Four Seasons Hotel

chewyg

Hey Gals..

Updates:
1. Caricature done and sent for printing
2. Food-Tasting is tmr (I upgraded the menu)

Wanted to check with you gals on your photo montage music.. will you be buying the CDs? or just use the live-band instead?

Joanna: Will definitely share the pictures when they are ready..

shanfeng

Hey Gerald, you must be looking forward to tonite's food tasting =)

did you pay extra for the change of dessert?

As for my montage, I wil most prob be using CD as I do not have a live band.

Do give us your verdict of the food tasting !!!

chewyg

Esther: Food-Tasting Done.. =) Which menu are you having? We had actually upgraded the menu to Superior before the food-tasting...

General Feedback:
-We felt that the cold-dish lack a little color and replaced the crackers to salad instead..

-Deep fried spare ribs to be cooked more tenderly, as the guest had just eaten the duck and would prefer something more soft..

-Same here, we felt that the e-fu noodles lack a little color and asked for more colors in the dish..

Apart from that, food was good and service great =)

shanfeng

Hey Gerald,

Cold Dish - Did u try the crackers? I heard reviews that its nice! But I have seen it in pictures before... agrees it looks dull. What salad is it?

While tasting, is your coordinator / chef with you? Did you taste another variation of the same dish and hows the serving like?

Glad to hear your food/ service is great!!

chewyg

Esther: Nope, coord was not there. He only escorted me to the table. Chef came out aft the food-tasting to discuss on the food.

We tried the crackers, not bad. But, we felt that colors would be our priority vs the crackers. Changed it to like 沙拉èœ. ;)

Anyways, just like to check with you girls if your paying for the sister's make-up and stuff? Thx..

shanfeng

Gerald, is the setting the same as the AD banquet? eg with the cloth and flower arrangements?

As for sister's mk up, Im not sure yet, but as for their clothes, if its specially tailored to a certain design, then yes, we have to pay.

If its just asking sisters to get dresses of a same colour, its up to you to pay or not, as they can always wear these dresses they buy.

chinzilla

glad u had a gd review Gerald ! haha

I just settled my tasting date and dishes .. *cross fingers*

for the sisters. Im paying for night make up and dresses.

chewyg

Chinzilla: R u getting the sisters to do anything during the night? And how much r u paying for the makeup and dresses? Thx ;)

Oh ya.. I just collected my wedding cards ;p hehe

chewyg

Esther: Only dish presentation and cutlery will be the same. The table cloth and flower arrangements are not finalized yet. Will be meeting the coord 2 wks later to finalize.

shanfeng

Gerald,

Know your wedding is coming real soon.

I wish you and your wife a great, memorable day!

Think U have finalized more or less everything already right?

chewyg

Esther: Many thanks for your well wishes =) More or less finalized.. I'm short of 2 cars for the "brothers". Anyone has lobang? Haha..

I can upload the caricature design via iPad/BB.. >.<
PM me ur mobile/email I can send it to you.. Haha

preciousgal

sorry esther for the super late reply. have not been active here... too lazy..

sad face because I feel that they should throw in a function room lor.Btw gerald did u top up extra for changing of desserts? and is the food really good?

do u have facebook gerald and esther?

chewyg

Esther: I just ordered for the cakes ;) haha... From different shops -_-!

Joanna: No xtra charge for the change of desert, cos I upgraded the menu to the more expensive one - coord says can do..

Facebook? Yep, will PM u my email in a short while ;p

chewyg

Joanna, I think they have an outdoor area w a pool-view on the 20th level.. See If u can squeeze ur coord... It won't kill them.. Don't worry

preciousgal

order what cake? btw gerald yr morning catering choose who arh? and flowers arrangement where to view?

btw did u take pictures of the food?
thanks in advance.

Lol.. are u having yr solemisation at the outdoor one?

chewyg

Ordered the Guo Da Li cakes and cookies.. To be given to the bride's family..

