Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

cc2

pinkapple,

wow... so many teachers ah!

The last I heard was 2nd child for Guorong only! umm... my news pretty outdated hor?

jioupzy

wow, so many trs...
i think i noe which guorong... but i dun think he noe me... he so many kids? sure or not?

pinkapple,
no i am not chenjw, she was my classmate. wats ur initial? gimme some clues lah cos if u same class wif me in sec 2, i shld still have an idea who u r.

winnie,
does ur eng name start wif L because i used to hang ard wif this gal whose eng name start wif L.
my name is r***, dun think u noe me personally if ur name doesn't start wif L cos i only remember the L**** fr 4/5.

cc2,
u also teaching, pri, sec or jc? me teaching in pri. been teaching since 99. wat abt u?

pinkapple

oh CC2

u were talking abt divine brides? I heard they are quite snobbish. if your figure is good then go for them if not, they'll look down on u

Hi Blossom,

I guess that's what makes life interesting..the choices that are presented to us, and the ones we have to make. I think you should just sit back and think which path wld ultimately make u more happy and stick to that path. Of coz things may change further down the road....as such you must also be ready to make changes and adapt accordingly. I believe that nothing in life is certain..so just make the best decision you can and move on from there

Hey, at least you are given the choice of going back to ure old job. Just keep ure options open..you'll nvr know where it'll lead you to!

cc2

pinkapple,

really ah? U talking about the Divine Brides in JB rite? Not Divine Couture hor? Me been there a couple of weeks ago... The gal who served me quite nice leh... keep asking me to try their gowns. After trying 3 she still bring more for me but me in a hurry so told her that I will come back again another day.U been there?

little

Anyone straight from pri sch all the way to sec 4, think if i were still in St. Nicks, should prob grad in 1994 batch. But too bad, i think i got push out last min in P6 and was not in town. Anyone fr that this batch, certainly miss the good old days despite not having fun with u guys in sec. part.

blossom

hi alhana,
yah, you are rite. nothing is certain and we just have to assess our options and make the best decision. but sometimes, its hard to determine which is the best option so a lot of times, i chose to remain status quo.... that is why i stayed on in my old co despite all my frustrations... and thats why im also staying put here at the moment.

i dun like to search for jobs... all those resume/cover letter writing, interviews, rejection letters can really drive me crazy.

when i decide to leave the old co, i strongly believe that its impossible to stay on... i dun get enough support from my staff and my boss. there is also this person who is very uncooperative and becos of her, other ppl also dun take my deadline seriously. so a lot of times i get reports late from her and i have to stay back to rush my report in order to meet my deadline. my boss din show much support to help me control that person and i really felt so helpless.

although now they have put that person under control, i heard that she is very unhappy and has resorted to crying just to get her power back. im totally disgusted by that and i think she wun cooperate with me even if i go back. so why should i put myself at risk again?

its true that i have a lot of autonomy and freedom to do things back there. my boss said he felt i have done a good job and i believe that he will be more supportive if i go back. however, i think certain problems need to be resolved before i can go back. their motive for getting me back is to solve those problems which i have given up hope.

most imptly, i think i can still stay on in my current co. if i hop again, it's hard to convince ppl that im not a job-hopper.... esp when im going back to the old co, if things dun get resolved and revert back to the old ways, im back to square one and have to find a new job all over again!

i prayed that i can leave my old co, and i managed to find this new job within 2 mths. i believe god has a purpose in leading me to my current co. i just have to hold on and believe that there will be light at the end of this dark tunnel..... and i seriously hope i chose the rite tunnel this time.

winnie

Hi Jioupzy,

Bingo.. you are right! i m thinking that it is you when you mentioned that you are a teacher and when you said that you still keep in touch with Joey..

Long time no see liao.. How have you been?

dreamer

Pinkapple: No choice lah... my memories of them quite "unforgettable"... especially the Mr. Tan.. still ask his pupils to stand on chairs when we cannot answer his A-math questions EVEN though we are already Sec 4!

Linda: Is it so? From wat i remember.. during my days, the most he oni ask his pupils to stand on chair.. lucky me also neber kana the washing canteen treatment..phew!

linda

Hi Winnie.
I used the grand ballroom on ground floor...

