Four Seasons Hotel

shanfeng

Chinzilla: Its a Plain White card with some white pop out motifs around the frame of the card. At the backside of the card, there is the black 'FS' Logo at the bottom. (Its westernized, so i think it is suitable for church wedding / luncheon etc)

YX (tanyix): Its gold ! But the 'shuangxi' is really way too small compared to the proportion of the card. So it looks really really plain. =(

Headache coz card is the 1st point of contact with guests. And maybe FS is not that overstated like other 'flashier' hotels, so worried about the first impression thingy.

I think first and 2nd one easier to attach the inserts..How to attach insert on the postcard one? Or just print directly on the postcard?? HMm if need to print both chinese and english then will need to print double side of the postcard?

tanyix

Esther: got pics to show? Heh.. Hmm... I haven't seen them yet so I dunno which I'll pick. As for flashiness, honestly, I feel that those who know will know that four seasons is a five star hotel. Then those who dunno will just think it's not as good as shangrila or smth... So don't worry about it okay!

shanfeng

sacchar: Yes 1st and 2nd easier to attach inserts. The 3rd one will have to print directly It is also slightly bigger than the 1st two, so should have space.

YX (tanyix): My cam got problem now so I will try to upload maybe next week to show you all?

I havent been to FS all my life! Till when I went down to see the ballroom, I was sold. I literally went 'wow'. So ppl who havent been there will not know its such a nice hotel.

And the scent in the air..... =)

chinzilla

esther ; appreciate your description. heh does seem each has their own flaws =S . if u were to swap can u swap it for other stuff?

heh dun worry abt it ! there seems to be a sizeable population that noes abt FS as a quality hotel (if not they wun be the only ones not doing a wedding show =) ) I had friends that actively promoted FS as a choice for weddings.

hmm i think i will chose the card based on my choice of theme. if i settle for the white n gold theme then i'll use either one of the white cards. if i chose the red gold black theme then i'll use the red card.

tanyix

Esther: heh okay thanks! Wah can't wait to see and choose the card designs! When is your AD? Remember chinz saying maybe (not confirmed) got new designs coming out. Perhaps you could wait for that?

Sacc: great idea!

Lycia: congrats! Welcome!
2012 I suppose?

Lycia, mine's 24March.

Let's all write a letter to FS to ask them to change their invitation cards! Gee! I'm just kidding..not like they will entertain us anyway..

chinzilla

ehh not confirmed ! but verbatim it went like "mgmt will change impromptu if they change" haha

its like a risk if u collect the cards now and they change. but i received the cards from lewis ! so far pref is for the white card

the htb was saying .. eh u can colour pencil the embossed flowers.. haha guys

sweetiipie

chinzilla,u collected samples of the cards or the chosen cards in the amount u need? i got the samples of the cards when i signed the contract cos my AD was abt 6months away only...will be collecting the chosen card next week, but i hvnt decided on which onne! haha, was thinking of collecting half red and half off-white ones...

shanfeng

Chinzilla: Hmm I never tried asking if I can swap the cards for other stuff. Hopefulli someone who does that sucessfully can share with us here! You are right! Once I stepped into FS, I knew its a quality hotel, right to the private foyer, ballroom, even the washroom! haha

sacchar: Great idea!Matching the cards with your theme. My FH is toying with red/black theme but my FIL turns it down flatly. Im toying with the maroon/gold theme. Anyone has pics to share??

YX (tanyix): My AD is July next year. (still a longgg way!!) My coordinator says not high chance they might change the cards =(

sweetiipie: Yes you should collect 1/2 red 1/2 white. Red for relatives if they are traditional ppl, and white for your frens =)

Also, I thought some BTBs were talking about the windows in FS Ballroom. As in, to keep the curtains drawn or not. Can we choose? Was thinking mine's dinner so cannot see the scenery also right?

But if the curtains are let down, will it cover the nice windows?

Another setup is to change the stage to the window side, so the window can be a backdrop to the stage, and thus march in will be longer too.
Any BTBs thinking of using that setup?

tanyix

Chinz: oh do you mean that after you signed your package you went to FS again to get the card samples from lewis?

Esther: wow! July next year and you collect card samples alr? V efficient! :p hmm maybe you don't decide so fast first, wait until next year like jan or feb.. Maybe got new designs? You'll never know! Don't choose so fast first
as for curtains, I'm pretty sure you can choose whether you want it drawn or not! Ask your coord about it?? Can ask to see how it looks like too...

chinzilla

erm ans is in btw! lewis mailed them to me .

i think i might ask to swap. trying to design the invites is a pain with the restrictions.

lol do u gals think gold and white i can use white and yellow for the flowers? i want a more casual feel! ahhh i want new themes!!!!*rant of the moment*

esther ur weddign its far!!! ya wait abit to collect !

if possible i prefer not drawn. drapes makes the venu look heavier.
u might wanna check on the lighting of the ballroom coz if its by the window side, the lighting needs to be strong enuf for the screens

Refreshing idea to have the stage at the windows..I like the idea cuz can have longer march-in.

