Four Seasons Hotel

arctic_hare

You're welcome, BB. But bear in mind that my wedding was held more than a year ago... some of the package details may have changed.

The piano is free. It's always in the ballroom or outside in the reception area... FS dun throw in video or slide show, you gotta do this yourself. They do have projector screen, though... and to rent the projector from them cost a few hundred dollars. I'm not sure if they rent wedding car, as I gotten mine from somewhere else.

When's your wedding? I am sure your co-ordinator wouldn't mind answering all the questions you have in mind. I know I email Danny a lot during my preparation.

estherc

My wedding is in Aug 04 but I'm not sure if it's a bit early to email my coordinator Mr Ho all these questions. Maybe I should. Afterall, you're already their customer. Thanks for all your reply, Cyn!

arctic_hare

You still have some time to your wedding... Can try asking about it, but dun go into any decision yet loh... Just in case something new and nicer came up

justine

Hi gals, I've a $2000 banquet voucher at Four Seasons selling for $1500 or highest offer. Valid until 31 Dec 03. Can be used for family X'mas dinner or any private function. Please e-mail me at [email protected] for further details.

estherc

Sarah, can it be used for wedding banquet? My wedding in 2004 so do you know if the voucher can be used to pay part of my banquet cost for now?

justine

Hi BB

It can't be used to offset an existing booking - it has to be a new booking, so it's best for a family X'mas dinner or private function.

kikis

Dear ladies,

I am a June 2004 bride and has signed up with Four Seasons as well. I have been liasing with Billy Yap, the catering sales manager. Agree that they are not flexible in exchanging this for that. I am having a Sunday lunch there. I love their arched windows which i think will lent a glow to the room in the day. I am going to have my ROM on the 20th floor of Four Seasons too. They call it the "Window East". Just love the ambience and cosy feel of the Four Seasons, away from the busy Orchard rd.

Any comments on decorating the ballroom? I am thinking of a garden theme...Thanks.

canny

Hey Cat,

I am a FS bride too. I will be having both my traditional tea ceremony and reception there. I think my tea ceremony is also at "Windows East". Have you seen the place cause my folks settled on FS and I have yet seen the place for myself.

estherc

Hi Cat,

I'm another FS bride. My wedding is in Aug04.
I think a garden theme will be nice, especially if you're having lunch in the ballroom. The natural sunlight will fall in nicely from the arched window to give a romantic mood. I think it'll be very nice if you use a very white theme. Anyway, I think you still have time to think about what you want.

canny

BB,

Nice to meet you too! My wedding is on Dec 19th and 20th 2004. All in FS. How's ur prep so far?

Any pointers to give me?

estherc

Hi Canny,

Not much of preparation done yet. We'll still in the relax mode! Only started on my wedding gown design. What about you?

canny

Hey BB,

I am not living in SG and will be back next week to get some prep. moving... Cause the next time I am back, it will be for my wedding. ;)

So which BS have u selected?

estherc

Oh I see... wow, it must be tough traveling all the time with all these preparation going on. So which country are you located? Why have your wedding in SG when you're not here most of the time?

I'm with Amanda Lee Wedding. You?

tess_yeo

Anyone knows when FS will have their next bridal show? Or is there any way of checking when their next bridal show will be?

qoo_grapes

I heard that four season hotel do provide some Wedding banquet. I have around 5 tables. Do you know how much is the price for each tables?

canny

BB,

Most of my relatives are in SG thus, it sort of makes sense to have a wedding in SG. I am located in San Francisco... and will buy my gown from SF. So how's wedding preps?

estherc

Hi Canny,

Nice to hear from you again! I hope you have settled many things when you were back in Singapore? So you making your gown in SF? I heard the gowns in US are usually quite expensive as brides there tend to keep their gown after the wedding so better materials are used for making the gowns.

Up till now, I've not really done much preparation except for booking of hotel, bridal boutique and photography. Still considering if I want to book actual day photography so soon. Actually, I don't really know what else is there to prepare at this stage?!? I guess it's usually until the last min when we'll realise there lots of things to do!

canny

Hey BB,

Yeah... I have not been in "forum-mode" since I got back to SF from asia. Hmm... the gowns in the states are relatively costly compared to those in SG as they dun come in packages.

I got much stuff done in SG. Thus, I am now relaxing. Jus picked out my engagement ring and now deciding on my wedding ring... Hahhahaa... I guess tt is the FUN part of wedding preps.

