haha.... I also confused man like diff ppl saying diff things.. haiz... FRF also 1 kind man.....coordination like nt v gd leh..

Re-sale are going @ v high price now man! They increase the prices like nobody's biz!You going have 2 fork out alot for your flat. You 1st timer ma?My fren 1st timer ballot 3-4 times also cant get then she also sian consider re-sale & gave up ft viewing a few flats.. condition v bad man those re-sale flats. Think twice. Stay @ either parents place 1st ma & get a new flat beta.. Now got punggol vista ma u got go try ma? I tink I heard alot of young couples cant get flat leh... wonder what HDB doing man. This time they are increasing 1st timer chance of getting the flat dont know true anot la but you can go try ma beta than wait n wait. Gd luck man!

bien

Hi Shinning Hoshi,

Yup u are rite, just stay at either of the parent place first. No choice cos now is really too expensive on resales flat now. just have to wait for HDB to have more flats for us to ballot..

Yup HDB did increase the number of chance for those first timer only if u fail 3rd time and apply on 4th time u get extra one chance and if u fail 4th time and apply on 5th time u get 2 more chance. But all these only apply for purely Build to Order and Balloting Exercise. I believe on Bi-Monthly balloting Exercise failure is not counted.

So is not much different.

Honestly speaking now getting a flat is really as difficult as striking TOTO.

I do agree with Shinning Hoshi, no matter how good or bad the Bridal Suite is not an issue, cos is the Perks and price of FRF that attract us.

Btw, can you all gals tell me how many of free wines your coordinator given to you all free on your AD? Care to share

law_len

hi shining,
I gan chiong but Albert said there is a new theme so asked me to wait for his updates. I have already emailed him to check on the dates. Otherwise, I will just confirm on the floral and crystal themes...

Hi Bonjour,
We have free wines meh? I only know have corkages waive....we are mostly buying on our own leh...u are given free wines by ur coordinator?

jueline

Hi soulsista,

if you are disappointed in FRF's bridal suite...you should go and see York Hotel's!

I am so glad I made FRF my choice cos Mercury ballroom is really interesting...the bridal suite is good...passable...but what I am actually most looking forward to is...BREAKFAST @ The Square!

My coordinator is Terrence and our AD is 27 November. Haven't gone for food testing nor selected our themes yet. I think time to bug Terrence...

soulsista

Does anyone know if i have a wedding in August during the 7 month, it will be cheaper? Coz im not chinese and i dun "pantang"..

Shining Hoshi, the suite didnt have a good view.. u shud check out their executive rooms, the ones that have been renovated.. its damn nice and modern.. but i heard from Terrence that they wun renovate the bridal suite..

niki_koko

So far no body has made any comments about Carol at all ler. I am taking the Venus ballroom but have not sign the contract cus i feel a little uncomfortable working with Carol ler.
Any strongly recommended coordinator for FRF?

niki_koko

So far no body has made any comments about Carol at all ler. I am taking the Venus ballroom but have not sign the contract cus i feel a little uncomfortable working with Carol ler.
Any strongly recommended coordinator for FRF?

bien

I thgt u all have free wines.. i heard from my coordinator there is some free items in their wedding show.. so perhaps u all can check that out with your coordinator.. think when sign on their wedding show got this free items.

jazzy_chimes

Hi folks, wow ... quite a number of new posts updates since I last dropped by.

Jue, my coordinator is also Terence, when I signed up with him in June, he mentioned it's best that we let him know when is our preferred time for food tasting instead of him telling us, so maybe you gotta call him up instead.

Shining Hoshi, actually hor, Novotel Clark Quay has packages cheaper than FRF Venus package, but if we are talking abt Jupiter and Mercury packages, then FRF is indeed value-for-money.

Bonjour, Shining Hoshi and Sweet Lady, I attended my colleague's wedding on a Fri evening in FRF Venus in early June, and she said she made a loss of 3-4k. But then again, this type of thing hard to estimate

chubby_ting

Hi Eveyone,

Novotel have cheaper pkg ma? I dont think so. Their cheapest pkg startsfrom S690+ if I didnt rememer wrongly... Still Venue is cheaper ah...I am looking @ Mercury Ballroom but if I were to increase the capacity dont know Mercury can hold 30 or more tables anot.