Hey girls,
the Guorong you all mentioned....is he a M'sian??? I remember one guorong older than me... A Melvin Lam and a Melvin Phua.... Siyong also sounds familar....

Hi Dreamer,
I dunno if we are talking abt the same Mr. tan... but my mr. tan really does that lor...if not then ask his pupils to picks leaves from the carpark where we have our morning assembly in old school in Ave 10.....

jioupzy

hi winnie,

long time no see man... been wondering how u guys have been getting on lately... do u still contact c****** and wats the other gal's name?
congrats on ur upcoming big day.. muz b pretty bz rite? phew... thk goodness mine's over oredi, now i relaxed only...
had mine last yr at westin and i totally loved the place especially the bridal suite..contrary to wat ppl said, i actually had a lot of fun on that day though i wouldn't wanna do it again...hee hee..
but i actually quite boh-chap, everything all last minute, even my photographer say i the most boh-chap bride he ever saw...
so, wat r u doing now?

dreamer,
i dun remember which mr tan, mayb he never taught me before cos i dun remember ever being asked to stand on chairs or other ridiculous punishment..(even though now i really want to make my students stand on chairs too...)

cc2,
oops, sori, dunno where i got the idea that u teaching. so, wat r u doin now?
ur 4/5 very internet active hor, my class all disappear oredi, dunno where they r?

pinkapple,
one thing i learnt last yr during my preparation is not to be pushed ard by the staff at the bridal studio, u muz know exactly wat u want and not b swayed by the staff comments. only then would u b guaranteed that u will get wat u dream off and always b firm with ur decision. if they give u attitude, giv them back since u r paying for it anyway... luckily, my coordinator was very understanding and knew exactly what i want and dun want. (mayb i made myself very clear at the beginning)
even when i was booking my venue and 'fighting' for freebies, i told them exactly what i like and they worked out a plan that was wat i wanted. to be firm in the beginning is to prevent any misunderstandings later on... after that, i became totally boh-chap oredi.

i very long-winded hor, sori...

winnie

Hi Jioupzy,

Congrats to ur wedding last year!

All of us are fine... C****** got married in 2001 whereas X***** is now still in the honeymoon period with her bf..

How abt you and Joey? Wat is she doing now?

How do you get to know ur hubby?

I am now in the finance dept doing accounting.. Very boring job...

Hi Linda,

I will prefer to get the grand ballroom too but I
kan mit their min tables criteria.

dreamer

Hi Jioupzy,

I like your attitude, never get push around by the staff... cool!

Hmm..as a teacher, u have to use "love" to educate your students..BUT, at times, "corporal" punishment may be needed in case some naughty ones decided to climb over ur head though... Standing on chair is ok, unless ur pupils are in upper sec...

Anyway, some comments reagrding my wedding preparation 5 yrs ago: I had made the most stupid and regrettable mistake in my life by engaging a bridal studio without shopping around much n simply taken in by the sweet talking salespersons. Till now, I still feel very bad n sorry towards my wife for that... Dun think she had the wedding experience that she had dreamt about..sigh!

Linda: Think we should be talking about the same Mr. Tan

Hi Blossom,

I know what you mean..its hard to work in an environment where you do not get support..worse if other pple bog you down. Wow, the girl in ure ex company really has some serious issues! Maybe she can't work in a regimented environment..some pple are like that.

Anyway just give ureself more time w ure new job. U may grow to love it more than ure old one

blossom

hi alhana,
haha.... not a gal... she's an auntie liao. but a powerful auntie who can manipulate the bosses. everyone is scared of her. i have quarrelled with her before but eventually, i decided to keep quiet so that i can have some peaceful moments.

my boss said that the woman is very childish, tp think that she actually resorted to such tricks. i think my boss also totally clueless in how to handle her. sigh....

actually, i believe that once a decision made, i should not turn back and ponder over it. i will just get more confused... so just give myself more time to adapt to this new job.

linda

Hi Winnie,
Oh...Heard their 5th floor ballroom also quite nice...they decorate the winding staircase also...
Some couples choose their march-in from the stairs I heard... Should be pretty impressive too....