U dun plan to have AD photography? Are u getting a friend to take it for you?

estherc

Yes, the ring is the fun part too. I hope you have your ideal ring.

I will take AD photos but maybe will ask a friend or relative to do it. Haven't really decided if I decided to book an AD photograher, I roughly have in mind who to go for. Just have to hope that the date that I want is not booked!

canny

Hey BB,

If your budget allows... I think it is a good idea to have a AD photographer take ur AD photos. This is a once in a life time event and u wan to be able to have memories that you can reflect on in the future.

I realized this when I flipped thru my grandparents' wedding album in SG. Trust me... itz worth it!

kikis

Hi ladies...Sorrie MIA for a while.

Hi Canny, good to know someone who is doing everything in the same place! I have went down to the Four Seasons for about 4 times to date! First time, was to accompany my best friend who wants to look at ROM venues. Instead, I booked the place myself
The Window East is a very beautiful room that has a lovely city view and a little Bali-style balcony at the back. This room is lovely for day reception. The other room, Window West is more for night reception due to the warmer colours. The function room is at the 20th floor, same level as the swimming pool. I was swept away as soon as I saw the room. It is beautiful. We'll be having a high-tea buffet there on my ROM, in 3 weeks time. I have been liasing with Billy Yap, the catering manager.

Hi BB, i think AD photographer is extremely important to capture the special moments that you have. Videography prob only if budget permits. Agree with Canny that this is once in a lifetime...I have already booked my package with Blackbox Photography. I am after the journalistic photography, more artistic than the traditional shots.

My wedding banquet is on a Sunday lunch. Thus, will have a different feel. Love their windows, thought the morning light will look lovely instead of night. Dont want the banquet to end late as well, as next day is a working/school day.

canny

Hey Cat,

I visited The Window East and have to agree that it is a BEAUTIFUL room. I am looking forward for the wedding. ;) Have u picked the flowers and itz color? I plan to use yellow for the morning and Cream + pink for the evening banquet.

How's your gown and etc coming along?

kikis

Hi Canny,

Glad you like the room too. I have not chose the colour yet. Didnt know we can choose the colours for the ROM..Actually meeting up with Billy Yap, the Catering Manager next week to finalise the decor, number of guests and procedures. Besides colour is there anything else that we have to confirm with? Billy was saying that we will only pick our colours and decor 3 months before the event...thus for me will be in March, inc food tasting. Is your ROM in the day too? Have you seen the Ballroom? It's lovely in the day with the sunlight streaming down through the arched windows. I have abt 4 mths to my wedding

canny

Hey Cat,

Hmmm... besides color, I dun think there is anything else to confirm. I am getting a wedding cake from them so I may have to reconfirm my wedding cake design.

I did my food tasting in Dec. I must say that FS serves preety good food. The portions are jus nice too.

Nope. I am going to register in San Francisco so I dun have to ROM in SG.

I saw the ballroom.. it is beautiful. I guess u are preety much set with planning huuh?

kikis

Hi Canny,

You're so fast. Mine wedding is 6 months before yours and the hotel kept telling me food tasting can only be done 3 months before the event! Is yours a buffet or a sit-down dinner? The menu will also depends on the pricing. But 1 thing is a must on your menu...Their fabulous Mango pudding. Best I have tasted so far..with real mango pieces (not strips) in there! A real must for dessert. You can also swop the Asian dessert for Western if you like at additional cost.

You have settled the decor already and the flowers with them? How abt invitation cards?

canny

Hey Cat,

Hahaha… I am forced to be “fast” cause the next time that I will be back to SG is for my wedding in Dec. Mine is a buffet for the Tea Ceremony in the morning and a sit down banquet for the reception the following nite. Ohohoho… I have to call HO and ask him if I can have mango pudding for my buffet. Cause I LOVE mango pudding. J

I have settled the flowers and a little bit of the décor with them. Most prob. I will call HO in September for a quick status update. As for invitations, I am designing it on my own. How about u?

estherc

Thanks for the advice. Yes, I think I'll seriously think of getting a good photographer for my actual day. I guess, some things just cannot be be stinged!
: )

kikis

Hi canny,

Hehe, didnt know you like mango pudding. I've always love the real mango fruit. Yes, i think it is a must and Four Seasons serve a good dessert bowl of it per guest, not the small standard bowl of dessert that you eat at most chinese restaurants (Bigger than the rice bowl).

Btw, what is HO? My liasion officer is Billy Yap. Who's yours? As for invitation card, Billy has not given me any details, but I understand that FS will provide us with cards but no printing. Will have to find the printer and the design myself.