I think in FRF pk they do give 12 bottles of free wines.. Mayb Bonjour you wanna check.

My coordinator is Albert. He is the Director of dont know what Sales & Marketing or what..Hehe forgot liao... so mayb you wanna look for him?

Soulsista, you are not pantang and you wanna hold your wedding on the 7th Month talk to them I think they are willng to give you a lower price since that month hardly any chinese would wanna hold their wedding durin this period so they may throw in more perks for you? No harm bargaining ma...

Bonjour, nowadays getting a flat is really diff... hehe I understand as my fren is also undergoing this kind of fustration.. I really wonder why got so many ppl applying for a flat nowadays?Is it there are more youngsters popping out that explains the demand....??? We dont know but nevertheless gd luck & keep trying ok?

bien

Hi Shinning Hoshi,

You are rite and i also feel that FRF is definetly cheaper than Novotel.

Yup.. i heard from my coordinator got 12 bottles of wines.

Shinning Hoshi, i do agree with u and wonder how come nowsaday got so many ppl apply to buy flat? really puzzle me.. really got so many marry couple lately?

thanks.. i do hope i can find a flat soon..

jazzy_chimes

Hi folks, the latest bridal magazine from Female states that Novotel CQ have wedding package starting from $718 nett for weekend leh ...

btw, the 12 bottles of wines thingy is part of the "guaranteed tables" deal. To get this deal, for Mercury, you must guarantee 25 tables and for Venus, you have to guarantee 36 tables. That's what Terence told us

chubby_ting

Hi Chimes,

Thanks for enlightening us on the wine thing. I still wanna bargain for more wines man haha...then can save on wine cost liao! Just wondering anyone sample their wine before? How you find them? If given 12 bottles of wine do you think we need to buy extra? Later not enuf then how?

Hey Bonjour, seems like our thinking is quite similar ah.. kee..Would you worry that there mayb conflicts between your FH & ur mum? As I am staying with my PIL also while waiting for my flat to come. So scared man... scared later got arguments... sigh.. sometimes living together can b such a headache man! Bonjour, when is your AD?Yours is a Fri?

Hey you are so gd man come in n get info my HB dont even care.. haha He say he is so busy with work.. sigh bo chap 1. How I wish my HB can come in n learn something haha... Your wife know you r a member here? So interesting if you & her talk but dont know that you are actually HB & Wifey...

bien

My wife know im a member here but she busy with her work and part time study. so i came in to get more information from you all

Shining Hoshi, yup we are similar cos we are staying with parents place then later slowly find a flat.

I just call and found out my the day i want is 5 Dec but is already taken.. Sigh.. so i have to choose other day..

sad la..

lwd80

Just signed my contract yesterday.My coordinator is Albert

Hi Shining Hoshi,

You can try finding those wine supplier that allow you to order extra and refund those wines that are not open.

niki_koko

Hi Ace,

She seem a little impatient and stuck up. I dunno... probably she is very busy on that particular day maybe. I decided to give her another go since her review is not too bad

denril

Hello ladies,

Can u share ur experiences at FRF cuz I'm considering the venue (Venus Ballroom)in terms of sales coord, events coord, food, ambience

stnov

Hi L&H....perhaps u can go for the weddding show they have coming up in Oct in Venus....there will be setup avail for viewing as well....

Denril....cant help much as my AD is next year however most of d feedbacks provided by FRF brides are positive & so far thr hasn't been any major complains.....for sales coord wise...it could b a veri subjective issue but seems like not much complains as well.....cheers~~

ace14

got this quote from someone...."if u scare dun lup, lup dun scare!"
the hotel is not a new kid on the block. this industry is very small.... they know for sure bad word of mouth is gonna affect they sales.... so how bad can they be?
but as a responsible customer, it is also our duty to communicate with them to prevent any finger pointing later on. put every details down in the contract...then u r 90% safe!