Four Seasons Hotel

Thanks for the pics Juineaa, my wedding is nov 2005. I have no idea for my theme so the more pictures the more merrier.

your pics look great, you must of has a very good time!

Thanks Junie for the pics! By the way.. does FS give u a list of themes to choose from? My wedding is in June 05. How many mths in advance do u need to start working with the coordinators on the theme and setup?
sorry.. so many question

Panooh, glad that u've received the pics! Yeah, I had a fantastic & unforgettable time at FS..was very happy at turnout of event! Cheers to all FS pals' big day.. I'm sure everything will turn out just as good!

Hey Dey, wow, u're closest to e AD! hmm, understandable why u've got so many questions.. ok, for my case, I started working with my coordinator abt 14 weeks before e wedding! 1st thing is e invitation cards.. Gotta let them know which design u're keen on & how many u need. If I'm not wrong, u can choose up to two diff design. Anyway I took all of e same, e one with 2-piece, card & translucent leaf design. Thought that was e nicest of whole lot! The food tasting is next on e list, normally abt 6 to 8 weeks b4 AD at Jiang NAn Chun. Lastly is e discussion on ballroom theme. My coordinator showed us a file of photos, with a variety of colour & theme to choose from. So u gotta decide from there what deco u really wish to have & how elaborate u want. For mi, I didn't upgrade on deco cos like I said, the floral arrangement & deco FS provides is good enough & I don't want e ballroom looking "overly done"! Oh & dun forget to let them know if u're ordering wine from FS. I think that's abt all mi & hubby went thru to discuss with Georgette. Dun worry, ur coordinator should be able to give u ideas & suggestion for e setup. so dun get too stressed out on that part yah..

Hi junie, received ur photos, looks great...:P

Hmm, my preps, juz went for my fitting last week and managed to get a 2 gowns and 2 evening gowns,gg to take pics in march. Was planning for the burgundy and black seat covers but dunno the oldies will be pantang a not, havent really tot of the theme yet think i would juz go for the normal decor. Georgette is also my coodinator :P

yo josl,
good to hear u've already selected ur WG & EG. that was pretty fast. Are they OTR?

Yap, for e burgundy & black seat covers, it may sound like a refreshing idea but like u, i'll rather play safe cos I know it'll never appeal to older folks! hmm.. but dun worry, there're still many choices of beautiful BR setup so take ur time to select. I assure u no matter what theme u choose, FS will do it up very tastefully & elegantly! :o)

hi junie...yup yup they r OTR coz i dun have in mind any design but gg down once more in feb to confirm as there new designs.
I have been to FS for dinner and my fren had the burgundy and black covers looks great...still can relax till march before i get busy.:P

hello koi, welcome to e FS thread! i've already emailed u the pics. see if u hv gotten them

josl, think right now u just relax, get into e new year mood & flip thru more bridal stuff for ideas on ur wedding day! hee..

diminished, i've tried to email u the pics of my WG but apparently ur mailbox is full! so let mi know when i can resend k..:oþ
As for my package with Sil, it's abt 4k+ if my memory didn't fail mi! It comes with OTR WG, MTM EG (to keep), men's suit (to keep), floral bouquet for PS & AD, car deco for AD & kua (rental). It does not include rental of vehicle. hmm.. when designer attended to u?

Hi Junie,

I've just cleaned out my mail box. Maybe you could try again when you're free? Thx.

Actually, haven't visited Sil yet. Just read a lot of postings and visited their website. :P

Your pkg didn't include photography right? Coz I already engaged somebody from Chris Ling's.

hi diminished, just emailed u, hopefully it doesn;t bounce back..

Yeah, think final bill's abt 5k plus PS! u should make an appointment with them, they're really nice ppl, all 3 of Sil designers! go check it out soon..

junie...yeah it quite fun preparing for the wedding but sometimes the hubby not really into it, like they get so bored when u try gowns for long long time.:P

josl, think u're not alone when u said hubby not really into e bridal fitting! haha.. my husband hates to try out men's suit etc cos he very "chin chai" one.. we gals are more excited & particular to design, material used, colour & everything else in WG.. so I guess we just love to try & try various gowns lor.. As long as ur hubby didn't "doze off", ok liao.. For mine, he almost took his "nap" on one occasion! Men..*sigh* :op

wygum, mi emailed u liao.. check it out k..wow, u're a Nov bride too! congrats. :o)

Junie, from the look of things, you've become our very much treasured FS guru/counsellor! It's really great to have you around providing us with the much needed advice.

Thanks for the WG pix. It looked super on you. Btw, I loved your bedside table lamp too! Very chic.

Dear Junie,
agree tat u r really the 'bao' in this thread.
thanks for sharing with us your experiences and precious advises.