Oh ya...Are u thinking of getting a live band?

Hi BB, yep...You definitely need to get one good photographer. Gd luck with your search! You can get one that goes by the hour as well..eg: 6 hours package (1/2 day) so it is much cheaper than a full day package. Hope this helps.

estherc

Hi Cat,

I think Canny is refering to Mr Ho, the other coordinator, who is also the assistant director. I've got the same coordinator as her. Heard he's good.

Anyway, just like to ask if you would need to upgrade your menu for the mango pudding? I don't remember seeing it in my menu.

Hmm... live band is interesting but it would be another extra cost. Have anyone source around for one or used the band which FS recommended?

Yes, I hope to get a good photograher too.

Btw, since your wedding is in Jun, what stage of preparation are you in now? Have you taken your studio and outdoor photo? Who are you with (gown and photographer)?

canny

Hey Ladies,

HO is Mr. Ho... yeah he is a pretty nice guy. I think u would either need to do an upgrade or exchange for the dessert.

Live Band is a great idea... I was thinking of it initially. However, my friends and family are preety loud thus I think their voices would drain the beautiful music from the live band.

BB - Have u started scouting for a photographer?

estherc

I've more or less looked around. Would have to work out on my budget before I can decide on which. Would prob take my time to book cos I think my wedding date is not very popular so shouldn't have problem booking. : )

kikis

Hi BB,

When is your wedding? I dont think you need to pay more for the mango pudding. I myself has chosen the cheapest menu among all the others. As I felt Four Seasons is already pretty $$. I'm going for the ambience. Yes, I am actually 4 months away to my big day. Now, preparing for my ROM which is this month and holding a small reception at FS. After which, i'll be having my wedding shots this month too. Will be very busy with the reno works in March till May.

My bridal shop is X-Zen which does handpainted flowers, highly recommended by my best friend who is having her wedding in May. As for photograher, I have already signed up with Blackbbox Photography (check out their website: blackboxphotogaphy.net).

In between eveything, we are going to learn some simple dancing for the big day. My sis is doing my video montage. How abt u?

Hi canny, i love the atmosphere that a live band can create esp with piano and violin...Nothing can beat live music. Scouting for one now.

canny

Hey BB,

Good luck looking for a photographer. I am using moomedia... saw their portfolio and think that they are preety good. Maybe, u can chck it out!

Cat - Live Band is AWESOME! I think dancing along in the beautiful music will be even better.
So, I guess everything is preety much set for u. Although, u seem to have a preety busy 4 months ahead of u. U have to let me know how the ps goes lor.

estherc

Hi Cat,

My wedding is in Aug this year, so my preparation gear has not really started except for my WG. I was busy with reno work last few months and now it has been completed (to my relief).

I'm also quite unwilling to pay more for the menu cos FS is already very ex. I took the cheapest menu set too.

Btw, did your coordinator mention anything about new wedding favours to you? I heard from Ho that they may have new wedding favours (other than the usual chocolate) for this year's wedding. Wonder if it's true!?!

Dancing to live music is really romantic but don't think my husband and I are into this kind of thing. We'll most prob end up embarassing ourselves!

Yes, do keep us updated on your PS. : )

canny

BB,

Really?! They are having new wedding favors this yr? Ho did not mention tt u me leh. Maybe I should shoot him an e-mail to find out. So ur WG is almost completed? Hehhee... must be realy exciting hor?

kikis

Hi BB & Canny,

I have just met up with Billy yesterday to finalise my solemnisation which is on 21 Feb. Getting v excited now. We have got a pretty extensive high-tea menu for the ROM and has selected the flowers and decor.

Got the band's details fr Billy too. Prices will depend on what kind of music you want eg: Jazz, solo pianist, string quartet, etc. Actually pretty ex too! Will be selecting the wedding card design and ordering of the wedding cards on the day of my ROM.

BB, me and hubby-to-be are not the dancing type too! But MIL is very into line-dancing and is going to choregraph a simple dance for me and him...Thought it will be a very beautiful moment for both of us. Looking for the right music for the first march-in now.

Yep, will be doing my PS on the 23 Feb right after the ROM...Thinking of Botanic Gds, Raffles Hotel and Sentosa. We love the English style (garden, greenery, the blue sky and the waters)..Hehehe, enough of me already..Sorry, chatted too much.

