Four Seasons Hotel

YX, good idea!!
Anyone here having lunch on 24 March 2012?? haha wana share projector? i already booked it.
Its cheaper from renproj.com definitely..

And about what Chinz said regarding the premium we pay, there are alot of basic stuff in FS. Apart from cards and flowers, still got no choice of favours for the guest, no free day room, no projector provided. But actually if you think of it, these are small matters..For eg, guests will throw the cards away after the wedding, some guests won't even bring the wedding favours home..So I think of it as paying for consistency in service and food
(I hope)

chinzilla

hee caricature is cute!! heard JB is cheaper .but neither of us drive so its a hassle.

some types of designs im looking at are

http://www.inuboss.com/Invitation%20Card/wedding%20A8-1.htm

http://www.inuboss.com/Invitation%20Card/wedding%20A7-14.htm

http://www.inuboss.com/Invitation%20Card/wedding%20A8-6.htm

going to try and get a customised one with a shuangxi logo haha traditional but modern? oso thnking of a non -fold card. prob a simple logo in the front and the back is an invite.

Sac: costs wise u can see inuboss as an indicator. im putting down S$2.50 for 200 max so S$500/-

some quote ive received (includes envelopes)

telios: 60 - 80cts per card + design fee
top advertising: full colour print both sides 310 gsm art card . 175 peices 175x125mm - S$210
artwork + 150 if needed

ive yet to meet upp with card room and telios so no detailed quotes.

as for insert printing it dpds on how elaborate u want ? some ple can go up to 1.20

I ref it to T dragon's site. 110 for normal printing - 200 peices. and 140 for 100 with hotstamping.

http://www.tdragoncards.com/

heh basically im trading off hotstamping for a customised digital print design. I'll let u all noe if i get a better quote from the vendors. after next week

chinzilla

thx sac: im trying to think that way too! Serivce and FOOD... FOOD Is lovely! (anyone thinking of topping up for desserts?)

it just gets frustrating when u keep hitting these small walls + adding the costs up. ahh just emo moment in my planning when i compare to my friend's hotel. e.g. MO. just too much to handle.

oh well going to ask them to help with the tea ceremony. bwhahaha

chewyg

Chinzilla: Driving to JB is a very bad idea.. It actually much faster if u take bus 160 cos the bus skips the jammed lanes and goes direct into the CitySq.. I normally take a direct bus to CitySq.. Abt 20mins from Bt. Batok or 10mins from Woodlands MRT.

I'm getting my caricature design first before going in again to print.. They quoted about $2xx to $3xx RM for 200 inserts (w color and pics). I think quite reasonable.. It won't cost more than SGD$0.80 with double-side printing plus map.

Thanks for all the info Chinz! you have really done your research! I will go JB to take a look and see how much cheaper it is..Let u all know once i have more info.

chinzilla

ah ok! .. is the printer near City Sq mall. Im quite a noob when it comes to MSia.

It def sounds v reasonable! Could u share more info if its alright with u?

Maybe i shld go hunt in JB oso =p

hows the caricature design coming along?

chewyg

Chinzilla: The printer is on the 2nd or 3rd floor of CitySq.. T&T Instant Print.. Don't expect service hor.. They won't really notice you even if ur right in front of them.. ;( but prices are reasonable compared to Sg so many S'poreans go there..

Still working with the WTB on how she wants the theme to be like.. I wanted something fairytale like a big castle behind.. But she's insisting on the story of how I proposed to her - Night background (w a lot of stars and no moon) w the Flyer (no MBS cos it wasnt there when I proposed and I actually proposed inside the capsule.. -.-!) and me kneeling down w a exaggerated diamond ring and her holding flowers..

Haha.. Any comments..?

tanyix

All: okie, I just emailed my coord to ask him it's possible to pass my contacts to the dinner couple for us to share some props to save cost. Will let y all know if it's successful!

Chinz/sacc: for htb and me, we really chose FS cos of the ballroom.. Then I think cos of that, we'll be quite sui bian about the rest of the stuff.. So all these things like cards and favors and dayroom don't really get to us.. We'll just use in-house cards and chocs, then no dayroom lor.. Haha.

Gerald: wah! Really so easy to get into citysquare ah? Does the bus drop you right outside citysquare?? The prices at T&T really seem so much cheaper compared to singapore prices.. Just wondering if it's worth the hassle to keep going into JB to meet, liaise, print, collect cards..

chinzilla

thx YX: do let us know if possible.

ya i guess no choice focus on the gd stuff the room the service the room the service !