Hi Dreamer..5 years liao lor....dun harp on it, I think she will be VERY happy if she knows how much she is loved!!! Any kids???

BTW, anyone who still remember how to sing the school song???

winnie

Hi Linda,

After hearing wat you say, i feel better.. Wat are you doing now? Any kids on your side?

Hi dreamer,

I agree with Linda totally.. How's marriage life?

dreamer

Linda & Winnie:
Thanks for your comments.. Had been trying not to think about it, but its just keep coming back once a while lor.. Anyway, we dont have any kids yet.. we decided to put it off for a few years. We agreed that we need time for ourselves and to share life together before a "third" party comes along...
To me, marriage life is REALLY VERY different as compared to wat I had before... Guess my wife also think so too... Besides the housework, cooking and shopping for gorcery, we also have to keep in mind to inform each other of activities that we may have arranged with our own friends so that the other half can also arrange his/her own activities as well...
Till now, we still give each other personal space (we dont usually go out with each other during weekdays) so as not to avoid "suffocating" each other. We have set aside Sat n Sun for ourselves though. :)

jioupzy

hi winnie,

joey is fine , attached but not married. i have no idea when she intends to do so though.
i met my hubby many yrs ago in poly... been together since then...
anyway, send my regards to the both of them. u muz b very good wif finances since u doing accounting...
hey, get them to join this thread lah then we can all chat together..

cc2,
pardon my ignorance but wats a conference producer?

linda,
i've never attended any wedding at MM so i cannot comment on their ballroom but since u chose it, shld b good cos andersonian gals have good taste... kekeke...

dreamer,
u muz b real nice to ur wife but wats over is over, dun look back, the future is more important.
my hubby and i have no intention of having any kids too cos we dun hav much parental instinct. we enjoy being wif other ppl's kids but cannot imagine having our own so we bought a dog last year instead..

linda

Hi winnie,
Not to worry lah! I trust MM very much cos they made my wedding so nice and memorable...
For me, I am actively trying for a baby again as I have just lost one. Hopefully will have good news to share soon....

Hi Dreamer...
Hee...we completely diff from you leh.... I meet my hubby for dinner as and when we can (cos he work late) and we share common friends...I am very comfortable with his gang and vice versa...we hold gatherings for all our friends at my place and they mix well too... We quite sticky lah.... hahahah
But if we ever step out on our own, we do not ask too much or question what time going to go home...

winnie

Hi Linda,

Good luck to you! Hope to hear good news from you soon..

Hi Dreamer,

I like your way of handling your marriage life. I think I will follow ur way cos I will like to have my own personal space even after I get married.

Hi Jioupzy,

Send my regards to Joey too..

I am not very good at finance lah... I go into this line cos I am not good at other things.. haha

jioupzy

hi linda,
hope to hear good news fr u soon..

winnie,
i suck at finance management too, tats y aft so many yrs of working, i still very broke... cant seem to save $$$, always got things to buy, i think my cpf richer than me...

bow_wow

Hi Little Miss Muppet,

I was from pre-primary to sec 4 in St. Nicks...hehe.

little

haha,

I am also from Pre-Pri to Pri 6. Whick Class? I think i still remember. P6 is from Justice, P5 is from Purity, P4 is from Virtue, P3 is from Charity, P2 (forgot liao), P1 is virtue, PP (forgot liao also).

Anyone same as me??

Trying to get back my friends but eversince i left St. Nick's, i practically couldn't find anyone....Searching till my hair dropping out.

Muppet

winnie

Hi Jioupzy,
Even though I am doing accounting, I am also very broke... kan seems to save money... worse of all I dunno where my money goes to.. yeah my cpf is indeed richer than me too... How's life as a teacher? Really din expect you to be one :p

cc2

Hi jioupzy,

Basically, I produce conferences. From conceptualization to inviting speakers and the actual running of the conference.

Got any photos to see? So that I can tag the name to the face?

dreamer

Jioupzy: Wat breed of dog did u buy? I had a golden retriever... but unfortunately, I cant bring him along to my new residence, so now, my sis is looking after it. Still visit him once a week though... kind of missed him..