I also wan to see your AD pics can? will be going for my 1st appt my next mth, very excited. but me very small size, worried can't finds gown OTR to suit me.
add: [email protected]

hi diminished, it' my pleasure to share with u gals info or advice on wedding preps, esp e part on dinner banquet! I've been thru it all & really, corresponding with u ppl brought back my "preps memory"! :o)I sincerely hope u gals enjoy ur wedding preps while u can cos time flies & before u know it, ur big day has finally arrive & gone by.. hehe.. some "words of wisdom" hor..:op

hi watashi,
sent u the AD pics liao.. dun worry abt ur petite size, I'm sure u'll find a nice gown that complements ur figure! just enjoy the "trying session" k.. :o)

junie...ya loh when u see them with the sian face, i know i need to stop trying gowns liao hee its fun trying but most gowns are like too loose for me so lotsa alteration need to be done heehee

Good morning, glad to see a few more FS wannables in e thread.. Welcome, welcome!

Charlene, Biba & jgirffy, I've emailed u gals e pics! go check out ur inbox yah.. jgirffy, u can scroll thru our previous discussion regarding e recommended FS coordinators. For mi, it was Georgette who oversee everything done prim & proper for my big day so I definitely highly recommend her!

josl, u must be skinny since u say most gowns u try are pretty loose..must make sure u eat more cos normally nearer to AD, we tend to lose even more weight due to wedding prep stress! so rem to delegate some tasks to ur hubby too k..:op

junie..on the small size, but my wt always the same leh even when i eat more, the wedding preps things i be the one who will be doing most of the coordinating. Hmm , the wedding inserts where did u print it at and hows the pricing?

Hi Junie,
Thanks for the pics for the ballroom. Do you mind sending me more pics like during your dinner etc.

I need to confirm with Gerogette by this week. Both Four season and Fullteron is chasing after me for a decision. Both me and my FH are having headache to decide which to pick.

He like four Season very much. I like it too...but still feel that fullerton give a more posh and grand feel. What do you think?

Thanks,
koi

Hello koi, glad to hear both u & ur FH liked FS. I agree with u on e part that FS's kinda small & don't look attractive on e exterior, but still, is pretty posh & cosy esp when u step into e interior of hotel! Fullerton is relatively new, generally giving u guys a more grand feel.. Think it's really very individual when it comes to choice! For mi, I've wanted a smaller scale banquet (25 tables) which FS fits e bill perfectly plus I've heard good comments abt e food served during wedding dinner. I'm not sure abt fullerton's food cos have never attended any w.dinner before. If I'm not wrong, Fullerton requires 35 tables min! I advise u to do up ur guest list & see if u did exceed 30 tables. If yes, u may not be able to take up FS cos their max is 30! SO there u are, my two cents, hope it helps! :o)

Hi josl, think it's really very normal that we gals are more into e wedding preps than our hubbies! haha, so no worries there yah.. As for my print for cards, I used my hubby's friend. Can't rem how much it costed but I'll check it out tonight. Have u been asking for quotations?

Pearly, ur mail box is full & I can't get e pics over to ya. Let mi know when I can resend k..

Btw, when's ur AD?

junie...juz checking ard the prices coz i dun see much forum pn the inserts. Did georgette give any company that we can go 2?

hi junie,
thanks for sharing with me our photos...
ya, i also like the cosy ambience of FS...
really glad that u r willing to share...
me feel more at ease after seeing the photos...
thanks alot..
Like to ask if u have any program for your dinner?
any band or any montage before dinner?

Hi dey,
i m with Ted Wu too... so have you met him? so which photographer did u engage for ur PS? when is your AD? did u also book FS? think we have similar taste...

Good morning gals,
Feeling so sleepy on such a wet day! Glad it's wed already & hippy, fri's approaching..

josl, when we collect the wedding cards, Georgette attached a few recommended printing companies. My hubby & I compared & sourced ard e pricing. Eventually we decided to let his friend print for us. We paid less than $200 (I lost e receipt lah) if I'm not wrong. Which card design have u decided to take up?

Wygum, happy to hear u like e pics. As for e dinner itself, I didn't have any band or montage. Mi & hubby were so caught up with our hse reno & cleanup that we didn't manage to book the band in time which I kinda regret. So my advice, do scott ard & book them fast! What programs have u thought of for ur banquet dinner? Any thing interesting or unusual? :o)

Hi, hope that some kind soul can clarify the following for me:
(a) When does the couple negotiate for perks/extras in the bridal package? Before or after paying the deposit?
(b) Chair covers are not included within the package. For those who have had their dinners at FS, did u negotiate for free chair covers, or go without chair covers? How was the visual effect without chair covers?
(c) Is it true that June and September are hot dates? I wanted to wait for the wedding fair as my AD is in 2006. However, Mr Ho of FS said that wedding fairs would only be held if there are too many 'left over' dates and that it is not advisable to wait. Any ideas whether this is true? Should I wait to see if a show comes up by April and book after that if there is no show? Is it too late?