But some concerns would be the lighting as mentioned by Chinz. Also, the screen for your photos/videos will be behind.

shanfeng

YX (tanyix): Ya I asked my Coordinator for the card samples when I signed up with her. Maybe I should wait, coz im already sourcing for my own card designs outside already. Scared they come out with some nice cards a few months later..

I went to visit the executive suite too. tbh i feel that its quite small leh.

Chinzilla: Yes white & Yellow flowers + gold sash should be quite nice. =) Im looking for something victorian/grand.. any suggestions? Black is out for me =(

Think I should go find out if its not drawn, can we at least still see the top part design of the window. IMO FS Ballroom is unique that it has windows.

Esther, i think gold/maroon would be nice!
My FH and I are not intending to discuss the theme with our parents. We think that they will be too focused on looking their best and entertaining people that they won't really notice. hahaha.. and afterall even with black, there will be red and gold so it kinda neutralises it

shanfeng

Chinzilla & Sacchar: Another thing is that to move stage to window means March in is 'L' shape.

And when guests walked in from the Private Foyer, they have to turn left to see the stage. (Instead of stage infront of them.)

Sidetrack: For the dummy cake rite, are flowers decorated around every single tier, or just the top tier?

Personally, I feel that if its a lunch event, then it will be good to have white/gold theme with bright yellow or bright orange flowers. With the light coming in, so sunny and nice!

The darker colours will suit a night event

Esther, the flowers doesn't fall down the dummy cake like what you will see in most cakes. =(

The flowers are in between every tier.
I think there are 4 or 5 tiers

tanyix

chinz: i see
lewis is really very dedicated!
white gold yellow sounds like a very clean and fresh combi! :D personally, i prefer white gold orange like sacc!

esther: yes i think you really should wait! still have time!! don't worry!
got 1+ year more!

sweetiipie

hi gals, im doing the L-shape march in, cos i feel that otherwise the march-in is really short. I am ok with this L-shape march-in as i have only 20 tables for my lunch...i am worried about the sunlight glare thou

sweetiipie

yes, stage at e windows

think i shall pop by to steal another glance regd the glare.

gals pls do book ur food tasting a couple of months in advance as they may be quite booked...so popular..haha.

chinzilla

heh? u have to adv book food tasting? wow.

oh ya forgot abt orange. haha maybe gold yellow orange! white . cheery . not so serious . FS has a serious feel sometimes.

L shape march in seems fine too, more ple will be along the march in path =)

i asked. no trade in for the cards . coz they cost v marginal to the hotel

Thanks for the reminder sweetiipie! didnt know that need to book so early!

Chinz u should totally go with the orange combi. So fresh and happy..

sweetiipie

i think a couple of months in advance should be good. cos their ballrooms all fully booked so many couples go for food tasting too.
Chinzilla, i agree that more people wil get to see the couple clearly since more ppl r along e path

tanyix

Sweetiipie: wah! How much longer in advance do we need for the food tasting?? I've always been waiting for my coord to contact me!

Chinz: yeps!!! Orange!

Oh ya the thing about having the stage to the left is that it could be harder for people near the right (or rather at the back) to see the couple on stage. I rem during my friends wedding, she put us at the table next to the aisle but furthest from the stage. i could hardly see her plus i was blocked by the floral stand next to my table

sweetiipie

i just booked mine for oct tasting hehe..
for me my htb is located overseas thus our timing less flexible, must fix way in advance.
for u gals, if u can do any day any week, think shdnt need 3 months like me...

shanfeng

Chinzilla: Thanks for helping me check the trade in of the cards! Haiz..looks like another part of my budget has to go for the cards =(

Do you BTBs know where to get nice empty cards?

Sacchar: I personally prefer flowers on all tiers of the cake, else it looks a little plain.
Last I saw, the cake has got 'champagne glasses' in between the tiers!

Sweetiipie: Agree food tasting shouldnt be done too late too. Imagine the 'GDL', 'AnChuang' etc It'll be alot of things to complete in a short time!

My coordinator suggests for me to go see the layout when its by the windows. My HTB seemed to like that idea too!

chinzilla

Np ! esther.

ive contacted a few card vendors. inuboss top advertising, card room and telios printing.