Regarding the morning catering, we have decided to use Neo Catering.. But I forget to place an order.. Haha.. Lucky u reminded me.. >.<! Haiz... No warmers provided ;( cos we too little people.. Expecting on about 20-25pax.

Flower arrangement? What do you mean..? I had my car/bouquet and corsages from another florist. Your coord will be handling the hotel's ballroom flowers... You can upgrade if you want to..

Unfortunately, we did not take any photos. Food was great, just needed a little more on the 'colors' during presentation.

I had my solemnization last year in Peony Jade @ Keppel Club (the pictures can be found in my Facebook) - the level 20 outdoor area was mentioned to me by one of my friends who works in another hotel.

chewyg

Oh yes, I think it's possible to change to another Chinese desert.. Just speak to your coord.. Think it's possible.. It won't really affect their budget unless u change to the "western desert".

preciousgal

noted for the above information hehehe thanks wor... where did u order the GDL cakes?

oh i ask u arh.. yr hand bouquet is only for morning? what kind did u pick? how about night? do u carry the bouquet for 1st march in? i am wondering issit necessary to hold the bouquet at night for solemisation as well as march in?

chewyg

Hmm... I'm ordering the cakes from:
http://www.kyo.com.sg/products/wedding/p83.html
And the cookies from:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=108398349206008&amp;set=a.106788649366978.3939.106781252701051&amp;type=1

The hand bouquet will be for both morning and night. The flowers we're using can "suck" water and stay alive ;) will be carrying the bouquet for the 1st march-in..

If u want, u can call Christina @ 8180 0964 .. She did the bouquet for my rom last year.. We like the way she does the flowers.. (pics of the hand bouquet during rom is also in my Facebook.. Haha..)

I just met up with her yesterday for customization.. Just mentioned Gerald Chew and ask her what I'm getting.. she will probably remember me.. Sorry - cos I don't remember the names of the flowers..

chewyg

Unlikely...

Maybe just for the photoshot if the guy asks... Don't throw it too high, flowers will probably still be intacted.. Haha...

R u getting the lunch? Cos I'm getting the mini high-tea.. Not enough time for lunch.. Haha

chewyg

Due to the photographers and videographers.. We have them from the morning and have about 5hrs with them.. We wanna capture an additional of 2 venues before heading back to Four Seasons Hotel..

With lunch catering, people (family + "brothers" and "sisters") will take their time and we may not be able to leave in time for the additional photoshoot before releasing the photographer and videographer...

We'll have early breakfast @ my place for my "brothers" and probably the "sisters" will have macdonalds or something...

chewyg

Oh yes, what credit cards do u intend to use to clear the bill? I've already applied for the manhattan card.. So, any other suggestions?

Miles doesn't seem worth it.. I was calculating the points.. Unless my calculation is wrong..

preciousgal

high 5 i also apply manhanttan hahaha. But then after that i duno use what maybe either uob/citibank bec i dun travel too..

do share with me if u found better perks =)
orh.. same lor.. but i utilise the 5 hrs fully leh =(

chewyg

Depends on how u wanna squeeze the timing..

If u have extra time, u can go some places for "special shots". We decided to trade off the "lunch" to high-tea to save some time. We will be ordering an additional "Bee Hoon" so the brothers and sisters won't be hungry..

Most probably gonna charge to my Citi Dividend Card.. Just get the 0.5% cash back or something.. Still looking around for other perks ;p

chewyg

Have.. 0.5% applies to all vendors.. (but it's really little) - $30k, rebate only $150/-.. Sucks..
The higher percentages like 2% to 5% depends on the specific vendors..

Actually, if u have the black color DBS debit card, also 0.5% I think (maybe it's 0.3%)... Haha..

Oh yes, did u receive my PM? Cos I'm using iPad to response.. Sometimes the stuff doesn't get through.. Haha..

preciousgal

yes i did received. Pm u back already =)...