Gerald: haha i'll go with ur WTB's idea! oops i can get why she will want that! coz its very personal to u too =) it'll be a sweet keepsake too!

chewyg

YX: Yep.. Basically:
1. Bus 160/170 from Woodlands MRT. It will go into Singapore Customs, run through the lane and go downstairs to take the bus again..
2. It will travel on the highway towards Malaysia and end @ the Malaysia Custom. Get ur passport stamped and walk with the ppl in the flow (it's a 1-way, dont worry).
3. You will need to go down 2 flights of escalators and arrive @ the "bridge". When u see the convenience stall, turn left and go up the escalator.
4. You have arrived in CitySq.

Erm.. It's not really a hassle for me.. Cos we go in for other stuff as well.. I buy my favorite coffee there and she buys her lingerie there.. We normally have lunch, tea and dinner sometimes a massage as well before we head back to Sg.. Much cheaper and less crowd compared to shopping in Orchard (unless ur staying near town, it will most probably take u 30-45mins to get to Orchard.. I only need 20mins to Msia..) and movies are also cheaper.. The cinema is Cathy (same as Sg).

Chinzilla: Haha.. Ok.. Should be confirming with artist soon.. ;p

chewyg

Haha.. I don't wanna sound cheap-stake or anything but.. We normally rob either the Face Shop or the Watsons store.. About 20-30% cheaper compared to Sg.. Sometimes they got this crazy sale and prices are about 40% cheaper than Sg.. WTB bought her nu-bra there cheap.. Haha =X

What else u wanna buy..? Let me assist you ;p

tanyix

Gerald: wah haha thanks!! Haha umm this sounds a lil awkward, but where did your WTB buy her nubra? Isit the authentic nubra brand one? How much isit selling for? Heh thanks!

chewyg

YX: Haha.. No worries.. Minoshi (@ lvl 3 i think) RM$49.90.. Don't think it's the authentic one but it seems to work fine for her..

Gerald, T&T have their own weddin invitation cards? or they only print inserts? Im thinking if the price diff is ok i might not use the FS cards.

chewyg

Sacc: They print both invitations and inserts.. Best to bring your designs/pictures for them to see and print.. They actually prefer soft-copy of your designs/pictures...

Kindly note that they are not the super friendly sales staff so please spoon-feed them with all your specifications and pictures/designs.. Cos they dont do packages for designs.. "we just print what you want" On the bright side, they don't push for sales either.. Haha..

From what I remember - it won't cost more than SGD$1 for both the cards and inserts (1-side print) for estimated 200pcs.. I may be wrong on this one..

chewyg

Sacc: Sorry, I just realized tt I didn't really answer ur question. Yes, they have their own cards.. U can select from their existing designs.. ;) but most of their cards are the slim rectangular version.

chinzilla

thx gerald! haha ur a one stop shop of info. even the nubra got a gd deal =p

ive booked the projector with Rentprojector le. =) super fast and hassle free. but no need to plc deposit?

3000 lumens was recommended as well for me .

my date is Feb 11, 2012. if anyone is doing lunch =p

Chinz, I didn't place deposit too.

gerald, you intend to have the caricature on 1 page? Then will u have space for both chinese and english wordings?

tanyix

Chinz/sacc: how did you all place the order? Did you all email the person and ask for recommendations? Or just use the "contact us" form to place your order?

chinzilla

ah ok . nice of them not to take a deposit.

YX: just use the contact us form =) he replies relatively fast. if u have queries just add it into the box

shanfeng

saccher: Yes I love the red roses on the cake too! Very outstanding! So ya im not gonna bother about no flowers on every tier..

YX(tanyix): Yes! Coordinator ask us to go see the stage at the window. I didnt know I can take picturs, so I went down twice without bringing my cam! Haiz! Will do so next time and post pics for you all =)

Gerald: 1 Projector should be enough for FS Ballroom. Screen quite clear. I went down to see a 26 table setting. You might want to ask your coordinator to arrange the tables in a way that none is just directly below the screen, so that 1 screen is enough!

Chin: You are mkg your own cards! I probably won't coz im just so not creative! Most prob i'll settle for the printer's in house cards, or just print cards with our pics!

Haha I was merely away for a day and the thread is already so active ! =)

Hi Esther, yes yes pls take photos for us!!
Jus wondering, if dont put tables directly below the screen, will the area there look bare? Can't visualise..

chewyg

Sacc: Coming back is the same, go to the 3rd floor and walk back the same way you came in.. Follow the signs to "Sentral". FYI: CitiSq is linked into Malaysia Customs via "the bridge".

Yeah, we were actually deciding if we should actually make a card with the caricature on the 1st page outside and the inserts w both Chinese and English..