How's prep on your side, BB/ Canny? BB, which bridal shop did you choose? U are abt 6 mths to your wedding..not v far fr mine
Btw, who's your ID? Did they do a good job? I think this will be my biggest headache till June...At least BB, you got 1 big thing down...

kikis

Oh yes, the wedding favours..Billy did not mention anything abt that..Wonder what it will be...Will ask him the next time...

BB, what abt your evening gown? Have u thought abt the design?

I have actually went for my trial already. The complete set, the WG, the hair and the make-up...The entire look must be something that you have always wanted..I was pretty happy with mine.

estherc

Hi Cat,

Congrats for getting your dream gown! It must be really trilling to try on the gown with make-up and everything. My WG not completed. Just finalised on the design and should be going for my first fitting next month. Same thing for the evening gown. I'm with Amanda Lee who is very nice so I don't have to worry much about my bridal wear.

Yes, I'm relieved my reno is done. I got AT Design (the one at Habourfront) to do it. Didn't do a good job so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

pisduck

Hi Cat, BB and Canny,
Mind if I join in this thread? I am a FS bride as well. My wedding is in Nov 04.
Saw the discussion on the weddding favours.... any idea what the new favours are? Also, are these applicable for only couples who sign up after the new favours were introduced?

estherc

I have no idea if they'll have new wedding favours this year but my coordinator did mention to me that they're sourcing for unique wedding favours. They have not found any at the time when I booked with them (May last year). He said if they've successfully sourced for interesting wedding favours, he'll definitely let me pick them. I don't know, maybe it's just their sales tactic to entice us to sign up.

kikis

Hi Pisduck, welcome to this thread! Hehe, so far it has been me, BB and Canny chatting...

Summary as below:
Cat: June 04
BB: Aug 04
Pisduck: Nov 04
Canny: Dec 04

Ops, looks like I'm the first to go..can't tap on anyone's experience, quite scary actually. I'll be having my ROM reception next Sat. Will tell u my experience.

Hi BB, yes, I like Amanda Lee as well. It's at one of the shop houses at Tanjong Pagar rd, away from the "bridal lane" right? Have u thought of what u want for your evening gown? Good to go through magazines and cut out the designs that you like. Colours is another headache as well. Ask Amanda what colours suit you.

Regarding the IDs, yes, I been to the one you mentioned at HarbourFront. Not keen on them too..Outside certainly looks nice, but not convincing enough for us though...Poor thing. Hope your house is ok now...Do u stay near HarbourFront? I do.

estherc

Cat, the design of my EG is fixed and the colour is red (yah... I know a bit boring but I think it'll suit me cos I'm very fair). HOpe it'll turn out ok. I got the design from some bridal magazines and Amanda helped me improvise.

No, I don't stay near Habourfront. Got to know them at a exhibition. My house is ok (if I close one eye) but the reno process was quite frustrating though.

pisduck

Hi Cat and BB,
Thanks for the reply. I will ask Michelle about the favours when I meet her next time.

Cat, yep... do tell us more about your reception and wedding. I hope to tap from your experience.
So, how far along are you with you gowns and photography?

BB, you are with Amanda? So, are you having a great time tis far? Tell you something... my EG is also RED. Ha, what a coincidence.

Guys, share with me on you ID experience as well, can? I am also interested cos my apartment TOPs in August.

canny

Hey Pisduck,

Welcome aboard! Mr Ho did not mention anything about the new wedding favors to me when I met up with him last Dec. Hmmm... but I am exchanging the favors for something else. Thus, I will custom make my own wedding favors.

Hehhe... My evening gown is red too.
Which bridal shop are you tied with?

pisduck

hi hi Canny,
Glad to see you around.
gee... making your own favors? Great idea! This way, the favors are unique. As for me, I am just too lazy... so, will just stick to whatever FS has to offer.

Omigosh, guess most FS's brides have a thing for red EGs. haha... what a coincidence...
My package? It is with Bridal Veil.

kikis

Will update you all abt my ROM at Four Seasons end of next week.

Hi Pisduck, I will be going for my 'final fitting' this Sunday (before PS). PS will be 1 week from Sunday.

- My WG is made in a simple duchess satin with a bit of embriodery and crystal beadings.

- For EG, as my banquet is for lunch, I'm actually wearing a champagne-gold cheongsum with a mermaid train. If my banquet is a dinner, will choose deep maroon (red) as well...Auspicious and looks nice!

I have just confirmed with an ID yesterday. Was recommended by my best friend. Pisduck, pls send me your email and will provide you with details. It was so hard to shortlist the IDs...there are so many of them.