Oh ya i check liow. Den hor i think dun get the cash rebates. get those points and exchange voucher? what do you think?

chewyg

Good idea on the vouchers.. But sometimes, the vouchers we don't use either.. Haha.. Let me know if u find any cards interesting.. I don't mind being able to redeem a short holiday package ;p

preciousgal

lol.. gt meh? if have short holiday one i also wan hahaha...

pls share okay.. i think normally people use the miles or uob to collect points lor.. uob once card gt rebates too.

tattygem

Hello Everybody,

I am holding my wedding luncheon at Four seasons on 07 Jan 2012. Pls pm me your email add for me to add you all on facebook? THanks alot.

shanfeng

My dear Joanna and Gerald,

Its just a day and the thread is suddenly so active again!

Joanna, ooh no wonda sad face...ya wanted to tell u about the poolside too. U mite wana check out with ur coord? But 1 thing about pool is the weather...

Gerald, from my 'research', think neo garden is the one with better reviews. But u might wana check out these website:

Rasel.com.sg,
ohsfarm.com.sg,
pinsi.com.sg,
melrose.com.sg,

I will cater for lunch. for relatives coming over for tea ceremony, and for bros n sis after gatecrashing. I dun wish to cater too much, but i prefer food warmers..haiz

For corsages and car flowers, I will use the Bridal Studio ones, for bouquet, i will most prob get from an external florist. Just in case the one provided by BS not nice/cannot last till night.

As for cr cards, Im using manhatten too !!! For the remaining balance, maybe Citi Dividend Card, rebates are low, but at least they will send me a cheque so I can see something tangible =p

shanfeng

Gerald: I have yet to really decide on the caterer, as my wedding is still a long while away.

I only try to read up their reviews first during my free time, so can't answer ur qn =(

Usually i will focus on service, if food is delicious, and presentation. (eg, any skirting, simple flower arrangements etc)

dewyskin

Though thread's on Four Seasons hotel but discussion content does not really display the service, pricing, ambience etc. Can someone please share their experience at Four Seasons?

limbernie

Just to share my experience.. I recently went to my htb's colleague church wedding, food was catered from Rasel. Pretty amazed that it could be done so nicely compared to other church weddings i have been to.

chinzilla

how was the wedding gerald?

im going for tasting in mid nov . hopefully the food holds up! its like the only plus point that im holding on to for the hotel le..

btw any one rented a helper room?

flyinghoof

Had my wedding in 4S in early oct. The food during our food tasting was great actually. No complains. As for my actual day, me n my hub didnt get to eat the food that much but according to my guests, they are giving praises here n there.. Be it the service, food, dessert, or ambience.. After the banquet, 4S brought our supper as well as some extra desserts for us. The portion given were quite a lot... We tasted a few and they are just great!
We didn't managed to get a helper room foc.. So we book a normal room for my bridesmaids at the standard rate also. They are quite rigid. I'm glad that we chose 4S. No regrets!

shanfeng

Hi red,

Congrats on your successful big day! And thanks for coming back here to tell us your review!

Glad to hear that the food n service was great, coz its something i believe all of us are concerned about. =)

Have a blissful married life !!

chinzilla

thx flyinghoof!
and congrats !

Great to hear that the service and food is up to standard!

got it on the room. I'll prob book thru my company. was waiting for FS to provide discounts for us.

princessie

hello all, new to all these wedding planning thingy and now looking for banquet venue for about 20 tables? not sure if 4S are able to cater to small banquets like this, so if anyone here can advise, that would be good. any idea on banquet menu prices?

chinzilla

princessie FS's can cater for that size for the smaller ballroom or weekdays =) jsut drop the coordinator an email!

going for tasting soon =S anything to watch out for?

shanfeng

Chinzilla,

If you have vegetarian/muslim/indian guests, can request for 1 pax to taste the food. Hmm, watch out for the presentation of the dishes, and you might want to request for 2 versions of the dessert to see which you prefer better?

Is your food Tasting this month?