Linda: I was in NCC(Air) back then... My best wishes for your success!! Dont forget to prepare both your bodies for it.. Need more nutrients! Good luck!

Winnie: Thanks for your comments... guess that will depend whether your other half likes that idea... Dont think everyone share the sendiments like both me and my wife do. Just look at Linda, so happily married and really enjoying every bit of their life together.... me so envy liao also.. Cheers! :)

jioupzy

winnie,
well sort of juz drifted into teaching aft i graduated. been doing so ever since and kind of liking it...

dreamer,
my hubby and i bought a maltese last yr, was actually deciding between schnauzer or maltese but in the end , maltese won the battle...hee..hee

cc2,
wow, ur job so cheem. way out of my league but i guess u quite sociable then. if u know who winnie is then u might remember me cos i used to hang out wif winnie+others in sch last time.

winnie

Hi Jioupzy,
Glad that you have found a job that you like. Afterall I think most of us ended up working in sectors that we don expect ourselves to be in

vitamin_c

Hi everyone, winnie intoduced me to this cool website. Am surprised to find so many ex-sch mates here. I was from the same class as Jioupzy. :D

Yo Jioupzy! Long time no c. Glad to hear that u're now happily married. It's interesting that we get to meet one another here after so long. Do u miss the sch days? I do miss our Sec 4 class.

dreamer

jioupzy,

Thought maltese need to be in a pair? Last heard is that they need to have lots of companionship... if not, they may fall sick from loneliness... Other than that, I do like them too. Very adorable!

winnie

Hi Vitamin C,
It is nice to see u posting here..

Hi Jioupzy and Vit C,
I really miss hanging around with you gals in sec sch..

bow_wow

Hmm Muppet,

I can't really remember what classes I was from. Maybe if you tell me your name, I can recall who u are...^ ^

jioupzy

hi vit c,
r u who i think u r? according to winnie, one is married, the other is not, so which one r u?
anyway, which one also nevermind since we have not seen each other for a looong time...
yah, i miss school days.. those were the days when everybody seemed so carefree.... wat r u doing now? guess u noe fr earlier posts tat i'm teaching (yah yah i noe unbelievable...!)

dreamer,
my dog doesn't seem to be very lonely, he always play play non-stop but he has his own frens cos he's very friendly... still considering whether to buy him a mate but currently on budget constraint...

pinkapple,
yanbing realy sounds very familiar. do u hav short hair and wear specs last time?? cos i think there was a gal who look like tat back in sch ...

winnie,
at least we still manage to find each other aft so long... mayb tis time we might not lose contact again...
anyway, tell me more abt ur FH leh, time to catch up abit abt ur life.

cc2,
i still dunno who u r leh, gimme some more clues like initials perhaps?

cc2

Hi Pinkapple,

U talking about the Divine in JB rite? The one which is just beside Holiday Plaza.

Hi Jioupzy,

Me classmate of Winnie and Pinkapple. Very AS and low profile in sch. Maybe I tell u my initial u also dunno how I am. Hahaha….

winnie

Hi Jioupzy,
Vit C is C******, the same class as you. My FH nothing much to say about just that he is very tall about 1.8m... haha unbelievable right? cos i am so short... we do look funny when we walk together..

We met when I am in JC.. been together for quite a number of years..

corie

Hi Bow wow and Little Miss Muppet,

Do your know that the Miss Singapore who represent Singapore for MIss Universe, Bernice Wong is from St Nicks Pri too?

Hi Blossom,

Wah..this woman really jialat! Why don't they just fire her since she's so hard to work with? I wld think a smart organisation will try to keep their good staff and get rid of the problematic ones, rather than let the good staff go. Funny.

Weekend's almost here. Any special plans? I can't wait for my BKK trip. Need a break!

blossom

hi alhana,
thats what some of my frens say too. this woman is rude to everyone including my boss. sigh... though we have the same boss, she always order me around like im her ka gia.
but i think my boss wun sack her becos she is fierce enough to control the lower level workers and storeman etc.

dun have any special plans for weekends. hmm... dun feel like shopping... maybe just stay at home and nua...