Sorry for asking so many questions... me blur newbie... =)

Hi Charlene, I'll try to answer ur questions if i can

a & b. I negotiated with FS before & also after paying deposit. Negotiated for seat covers & increased in car park coupon before, waiver for corkage (hard liquor) & food tasting for 10 after payment. Haven't seen a banquet w/o seat covers.

c. Yes, mid-year & sept are pretty hot dates even for last yr. Hmm..I suggest u seek a "second opinion" regarding what Mr Ho said abt e wedding fair. I didn't book e ballroom during their fair so really not sure what perks FS can offer. Btw, have u decided on wedding date in 2006 yet? u need at least to chope date one to one&half yr before AD.

hi charlene,

may i add in some more details to supplement what junieAA said. as what junieAA mentioned, its an ongoing process in negotiating for perks. however, the kind of perks will also depend on the number/type of contract negotiated.

FS normally holds their fair at the 3rd qtr of each year. unless u're planning for 2006, gotta start talking to them now. during their 2004 show, they offered 5% discount and free seat covers (worth $2 per chair).

Hi wygum..my AD is in June at FS. Will be going for my 1st fitting with Ted next mth..PS with chris ling..Have u book with FS already? when is your AD?

hi junie...i havent decided which one to choose coz its still so far ahead think i will only go there during march or april for food tasting then i will decide on the card designs , table settings. But wanna have some infor on hand before i get stress as its near the AD.:P

hi Charlene,
If u already have a date for your AD, u can consider making a tentaive booking with FS to secure the date first. From there, u can slowly negotaite with your coordinator on the details.... dun expect too much freebies though, they r known for tat.
My friend is having her wedding in Jan'06 and both FS & Fullerton are already taken up... so u have to act fast if u r planning for early 2006.
GOOD LUCK!!

hi dey,
my AD is in nov at FS too... sign up Ted but haven meet him yet..
So i figure that you had choosen the design already. so how do you find his design?

hi junie,
we haven thou of it yet.. better heed your advice n look around first... better to be ks a bit... hehehe...

Thank your all for ur helpful advice. I wanted to make a tentative booking with FS but was hesitant as Mr Ho said that they could only hold the date for 5-10 days, after which they would have to release the date if we do not confirm the date by paying the deposit. Who should I seek a second opinion from? I called Georgette but she was on leave... Anyone has any idea whether Mr Ho is good and receptive to bargaining?

FS is really attractive and we both love the place... Only issue is the cost and the need to confirm early... Sigh...

Btw, I noticed that FS package does not mention anything about a pre-dinner cocktail and free flow of soft drinks during that period? Does the pre-dinner cocktail come at an extra charge?

Hi wygum,
Ted is a very friendly guy and his designs are gorgeous..had chosen my design and can't wait to see the finished piece

Hi Junie,
Does FS allow flexibility in changing the dishes in the deluxe menu? When is food tasting normally scheduled? Is it a month before the AD?

hi dey,

FS will offer you options for the type of food you wish to swap. e.g. u may wish to swap chicken with duck. something along that line. its 1-2 months before AD.

hi pearly,

if you're getting a MTM WG, the time to start is... NOW. assuming u've selected a BS, u need to discuss the design details and trial fittings. these will take some time. a 6mth period will ensure that your deisgner and his team produce a WG comfortably. try not to start in feb when everybody will be on holidays for CNY.

Hello Charlene,
Regarding e pre-dinner cocktail & free flow of soft drinks, there are no extra charges cos for mi, it started at 7pm. The contract stated free flow for 4 hrs (7 to 11pm) If u wanna start earlier, u might need to ask whether FS allow for no extra cost! Is Georgette back from her leave? Why dun u liaise with her? Did u manage to make tentative booking with FS?

Hi dey, think sgwestie has answered ur query already.. For mi, I changed 3 dishes in menu. Unless u asked for something more expensive like abalone, FS's quite flexible in changing dishes. U may wish to check out what I've swopped for (prior to our earlier discussion) , comparing to e normal deluxe menu. :o)

Pearly, I've re-sent the pics liao. Check out ur inbox yah & the photos! :p
As for MTM WG, agree with sgwestie u gotta start now. Have u found ur BS? It can take quite some time & unless u know what u want in ur WG, that might even take longer with all e discussion with designer etc..Check out photography along e way too.. U've got quite some "homework" to do so really, dun procastinate k..:o) Good luck & update us hor..

hi JunieAA,
was reading through this thread and was wondering what "tentative booking" entails. how long will FS hold the date for the couple? will they "chase" u to make a deposit after having made a "tentative booking"? how does it work?

thanks!!

hi count,

'tentative booking' means the verbal agreement between you and the hotel to 'chope' the place till
(a) expiry date of verbal agreement or
(b) when someone else wants to book the place.

i'm not sure how long will FS hold cos they're usually hot property. if they do 'chase' you, most prob r the 2 reasons stated abv.