Will be meeting and talking to them over the course of the week. i so far like inuboss the best

shanfeng

Chinzilla,

Yes i've seen the website of inuboss before. agree that their cards are quite nice..

They are located around Bkt Batok right? Be sure to let me know the outcome!

Thinking of the photo card since we are paying for it liao.

Haiz has seriously decided among HTB and myself we are just gg to use the hotel card since its free...but...really dissapointing lor...

chewyg

Anyone using the Four Seasons Ballroom has booked their projectors yet? Would the 3000 lumens be able to support for half the ballroom (approx 100+ ppl)?

The price of the 4000 lumens is 2x the price.. ;(

Esther, I prefer flowers draped down all tiers of the cake. But I like the red and white combi for FS cake la so its ok for me

Gerald, I have booked the 3000 lumens one

tanyix

Gerald/sacc: rent from where? Four seasons contacts isit? How much is the 3000 lumens and how much is the 4000 lumens? And are you all renting one or two? Heh sorry I've got so many questions!

Esther: I think it's okay to use the in-house cards! We'll be doing that.
we try to save money whenever we can!
anyway what do you mean when your coord ask you to see the layout when it's by the windows? The stage isit? Take pics and show us okay!! Heeheehee.

chewyg

Sacc: Was the resolution for 3000 lumens alright..?

I heard from the coord that we can have the food-tasting abt 1-3mths before AD. Which should be abt this period.. Btw, will u be getting the sharkskin soup?

YX: You can try http://www.rentprojector.com.sg .. Their charging abt $90 for the 3000 lumens and $200 for 4000 lumens..

I called Four Seasons earlier, they said we can only have 1 projector if we do the L-shape march-in or 2 projectors for the centre stage march-in.

yx, yup i used rentprojector.com.sg
$90 for the 3000 lumens one. im only getting 1

Gerald, I only booked the projector,my wedding is next year.. heh but i asked 'rentprojector' and they recommended the 3000 lumens one.

tanyix

Gerald/sacc: thanks!! Think I shall speak to my coord and find out if 3000 lumens is sufficient.

Gerald: hmm.. I don't feel like having sharks fin soup leh.. Wonder what we can change it to too...

chewyg

Sacc: I think we can interchange from the different menus or top up for fish maw soup or the "yi ping guo". Cos I had a friend asking me if we can don't kill the sharks.. But a wedding banquet w/o sharksfin is kinda weird for me.. WTB is just afraid that ppl won't drink the sharksfin soup - with all the "save the sharks campaigns".

YX: If ur calling Four Seasons, they normally either use the 3000 lumens. Else, its 6000 lumens. Prices are quite costy from them..

tanyix

Gerald: looking fwd to see what I can exchange the sharks fin soup for... When's your AD btw? Hmm so you mean it's cheaper to get the projector from http://www.rentprojector.com.sg/ than to get four seasons to supply isit?? Actually ya I think you're right. Remember my coord saying it's about $300 for one. Anyway how are the rates like for rentprojector? By hour or? Cos I'm having lunch. Can I combine with the couple doing dinner??

tanyix

Cool!!! Just read from their website that they only do full day rentals and not half days. So you can actually find out who's the other couple and share the cost!

So... Anyone's taking Four Seasons dinner banquet for the bigger ballroom on 21 jan 2012? ;) can either reply to this thread or PM me! Thanks!!

chinzilla

Thx Gerald for the info! Btw it's kinda cool a htb is on the forum instd of a btb

I'm going to haf sharks fin coz my older relatives wuld expect it. Gonna try n explain to my cousin who is an avid diver. I'm fairly neutral on the issue tho.

Yx gd for u ! I think they'll be a couple taking the dinner slot can save costs !

chinzilla

Heya Esther ! Yup inuboss is at bukit batok. We'll prob be making our own n use their white cards for other crafting purposes. We fig we can print card for abt 400 max. For abt 200 cards In fact some can b 270 including design fee. Since printing inserts will cost us abt 200 we'll make up the diff

Just thinking yest that if fs brides r really paying a premium for the ballroom n service only. If things like flowers r limited n even cards are marginal cost to them. Shldnt they b providing better cards? Fume. I guess I dunno wats considered marginal or I'm looking at this from the wrong way. Coz so far really appreciate the service, they can be flexible n ridgid at the same time. Any advice?

chewyg

YX: My AD's on 31 Oct 2011.. Definitely cheaper to get from rentprojectors.. Haha

Chinzilla: Thx.. ;) What type of designs are you considering..? I'm considering a caricature on the card.. but will most likely do my cards in JB..