Esther: Many thanks for the info.

tanyix

chinz/sacc: thanks! just emailed them to ask about bulk orders. i'll wait for htb to decide which projector and how many to rent

esther: oh! one screen is sufficient? FS ballroom is the bigger ballroom right? then crescent ballroom is the smaller one?

shanfeng

hi sacchar,

hmm.. lets assume we take the normal stage set up.

Screen would be at the right when we enter the ballroom. (so as not to cover the window should screen be on the left, by the window)

Tables can be arranged more to the 'back right hand side'of the ballroom. (as in nearer to the door) instead of just under the screen at the center of the ballroom.

I think it all depends on the no of tables too. This cannot be done if there are too many tables as there will be no space for this arrangement.

IMO I think 1 screen is enough as the ballroom is not really too huge, and the screen is rather clear the last i saw it. =)

chewyg

YX: Depends on how u want ur march-in also.. Coord says if u have the L march-in, they can only have 1 projector point at the direct opp of the stage.. If u have the centre stage, u can have 2 screens beside the stage...

tanyix

gerald: thinking of a normal straight march-in.. don't quite like L-shapes.. heh. yup was thinking of the 2 screens beside stage.

esther: you mean for normal straight march-in, if don't have 2 screens as what gerald mentioned above, we can just have 1 screen opposite the windows?

YX, if u have the straight march-in with the centre stage, means one screen will be at the window, will it block your beautiful sunlight!? heh i rem yours is lunch.

Ok thanks gerald!

Esther, I think i get what you mean.. heh ya i agree one screen should be enough..
So if I were to take the normal straight march-in, this would mean that i have more tables to my left then to my right. Right??

tanyix

sacc: haha!
hmm isn't the ballroom split equally into half? hmm why one screen at window leh?

if 2 screens: it'll be both in front (one left one right), beside centrestage.

if 1 screen: it'll be directly opposite windows

tanyix

all: hey! i just got a call from lewis
he's always so prompt in replying! *two thumbs up*

to summarize: renting a projector from four seasons (3500 lumens) is $150. so the price is comparable (in between $90-$200 for 3000/4000 lumens). and that's if you do not find the same-day couple to share with you. but if you find a same-day couple, it'll be $45/$100 for 3000/4000 lumens. so it really depends. if you do not find the same-day couple, and you want an in-between grade of projector, then i think four seasons is quite decent.. no need to do further liaising also.

also, he said he'll check with the other coordinator, and pass on my intentions to the other couple and see if they're interested. think it's also not too nice for them to just pass me the couple's contacts due to privacy reasons. i wouldn't like that to be done to me too

chinz: he offered to snail mail me the card samples even though i didn't ask him for it! so nice
looking forward to see those samples!

as for my deadlines, he says i'm pretty on-time
no biggies. my AD's on 21 jan 2012, so the main deadlines are:
Oct - give him almost finalized tables so he can provide the % of cards
Nov - Should print cards and deliver by Dec
Nov - Foodtasting (Mon-Thurs night only for 8 pax)
**Anyone got more than 8 pax?
Dec after Christmas - finalize details

Yeps! So you all can agar agar know when you all should do your stuff too based on your wedding dates and mine

chinzilla

ahh ya its pretty ok . i think i think will go for the 3000 lumens since its ok . going to try and find same day couple.

heh ya lewis is like everywhere ! appreciate that.

thx for the deadlines mine in early feb so roughly same timing as urs. ! Oct must give him le? thats quite fast ! now already july.

I got abt 10 pax.. but will be choosing the htb bday as the tasting date. so haha ok to top up.

btw one thng to note is that jan is CNY so best to clear all the Guo da li , invites etc b4 cny

last chance to get AP too =D

YX, i almost took 21 Jan dinner but htb and I decided to hold it after CNY..otherwise you would hav found your projector-sharer!
Anyway thanks for your deadlines, I just have to add 2 mths to it

tanyix

sacc: REALLY?????????????? what a coincidence! haha! well, for us we didn't really have a choice. cos my bro's going aussie to study right after CNY, then his sister's family also going london for 2 years in march. so, doesn't make sense for us to hold it after, then they have to spend money to fly back for our wedding, or worse still, unable to attend. haha.. thought of holding it right after CNY too, but personally i don't want to have my wedding during CNY! what if future years clash with CNY day 1 or something.. then so sian cannot celebrate. haha.. then next yr's CNY is the earliest ever already - 23 jan. so i think quite difficult to get any earlier than that. hehe.. paiseh ah.. type so long to explain. like grandma's story like that :p